Christian Brides

havensbreath

hey all
i'm a christian btb too!
just wanna share my joy...i've just finished my last exam paper for my degree course...thank goodness! thank God for his wisdom and provision...during this time, my bf cum htb has been very supportive and patient and encouraging towards me...
haha...i feel that i can't live without him already! :p
anyway, i'm so glad i've already found a job...hee...like lydia's bf...i'm no longer a student anymore so the finances will definitely come in handy for the wedding preparation that's supposedly to be on 27 jan 08! it's only a few months away and both of us still have lots yet to plan!
hmmm...balloting failed
guess i'm not the only one here...we balloted for bukit merah but our queue no was like 2000+ sigh

anyway, just happy to know cheerful and excited christian brides in this forum

i wish that all of us will have a memorable and happy wedding...it's definitely a blessing from God!
<33 ryl

yuene

*grabs Lydia and starts bouncing around* Weeeee~~~~ A bit high...

Jess, yup, my wedding is in July. Don't worry, yours will also come soon! October is not that far away you know! And do continue to trust God for His provision for your house-search. He must have something in store for you that He thinks is better =)

wedding_girl, actually up until two weeks ago I was dead certain that I wanted the gown I originally chose, and I was going to call the studio up to confirm it but somehow along the way, my old friend passed me some magazines and after leafing through them, I realised that I might want something else. So on the day of my second fitting, I asked my coordinator if I could try on other gowns. She was 'furious' and 'scolded' me--not seriously though, she was just play-acting... hahaha... anyway, she brought out a few gowns that I tried before and then she brought out this really chio gown and everyone insisted that I should wear it, so I did, and yep. I sort of gave my heart to it... hahaha...

By the way everyone! Are any of you interested in having a Christian brides outing? Maybe go out for dinner or something (preferably somewhere cheap)?

hislove

Hi Sharon,
Thanks for ur encouragement!
Things have started to look a bit better.. hehe..
Met wif a property agent who's a childhood fren of my future MIL. She's a very nice lady. Experienced oso. Plus she's a godly lady.
Our families are keeping us in prayer that God will provide. So thankful that God brought along people like tis..

I'm interested in the outing!
maybe meet for coffee/ tea? cheaper.. hehe..

hislove

Hi Cheryl,
welcome!
Congrats on ur grad &amp; entry to working world.. hehe..
No worries abt the balloting.. coz I'm oso like u. Same ballot somemore.
looking around for resale flat instead liao..
Wat abt u?

Btw.. how's ur wedding prep? found ur BS &amp; wedding venue yet?

hislove

Hi Shalomzoe,
U're welcome.
Sorry I don't have script, as i go according to the program.
I emceed in mandarin for my frens. hehe..
U may want to decide on ur program flow then pass to ur emcee for them to write out their own script accordingly. More spontaneity

Jus let them noe the tone u're looking at. ie. formal/ informal

wedding_girl

sharon, oh wow, you must share photos of your gown when you have it! since it's so chio. haha.

and ya, why not, an outing would be fun.

like you say, something cheap, since all of us are cash-strapped brides. hee...

yuene

Hmmm, how about a outing to The Coffee Connoisseur at Somerset, on a Friday evening? I'm open to suggestions =)

wedding_girl, I'll share pics when I get it on the 2nd of July!

hislove

Sharon,
Where's TCC at somerset?
hehe.. i long time never go orchard already..
I can't join u gals on Fri evenings as I got cell group meeting.
Hmm.. may I suggest like midweek? like wednesday evenings?
What about in the month of June?
sch hols for the teachers &amp; students in our midst? hehe..

yuene

Hmmm, okay, what about the Wednesday in the first week of June? After that I'll be super busy with church camp and then an orientation camp after that.

wedding_girl

jess, am also like you, donno where's TCC at somerset. hee...

me too, have CG on Fridays; think most of us do.
so far first week june seems ok...

hislove

Sorry gals,
I can't make it on 1st wed of June.
But no worries.. u ladies plan without me..
timing must suit u all ah..
Yah.. TCC might be crowded..

hapimint

So sad... i called up so many churches and they tell me that they only rent to their own church members.... Feel like giving up and just get a hotel....

hislove

Hi Mindy,
don't fret..
God has something good for u

Have u called Salvation Army Praisehaven?
U can also consider Chijmes if u want a church like environment

hapimint

I have called up salvation army... and yes, they do rental for non-church members....
But my SO wants a more churchy feeling... says that salvation army building not churchy enough... faints....
He says there is another one at changi... but i called then they say no more le....

hislove

Well.. I guessed Chijmes may seemed to be the only one that fits into ur plan.
No worries..
I tink the Armenian church can be rented..
The one near the Masonic club
U may want to find out.

yuene

Mindy, don't feel disheartened. For a church atmosphere, try Trinity Theological College or Armenian Church, they can be rented out. You might even want to ask at St. Joseph's Institution, as they have a chapel there. You may be able to rent it if you ask. Cheers.

Hmm, yeah, TCC might be crowded. But like that not many places would be not crowded. I do know one that certain won't, but it's a bit closer to the west (at Sixth Avenue), so dunno if you all would want to go all the way there just for an outing...

hapimint

Thanks... I asked chijimes before but the price was really steep.. almost like paying for a wedding dinner...
Anyway, told him that if I cannot find a church that gives him the feel and match my budget, then we will settle on a hotel....
Still trying to find....

missyserene

hello..my church (geylang evangelical free church) does rent out the sanctuary to non-members. its abt $800+. hope this helps.

btw i need advice:
a qns for those whom already had AD. most packages covers 10-12hrs of photography. but i counted for my AD, i wld need at least 17hrs coverage! i've the morning usual preparations, gate crashing, tea ceremonies. then Noon i'll hv my church service &amp; night i'll have my banquet..

total abt 17hrs...can someone share their experiences? esp Christian brides whom have church weddin, can tell me how???

vex &amp; lost...with the possible hefy charges from hiring photographer...

ewwgetoffme

hey missyserene:
it really depends on the photographer. i bet there'll be some of the hours that you're not having any activity right? normally photographers won't count the hours that you are resting. i haven't had AD before but i've emailed a few photographers and so far none of them calculate the activity-empty hours.

but whoa, 17 hours... you're starting your day at 5 am?? that's really early.

pinkcupcake

I'm new here. Hmm...this sounds like a fun chatgroup! and it's nice to read how you gals share tips and pointers. My wedding is still quite some time away...Nov 2008. But thought of slowly taking my time to scout for venues. Has anyone attended any weddings at the Armenian church? That's one of my choices..need some feedback.

bb_queen

17 hrs is very long for a wedding. You will be so tired by dinner time and you won't look nice. Maybe you should relook at recheduling so that the day will be more relaxed.

hislove

Hi Missyserene,
U're kinda of schedule is not unique. hehe..
But I bet u'll have time after ur church ceremony to rest, before u head off for ur dinner rite?
Yah. Like Lydia, I oso heard that PG won't charge the rest time.
U might want to oso give that few hours of lead time for ur PG to come up with slideshows of morning proceedings for ur dinner.
Suggest u discuss with ur PG, or source out one or two for quotations.
Worst case scenario, on top of the normal package, PG charge per hourly rate oso.

serendipity711

hey Lydia! Glad to meet someone getting married in nov '08 too! Guess we have loads of time to slowly get info etc. Have you booked any venues yet? I'm still pretty clueless about a lot of things! like how much is a reasonable budget. Don't dare to talk too much wedding costs to my bf yet until i've done my homework...don't wanna stress him!

By the way, does anyone has experience working with wedding consultants? I'm thinking of getting one...NOT that i'm planning a big wedding (no such money heh heh)...in fact probably something small and intimate...Any comments/feedback on the costs etc? Thanks!

missyserene

hee have i shocked u gals off the chair?! hee...oops.. ok here's a v rough of my schedule

6am-730am: wake up/make up/sisters arrive
730: Groom arrives/ sabotage begins
8am: END
8.30: leave for tea ceremony at Groom's plac
9am: tea ceremony
10am: leave Groom's place to bride's plc for tea
1030am: Tea ceremony at Bride's + rest
12noon: Leave for Church service + rest
1.30pm: Church svc
4pm: Svc ends + tea refreshments
4pm - 630pm: No plans yet..
6.30-11pm: Banquet

i thot my schedule is quite normal..hee..oredi making everythg chopchop. tea ceremony might be longer than most pple because both my parent's each have 7 siblings + i've a couple of married cousins..phew...

erm..help??

hislove

Hi Missyserene,
not too bad lah ur schedule, normal.
Do rest between 4-630pm.
Coz u'll need to do ur makeup again.
Suggest u talk to ur PG abt the arrangement &amp; cost.
They got per hourly rate charging if exceed package hrs.

I deliberately separate my wedding into 2 days coz I don't want to rush through or get tired. hehe.. or get my helpers tired.
Actually, if u split into 2 days, PG charge extra few hundred $ more oso.

So it's really a matter of personal choice if u want to complete everything in one day.

wedding_girl

haven't really been keeping track here, but welcome those who have joined us!

missyserene, i understand your agony, somehow no matter how we work it out, our schedule will be more than 12 hours. looking at your schedule, think your church service seems quite long? best to limit it to about 45min-1h, otherwise your guests will get bored and fidgity too. is your church service confirmed at 1.30pm? the timing seems a bit odd, neither lunch nor tea. but that's just my view. also, if you're targeting to mingle with guests before the dinner from about 6.30pm, you'll need to start make up at about 5pm. really seems quite rushed, and you'll be tired out.
like jess suggested, maybe split it into 2 days? that's what i'm doing, but then many PGs and VGs charge a split day charge, so you'll have to factor that in too.
btw, tea ceremony is very fast, about 1min each relative. it's the photo taking that will take up more time; with your family, relatives, jie meis etc. got to make sure you have someone who can organise the groups efficiently. hope this helps you a bit!

crayongal

hey missyserene..
im gonna do it in 2 days too... so dat its not so tiring for us and our guests..plus, wont be so rush.
i guess for the pg.. its gd too .. dat its 2 separate days.. the hours can be calculated clearly. but, pls check if he/she charges for separate days. some do (esp if its sat and sun ..wkends.)

mindy,
when is yr wedding ? u can try trueway presbytherian.. they've got v.nice lady handling the rental etc.. and only thing is .. they can only confirm few mths before the wedding..which is the way for most churches. they gif priority to their own mbrs.. before renting to non-mbrs. but im sure there are afew choices! =)

Armenian church can hold abt 150-200pax? small place but v.cosy and nice.. i tink they charge abt $1500.. i didn't call them coz i've got a larger crowd.

hapimint

Hi Stef, I asked salvation army... they have the best budget at only 350. We are planning for jan nt year. However, my SO wants to confirm asap. Hopefully by end of next month as my parents are in china and come back only once a while. He wants my parents to know where and inform the relatives in time....
The sad thing is that my SO hopes for a more churchy feel. Salvation army gives him the feeling of a function room and if that is the case, he prefer to do in a hotel.... at least he don't have to worry about the food and also the flowers decorations....
I am really thinking... Hotel or church.... church more expensive than hotel?

hislove

Hi Mindy,
why does it feel like function room leh?
which room did they give u?
did u request for the auditorium? the one with the stage? the background of the stage is a huge window?

ewwgetoffme

hey mei! actually i've been planning for a long time. HAHA. i'm too excited. however, officially i've only taken action since march. i have confirmed my bridal room as my boutique, and i'm going down to source for banquet venues next week.

i've also confirmed my ceremony musicians, but this is not REALLY confirmed because they're from my mom's church so when i call for meeting it might be a little bit hard since the rest of my helpers are all in my church. still thinking about this.

what else? i've also confirmed my church deco person-in-charge (mom's ex-florist friend) and flowergirls/pageboys. and i'm starting pre-marital counselling in june. i've also gotten my rings (no-fuss stainless steel stuff that didn't actually cost very much because i dislike expensive jewellery - personal preference, not cos i'm anti-vanity or anything) and now all i have to wait for is my boyfriend to propose. he's actively planning the wedding with me lah, but he haven't proposed yet even though we've been planning the wedding for about 7 months. and i think my boyfriend wants to go to HDB somewhere in june.

if only i were this hardworking in my studies. HA.

have fun! (it's so much fun for me, honestly. :D)

it's late! i'll talk to you guys tomorrow

crayongal

hi mindy..
oh.. next jan... den ya.. i guess by this june u shld have it all confirmed and settled.. =)

i haven't been to salvation army.. but for us, we looking for churches in east side..dat is abit far off. erms.. as for the churchy feel.. i guess even if it feels like function room.. at least its church environment..
as for cost.. i tink hotel would be costlier.. plus, they may require u to cater frm them.. etc.. so, do chk out their rates / requirements first..
jiayou with yr sourcing!!

crayongal

btw ladies..if my church is not planning for pmc yet.. but i wish to attend one soon... any to recommend?
erms.. do u all noe of any pmc which is good and not restricted to their own church mbrs only etc.. ? please advise.
thanks!!

hapimint

We actually calculated, if we booked hotel, we can actually achieve it in less than 2k.... for 50 pax....
However, if we want church, booking will be 350... with floral decorations of say 400 and also catering of 50 pax... around 500?
But only salvation army offer that rental price... However my SO says that it looks cheapo as salvation army function room really not too good....
He deem it as the most important day of his life and therefore, he wants it to be classy and good....

crayongal

oh...
anyway mindy.. if its for 50pax... erms.... u book armenian church or sam.. shld cost u less den 2k as well (incl catering)..
heh.. at first i thot u had abt 350 pax. keke.. see wrongly.. so dats the rental for salvation army.. den their rental really quite gd comparatively to the other churches (abt $1k-$1.5k) =)

hapimint

Hi Stef... thanks... sharon, thanks too.... If I let me SO see the cost of the rental of the church, think he will give a NO NO le.... he has been seeing hotels... as I said earlier, he prefers hotel ambience as it is classy... I am more open to both as long as cost saving.... we planning for dinner and new house so for me, must be cost effective....

hislove

Hi Mindy,
if u think hotel is gd.. then go for it.
Actually, u can do alot more for decor at the hotel.
Also u don't need to fuss abt it coz hotel will take care.
Ur wedding will be beautiful!

violac

help...!! does anyone have a JP contact?

the senior pastor of my church is not available that day, so another pastor will officiate our wedding but he doesn't have the license to sign on the marriage cert.....

hislove

ladies,
I want to share abt God's faithfulness even in the details of my life.
Really small details.. but show the creativity of God.

Yesterday, I had my PS.
Prayed like crazy for gd weather &amp; hope my monthly thing won't come..
1st thing was fulfilled. It was GREAT weather!
but the 2nd thing, horrors of horrors came.. AHHH...
BUT.. I rem praying to the LOrd that whatever is to come, be it gd or bad weather &amp; other physical coditions, I'll give thanks and not be anxious.. so dear Lord, grant me the wisdom to noe wat to do.
I was most worried abt my EG, coz it's pretty form fitting.
It was my 1st dress for shoot yesterday!
But somehow, i wasn't bothered by any discomfort coz the flow was very light. (rare coz my 1st day always very bad)
Even my usual cramps didn't come..
I didn't feel bloated..
Basically, it turned out to be a beautiful time &amp; I didn't need to worry abt my physical condition..hehe..
Praise the Lord! Even the little details, He looked out for me.

hapimint

Praise the lord... hehe...
Btw, stickymouse, u mean that u are not going to let your church pastor to do it for u or u mean you will get a JP available on that day and just sign for u?
Curious because my church did say that in the case, I am allocated a pastor who is not licensed, I will have to go in earlier a few days on a weekday to sing the papers first...which I really hope not... Therefore, I am thinking that if in this scenerio, I get a JP, standby, after the blessings, he just sign better right?
Praying hard that I can a pastor who is licensed to sign for me on that day... hehe...