Christian Brides

hislove

Hi stickymouse,
I'm thankful that God used me to bless & encourage u.
It's amazing how internet has drawn people closer & it can be a tool for good not evil.
hehe..
Understand abt the submission part..
Alot of women struggle with that issue esp sometimes our tongues rule over us..
Continue & pray & trust God yah?

Btw.. Ladies, do u noe the no. 1 thing our men will sacrifice love for?
It's RESPECT!
that's why in the bible, we are told to RESPECT our husbands, and our husbands are to LOVE us.
Sometimes, the things we say can really hurt.. hehe.. we can edify our men or really bring them down..

hislove

Hi Sharon,
I'm adjusting at my new workplace.
Must continue to trust the Lord that He will guide me. Still feeling rather lost.. hehe..
I just want to be a light for Him!
Thank God for my new colleagues coz they're a fun bunch..
Thanks for asking..

Btw.. ur printing very cheap leh..
Did u print colour?

wedding_girl

jess, ya, sharon printed colour. but it's still really cheap...

lydia, ok so you have 1000 invites and many more guests? i think bb queen has a great suggestion. haha, why not print in the bulletin?
or a poster for the notice board?

oh you're using freehand ah... i have photoshop but am not too good at it, and i don't have a mac. anyway, will see how, i think photoshop should be good enough, since the invites and programmes are never too complicated.

ewwgetoffme

hey BB Queen and wedding_girl:
we actually do that, putting it in the bulletin and all. everytime anyone gets married there will be an announcement, the couple will stand up during the service so everyone knows who it is, the invite will be on the church notice board but there will still be a distribution of invites.

it's more of a manners thing, for my church. i don't think it's very sincere to leave it at the announcement just because i want to save invites, pardon me for saying. some of my friends have given feedback too, that they are irked by how some couples just send an invite to respective fellowships and invite the whole fellowship instead of addressing invites individually, even though they are really good friends. i feel that there is no need to save invites on this aspect, so why not? it will not cost a lot anyway since i'm making the invites myself and buying in bulk. i need 1000 invites for all my guests, not 1000 invites and many more guests. 1000 invites should cover all families + singles, from colleagues to relatives to friends of other churches.

actually for invites, it doesn't matter what software you use lah. even if you use ms word it's okay, as long as your alignment and kerning and font face is appropriate. so don't worry about not having a mac

wedding_girl

hey lydia, yeah i did think of the manners thing. if your guests are more particular, then of course better not to do that la. but if your crowd, like the younger people, is really easy going then it wouldn't be so bad. but then again, you're in the younger crowd, and if you mind, then better not!

yuene

Hey girls, my printer is called Poster Connection, the outlet is at Sunshine Plaza, facing NAFA. The invite is full colour on two sides, it's done in the same format as a postcard.

ewwgetoffme

hey BB Queen and wedding girl:
ya, the friends that feedback are all only like in uni, just come out of army that age... you know if they didn't say i'd probably just go ahead and 'invite in bulk' but i realised that actually it's a form of manners lor. haha... perhaps i dunno what the elders think cos i don't speak to them much, but i think they will mind too. also don't wanna let my grandma 'lose face', cos she and her friends all in my church, if i don't invite i think all her friends (esp. those super nosey aunties) will start to question her. knowing my grandma, she will be quite uncomfortable. so just do lah.
i enjoy it, actually! :D

you know what's on my mind now? how to do my second march-in during the dinner. hilltop garden have two aisles instead of one leh!!! hahaha! i settled the first march-in already, bf and i taking an aisle each with our flowergirls walking with us (we got 2 flowergirls) but the second one my idea like not good enough... thinking of letting my bf go first, then when he is halfway across the room i start to walk. this way he will be on the stage before i get there, and when i approach he can hold out his hand to me. but will it look like i wasn't ready that's why he gotta go first?! hahahaha! XD my first march-in will be a bit slow, walking pace... then second march-in will be fast. both the pieces are classical. any ideas? really appreciate it ;)

crayongal

hey Jess..
i think wat u said abt Respect. totally agree. yeps... and i guess its very true that sometimes the things we say can really hurt... altho' some things are said in a fit of anger or wat.. but still, ya.. impt to make sure wat we say edify rather den hurt.
hehs... thanks gal!

sharon..thnx for sharing yr printer. kkee.. they r so reasonably priced. i tink i'll go chk them out. hehs.. =)

lydia... u so excited abt march-in now ? keke.... u've got time to get loads of ideas la.. and i tink the first march in idea is v.nice.. the 2nd one.. hmm... ya.. its abit funny to let yr bf walk in first... hmmm.... tink of ideas for u.. hee

yuene

Lydia: me too, actually. My mum actually wanted to make a mass invite during church service announcements, but I didn't like the idea, largely because I don't really want to invite a whole bunch of people who barely know me and who I don't know, just for the sake of inviting. Besides, the invite list is big enough as they get with just the people I'm asking and I don't think that Life Church has enough space for over 400 guests.

BTW Lydia, I need your home address! Need to send the wedding invite to your family. Mind PMing me?

ewwgetoffme

stef and jess:
yeah i think through the two (going on three) years i've learnt how to respect my FH... the hard way. haha. i'm someone who tends to dominate and make decisions, but after countless arguments and unhappiness in the relationship i realise that the problems don't come from those issues that we're arguing about, but the fact that i don't let my FH serve me. instead i serve him, which turnsaround the leadership position. not good. thank God that after reading many books on courtship, i've come to realise that even though FH is not yet the figurehead i have to submit to (that role belongs to my dad), i have to let him serve me. we are not yet husband and wife, we are brother and sister.

stef:
yes, so excited. hahaha XD thanks for thinking for me! i'm also thinking hard >_<

sharon:
ya i get what you mean! i think the church announces but none of the people who didn't get invites show up. hahaha... it's true that the invite list gets bigger and bigger. i didn't know you're using Life BP! I thought you're using New Life
i think Pandan should be able to accomodate 900 plus right? (that's my expected turnout even though i'm technically inviting like 1400 ahahaha... maybe not so many lah, we'll see.)

awwww you're inviting us to your wedding. i'm so happy to be able to see you!!! will PM you now. ;)

have a great day ahead, sisters!

hislove

Hi lydia,
u made an interesting point abt ur FH serving u.
I believe it's oso abt mutual serving.

As in putting the other before oneself.

Hi stef &amp; lydia,
I do believe that men have a harder role.. hehe..
they have to love us like Christ love the church..
when u think abt the fact that Christ died to redeem His church, a man has to love us till death.. wow.. hehe.. but of coz not tell ur man to die for u lah! haha..
While women submit to men.. in the context of marriage of coz!

Hi sharon,
thanks for sharing ur printer contact

jaspire

Hi Sisters, do you have any nice 10 commandments for wedding contracts dat might be biblical cum non-biblical to share? I am thinking of doing up one and getting my bf to sign before he enters my door... Any suggestion?

violac

tulips, the traditional church vows would likely begin with

"In the name of God, I, ___, take____ ......." and ends with

"in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit" as you slip the ring onto his finger.

yuene

*slaps forehead* I knew I forgot something! The outing! How is everyone for the first Wednesday of June? It'll be a coffee outing to the TCC inside the new Centrepoint, it's a lot less crowded than the one next to Bee Cheng Hiang.

Date: 06/06/2007 (Wednesday)
Time: 8pm (I'll go in and reserve places first)
Venue: TCC The Centrepoint

Attendance
1) Sharon

PM me your hp no. if you're coming ya? So that you can contact me! =)

ewwgetoffme

hey sorry i can't make it! i will have a rehearsal in school for an event on that day, then rushing off to celebrate my sec sch friend's birthday. sorry ya!!! hope to be able to meet up with you all another time

tiffanyshyne

Hi, couldn't help but notice someone mentioning getting paper wholesale... where do u get paper wholesale (besides fancy papers at bugis)? where is this paper company?

padi

Hi girls, its been a long time since I posted here. Its one month to my AD and I'm feeling all nervous and excited.

Am intending to shop for flower girl dress with my flower girl this weekend. Besides Tom and Stefanie which some of you suggested a few threads ago, anywhere else I should keep a lookout for?

padi

Hi Jaspire,
Thanks for the recommendation. I tried the one at Bishan they don't the size for my flower girl. :S
Any other outlets in which you saw more dresses?

yuene

Actually, Hui, if you don't mind travelling out and sifting through many dresses, some of the older emporium shops sell dresses for little girls that might be suitable for a flower girl. YOu can try those out.

yuene

Ya, there's one at Beauty World. Okay distance la, if you take 157 it's about half an hour to there. 10 minutes by car.

Oh yeah, I can't make it tomorrow either, so the outing is off. Sorry...

danadele

hi ladies, had my wedding last sat .. praise the Lord fer showering his love fer my hubby n me though he is not christian

ewwgetoffme

sharon:
i have my FYP presentation on your wedding day from 12:10 to 12:40 pm. HORRORS. praying that i still can attend.

Hui:
have you asked your BS? they might have some dresses. i'm getting my flowergirls' dresses from my BS.
all the best!

ck_chong

Need your advise.

My HTB &amp; i are Christian, but we seldom attend church nowaday due to other commitment.
However, we would like to have church wedding which i don't think is possible coz we seldom attend church &amp; our AD is on Sun.

However, my home town church back in Msia will help conduct a church wedding for us (which is one week before our AD), however, my HTB don't quite like the idea coz he felt that it is very hard to differentiate which is the actual day for our wedding (lawfully vs religiously).

pls help!!!

violac

dear CK,

bear with me as i reply.

i think differentiating between when your actual day really is, is the smallest of the issues.

the main question is, do you want to have a church wedding for the sake of holding one?? or are both of you seeking God's approval in your marriage, for Him to be the Guest of Honour and ultimate witness at your wedding?

weddings can be held anywhere, not necessarily in a church (however most couples do agree to marry in church for reasons personal to them). there is nothing wrong in either case, it's just, who matters most in our lives? Ourselves, or God?

I would like to encourage both you and your husband to refresh your relationship with Christ, we can always be "sleeping Christians" you know what i mean... do start attending church (and marriage preparation course), not for the sake of attending not because we label ourselves Christians, but to worship our Creator who knew us from the beginning and had sacrificed His own Son for our sake.

If we could have our way, by human nature our commitments would be priority. If Jesus prioritised his humanly commiments the way some of us do two thousand years ago, none of us here would be saved!!

have fun in your wedding preparations, with God in the centre of your relationship. it is a wonderful process, when that happens, logistics are the least of your worries.

padi

Amen and amen, Stickmouse. It is true, its so easy to be overwhelmed by logistics and people who are 3aunty6granny, or the stress that comes out of these. Focussing on God is difficult, but yet that is what is commanded, in Christ's strength.

My FH always reminds us about the meaning of marriage, to reflect the relationship between Christ and the church, a high calling. When he does that, its always easier to put aside the stress and logistical nightmare and put God first.

ewwgetoffme

hi CK

i agree with what stickymouse has pointed out. do seek God together in this.

you mentioned that you haven't been going to church for awhile. pardon me for asking you this so directly, but since you know that it's not very possible for you to have a church wedding because of this, on top of the fact that your AD is on a Sunday, why do you still want to get married in a church? what was your purpose of even asking us for advice? i'm sorry if i sound incriminating, i don't mean to be.

i hope your first reaction was to pray about this. especially about getting married in malaysia - if you prayed about it, leave it in God's hands. just keep on praying for instruction. God should be the centre of your relationship, especially if you and your boyfriend are both Christian.

all the best!

onceabride

Hi CK, I and my hubby had a church blessing just before our banquet in the hotel itself. If God's blessing is what you and your HTB desire than you can do something similiar. You church blessing does not have to be in a physical church building. Basically the blessing is a convenant make between you, HTB and the officiating pastor which is witness by your bro and sis in christ.

hapimint

dear CK, i agree that just pray and let god... the church is just a building... what is more important is that u have the blessing....

violac

hey does anyone here know where to buy coloured sands? u know those kinds used by the kiddies when they peel off strategic stickers and pour the sand over their art?

i'd need it for unity sand ceremony at my outdoor wedding, would appreciate if someone could let me know (sunday sch teacher??)

caramel980

Is any one here getting married at Wesley Methodist Church with Pastor Melvin as officiator? Just wanted to check what rules he has so I can let my vendors know.

crayongal

hey...shalomzoe..
there usually is a march out song after solemnization le.. keke..
and den, if im not wrong.. the bride n groom marches out n goes in again (it's like welcoming Mr &amp; Mrs so-and-so back in... )
rite? =)

dkaren

Hi Sticky Mouse,
you can get the color sand from the Far East Flora .. i was looking for some sand for my matrimonial candle holder

dkaren

Shalom Ladies,

I'm from NCC holding my Solemnization &amp; Church Wedding at Gallery HoTeL on the 27th OCtober 2007 just two days befOre my bday.

Very excited abOuT my BiG daY !!!

Btw , Is it a mUsT to have a flower gal or bOy ?

violac

thanks dkaren!!! i was at far east flora to buy plants for the house, but didn't see any sand.... maybe i'll look harder. hehe, thanks!

shalomzoe

Hey Stef, me so blur already, busy with all preparations and totally forgotten abt it..hehe..thanks. Yeah it's recessional, wedding gal.

hislove

long time never come in liao..
how's all ur preps?
Me so bz with work.. no time to think abt my wedding. hehe..
btw.. selected my photos already but can only see my 1st layout in Aug..
so long.. hehe..
God bless..

dkaren

stickymouse,

u need to ask them about it over at the Far East Flora .the color sand might not be placed at the fresh cut flower area. other alternative is at IKEA.

Shalom !

hapimint

I dont think it is a must to have flower girl and page boy but if I am having my church and solemnisation ceremony in a club, can I have them?
Wedding dinner will be on another day.....along with all those customary things....

wedding_girl

i don't think flower girls and page boys are a must. i'm sure you can have them even if your ceremony isn't in a church.

shalomzoe and stef, yep, the recessional, just kinda forgot what it was called for a minute. but the couple doesn't always march out and then back in again. i think they only come back in again if you're doing the whole group photo thing in the church hall. i'm not doing that, so during the march out/recessional, they will announce Mr and Mrs so-and-so.

sharon: 3 more weeks!!

yuene

wedding_girl: Ya! Just got back from church camp and trying to get back into the rhythm of things... I must say that the Rev. Bill Mills is a FANTASTIC preacher! He really illuminates the Word so simply and clearly. Anyway, we took our wedding photos in Batu Pahat and Melaka, I can't wait to see them! Hope I can get them this Sunday.

I'm having a recessional, mine is the Trumpet Voluntary (can't remember by who, though)--thought we'd have something a little different from the regular bridal march.