Christian Brides

violac

mindy, i'm looking for JP available that day, to sit in with the holy matrimony and sign the papers after we exchange vows. but the person officiating the wedding service will still be my pastor.

your "go in earlier a few days" is kinda like ROM first right?

sharon, would really appreciate that!! but i'm wondering if pastors would rather avail themselves to their church members first. what if he's available for me, then later a church member approaches him on the same day? is he gonna reject me?

hislove

Hi stickymouse,
which church are u from?
So ur church has no other registered JP/ Pastor huh? Are they going to assign one to you?
If not, can ur church pastor refer one to you?

On the other hand, u can oso register at ROM before ur AD.
Then on AD, have a blessing service instead.
As in proceedings etc still the same as wedding ceremony, but u won't need to sign papers.
My fren had that. Turn out oso very meaningful

hapimint

Stickymouse, I didn't know that I can do that... If like that, I dun mind getting a JP to sit in IF i cannot get a pastor who is licensed... will discuss with my SO on this... and ask my church...
cos our congregation very big... so even booking for dates need a year in advance... and maybe if they run out of licensed pastors, they will assign a pastor but not licensed lor...
Then what they told us is that, come into the church office on one of the weekdays and just sign first...
Then blessing ceremony on the day that we booked....
I mean I will check with my church IF i don't get a pastor that is licensed. Any JP will do mar... he just sit in and sign only.... no need to say anything mar....

wedding_girl

in this case, if i'm not wrong, the JP will be the one who will lead you through the vows etc and the signing; so he will say a few things. i think there are also some threads on Sg Brides for JP contacts.

pinkcupcake

ha ha! Lydia, sounds like you are really having a lot of fun planning for your wedding. guess i'd better start doing my homework too! have a great week!

pinkcupcake

Thanks, Stef! for your info on the armenian church. will call up and check. my only reservation of that place is the tombstones...they are very pretty on a normal day. only will they block the reception area and do they look weird, i mean, celebrating wedding then tombstone in background(?)what do you gals think if you were to attend a wedding reception with tombstones around you? am i being picky?

ewwgetoffme

hey mei:
yes i'm having a lot of fun. ahahaha. it's just such a nice thing to be occupied with, somehow. and the fact that it's a long way away makesme feel that on the day itself, i only have to be kancheong about the last-minute hiccups - that can be stressful but hey, at least everything that could have been settled months ago has been settled

and about the tombstones thing. i think it's perfectly okay, actually. i feel that it's quite unique too... a bit gothic XDDD but if it really bothers you, and i'm not saying it shouldn't, maybe you wanna consider other church-style places? i think singapore art museum has a chapel or something. i bet someone else has already told you this. haha.

jess:
wow thank God for His providence! i'm glad you could count your blessings like that. you know, i'm having a very bad bout of cramps today... the worst i've ever experienced. not only pain but nausea. oh well, God timed it very well actually. it's my e-learning week and i don't have to go to school, plus i am very busy this thursday and friday so thank God it came today. no better time, eh?

violac

hi jess, i'm from PLMC. you can see from the ROM website that there is only one pastor from my church who is a licensed religious leader to sign the cert. sigh..

i understand the difference between holy matrimony and blessing service as well, but you see.. our wedding is on our 8th anniversary exact!! it's such a pity for the marriage cert to bear a different date just because we can't find a JP! ;P

asking around my cell members to help too..

mindy, i won't say the JP is just going to keep quiet throughout and "SIGN ONLY" 'cos it's likely he will have his own set of civil vows for the two of you, (on top of) the vows that your pastor will bring you through. unless your JP is also Christian and he might just take the vows that you've already said with the pastor..

yuene

Hey stickymouse,

I'm not sure about that, but I don't think that that may be a big concern, because my church has two licensed JPs, so if there is a clash, Pastor Peter would probably go with the ones who asked first. =) Anyway I'm not at my mother's home at the moment, so I'll PM it to you tomorrow.

Just bought my CS for my tea ceremony! Got it from Madame Butterfly at Taka. Pink and lace =)

hapimint

My church has three... haha... but always fully booked.... I really hope and hope that I can the licensed pastor....must really pray.... I dun wan the date to be different....
cannot ask the JP to just sign? I want my pastor to do the blessings for us.... but well, rather subjective.... once I know which pastor is doing for me then I think, I will go plan.... for now, just leave it as it is lor....

hislove

hi lydia,
yah..God's ways are higher than our ways, somestimes incomprehensible but always for our best.
Alll the best for ur studies.Take care yah?

Hi stickymouse,
Oh i see.
Sorry can't really be of much help.
But i'll keep u in prayer tha tis JP issue will be resolved soon.
God bless..

violac

yay!!! i found a solemnizer!! thanks Sharon but it's ok already, dun have to go digging for numbers for me. but really appreciate your offer to help.

thanks jess for praying! i called up the various JPs contacts but none were available. so i decided to call up an ex-pastor from my church who has sinced moved onto to pastor-in-charge of another methodist church. he doesn't know us personlly, and i thought i'd be troubling pastor from another church, but hey he availed himself!! thank God!!

hislove

Hi stickymouse,
parise the LOrd!
It's an encouragement to me oso..
coz God answered prayers.. big or small prayers..
So now, u can relax abit liao..
gd gd

ewwgetoffme

stickymouse:
congrats! thank God for providing

hey sisters~
it's e-learning week so i'm at home trying to do work on the computer. i found a photographer of my choice already!!! YAY! it's well in my budget also. so hard to find a photographer you like at a price that you're comfy with. however because my wedding is so far away, i don't know if we can confirm or not. will give you girls more details when we can finalise. didn't expect to find this photographer too, God really can surprise you when you least expect it

ewwgetoffme

urgh, i don't like elearning week. thank God for providence, finished most of the assignments already!!!

hope that your wedding planning is going well, sisters!

yuene

Just finished up my guest book! Here are the pics:
486484.jpg

486485.jpg

The book was bought from Borders, while the frame was made from corrugated cardboard and wooden strips from Art Friend. The wedding figures inside were bought from Creative Hands (but I think that they sell nicer and cheaper ones at this scrapbooking store in Wheelock Place, next to Cedele--ah well). The frame and words were hand-painted with silver paint. Overall cost: $35, because the book didn't come too cheap. But then, you can easily buy a file for this instead. Wish I'd thought of that earlier. :S Anyway, hope this gives you some ideas of how to DIY your guestbooks if you're into such things!

ewwgetoffme

sharon:
awww it's so sweet! love it. thanks for the idea, i believe i will spend my holidays doing up my wedding stuff too! :D thanks for the $$-saving tip also, hehe. thumbs up for you!

wedding_girl

ooh... everything's so pretty!
stickymouse, i think i read in another thread that you did your ring pillow from scratch? do you still have the instructions? actually do you think it's cheaper to DIY or to just buy?

applecube

hihi so many christian brides here and im here to join!! keke

wanna thank God that my venue in church is approved.. coz the congregation big and diff to get the date... Anyway God is faithful..

Cheers..

ewwgetoffme

wow stickymouse, that's very very nice!!! :D so talented. i don't know if i wanna make my own ring pillow leh... i'm ver lazy to do it. i think i will make angpow box only. ahahah~ will buy the ring pillow :p so lazy hor.

havensbreath

sharon wok: i only thought of designing my own guest book...fh and i thought of decorating a big piece of paper (prob size A3) then decorate the borders with petals etc to match the theme...afterward we can frame it up and hang it in our new house in future! just a thought to share with everyone else

stickymouse: hee...i also thought of making my own ring pillow and ang pow box! save $$ and can personalise to match the theme! will post pics up once im done...AD is in jan 08 so not so soon

all: HAVE A BLESSED WEDDING!!! ENJOY YOUR SPECIAL MOMENT WITH YOUR SPECIAL ONE!

violac

hi girls, thanks for ur comments!! and welcome apple!!

wedding_girl, i won't say made it from scratch lah, 'cos the flowers and leaves were bought as they are. it's really simple to make, just lay two 9-inch square fabrics facing each other, sew 1 inch from the edge (so you end up with 8-inch pillow get it??), leave some gap so you can flip the square inside out and fill in with cotton!

it's definitely cheaper to DIY (i got a shock when i saw those in retail stores selling at $45-$50). i bought my materials for $22 and i still have enough leftovers to make another one.

lydia, i'm also making my own ang bao box!! we took one of those A4 photocopy paper boxes from office hahaha, but i trimmed the top 'cos i found the box too high. i have wrapped it in those brown paper used for drawing sewing patterns and that's all i have done to it for the last few months hahaha... lazy also leh..

cheryl, i started doing all these things way way before the wedding also (it's in sep this year) so that i don't have to pull out my hair and bite my nails over these small things later on. heehe, also took it as weekend therapy lor..

wedding_girl

stickymouse: i like doing crafts too, but don't know if i can find the time to do it. ya! you're right, all those wedding stuff is just so expensive; it's all a money-making business... =p
thanks for the link and the instructions! i would also need a sewing machine, which i don't have! haha. so maybe for me to make it wouldn't be so cheap - have to buy the machine first. hehe.

lydia: haha, sometimes i feel very lazy too. was also thinking of making angpao box, and maybe guest book...if i feel hardworking...

ewwgetoffme

dear stickymouse and wedding_girl:
ahhh my wedding is in november next year so maybe i will spend my holidays doing crafts :p don't know leh, still feel lazy. ahaha! i go to save-on-crafts.com too!!!

i was just thinking of a wedding signing thing yeterday and don't think i want a guest book after all. thinking of making a scroll and on the back of it run a satin ribbon along the middle length so when we roll it up from both ends we can tie it with the satin ribbon! ehehe... my wedding invitations are also handmade, just folded card plus satin ribbon. so it only makes sense that the scroll also has satin ribbon. ahahaha XD supposed to upload a photo of my invites but the camera's with the FH so can't upload now

my parents just informed me that we have to make 1000 invites. siggghhhhh... i think my holidays are really burnt. haha XD

going down to banquet venue (hilltop garden) to look-see. don't know if should commit today. we are thinking of booking the place but don't know if it's too early or not... perhaps will go down to confirm end of the year, today just go and see
after all we don't know if that's The Banquet Venue right XD

violac

1000 invites!!!! my dear, it's cheaper to get it printed in terms of time cost. u can use that time to plan for other more important stuff than to get stuck on crafts....

wedding_girl, i have sewing machine at home. if u like what u saw above, i have enough material to make another one (undoubtedly will not be identical, crafts never are!!). otherwise u can find whatever material u like, i can offer to sew for u if u like

wedding_girl

lydia, 1000 is A LOT! i agree it would be better to get them printed. might work out cheaper in terms of monetary cost too.

hey, your wedding is in nov next year, and i think you've got more things settled than me!

stickymouse, thanks, that's so sweet of you to offer!
let me 'research' a bit more, and look out for materials too; let you know if i'll need help. cos i also haven't figured out my colour theme yet! i like pink, purple, silver, gold themes. haha... i wish i can have more than one colour theme at my wedding.

hislove

Hi Sharon,
I love ur guest book.
Just 2 words..
Sweet elegance!

Hi stickmouse,
u have a talent yah?
I oso made wristlets & corsages, but after seeing urs, i pai seh to show mine liao.. haha..

Hi Lydia,
wah.. u really did alot of "homework" hor?
well done!
hehe..
For ur banquet place, maybe confirm at end of yr will be better.
Shop around abut more 1st..
U never noe wat offers are available..

bb_queen

1000? U inviting 1700 guests? If you are inviting 1000 pax, u need maybe around 60% of the number of cards coz most pple come in families or couples.

ewwgetoffme

hey all:
yeah we need 1000. my parents also had 1000 that's why they ask me to have 1000 XD because my parents know people of many many churches... so we have to invite many many families. we are inviting at least 3 whole churches (of course the congregations average 300) and a small number are non-Christian friends.

actually printing-wise our invites are very simple, ours is cream paper and we're just going to photocopy the wording. i have a photocopier at home and FH can use his school's, so technically we're only paying for the paper, glue and ribbons.

and honestly, i've settled QUITE a lot of stuff already, ahahhaa... so i think i can spend time on crafts lah :p i succumbed to the 'temptation' and booked the banquet venue today! no regrets through, really no regrets
was praying about it for awhile and yeah, i think it's a good place for us and our friends. plus we caught the price before the hike - the boss told us it will go up after july.

so basically what i've settled is:
1. BS
2. Banquet venue
3. Photography
4. Decor
5. Musicians (more or less)

that's all for now... now we need to look place to stay. but i think FH handling that. sooo happily busy, hehehe.

violac

wow lydia, are ur parents pastors?? everytime i hear a church got filled up as if it's a sunday service was when the couple's parents are pastors! worse still, the father is the pastor marrying the couple haha, lagi more people!

jess, pls don't say that.. we all make pretty stuff! it's all the more personalised & meaningful when it's something u made for ur own wedding, so dun be pai seh hehe...

i really enjoy creating pretty things, maybe not just the sweet pretty stuff, but anything stylo, that looks good to my eye and my mind i will attempt to create. when i was 16 i dreamed of being a fashion designer and my application to temasek poly got approved, but my mum discouraged my ambitions... so..? i became an auditor lor.. sigh... got the so-called "talent" but not put into use.

what God has in store for me, i don't know, i'm actually in the midst of looking for a new job. almost every member in my CG is looking for (or already started) on new jobs!! likely to be back in accounting/banking profession, my fiance knows it's a dream of mine to become homemaker hahaha.. so that i can spend my time developing the artistic side (or creating income from there), nurturing our children, cook for him, do some volunteer work, make a difference somewhere... unfortunately it's not so easily done, i still have the ambitious side of me in the corporate world.

wishful thinking + quarter-life crisis... sorry girls, ended up being so lor-soh... is such life in singapore?

hislove

Hi stickymouse,
I oso jus started on a new job.
Understand abt this "quarter-life" crisis thing..
Altho' I don't think we should think like that lah.. hehe..
Jus attended a Women's Conference today & yesterday.
Truly blessed by it.
Altho' deep in my heart, I believed that are many issues still not tackled for young working ladies like us.
God has created u & me to worship Him, and one way is by our gifts.
Who noes how u gonna bless people with ur creative gifts hor?
God has a bigger dream than what we can dream!
Don't give up but continue to pursue the Lord with all ur heart, mind & soul & He will reveal His plan & purpose for u.
God bless..

hislove

Hi Lydia,
1000people?
which church are u having ur service?
Can hold so many people?
wow.. the cost will be high hor?
I thought my 500 pax already quite crazy.. hehe..
But if can handle.. go ahead & have fun!

crayongal

hehs.. gals..
thanks for all e diy tips. stickymouse.. yr ring pillow super nice! hmm.. im not so into crafts so not sure if i can do smthg as nice as dat.. else, i'll end up buying..hehe

erms.. lydia.. who is the photographer u are engaging.. can share? im looking for one too.. and some of 'em are really so ex! =/
and hehs.. 1000 is really alot of ppl. keke... lots of planning to be done den i guess.. =)
jiayou!!

ewwgetoffme

hey all:
i'm having it in my church, pandan calvary
we have a gallery so i think it should be okay... XD my parents aren't pastors but they're just pioneers... my mom was a pioneer of both Calvary Pandan BP and Calvary BP and my dad was a pioneer of New Life BP. then when i was born we went to Calvary BP, and after my grandma became a Christian i've been attending Calvary Pandan's Mandarin service. so we have to invite the whole of Calvary BP, the whole of Calvary Pandan BP Mandarin (and even then there are two services), the whole of Calvary Tengah BP and yah lah, i think i'll have a representative from almost every BP church because my uncles are pastors in different BP churches and all that... quite intimidating hor? my boyfriend says that i am of 'noble birth' ahahahaha... as a family we have served together for many many years and therefore in the course of that known many many Christian friends. so i guess that explains the 1000 ppl :p high cost but God will provide lah ;) God provided for my parents' wedding too mah, same situation. hahaha~

stef:
i'm using depixel - http://depixel.sg. just met up with them today. very very friendly guys, FH and i get along with them very well. hehe.

thanks for all the well-wishes, sisters. still lots more to be planned!!! i'm glad i started early man. i will confirm everything else after my marriage counselling. now i think FH wants a break from planningw edding stuff :p we are picking things up again in august and september, so exciting. but now i'm more excited about church camp. HOLIDAY~~~~

crayongal

hehe... yes lydia.. u still hv much time la..
its always gd to start early n have time to decide on stuffs instead of rushin' thru... hee..

and thanks for the link to depixel. i shall go take a look! =)

yuene

Jess and Lydia: Thank you!!!

Lydia: For my invites, I actually got my sister (not the one who used to terrorise you) to design the cards and she took them to a regular printer. Colour prints on A3, which is about 8 invites per piece (as ours was done in a postcard format). Along with the cutting, it cost us $80 for 280 invites, which is less than $0.30 per invite. Plus the envelopes, which we bought from Popular and decorated with a heart-shaped hole-punch, the whole invite cost us around $0.45? And it's full colour, too. Would be even cheaper if it's B & W.

Stickymouse, if only you'd said that you made ring pillows earlier! *BISH* I'd have commissioned one lor.

Jess: How's your new job? I'm quitting my M.A. program and going out to find a job instead. Lost interest too far le. Hope you'll be able to adjust to the new env quickly!

Wow, the number of people at weddings are growing! My friends' eyes bugged out at my 400. Wait till they hear about the 1000 invites! o_O"

b_n_l

Hello everyone,
wondering if someone could share a sample programme of AD flow of activities/timeline if we're having everything (tea ceremony, church and banquet dinner) all in one day?
My AD is tentatively fixed on May 31st next yr.

I stumbled upon this thread by chance. So glad to see a christian brides forum and everyone sharing ideas and encouraging one another here so freely.
Not like some forums... so secretive about things.

ewwgetoffme

hi sharon:
my invitation card is very fuss-free, design wise. there's a satin ribbon running across an A5-sized card and we're doing two-folds - one fold about seven cm from the left and another fold about three cm from the right. the two flaps will overlap and be secured by one ribbon. that's all for the outside, no pictures at all. we love the look.

for the inside, the main body will contain our invitation, and the larger flap (left side) will hold the map to our church and the right flap will have a small icon of us in wedding gear (i think). i will do the wording (really thank God for my first-year design module, ahahha) and the creative design will be done by my course mates, who are the more design-inclined ones. (because in my course we specialise in different things, some of my friends do design but i'm more to the journalism side.)

we are going to photocopy the wordings on our invites, so honestly there shouldn't be a cost on printing at all due to certain advantageous professions. ahhaha! but even if my FH's school doesn't allow him to print his invites, i have a photocopier at home as well. that's why it's like, printing is free. haha. i don't think photocopying the invites are unbecoming - i feel that as long as your font is okay, and your kerning is okay, and your icon is clear and there are no ugly photocopying marks, photocopying should be a force to be reckoned with :p

then... i think i will buy envelopes when the 20% off popular sale for members comes around(i'm a member and so is my mom, yay). i should be buying the paper and ribbons from wholesalers. looking to fancy paper, actually.

oh yes, inserts for the banquet. i'll be making my own inserts - since my invite is on matt cream paper, i was thinking of printing my inserts on a little more expensive paper... should be a cream metallic with mahogany words. i should be using my own computer. printing about 270 of those.

with my search for low-price high-value paper and ribbons, i should be setting aside a budget of $800 for printing of inserts and invites plus envelopes. i think for 1000 invites and 270 inserts, that's pretty reasonable already :p when the whole sum totals up i'll inform you girls how much all my invites and inserts cost! think have to wait till next year then we know. haha.

wedding_girl

wow lydia, and i thought my 400 pax was a lot; yours is much more! but i can understand why you'd need to invite so many people. i'll have to invite practically my whole church, which is why it's 400 pax.

less than $1 each for invites is really cheap! i'm so inspired by all of you to DIY now... hee... hopefully the inspiration lasts till next year. =p

stickymouse, i'm also looking for a new job. in fact, been looking for a new job like since last year, but somehow God's not opening any doors for me. sometimes i feel i can stay in my current job, no problem, but sometimes i just wanna get out, but where, to do what, really donno.

sharon, i thought you've already finished your MA programme? what kind of job are you looking for?

ewwgetoffme

wedding_girl:
ya lor. i'm inviting my whole congre which is made up of morning service and evening service (and all of the morning service attendees will get wedding invites), a few people from the English congre (i'm from Chinese), whole of my parents' congre (English), some of their friends from their Chinese congre... it's like, only 2 churches but already have four groups! haha.

i revisited my invitation costs and i think the more realistic number will be $600 including postcard-size inserts. $800 seems like a lot! hahaha. actually i though i'll only be doing 500, 600 invites you know, but my parents sabo me
aiyah anyway they'll be helping me glue/tie the ribbons and fold the paper, so who am i to complain right :p can't wait to go down to the paper company and check out the costs so that i can be assured of my decision. instead of waiting till august or september to go, i'll probably get my friends to accompany me in june. ahaha.

eh, didn't realise sharon quit her MA. hope that you can find a suitable job, sharon!!!

stef: hope you like depixel too! just email them for their sales package if you need it, they're very nice people.

violac

jess, i'm so encouraged to read ur above post. u're right, i do feel needs of young working christian women tend to be neglected or not yet addressed. it's hard to be submissive wife when you're a leader at the workplace... this is just one of the many issues i grapple with... but God's command is a command, we do not question the authority that God has placed on men. that's why i always push my fiance to let me be a future homemaker hahaha, that'll make my wifely submission in spirit and in action so much easier wahahaha...

but yeah, in the meantime i'll just chase after God's heart, and see how His will unfolds for me lor...

oh by the way, girls, i'm about to embark on designing wedding programmes and photocopying them (hehehe, lydia, GO the photocopier!!). but i'm not really sure what should go into the programme other than 1) order of service 2) worship lyrics

is that it? pls advise if i left any critical thing out?

wedding_girl

hey lydia, it just occurred to me that even though you're inviting the whole church, there're a lot of families right? so you won't need to make 1000 invites, it'd probably be about half of that?
btw, when you photocopy your inserts, what kind of design software do you use?

stickymouse, homemaker's life might be fun! my FH and i have briefly talked about it before, and he sort of mentioned my stopping work in future when the kids come. but we'll see...
oh, i think you need to put acknowlegements? that's about it i think.

ewwgetoffme

stickymouse:
add in the vows and exchange of rings too
and people you'd like to thank!

wedding_girl:
hey hey, i'm not only inviting the whole church, i'm inviting about three churches. ahahaha... that's why i need 1000. my church alone singles and families add together around 300 invites, same goes with my mom's church, then if i add in all our relatives and friends from other churches and friends who are not Christians and colleagues and ex-classmates and teachers and ex-teachers, it will total up to about 1000. i really do have so many people to invite, it will be tough drawing up the guestlist, but not as tough making the invites!!! (because making the invites is once you get the hang of it you will be like robot, but summing up all the names need to think. hahaha.)

i should be designing my card with macromedia freehand and if i really need to use it, photoshop. (i'm quite bad at photoshop but freehand and fireworks skills are okay.) use my school's Apple computer. can put into portfolio for industrial attachment also. haaaaahahahaha. i don't think windows platform is very good for design, so if you can get your hands on a mac, good for you :D

crayongal

hmms.. me also tinkg of designing our own invites and den send to a reasonable printer to print it out. keke...
sharon... yr printer sounds like its gd and very affordable! hehe..
care to share details ? hehe

and as for AD wedding prog.. ya.. i guess photocopying!! hehs.. the way to go. keke.. .
erms.. anyone has a sample copy of prog/order of svc.. ?

stickymouse : i tink dats abt it for prog.. unless u wanna incl the acknowledgments.. hehe.. which i rmbr seeing in ppl's prog.. and also, order of picture taking! (family..den the various grps of frens.. etc.. hehe)

bb_queen

Lydia

Actually if you are inviting the entire church, you don't need the invites...can't you just announce in the service and the bullertin? I am sure pple will understand.