CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

pinkbunny

hey levynn, thanks for the beehoon tip! will try soon

tonight: aglio olio and pork chops! yum :D ah lao cooking so i shake leg

yongee86

PB,why considered both still lose when buy germany or argentina?? in the end, i never buy.. ahaha..

anyway, here's the image of dark soya sauce tat MIL uses for braised duck... the not so saltish type...

383636.jpg

the herbs for soup:
dang gui
huaishan
yu zhu (pic not uploaded)
dang shen
gou qi zi
red dates

herbs for woman's tonic soup:
beiqi
dang shen
red dates
gou qi zi

pinkbunny

ant - cos DRAW mah. sigh.... but lucky still buy $10 on france, still win $50

anyhow, here goes, girls. dinner yesterday. i cooked the pork chops, ah lao cooked the pasta.

pork chops: cook with garlic butter, then just add basil and italian herbs. one piece i put cumin powder (buy from market. 50 cents only). nice!

pasta: just fry with olive oil and garlic and parsley and oregano and onions and chilli flakes (or dried chilli)
383661.jpg

dinner today. i tried skylar's nonya chap chye recipe!! and levynn's beehoon recipe!
383662.jpg

yongee86

eh.. thot germany won by 4-2?? how come considered draw?

ahaha.. u bought both brazil and france ar??

ur pictures look good. but wat soup is that? the deep fried brown brown thing is what?

clement18

Hi all...would like to share this soup which learnt from the market lady whom sell good vegs

Water Cress and Milk Bai Cai Soup

1) Water cress - $2...buy those old old one...with hairy roots...dun cut away the roots...make the soup nice nice one
2) Milk Bai Cai (chinese call nai bai) - $2...if got flowers...remove them
3) Honey date - 1 pc
4) Red Dates - 5-10pcs
5) Pork ribs - 4-5 pcs
6) Chinese Almonds - Both kinds - a hand full
7) Dried scallop - 1-2 pcs

Steps
Put boiling water to pork rib to wash off the 'dirt'...pour away the water

put the ribs to the pot to cook
then place all the stuff in...high fire boil first

once boil...turn fire to small...cover the pot
cook for 1 1/2 - 2 hours

add salt to taste

this soup is smoothing for the throat

schnauzie

PB - ur very stylo leh, still got huey huey table cloth one somemore ur meal still garnish until like so restaurant like..*yummY*

ask u ah, must cook pasta until al dente first is it? how to cook till al dente?

i luff italian food, but my hubby lately then confessed that he always hated it but have been pretending to like it for the past half decade(only tell me recently after we ROM, basket!)

I bochap, i am not goin to stop eating my fave food so he diedie must eat too...kekekekeke

pinkbunny

yawn.... morning, gal pals

walau eh ant, germany and argentina 1-1 draw la. you watching s-leage is bo? keke. france is another match (france-brazil ... i bought brazil first then ah lao said give france face la, put $10. heng ah!) http://www.singaporepools.com/Sports?page=results&type=default

the soup was herbal chicken, the brown thing is the packet japanese chicken

thanks clement!

sch - i got huey huey table cloth cos i'm ah huey mah!
aiyah cos my place is rented so the dining table came together with the place, and it's not very nice, so i put the cloth over, and plastic over that, so easier to clean lor.

al dente, as taught my the chef at my auntie cooking class, is to cook until just cooked. but he says that only italians eat al dente. for the rest of the world, al dente = not cooked!
hmm. why your hubby don't like italian leh? italian food got alot of diff kinds mah, maybe you can try others?

oh one thing about skylar's recipe for nonya chap chye - i think can omit the salt, and even cut down on the salted beans. sibeh giam ah!!!

pinkbunny

water cress is xi yang cai, yes? i think so

i think i tried once with just pork ribs and water cress and gou qi zi, also nice

Good morning!!!
whaha... so early got recipes to see liao lah.. keekekek.. me also fried beehoon over the weekend but mine is the orh lu lu one.. kckekeke... coz my ah lao & I like black beehoon.. not so nice like u all here..

Pink..
nabz.. lah.. kelong ah WC!!! Wat is WC w/o Brazil!!! haiz.. lost for both lah.. nabz..
not surprise if Germany get the damn cup man!

pinkbunny

my colleague said something really funny just now. she said both times italy won WC was in year of the dog.... and this year is.....???

Pink!! sure bor!!! whahaa.. if really liddat then i will tan Italy liao leh.. I will tan with $5 lor.. whahha...

okok... me also not lazy over the weekends.. share share..
not feeling very well so dinner for sat...
eat porridge..
383776.jpg

then Sun dinner.. orh lu lu beehoon + luncheon meat.. kekeke...
383777.jpg

pinkbunny

eh skylar bueh pai leh! wah.. chilli padi ah?! what's that bowl of black stuff ah? your porridge dinner looks light and nice
i love your old fashioned plate :D

schnauzie

sky - ur beehoon got add wat thing ah? the black one..mushroom or wat? ur table got so many placemat leh

ur porridge looks good...
my house goin to be ready sometime this month, hubby complain tt i nv cook for him so goin to kai dong this month take him as guinnea pig liao..
expect charcoal fish and undercooked vegs

Waahaha.. Pink...
u mean that bowl of black stuff next to the beehoon ah? kkeke..
its red bean soup lah.. whahahaa....
ya lor.. must have chilli padi.. or else jiak buay loh leh.. habit liao. ekkee..

my porridge is fried tau kwa & fishcake mixed, then boiled broccoli, buy liao but keep inside fridge for so long & the other one is stired fried mor kway + xiu ba (roasted pork)

pinkbunny

wah skylar - you had quite a housewifey weekend eh? keke. your ah bu's fish also chilli padi, you at home also use chilli padi... not bad eh! huo la la!

sch - we contribute so many recipe here, you sure can find something simple enough that won't end up black and charred keke

Pink...
ok lah.. coz my ah bu got help me out mah.. whahaha.... ya ya.. me everything also chilli padi one.. kekeke...

Sch..
ur rite.. my table got 4 placemats.. kekeke...
the orh orh thing on my beehoon -- some are those mushroom found in those cans of porkribs which I buy lor.. but I got add "Gao Lak" coz my ah lao like-ki.. kekek...

schnauzie

keke PB, sky - YES! I am confident that my attempt will turn out OK! hopefully i can contribute some picture soon.

By the way hor, last fri i go Popular, they got so many cook books leh..then alot on herbal shop got show all the herb etc..then i go NTUC also alot of pre-pack herbal soup mix..u all got try b4 or not?

fat

Hello gals! Wah piang eh! Eng & Bra oredi out liao...sian man! Guess over the weekend alot of pple lose $$$$....

Pink - kekeke...i prefer your beehoon than your pasta...not bad leh...with beehoon still got soup & chap chai. Hey, your table map like those SQ gal's uniform leh... hahahaha

Sky - ok mah...still say you lazy...over the weekend still got cook leh. Your porridge wan looks good coz Im a "porridge" gal!!! Everyday eat porridge i also can wan. Btw, your broccoli boil liao but wat seasoning your put or juz boil w water nia?

pinkbunny

KA, ok la next time you come my house tell me first if you want to eat or not la. if you want to chia then i cook beehoon. if you don't want to chia then i cook pasta - steady bo?

paisay i love chok but not so much teochew moi kind of girl

sch - no leh. i find the gum quite waste of money. i just stay away from smokers lor. and don't buy lor. i told my office downstair the mamak shop uncle not to sell cigarettes to me hahahahha.

Sch...
I buy some of the pre-packed from Eu Yan Sang one.. if u buy from NTUC also can lah... but u also add some extra herbs on ur own to add more aroma to ur dishes ya.. keke..

KA...
the broccoli, just boil nia then add some oyster sauce lor.. kekeke.. I also like porridge.. ekekek..

schnauzie

PB - i like chok and teochew moi. chok can buy from supermarket is it? heard got powder rice or simi..?

Sky - mi fren complain to me that Eu Yan Sang pre-packed one buey xiang leh..but i don like Kuku soup also

pinkbunny

i absolutely lurrrrrrrrrrve chok. from crystal jade. yum yum. sorry man i don't know how to cook it. i only know how to eat.

i think we were having this conversation before about pre-packed herbs. was it ant's MIL who said pre-packed sometimes they give not fresh one? i tried once from supermarket and it's true, the gou qi zi so dry and old! i'd rather spend a bit more and go to herbal shop and ask them to pick for me.

what the heck is kuku soup!?!

schnauzie

ku ku = BITTER LAH

ya i must sneak to the supermarket to copy the ingredient from the pre-pack packet..can take photo or not?

Sch..
wat is buay xiang? not fragnant ah... kekeke...
& wat is kuku soup??? cock soup ah? whahaha.....

Pink..
prepack for convienient sake lor but i always believe that pre-packed must add in extra herbs or spice of ur own then ok lor..

KA!!!
brunch? whahaha....

pinkbunny

skylar - i kena one time the koyak gou qi zi i scared already. now i go and buy herbs from auntie at herbal shop, wrapped in pink paper some more. so nice hahahaha. but seriously, just a bit more ex only.

sch - wah you scared us with the kuku soup sia. keke.

yongee86

wa si beh TL now.. angry with boss.. so naggy n wasted time.. now doing budget mtgs with various countries. then he keep taking materials from his pc to present when he forced me to add it in in my slides.. n he toked non stop n drag n drag the mtg.. wo si beh angry now!!

schnauzie

pb, sky - u all think crooked lah...u think i cook niu bian soup(cow testicles) ah? wahahahah

Ant - u now meeting u tok on SB with us? aiyo this kind of boss real scary..can tok until baby cockroach grow up

Whahaha.. SCh.. ku ku aka bitter hwhaha.. okok..
wahh.. niu bian?? ai tor lor.. kekeke...

tea tree..
u open ur pix in paint format then u do the resize from there & then re-save it again lah.. u can do it one.. i also teach KA the last time.. she did it too.. ekeke...

Anto..
ask ur boss when free go marina south lah.. then if he or she ask u why ah? tell him go there can fly kite.. whahahaha...

pinkbunny

skylar - you can open design course liao

i also quite TL now cos someone i'm supposed to meet at 11, call me at 11 to say that she'll be 1 hour late. then? i don't need to eat is it? not very nice lor like that

ok gers, enough of the kuku talk liao ok?

levynn

PB... ur meals always make me lau nua... esp ur pasta... looks so good!! so, how's the fried beehoon ah?? worried will miss out sth...

ivy... i dunno if need to put water for the fried beehoon. will ask my mum again.

schnauzie... usually my mum will juz scoop away the layer of oil... then pour everything in.

tea tree..
u open up ur pixs in paint format... go under image on the top section, then go under Stretch/skew options.. then go under horizontal/vertical section & reduced them equally by % like 50% by 50% so that ur pixs can appear nice.. otherwise if ur % not balance, ur pixs will become Y-Ki-Koh!! kekeke...

Pink..
whahh... ur frd steady leh.. nabz. supposed to meet at 11 then 11 then call u ah? whahaha.. win liao lor.. might as well dun call.....

pinkbunny

skylar - it's not friend lor. it's for work lor. double nabz right? colleague ask me just now 'today not your cheerful day is it? wah.... laoniang is HOT now!

levynn - tried to scoop away the oil from the can but not so easy leh cos the gravy will come out together with it. i added a bit of water. fried it for lunch then not so nice, then got leftover, ate it for dinner then eh, more better ler! keke.

ok ok next time i post pics, i will include a bib for you also, so that can absorb your nua! haha.

fat

Sky - hmmm...wat IQ test hah?

Tea - Why your macroni got salted eggs wan? Btw, you also not working ah? But looks good lah

yongee86

yup, i surf the net during meetings. coz now presenting other product categories.. if dun surf, i will start to doze off esp wif irritating boss non stop yakking in mtg.. he macham wana present for us lor.. crazy man.. he is super lor soh k.. worse than auntie..

ya, it's my MIL who saw those pre-packed herbs at my hse.. den she examine every herb n say the pre-packed type use the 'inferior' parts of the herb so power not there.. the best is u shld buy in big packets and mix the herbs yourself coz will be cheaper.. MIL even got membership for some chinese medical shop k.. dun play play..

tea tree oil, your lunch looks very healthy n nice.. mine is boring packed lunch which is not nice n expensive..

PB: your client so bueh zi dong one.. if me, tell her to come after 2pm siahzzz.. heheh..