Christian Brides

pinkcupcake

thanks for your various input! Ya. Have started looking for venues since start of June and just confirmed one with Grand Copthorne Waterfront today.

It's the first hotel i looked at actually (all along wanted garden wedding so was looking at all the outdoor venues) but since it was within our budget, and I thought the grand ballroom looks decent, and so many perks, we decided to take it. very happy that i settled the venue. heh heh. But will have a outdoor christian solemnisation before the dinner to be witnessed by close friends.

More of looking at BS for gowns as i am thinking of getting a separate photographer. Thought after settling venue and photographer, the rest i can "take it easy".

Thanks for telling me how long it takes to shop for gowns! Actually dying to look at them now, but just thought I was being "kan chiong". heh heh.So thanks, wedding girl and Sylphide! Now I have a legitimate reason to start looking for Bridal Studios!
and Sylphide, congrats! You'll be married in little over a week! you must be so excited! will be praying for you that all will go well!

yuene

Mei, why not look online? www.netbride.com has some really nice gowns there. If you have friends overseas, they may be able to help you get it...

Sylphide is freaking out over the small details! I keep reminding myself, 'girl, call the florist. girl, email the banquet coordinator, girl, burn the music. girl, get the moving ATM to write cheques.' I keep forgetting to do so!

kokoyln

hi mei, i' trying to give u a website to view cheap gowns but don know why i can't post it up.. then also cannot PM u.. if u want to know the site, u PM me la.. my sis give me this site.. not bad lo..

wedding_girl

mei,
glad that you've settled your venue. i agree, the grand copthorne grand ballroom is very nice, with the high ceiling. and it isn't too expensive. too bad i forgot all about it, or i would have considered it.
haha, actually, some people would say it is a bit early, but i think it doesn't hurt to start earlier so that you won't be so stressed. because closer to your wedding you'll probably have other things to worry about like house, reno etc. i'm glad i started earlier even though my FH kept saying i'm kan chiong spider. i think he probably appreciates it now too. =p

sharon,
write a list!
and don't stress!

sleepycat

I will be having my wedding next Jan in a church. Can I ask if anyone here has any suggestions for suitable songs for the march-out (ie after the ceremony is over)?

pinkcupcake

Hi kokoyln, still figuring out the short-forms i see here...what's "PM"? Anyway, can you email me the website? [email protected] (is that what PM means?...)

wedding girl, yah lor. I also think book the things that needing advance booking first. Then can enjoy doing the other things like choosing gown and invitation cards at my own time. ;)

Thanks Sylphide too, for your website. Have jotted the address down and check it out!
Thanks leh, ladies...have been getting so much useful info here.hope I can contribute in some way too in the future!

sleepycat, what the theme of your wedding like? and your march-in songs? me listen alot of classical so if you need music from that genre, perhaps i can help.

wedding_girl

sleepycat,
don't think i can help you much for march out songs. generally people pick more upbeat songs. can be praise and worship songs or faster classical songs. we also discussed this a few months back, maybe you can check the archives. you can also do a google for such songs.

mei,
PM is private message, which is directed to your email address (which you specified).

sleepycat

Hi mei,

The other songs for my wedding is abit more comtemporary. We will use a worship song eg "Heaven" by Hillsong or "Just Let Me Say" when I walk down the aisle. My fiance is intending to sing when I walk down

For the march-out, I dun mind instrumental or a praise and worship song...

yuene

Hey sleepycat, for my march-out, I'm using an organ piece , slipped my mind what it's titled... 'Two Trumpets and' something or the other, very upbeat and certainly not your regular march-out song that they usually play, like the wedding march. I'll get it from my organist when I see him tomorrow.

pinkcupcake

oh..then, sleepycat, yeah, i think it would make more sense to have a march-out song that's also a contemporary chistian song...and that, i'm afraid, isn't something i'm familiar with.

But last week, when I was at looking at the venue at GWC, there was a wedding that evening and the sound crew and singer was testing the sound system. And I thought that song was quite lovely, for march-out/march in. (the setting was a cupola-like structure by the riverside) It was only a guitarist playing and this lady singing. It sounded upbeat and lovely, and fits the casual, yet modern-elegant setting.

I don't know the title but I remember singing it a few times in church. First line goes " hear the sound of hearts returning to you, we turn to you..." then i forgot the rest. and the line just before the chorus goes: "...cause in your presence, all our fears are washed away, washed away." then chorus, "Hosanna, hosanna....blah blah"... Oh dear! You must be wondering what on earth this song is! Sorry! Sorry!
I will ask my friend or hope my church sings this song on Sunday!)

and thanks wedding girl. Now i know what PM means...

blessed_1

hi gals..
back aftr a very long time cos my pc wasn working.
can i check with u all smth? i m doin my wedding invites with a freelancer. she is a christian( all these info i m sharing is based on what she claims.) and is also a bride in nov 07. claims she is helping other brides too and at the first meeting itself, we discussed wat kind of design we wanted. she showed us some templates saying she made some of these cards but i noticed that the names on these cards are not local and neither are the places. looks more like downloaded templates or some software thingy. then collected $120 from us, claiming since she is gng to start on the design, she must have some downpayment. but the strange bit is the whole cost is only going to be 272 n 120 is more than necc at that juncture. then we met and she showed some realy nice samples in hard copy. she refused to give us a softcopy saying the cols are not goin to be so clear. then wehn we met, she asked us for the rest of the payment. we were shocked! we don have any receipt or namecard since she is freelancing. so how to trust jus like that? we asked her y n she said so that the printing co she is wrking with can start with the printing. then i asked her how much of the total is she is charging for her designing work and she said it was to be given by the printers as commission. strangely, i have a funny feeling about all this. wat should i do? seeking godly counsel. thanks, sistas =)

hislove

Hi debbie,
I oso got a funny feeling abt tis lady u mentioned.
All business if need downpayment before hand will have to invoice u.
black & white to safeguard both buyer & seller.
If the amount is low.. only pay upon delivery of goods.
I tink u should call her up to clarify & request for detailed information to be written out on invoice or receipt.
Including her full contacts & ic no.
Yah... Christian.. but still... u never noe the heart of men..
Just my thoughts..

wedding_girl

debbie,
there's definitely something wrong with this designer. i work with many designers/printers at work, and payment is always after the project is completed, and always with an invoice, even for freelancers. and 'real' freelancers also give receipts and namecards. also designers always give a soft copy of the visual, no need to meet up to see hard copy till almost the final draft. i suggest that you just forfeit the $120 and look elsewhere for another designer/printer. there also isn't much you can do to her, so i think just forget it. it will save you much headache. at least it wasn't much more money.

just be more careful with the next one, and get everything in black and white in future. i'm always very kiasu when it comes to such things.

and like what jess said, she may claim she's a christian, but still, you never know...

yuene

I really need your prayers at this point in time. The past one month or so has really been a living hell for me. Even in the last 5 days of my singlehood, when I should be able to go to a peaceful happy home and spend time with my parents, it's a war zone. Really, everyday they are arguing and fighting--today I had to hit both of them to get them both to calm down.

They aren't arguing about tables or anything so small. About a month or so ago, my dad admitted to having a non-physical affair with a woman who's barely older than my eldest sister. That was after my mum had a mini-heart attack and because of the revelation, she had to be readmitted into hospital. I won't carry on, but honestly, one month of this--dealing with wedding prep and all and then this on top of that--I'm damned amazed that I'm still standing after all of this.

Today was the worst up till now. I just got my PS pics (really nice, plus my church friends who took the photos and helped with the coordination gave us a surprise: they developed the shots into an album for us! *sniff*) and I just came home from my FH's place and they were arguing...I do think that my mum was a lot at fault for the injuries that she got, because she goaded my dad into reacting and boy did he react... but still, I wish my dad would understand that when trust is gone, you have to be extra careful with one's actions if you want to rebuild the trust. Maybe he doesn't want to, I don't know. But seriously, I'm very tired of all this. And on Saturday I have to walk down the aisle with my dad and pretend that nothing is wrong, look happy, just yeah. Great. Wow. I was so angry and upset today that I hit them and threatened to kill them both. Actually packed up my things to leave and nearly got out of the door except that my mum begged me not to leave in the end.

In one month I've cried so many times that my eyes are swollen and I am just, so, tired. So, so tired.

Sorry to offload on you guys, but

pinkcupcake

hi dearest sylphide,

You are very strong to be able to function and deal with work and wedding preparations with all this going on...For you to react so strongly at them,they must be really driving you up the wall. will surely be praying for you. Don't lose heart.
Prayer changes things. Do seek comfort from your close friends...hope you aren't the sort to bottle up everything.

and if things are really tense at home, perhaps you can stay for a night or two at your fiance's place, just for you to rest your emotions and get some peace of mind?

will pray for peace at home. don't be sad...Things will look up.

wedding_girl

hey sharon,
oh no... *hugz* there's not much i can say, but will pray for you. i really wish such things wouldn't happen at what should have been a happy time. like mei says, pray and commit it all to God, and try to be strong k? and take comfort in the fact that your hubby loves you, and you'll be starting a new life with him.

hislove

Dear sylphide,
I offer my prayers..
God is with you all these while.. remember that k?
Those who trust i the Lord will renew their strength.
God is our comforter & friend, a good shepherd, a shelter in times of need

padi

Sharon: My dear Sharon, the Lord hears your prayers and our prayers. The Lord will comfort you and give you peace beyond understanding, one that will guard your heart in Christ. Take care alright? It hurts to see the ugly side of family members during this period of time. Take care and the Lord is with YOU!!
*hugs*

yuene

Hui, Jess, Joanna and Mei: Thanks so much for your prayers. Really need them at this point in time. Will also continue to pray for you all, esp Hui, since your AD is just 2 days away. =) Things are (dare I say it?) a little better at home, but every time I get home I tend to put my ear to the door to see if I can hear anything. If after a while it's all quiet, then it's generally safe to enter.

wedding_girl

Sharon,
continue to trust in the Lord to make things right with your parents. will be praying for you.

meanwhile, just one more day now... focus on your big day tomorrow, commit everything to God and don't worry. enjoy the day that's meant to celebrate the love with you and FH and the start of your new family life. all the best and have fun!

bigfish

Hello...

Sharon, may the peace of God shower upon you and your hubby thru this period of time...

Btw, anyone got good makeup artist to recommend?? Care to share some pics, if possible...
I've got a budget of abt $600...Thanks.

yuene

Hi, bigfish!

I can recommend you my night MUA, her name is Sharon Tan and I must say that she was such a friendly and skilled lady, I'm so glad that I hired her! Her services are a little bit more than your budget, but I think she's worth every cent. I did my night make-up for $250 inclusive of hairdo, false eyelashes (no ampoule) and make-up but without trial make-up. Her make-up style is more towards the natural type, but she can also handle dramatic make-up if that's your cup of tea. I don't have my night photos, but she also did my two bridesmaids' make-up for the day

http://www.walkinlight.com/gallery/weihansharon

Very, very nice. Anyway, I'll post pics of the ceremony when the official PG calls me to pick them up

zhen84

i've been looking for a church with big garden for buffet setting for about 500 people.
Do u gals know of any church with this big garden setting or a big field?

Thanx all!

wedding_girl

sharon!
congrats, you're a MRS! thanks for sharing your photos, you looked every bit the radiant and blushing bride.
how did everything go?

wesniff

hi everyone.. i'm new to this site.. Planning for a 1quarter 08 wedding but everything is still not done.. my FH lives in USA so I'm planning n checking out most things until he's back here at end aug..
havent got any venue or BS booked. can anyone recommend anything.. any help will be most grateful.
i thank God that this site not only talks abt wedding stuff but it's also a site where one can share n seek prayers.. THank our Lord for such great sisters in Christ.

hislove

Hi wesniff,
welcome!
Regarding BS.. u can ask around..
but what i suggest is probably getting those local wedding mags & see which BS gowns u like.
U can go down to a selected few to see.
But beware.. coz some BS can be very pushy..
Best way is of coz by recommendation by those who are happy with their BS.
If u intend to hold ur wedding in the 1st quarter of 2008, i think u have to book a venue now, coz most places like hotels get booked up a year in advance.
Decide how many no. of people u intend to invite, then decide ur venue.
Do u intend to have a church wedding and dinner, or just solemnisation wif small reception?
I'll send u my photos soon.. and share a bit more via email..
hope my 2 cents worth helps.. hehe..

dhz

Im new to this thread! My wedding is in May 08.. currently looking for a church to hold my matrimony as my church's sanctuary is too big...

looking at abt 400 guests... anyone know of any church with high ceiling, can accomodate abt 400 guests and available for rental to non member?s?? Thanks!

pinkcupcake

Hi dhin!

I attended a colleague's wedding at Holy Grace Presbyterian church. It's along Upper East Coast Road. Rental if i'm not wrong is $1500 for non-members. It's got a nice sanctuary with proper pews. Oh, and the sanctuary looks new. Nice stained glass in the front of the sanctuary too.

Hi wesniff,

I only checked out 4 BS: D'sire, Julia Wedding, Divine and Silhouette. Had pleasant experience at all 4 BS. D'sire, Divine and Silhouette are not pushy at all. Julia a teenie, weenie bit. By that I mean, they offer to call you up to tell you about the new collection etc but they certainly did not corner me nor keep telling me about their package.

But like what Jess said, look at some bridal mag You can also go to some websites to have a feel of their designs then go down personally to your shortlisted BS to check them out. I was totally clueless about BS in june but I guess after reading the forums for a while, you will have an idea which are the more reputable ones.
have fun!

pinkcupcake

oh ya, dhin, thought i'll just give you the address of the church in case you want to check it out: 408B upper east coast road. Do call first and check out the rental, just in case i got it wrong!

yuene

Hey Joanna!

Everything went swimmingly! We started pretty late though, because of the rain, which delayed the xiong dis from getting there on time (2 accidents on the expressway). Then some more Weihan had to go to the salon to style his hair, so in the end, we started around 11.30 instead! But it was okay in the end, because there wasn't any special item and we ended by 12.10pm, just 10mins off the original start of the buffet lunch.

Food was very good! Everyone loved the shepherd's pie and rendang, and also they liked the laksa. The only thing we didn't really like were the veggies, which looked a little too shiny for their own good... The only thing I wasn't too pleased about was the decoration of the sanctuary, which I think could have been better done because it looked super sparse..sianz...

padi

Sharon: I have the same sentiments about Rasel on my wedding day. Food was very good! Shepherd's pie was a hit. But the decor was a bit sparse.

hislove

hi cherry07,
I'll be taking Rasel Food Fusion like sylphide & Hui.
Mum's kitchen oso not bad.
What's ur budget like? Easier to source when u have a budget

yuene

Yup, Jess is right, it's easier to find one with a budget. If you're not constrained by one, Purple Sage is apparently very good. Otherwise, if you're on a tighter budget, you can try Sakura group (the guys who also do Suki sushi), they did my friend's wedding reception and the food was delicious.

Calling for updates!

wedding_girl

hey sharon,
glad to hear that everything went great for you in spite of the rain that day. also glad that food was good, especially after what i experienced. i guess even good cateres have their off-days...

Jess, are you having a tea or lunch reception?

Purple sage is yeah, slightly more pricey. heard that their set up if very nice. only thing is, my friend and i went for their workshop (is that what it's called?) with food and all, and we felt it wasn't value for money, and the food wasn't all that fantastic too...

cherry07

Hi Jess and Sylphide,

I am looking at a budget of around $10-$12 per person. Now still considering whether to have a lunch or tea reception, depending on my programme confirmation.

I heard from some frds that Smiling orchid, Harvest and Angel restaurant not bad. Any advice or comments that u know of?

Hi wedding girl,
I attended a friend's wedding reception where Purple sage is the caterer. The food is quite good actually, but for quite a high price lar. Apparently, it was over $60 per px for my frd's case.

wedding_girl

hi cherry,
i think you might need to confirm if you're having a tea or lunch reception first, as that will affect the budget. generally you need to budget a bit more for lunch receptions.

pinkcupcake

need some prayer here. Actually have decided on having a christian solemnisation/ROM on banquet day. Now mother-in-law says want to have auspicious date for ROM. I didn't want to outright tell her that I don't want to "check" for such dates so I just said it's more convenient to have it all on the banquet day.

She says that she will check it out whether that date is "ok" for ROM. Sigh. I really don't wish to change date, and especially for such reason. Do pray that she will not go "check" out the dates yet and that I will be able to tell her tactfully there is no need to do that because I don't believe it anyway, and because it is not in line with my religious beliefs. Thanks gals.

hislove

Hi Mei,
will keep u in prayer.
If u have booked ur banquet already, it's easier to just tell ur MIL abt it.
All the best!
May the Lord grant u wisdom & peace.

hislove

Hi wedding_gal,
I'm having tea reception.

Hi beannie_bean,
I don't have pictures coz my wedding only in OCt.
Maybe if u no hurry, after my wedding, i can share wif u. hehe..

Hi cherry,
btw.. Rasel fits into ur budget.
They have even a $10 lunch menu.
Not bad a spread.
I'm taking the $10 tea menu.
I heard Harvest not bad, reasonably priced but decor so-so..

beanniebean

Hi Jess

Thanks for sharing with me. I'm also booking Rasel for my church wedding. Just hope to take a peep at how they did their decor only.

pinkcupcake

Hi coco and Jess, ya, I have booked the banquet venue. My MIL says can always have ROM on another day. She says ROM day more important than banquet day.

That's why now using 'convenience' as a pretext to just have solemnisation on same day as banquet as well, so no need to "check" for auspicious dates. At the moment, she still feels ROM can be on separate day. Sigh.

wedding_girl

hi mei,
don't worry too much about this. i had the same problem as you. at first MIL said no need to choose a date, but she changed her mind and wanted to choose one. FH and i felt that if it makes her happy, we will let her go ahead. so we gave her 2 dates to choose from and one turned out to be ok!
maybe you can try to convince her somemore about the benefits of having the ROM on the same day. but if having your way will cause unhappiness, then suggest that you give her preferred dates, rather than let her pick any other date. you can also let her know that you don't believe in it, but you want to make her happy, that's why you're going along with it.

pinkcupcake

thanks wedding girl.
just that it's a thorn in my flesh. the idea that i'm getting married on a date chosen by some 'shifu' annoys me. Never mind, worse comes to worse, i'll just make my anniversary the day the pastor marries me and my boyfriend.