Christian Brides

shalomzoe

wedding_girl : I will be having my solemnisation in the evening in the hotel and banquet after an hr later; so not sure whether after recessional; we should march in again. What do u reckon? Group photo will prob be done during the banquet.

wedding_girl

sharon, must share photos when you get them!

shalomzoe, hmmm...if it were me, then i wouldn't march in again. i've always thought it a bit silly when couples did that in my church, cos they would announce mr & mrs XX when they were walking out, and then after 1 min, say "and welcome back mr & mrs XX". so i told myself i wouldn't do that when i got married. hee... ermm, but that's just what i think la, hope i don't offend anyone... so anyway, if it were me, i'd just do the group photo thing during the banquet; saves a bit of time too i think. but depends on what you prefer...

oh anyway just to share what i'll be doing for anyone who needs ideas. after my march out, family members will stay behind for a group photo, while guests will proceed for the tea reception. photo taking with other guests will be when mingling during reception, so that it's more informal (not so forced) and it doesn't hold people back. that's what my friend did when she got married and i thought it was a great idea, so i'm doing that too.

violac

i agree with wedding girl... the last thing any couple in church should do is to hold everyone back and wait for their turn to take photos:

1) nobody will listen to you anyway, and proceed to the buffet table

2) i was once so obedient, stayed back and i was in the last group!!!! by the time i had gone to the buffet table, no food was left. and i was also the musician for the service so i came early for rehearsal. all this time without food!!!

wedding_girl

oh no...poor stickymouse... i would be very grumpy if i were you. haha. i know what you mean, for church weddings i'm usually in the last group because the church people are always left till the last...

violac

ya... somehow the idea is that christian friends can be marginalised.. it's ok, christian friends will understand and won't penalise us hahaha...

but seriously... do spare a thought especially for the helpers (who are most likely church friends anyway). my case was bad 'cos we arrived for rehearsal at 11am, the service didn't start until 2pm, and ended at 4pm!!

11am to 4pm with light breakfast and no chance for lunch!! trust me wedding girl, i WAS grumpy hehe

shalomzoe

Hi wedding girl, actually me too, finds it a little silly marching in again. My FH and I have already decided to forego in marching in again; as we don't have much time either. After the solemnisation, abt an hr later we will be having our banquet dinner. Thanks and God Bless!

hislove

Hello ladies,
haven't been in here for sometime..
how's everyone doing?
Me been so bz with work that I hardly got time to think abt my wedding.. which is less than 4 mths away..hehe..
But thank God for slowing me down (i came down wif flu these 2 days so at home), so can finally catch up wif things that I haven't done.

Hi Shalomzoe,
wat do u mean by marching in again.
I thot after recessional march, u're outside already?
so strange to come in again. hehe..

bluefairy

haven been in this thread for ages!!! :p How are all the preps coming up? my PS is in a week and i'm feeling the anxiousness... :p

shalomzoe, ya.. i've seen those march ins after recessional marches.. and have decided to forgo marching in again.. hee

shalomzoe

Hi Jess & Lyn, I've attended a few weddings where couples march in again after recessional for photo taking. I won't be marching in as we have to prepare for the banquet after the solemnisation. Finds it really weird to march in again. hehe. God Bless!

violac

hi shalomzoe, i'm also having the solemnisation just before the banquet... i'm not having any recessional as well, but i'm curious what preparations you're making for the banquet...

'cos i'm just going to hang around and talk to our guests... unless i'm missing something out...

shalomzoe

Hi Stickymouse, I'll retreat to the room after solemnisation to rest and have some snacks before the banquet..hehe. Btw, u r from NCC right?

Hi Lyn, maybe you don't march out. Just stay in for your photo taking session. What time is your solemnisation?

Anyone has any suggestions on a song for recessional?

hislove

Hi shalomzoe,
oh.. i noe wat u mean by marching in again after recessional.. hehe..
I won't be doing that.. instead will stand outside my church, near reception for free & easy photo-taking.
I posted somewhere in the archives in regards to soem songs that could be used for recessional march.. maybe u can find them?
use more upbeat songs.. hehe..

Hi Lyn,
where will u be holding ur wedding?
u won't need to march back in..
maybe just have a recessional march that will take u to the end of the ballroom, then stay in ballroom for the photo-taking.
jus a suggestion..

caramel980

Is there a reason why people march out before marching back in again to take photos? Why not just take the photos before marching out?

violac

ooohh yah, shalomzoe, i remember my hotel provides pre-dinner snacks as well! i totally forgot about making time to eat them!!! hahahaha thanks!!! i'll probably hang around after the solemnization for a while, touch some base, and then go to the room for snacks until banquet.

i'm from PLMC

i checked from the Internet and i gathered that the idea of a recessional in a traditional ceremony is that everyone leaves the sanctuary (starting from the bridal entourage and then the guests). so there isn't really a march-in again after recessional (afterall why do you recede??) ;p

hapimint

what I saw for my sister and a close friend. after their solemnisation, they lock the room... then ask the MC to announce the individual groups to come out to take pictures, for eg, groom's family, then groom's primary school classmates....
Then after finish all groups phototaking, they are released out for their cocktails and the bride join them for small and personal phototaking....

violac

for those with solemnization before banquet, there's always opportunity for table-to-table photo taking at the banquet...

even if not directly before banquet, it's not very gracious to lock your guests right??... no offence mindy. but please reconsider that option, especially for guests that are in the last group of photo-taking (how about those with babies and children). i do have personal note against this practice, 'cos i was a guest who was starved and that's not the right way for me to remember my friend's wedding.

it might be more feasible if you don't have many groups of friends, or if you don't have many guests. or the other idea is to have your photo-taking in the same place as food reception. so that guests can eat and drink while they await their turn. nobody ruled that photo-taking MUST be in sanctuary right?? ;)

pinkcupcake

Hi everyone, haven't been here for a month! hi, Lydia. How's your preparation going? any other nov 2008 brides out there?

I have been to look at only 3 places this past few weeks (raffles hotel, one rochester and singapore botanic gardens). Mainly venues suitable for garden weddings. am getting disappointed...didn't realise it's so expensive to have an outdoor wedding! it all adds to be equivalent to having a nice sit-down dinner at a good hotel (but minus the fatter ang paos people will give because most people think buffet equals cheap food).

anyone know of good lobang for garden weddings? am going to check out changi hotel in the next few weeks.

kokoyln

Hi Mei, I'm not sure wat's your budget but you can check out the restaurant right in Sembawang Park [my sis ROM will be held there in Nov07 and she has the choice of indoor or outdoor.], Bliss at Puggol Park [been there for dinner. they have a outdoor area with tentage which may be able to hold wedding] and also Bishan Park [this place may be suitable only for small wedding.. All these locations were given to her by her wedding planner.. i'm quite surprise with her planner cos they are quite resourceful..

shalomzoe

Hi Jess, thanks will vett thru the archives. Was it this year? Save me some time from looking..hehe

Hi Stickymouse, must make sure u eat, or else u won't have time to eat during the banquet. Not sure if your hotel will pack for u the same food that they will be serving at the banquet. Heard from a friend that they do. Will have to check with mine.

Hi Lyn, maybe don't march out lor. After they pronounce u husband and wife; get your emcee to announce photo taking session. ; )

wedding_girl

i considered not marching out before, but not sure if it will be a bit anti-climax. cos people will clap when the pastor pronounces you husband and wife, and you just stand there... that's just my opinion though... it largely depends on what's happening after your ceremony.

violac

throw bouquet to single ladies?

actually i imagine the moment cheerful music is played upon the pronouncement, and the emcee starts directing where the food is, people will start fidgeting already....

pinkcupcake

hi Kokoyln,thanks for the info! by the way, may i know which wedding planner your sis engaged? Is it expensive? Just went to check out one and it's reeeally ex. but their work is excellent. but don't think i want to spend so much. do you think you can email me your sis's planner's contact? my email is [email protected]. Thanks!!

hislove

Hi Shalomzoe,
it's this year..

Usually the bouquet tossing is held after reception..
more for photo moments..
But if u seriously thinking of throwing.. get ur florist to provide a smaller one..
or use ur bridesmaid's bouquet to toss..
coz u will likely want to keep ur very own bouquet..

kokoyln

Hi Mei, so far i find that their price quite reasonable. they are Corazon Events Mgmt
contact adrian @ 9767-6222 or email to [email protected]
i met them 2x and find that they quite friendly and detailed.. give it a shot afterall we as customers has no obligation to accept their proposal.. ;-)

ali50n

Hi, just wanna find out how you all go by church wedding and customary ceremony? U go church first or held customary ceremony 1st?

hislove

Hi Alison,
My wedding will be something like tis:
morning - the customary fetching of bride & tea ceremony
afternn - church ceremony
next day evening - sit down dinner
(some people have dinner that very evening, all in 1 day)

wat abt u?

yuene

Mine goes like this:

Morning: fetching of the bride
Noon: Church ceremony
early afternoon: Tea ceremony
Evening: Dinner

violac

mine goes...

morning: fetch bride
morn - noon: tea ceremony at both sides
afternoon: check into hotel
evening: solemnization follwed by cocktail and banquet

hislove

Hi wedding_girl,
same as me?? hehe.. yeah!
initially got some friends out of concern thot my arrangement will cost a bomb and troublesome.
But I'm here to thank God for His provision, both financially & the help rendered to us by many.

What abt u? where u holding ur ceremony & dinner?

wedding_girl

hi jess,
it will be a bit troublesome over 2 days, and all the PGs and VGs slap you with the split day charge. but we worked it out, and it was still cheaper for us to do the dinner on a sunday (for Shang, where i'm having my dinner, it's cheaper on sunday). my ceremony will be at my own church.

yours?

hey, was just being kaypoh and i think i saw your posting in the white link thread, that's your BS?

yuene

Went down to ROM to collect our documents this morning. Boy, I hope my FH didn't leave them on the bus or something like that! *sigh* need to call up my florist liao!

wedding_girl

hey ladies, wondering if anyone can help me here.

for a wedding dinner, traditionally the guy's parents pay for the dinner right? what happens then in terms of planning for the wedding, as well as collection of ang paos and gifts?

my FH and i intended to pay for it at first, but now we are trying to decide if we should let his father pay for it, firstly because of the sheer amount of money involved, and also, his father is a bit more traditional, and we think it would be a bit of a loss of face for him if we pay for it. anyone knows about all these things?

violac

ummm... how many tables u having wedding girl?? i'm just thinking no matter what sheer amt it is... most shd be covered by ang bao?? i'm personally expecting 20% "loss" hahaha

i'm unfamiliar with these things, but i just checked with my mummy.

if FH's parents are paying, it means they are hosting the banquet(take note of invitation wordings from here, their names must come first not yours). and then it will be decided how many tables they want to give to your parents (say, 6 tables). whatever ang baos are collected from the 6 tables will be kept by your parents. traditionally, the host will keep the rest of the ang baos but there are incidents both sets of parents might not keep any.

violac

i think you must decide among yourselves who will be the hosts? 'cos that determines whose names come first on the invitation card and whether there's any loss of face or not.

if your future FIL is not the host, and he's not paying, there isn't any loss of face mah... 'cos he's not host??

hislove

Hi sylphide,
All the best for ur AD!
God bless..

Hi wedding_girl,
yah.. abit more inconvenient splitting into 2 days, but less tiring. want to look fresh. hehe..
God is very gd! He provides!
My uncle who's a freelance PG taking our AD photos, so I save alot.
My sun dinner same as sat prices lor.. hehe..
Yup! my bs is whitelink.
Wat abt u?

btw.. regardin ur wedding dinner qn.
Traditionally, it's the guy's side who pays.
the female side gets a pre-determined no. of tables (i.e. her family & relatives no need to give angpaos or pay for them)
the ang pao collected goes to pay off the dinner, the extra, usually the dad will give to son.
But diff families handle differently.
so i suggest u & ur FH check wif his dad

wedding_girl

hi stickymouse and jess,
thanks. i'm having at least 60 tables. i suppose ang paos can cover the cost, but it's just that we don't have the money to pay up before that, as my hotel requires a total of 50% (spread out over 3 payments) before the wedding itself.

ok, i understand about the keeping of angpaos. but do you girls know, if let's say we're paying for the reception and in-laws paying for the dinner, then how does the ang pao allocation work? because people who come for the church ceremony will usually give one bigger angpao at the dinner only.

oh, sorry, another question, for si dian jin or si dian zhuan, it's always the ILs who decide how much right? my FH's parents also not sure how to go about doing this....

all this tradition things... a bit mafan...

pinkcupcake

Hi stickymouse and wedding,
what's the price range like for wedding gowns by Divine? and what made you choose them over the other BS you have visited? Designs really very much nicer? thanks!

to all other ladies - Also, went to ROM website to look-look. Got a little confused...what's the difference between solemnisation and notice of marriage? sorry if it's a silly question.

another question. will there be a situation when i can't get the date i want to solemnise?

thank you for answering these inane questions...me really don't know. heh heh.

violac

wedding girl, 60 tables!!!!! faint, ok lah... consider it value for money 'cos more people get to see your beautiful gown hahaha

sorry can't help much with the customs thingy.

mei, i think the price range is roughly $3-$4k (without photography). you should track the previous posting underDivine Couture thread for more info. i think "nice" is subjective. different designers have their own styles and that's what make every boutique unique on their own.

You need to e-file a notice of marriage to ROM. you are then given a window time frame (21 days after date of notice, and before 3 months from date of notice). your solemnisation must take place within this time frame. get it?

quite sure there is no way you can't get the date for solemnisation. the most look for pastor/JP to conduct outside of ROM premises.

ok ok?? :D

pinkcupcake

thanks stickymouse, for clearing things up about the solemnisation thing!

my wedding isn't until late next year. So telling myself not to 'kan chiong' and will only start looking at wedding gowns the later quarter of this year. (or my boyfriend will think i'm crazy.)meanwhile just gathering feedback from the forum about the different BS. thanks for your info.

violac

actually bridal package is not the biggest worry. you should start drafting a guest list and estimating how many tables you'd need for banquet.

then start looking out for banquet venues and booking them already. the popular venues (large city hotels) are usually booked one year in advance. it gets worse if it's a popular date. if you happen to can't get hold of a licensed pastor, you need to start booking JPs as early as one year in advance also.

okay lah maybe i'm a bit "kua zhang" here. but look at it this way... the more time you have to plan, the less stress you have later on

hislove

Hi mei,
i agree with stickymouse abt booking of banquet venues 1st. yup.. she said all i was thinking.. haha..

Hi wedding_girl,
personally Whitelink is gd..
i really like my MUA & PG, altho' there're times i feel i'm not as gd in bargaining so my package is so so as comparison to others..
I mean value for $.
i tink the gown designs not bad oso..
i love my gowns.. tho' they're not MTM.

btw.. in regards to the si dian jin..
yah.. usually the in-laws buy..
jus get them to bring u to those jewellery shop, they already have those sets to choose from.
my family abit different, my parents bought diamond necklace & earrings for me.. and they're not demanding my FILs buy me si dian jin, but would leave it to them if they want to give..

yuene

Jess: Thanks! I see you're with Whitelink... I would have loved to have them as my studio! Too bad our budget a bit under their package price back then...one of my dream gowns is there...

Ya, usually the ILs buy the SDJ, my MIL was a bit different, cuz she's very non-traditional kind of person (though if you met her you'd think she was), she gave us a minimum spending amount and made us go out and get my dowry.. then must meet the minimum amount, otherwise she'd make us go back out and get some more until will 'hit'. She scared that later my mother think that she's 'buying' me too cheaply...*diaoz*

Anyway, mei, if you think that you're starting early, no, you aren't! Especially if your chosen date is going to be popular. I actually started planning my wedding and got a bridal studio about 3 years ago, and I'm getting married in 10 days (well, 9 days, in 30 minutes' time). Start drawing up a guest list and check back to it from time to time. You'll be amazed at how big it can grow and how quickly, too.

wedding_girl

stickymouse,
ya, that was my reaction too when i knew we had to find a place to cater to 600 people... not my dream wedding if you know what i mean.

oh, i never knew about this e-file thing with ROM, thanks!

thanks girls on the SDJ. guess my ILs have to go find out for themselves. they're pretty clueless on some things.

jess,
that's good then. was just wondering if my friend made the right choice; cos she didn't really shop around much for a BS.

mei,
if your wedding is end next year, there's about one and half years more. i think it's alright to start planning, especially scouting for dinner, reception venues. it takes time to do your research, visit the venues etc. and of course, you can also start looking around at wedding gowns. each boutique requires 1-2 hours cos you'll try gowns too. and you probably don't wanna spend a full day doing it, too tiring. those gowns ah, super heavy! haha.

anyway about divine, i think their gowns are pretty divine. i actually didn't shop around much too, but i had read all the good comments here about them and i felt comfortable so i just signed with them. but it's actually better for you to go look around before committing.