Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
Hi Shirley

i'm at blk 689
We have not confirmed the ID yet, still looking..

<font color="0000ff">Hi Prisc,</font>
Congrats on ur baby boy!
Last Sat i went marina square &amp; there's a baby competition, the babies look so cute. Next time u can also bring ur boy for competitions &amp; win prizes
Quite interesting!

<font color="0000ff">Hi Dora,</font>
Johnson handover the flat to u already,rite? So good~~~~ we're still in the process of finalising the designs. Last wk Johnson brought us to see the tiles. Think that tile factory is the same as urs lor. Btw, check with you, how is your payment schedule like? Can pay abit less for the material stage?

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ahmel,</font>
How's ur 'date' with Johnson last Sat? hehe,we're late for meeting with Johnson last Sat lor...
Btw, u so fast check out so many items eg, curtains, electrical appliances....
Good, keep it up! hehee, so next time we'll need u to recommend us leh . :p
Anyway, we dun buy 4D 1 But can consider lah, all these reno+elect. appliances cost $$, who knows hengheng mayb we win 4D hor? hehehee :D

<font color="0000ff">Hi Shirley,</font>
I think u're looking for me........
Derrick is my Husband-To-Be.
Did he send u to spy on me? :p

Angelia

Dunno what is the price psf for the curtains. Gotta ask FH
i only know my MBR roman blind material is higher end cos cannot find anything suitable for the other fabric range. But I think its a bit ex actually, but we got so tired walking around, so we just let him do it cos he can co-ordinate with my ID.

ChiaHui
Johnson haven't handed the flat yet, cos last sun when he came, we still wanted him to touch up some minor stuff, so will handover this thur. Altho' he washed already, think after that still have to wash until siao
. Pay a bit less for the material? dunno leh, you got to check with him, cos we paid the stipulated amount.

My furniture coming in next week... yippeee!!! Then can take a break liao

AhMel/ChiaHui

When you are discussing about the electrical works, please remember to BARGAIN.... ours is $1600, which I think is still quite ex... so remember remember...

Hi angelia,

I mean even the local channels like channel 8, we also cannot tune into....farnie wor...i tot tat one is by default will have one?

As for curtains, the curtain person came down on site to measure for us lor...quoted us $850 for living (nite full length), 3 bedrooms (half length) inclusive of the rods with the velcro on the curtains...cos i opt for cafe style curtains. But it is quite exp, i prob will bargain with them and see how much they willing to give

sigh...me over the weekend so busy..didn't go to singapore expo....sad....

eh..u guys go walk walk then let me know where to find curtains leh..me abit lazy ah...

Dora,

you said something about the electrical works? what's that?? do u mean the person for laying the lightings cable??

then seems like nobody is looking for roller blinds hor???

chia...

no lah...your husband will come to my department to do some programming stuff lah...then he told me he got a unit in Yew Tee so he told me to check out the forum in singaporebrides so that i can get more help for my house too lor...

wizard...

take your time to look for reno contractor..me also haven't confirm on any1 yet...but then should be starting my reno next month...

hey guys..me tomorroW ROM liao...hahahaha...
then my colleague say can go spotlight to check out some things leh..seems like there got many cheap stuff to get...dunno true anot...

Hi Angelia,
Dunno what to name bb for chinese name but hubby thought of "Lancelot" for english name but planning to use the short form that is "Lance".

Hi Ahmel,
Yah its my first child.....

Hi Koalabear,
Oh my Estimate Delivery Date is on the 24 Nov 03.
So got about 2 months to go....so excited n the same time scare cos I scare very painful.

Congrats Shirley!!

Electrical works is adding additional lighting/power points, etc. Its normally charged separately from your reno, so got to budget for that, esp if you intend to have a lot of downlights like mine.

I'm interested in rollerblinds for the study room, but still trying to see if can get the readymade ones to keep the cost low....

Pris,
Wah... your BB's name very cheem hor.... sounds like some character from King Arthur
pround.gif
But good lor.... next time would be as gao1 da4 wei1 meng3 as King Arthur

<font color="aa00aa">shirley,</font>
we went to Expo last Sat.. popped in a couple of curtains stalls to make enquiry, but only 1 is professional enuff to give us a quotation based on our floorplan and let us look at a lot of fabric materials. the rest either tell us our floorplan is enlarged so not to scale so diff to give us exact quote or juz give us an estimated quote, e.g range from $1200 - $1800, then tell us need to go down to measure then can give us exact quote!! why do we need an EXACT quote when it's a QUOTE????

We asked for a namecard but the lady says to look for her at the stall, so... anyway, the shop is Falcon Furnishing @ Tg Katong Complex, #03-06. (got it from yellowpages.com
) Tel : 6743 7630. but, i'm not sure whether we'll be able to get a discount if we go to their shop instead of booking with them @ the exhibition.

they offer the roman blind mechanism (Torso) @ $10 psf, and giving hooks and tussles free if i remember correctly.

if you're interested, maybe we can go to the Expo together this coming Sat (with the original floorplan) to book with her? maybe can get her to give us further discount

by far, we like their fabric best

<font color="aa00aa">AhMel,</font>
where R u??? hv u settled ur curtains? if not, we go together this wkend lah

<font color="aa00aa">alex,</font>
PAGING for Alex!!!

did u do curtains for ur MBR &amp; other rooms??

<font color="aa00aa">pris,</font>
wow, end Nov. it'll be here soon

Hi angelia,

The velcro that wrap the loops for the curtain around the rod lor...
..cos i am doing cafe style curtains and not the normal track kind.

Hi shirley,

Congrats on ur ROM...so u will not be single after today liowz

Hi Ahblur,

How's yr reno wif Everlink? I had signed up wif Image Creative. Now waiting the permit for the hacking n erection of wall b4 they can start doing e flring...

<font color="ff0000">Mdm Angelia,</font>
AhMel reporting !

Not yet decided on curtains la...where got so fast , just confirmed my ID last Sat. My wife will be in Spore for 1st 2 weeks of Oct, will make final selection decision during that period. But I would like to join u to source for the vendor in expo, if good price then can always go back to them later. But I can only make it on Sunday leh cos Sat got company event. How ?

think they'll def ask u to commit, e.g put deposit, if u want to secure the expo price.

hiaz.. i forgot u juz sourcing for ID
thot can go together then see if we sign together can get better price or not.

Sunday is the last day of Expo leh. if not, Friday can or not? Friday got any soccer matches or not?

today i went to Lung Mei Curtains to get quotes, the lady quoted me $1504 leh *faint*

<font color="aa00aa">celeste,</font>
oh, i thot cafe curtains are those with buttons.. din noe they hv velcro type

Angelia

Actually hor, all the shops that we've asked around, incl neighbourhood shops will give a quote of around $1200 - $1500 for the stuff that your described, so your quote is incredibly cheap leh.... not trying to suggest anything.... but you just be very careful before signing anything ok??
Or maybe you have the smart-looking face, while FH and I have the "chop-me!" face

wah..so tired...finally all finished liao...hahahaha....me keep laughing when we exchange vows..hahahaha
will send you guys the pic after my fren upload it...

I can go to the expo but then cannot make any commitment yet cos have to ask my mother-in-law before deciding on anything...she thinks that we should ask her cos she know about the market price mah...anyway, we also have decide on the ID yet...now since this headache is over then my new headache will be the house liao...

Pris....wah...ur baby's name really chim leh..but then cool....heehee

eh...any1 using laminated flooring huh??? me 3 bedrooms want to use laminated flooring but then heard some negative views from my hubby's relatives leh....

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
I've just signed with Johnson last Sat. Btw, do u still remember how much you pay him for the debris/haulage fees ? He kept saying there's a reno permit fee, though he will pay for us...but I thot this is free ? confused liao...
... maybe he's actually refering to haulage fees...

As for electricals, may consider buying the lights on our own and only ask him to install...dunno whether could be cheaper ...

As for curtains, I probably would give them my "blur" face .... too many types liao ...

no problem with laminated flooring lah..cos nowadays laminated flooring has warranty for at least 5 years. Don't hear those say got warping badly, this that lah....all you need is proper maintainence with damp mop and not very wet kind of cleaning...it will be fine...

oh...thanks...
eh Ah Mel...i think the haulage fees u can bargain with your contractor cos mine is absorbed 1 leh...then i've checked with the town council that 5rm flat need to pay about $175 for the haulage fees leh...cos some renovation company request us to pay up to $700-800 for the haulage fees....but I don't understand y we need to pay both the reno company &amp; town council...better check ah....

Ah Mel...

i only know that we need to send for permit for the renovation but then dunno whether need to pay any permit fees anot leh...

<font color="ff0000">ChiaHui,</font>
Ya lor...last Sat Johnson gotta push my meeting later becos u are late mah.... heh... so wat color homo tiles u've chosen ? do they have alot of choices to choose from ?

No choice leh....got to find out and more or less decide all the different vendors b4 my wife come over leh....cos only got 2 weeks then to select. very siong ah....
You looking for aircon or not ? One of the recent 'aircon' thread strongly recommended Ben from Hong Seng Tampines (67857382). I called him for quotation for a 3 + 2 system. National brand: Sys-3 $1999, Sys-2 $1499 . Sanyo is $2100 and $1500 respectively, non-inverter of cos. No hidden costs, all included - unlimited trunking, black insulator. I think very good, and he's very nice too, like what they said in the thread. Will go down one of these days to his shop with my floorplan to discuss the details.

Good Luck for your 4D ! If 'dio' hor...must buy me kopi okie ?

<font color="ff0000">Shirley,</font>
finally can reply to u liao....
First and foremost...
<font color="0000ff">CO</font><font color="119911">NG</font><font color="ff0000">RA</font><font color="0077aa">TU</font><font color="aa00aa">LA</font><font color="ff6000">TI</font><font color="0000ff">ONS</font> !!!!

haha...u must be very happy to keep laughing. which 'room' were u in ? i remembered mine was 'cherish' .... such a nice name

hmmm...so u also in mindef huh ?

btw, i'm also doing laminated flooring for my 3 bedrooms. cheaper than parquet, and heard that it's easier to maintain lor... only thing i dun like is the 'hollow' feeling, not solid like parquet.
I understand that the haulage/debris fees are different depending on your area and unit-type (4/5/EA). I haven't called up town council to check mine yet. My ID said it's abt $700+, but he will show me the receipt for imbursement, as long as got receipt shld be ok la.

<font color="ff0000">AhBlur,</font>
Ok la...since u like this name better...

Yesterday when I check the rice cooker box hor, it actually stated 1.8L - 3 to 10 person .

Minimum 3 ah ? so got problem cooking for 2 lor ? may need to buy another one ....

<font color="ff0000">Pris,</font>
Lancelot .... hmmm... has a very medieval and knighty taste .... but cool!

24 Nov ? Good, so he'll be a Sagi . Great personality! Humorous, freedom-minded, adventurous... just to name a few .
btw, me a sagi too ....

<font color="ff0000">wizard,</font>
Welcome to CCKC !

One of the best neighbourhood around ....

<font color="0000ff">Alex,</font>
Alex ?? long time never see u liao.... u back from your 'mission' alr or not ??

Hi Shirley

Congrats again!!
I'm having laminated flooring. According to my ID, its the screed that is important, meaning how even is the cement ground. If the flooring is totally flat, then less chance of warping lor. HDB will do it for you FOC, but the workmanship can be questionable. I got my ID to do it for me FOC. Some IDs that I asked wanted to charge me for doing it, and asked us to get HDB to do it. So just ask properly.

AhMel
No lah, permit is FOC, he'll help us apply. Haulage just pay him according to the receipt lor... hee hee maybe I'll ask him to absorb since I can't ask him for much discounts already. Regarding aircon, make sure they don't charge for 2 times installation. Once to run the trunking, the 2nd to install the fan coils. You don't want the contractors to be enjoying your aircon while laying the tiles

<font color="ff0000">Angelia,</font>
My company event is in a weekend chalet in Changi, starting from Fri nite. Since the venues are so near, Fri also ok for me. 7pm?

How about <font color="0000ff">Shirley</font>?

Hi Shirley and Wizard,
Warm welcome to CCKC

Hi Angelia,
Saw you mail yesterday. Very PaiSeh... Recently too busy liao... Did not come in for a long time liao... So glad to see this thread so active recently...

Yes, I did install curtains and Roller blinds. L.Room Curtains with curve Track and all the b.rooms with Roller blinds. I installed it together with the window grills.

It can be installed either below or above the side of the beam. Installing below the beam will look neater but in future you will have no chance to install any window grills. Since I have installed window grills, therefore install the roller blinds above the beam. This includes the AirCon latch window.

For our kind of living room, since it is a bit of curve shape at the window, therefore need to install curve track before installing curtains. Slightly ex for this curve track

As for roller blinds try to choose those materials that allow 50-60% light to come in during the day so that it won't look so dark when to roll down the blinds during the day time. On the other hand looking from outside nobody can see you even when you on the light at night - no shadow at all. This material will be slightly ex. But worth the money.

Hi Mel,
Yeh lor... lor time did not come in liao... very busy nowadays leh...

Yap back from mission but than hor, still got other task lor... Must do it at home leh...

Did you watch recent M-U vs Arsenal... Wow lao... very violent hor... But I still think Arsenal stand a very good chance to win this year... As long as they draw all important matches and win those minor matches, this way they sure win. Die heart Arsenal fans hor...

Hi Tay,

My reno almost finished liowz.....so far still quite satisfied with the end-result, but must wait till reno 100% completed then i will go check the whole hse every corner :P

Hi angelia,

Ya, the curtain shop that i went to, they were using buttons for cafe style curtains last time, but they realised that the button hole will get pulled down as time passes by due to the weight of the curtain, therefore they came up with the idea of having velcros instead, and its machine-wash safe lor....so no prob, dont even have to take down the rod when washing curtains next time

Hi AhMel,

Wah...the rice cooker for 3-10 persons? Hmmzz...nmind, cook 3 person share, force my hubby to eat 2 bowls of rice each time i cook...haahaa...feed him until fat fat....then become "pun tang" (rice-bucket).

wow, wow.. some of u go home so late (after 6pm)?? &amp; some of u log on at home? me seldom log on at home cos bz watching TV &amp; oso the dial-up line is too slow lah. used to company's internet speed liao

congrats!!

okie, so we set this Friday lah. Meet @ Expo MRT @ 7pm izzit?

wah, got chalet.. i oso wanna go can?

<font color="aa00aa">alex,</font>
oh, u did roller blind. for MBR, think we can't put the mechanism/track above the beam cos the windows actually extends beyong the beam (dunno how to explain, but tonight u go back see, see, will understand liao

think we'll use rod for the other 2 rooms. maybe will DIY ourselves.

<font color="ff0000">Man U VS Arsenal</font>
think the referee a bit bias. keep giving yellow card to Arsenal. i so happy when Nisterooy missed the penalty kick. but think my hubby not so pleased! even b4 match starts, he asking me to go to sleep liao.

though i detest Nisterooy, but when see him kena "hum tum" by the players after he missed the PK, i feel sorry for him leh. they shouldn't hv done that

<font color="aa00aa">dora,</font>
those HDB shops u went to, did u let them see the floorplan? cos i find if they don't look at floorplan, they will usu. give a range from $1100 - $1800 type.

for Falcon, we showed them the floorplan, &amp; was sitting there, looking at fabric (the lady kept bringing out samples for us to see) till like we sure sign up type. hiaz.. then after that stall, hubby don't even wanna sit down at other stalls liao, cos like wasted so much time!!

i not smart-looking face lah. maybe i kept stressing i want it to be "practical", so she oso dun dare recommend me those very expensive range of fabric. then if she still quote me expensive, i sure walk off immed..

so what shld i look out for? e.g hidden costs??

<font color="0000ff">haulage/debris fees</font>
think there is another "up-sanding" fees (abt $500-$700) which is not paid to the Town council but to some contractor appointed by the HDB. so when u call HDB, they'll only give u the haulage/debris fee but not the other.

used to have this contractor's number pasted on the wall above the lift last yr and we did call to check. but now, not many pple doing reno, &amp; the town council has cleaned up the blocks (no more cardboards to protect the lifts, etc...) so the contact is oso gone.

<font color="aa00aa">celeste,</font>
oops.. forgot to reply u..

ya, i oso thought use rod dun hv to take down when wanna wash curtains. but hor, stil hv to climb up to remove the curtains

hmm.. think i'll still prefer the buttons type

hi ahmel and alex, thanks. i think yew tee will be nice place to live in... can't wait to quickly do up the place, then can move in.

Hi shirley, Congrats on your ROM !

Angelia

We went to the shops with our floor plan leh.... Even with the exact measurements of our windows.... Actually, our windows are much bigger than what they estimate if you just tell them new HDB 5-rm, cos most of the new SengKang/Punggol/JW flats only have 2 panel windows in their rooms. Everytime we ask for grilles or curtains quotes, they always comment that our windows are very big, esp that little bedroom.
Guess we are quite lucky

Maybe you need to take note of the quality of the material and the tracks/rod or mechanisms..... I'm also not quite sure what is it that makes such a big difference.

Hi angelia,

Ya.....no matter wat still have to climb up to remove the curtains...*sighz*....but i guess i prob wash once or twice a yr onie cos mi the lazee kind...heehee...:P

As for buttons or velcro, hubby prefers velcro more, so guess we'll keep to velcro lor

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
Thanks for the advice!
Just called him, and confirm that 2nd installation trip is FOC. He even recommended I should do it twice so as to safeguard my interest. I'm impressed. Will go down 2morrow to discuss details.
Ya lor....later must also try to bargain with him to absorb my haulage/debris fees ...
I think for u he should absorb la...since u introduced so many clients to him.

OK. Fri, 7pm @Expo MRT . Bu Jian Bu Shan .

Mebbe next time we can organise a chalet outing for our CCKC gang , hor ? (No arrows plse!!)

<font color="ff0000">Alex,</font>
Great to see u back !

<font color="0000ff">ManU - Arsenal match</font>
Of cos got see. Really disappointed with Ruud's PK miss!
Indeed very violent leh. Dunno why the Gunners so immature as to lose their temper...I agree that they still have strong chance to win the title, but they may have real defensive problems if all the suspension charges come in . And i think Chelsea has a very strong chance hor....getting better n better ...

So when ur reno will start ? expected to move in by this yr ?

<font color="ff0000">AhBlur,</font>
haha....try not to eat so much rice lor....since ours is also a steamer, mebbe sometimes can steam some buns or mantou instead.

wah biang...me only 1 day never login only then i gotta spend such a long time reading...
then hor...the haulage fees really can be absorbed 1 leh...so please try to bargain orelse i don't really feel good knowing my new friends need to pay that $700++ and additional gotta pay town council another amount...me fri cannot leh...never mind..i sat go then we discuss...

me use Joy room yesterday.. cos thats the only room there..the rest of the rooms not operating...then i was laughing when we held hands to exchange vows...hahahaha...damn funny..

Angelia...u got all of our email huh?? then i send u a few pics we took during my ROM then u send to them want anot...but then quite big hor..

then u guys got play badminton anot?? I remembered that time saying want to play badminton then never say whether u all got play anot leh...shiok anot???
me now waiting for 1 of my reno contractor to come back from his ICT to continue my drawings...sianz...

<font color="aa00aa">Dora,</font>
me made a mistake.. the $999 was of a fabric from a cheaper range. checked wif hubby last nite that if we took $18 range, will be abt $1200. but guess we'd DIY for rm 2 &amp; 3 to cut cost.

okie. Expo @ 7pm this Friday!

chalet? too many people lah. then muz book couple of mths in advance. i wanna organise a pte chalet but till now still no action

maybe a BBQ session instead? CCK area got BBQ pit or not?

yalor, i oso afraid the players will get suspended. then against Chealsea can don't see liao

me oso ROM-ed in Joy room

oh, thanks for reminding me to send out the list. kept forgetting to send after updating
. will send after this

hi ahmel, me hoping to move in by this year end.. but until now i have not confirmed an id yet.. i think i have to confirm soon already, if not, cannot complete on time...

yah lor...wizard i think maybe we'll be doing the renovation same time cos i also want to complete by end this year..hahaha...

anybody remembered that after ROM then give the photocopy of the marriage cert to hdb branch or town council or have to go down to hdb and give personally huh??

Hi Ahmel,
You hoh very thick skin lei.....hee hee!
But great to know that my bb in future will have so many good character.
But since you are a living example I believe you lor....hahah
As for the name hoh, its my hubby's idea lar me not so clever to name bb such powerful name.....

Angelia,
I like BBQ alot but too bad I and hubby tried searching for the whole area near my place but still cannot find a single BBQ pit, maybe we should write in to HDB to built one since here around all mostly are young couples.

<font color="ff0000">Pris,</font>
You are spot-on! <font color="0000ff">Thick-skin</font> is another great trait of a Sagi .... but i too paiseh to put it in previously la....

But then hor....i'm not a full sagi leh...me also a half capri .... very confusing

Really no BBQ pits around our area ? so sad..

Good idea, so u write the letter and we all shall sign

<font color="ff0000">Shirley,</font>
I called up CCK HDB branch office to check liao, they confirm the haulage+debris removal fees for my unit is only $213.20, payable when my ID apply for the reno permit which is free. I will reimburse the ID using the receipt lor...but will try to bargain for absorption.

No leh...we have not organised any badminton yet. coming soon. next change.

me too me too....hoping to complete reno by year end...so probably can see many pple moving house at the same time!

I think u can dun watch the Chelsea match liao...6 gunners have been charged, suspension >= 20 matches in total leh.... but still got chance la....

like to check does anyone of you subscribe to MaxOnline at home in CCK area? What is the download and upload speed like? Do you encounter differences in surfing speed at different part of the day? Thank you in advance.