CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

yongee86

recipe for the herbal soup:

red dates and gou qi zi
383034.jpg
383035.jpg

yongee86

for the tonic soup for woman, about 3 bowls of soup into 1.. it dun taste bitter but very strong medicine smell lah.. n after boiling it once, dun throw away immediately, coz tomorrow can boil again.. good to drink once a week but not when ur relative visit u lah..

another thing good to buy is dried scallops. good for soup, also good with frying vegetables.

den the ginseng, can also soak in hot water and drink.. same theory, dun throw away after drinking once. can 'recycle'.

another thing good to buy is dried scallops. good for cooking soup and frying veg.

joniel

basket, my response always the slowest!!!

<font color="ff0000">Pink/Skylar/Schnauzie</font>: You all ah..ba jui pak jiao (eyes shoot bird) is it...it is antonia husband scared of using slow cooker hor..not mine..bec it is my ah-lao who insists i use slow cooker so that i do not need to watch the soup over boiled or dried up at the stove.

<font color="ff0000">Pink</font>: Tumeric is Ng Kiu = Yellow Ginger NOT yellow ball...wrong tone u pronounce liao..lol

<font color="ff0000">Pink</font>: You say you 6:45pm off work, but hor at 6:31pm u say byebye liao...u eat snake ah!

<font color="0000ff">Antonia</font>: At first I tot u boyboy leh..until u mention "my hubby" then i know u is girlgirl..haha..

<font color="0000ff">Antonia</font>: Can post the picture of the dark dark soy source brand ur papa used. Testing posting food pic must use food la..not cartoon cartoon one ok. But pardon u la since u post so many yao-chai..i only know the 2nd pic looks like "tang-gui"..the rest can u go home and find out the name and post bor..if not i got to print it out and show to the medicine shop and i got no colour printer, the shop will ask why all or or eh..

lastly, u use rice bowl to eat rice one ah? i only know how to use plate..haha..but eat from rice bowl sounds nice hor?

<font color="aa00aa">KA</font>: your bee-hoon i like, bec i like a bit wet one dun like those dry dry type...and u always very sharp leh...say skylar eat one prawn already...haha...

everyone enjoy cooking!!

joniel

yongee86

joniel, ahahah.. thot me a boy ar.. tat is a common mistake made by alot of ppl.. or ppl will have problem pronouncing my name and end up antonio..

i dun hv the dark soya sauce now leh.. when my dad help me buy, den i take pic and show u all k.. coz must specially go duno where to buy one..

errr.. i dun hv the names of the yao chai leh.. my recipe as u can see is written on every bag n MIL never tell me the names of the herbs leh..

yup yup, we very traditional one, eat from rice bowl.. but if eat other type of food like pasta, den will eat from plate lor..

me now damn TL.. coz saw all of u rave abt the deep fryer from simply her, went to see yahoo auction got or not lor.. got one quite gd price, $15, so bid lor.. tonite suppose to close one.. n i last min den bid.. den suddenly, the closing time got extended.. n suddenly got another bidder.. but i nv bid again but tat bidder keep increasing the price.. hubby suspect tat bidder is 'fake' n is the seller trying to increase the price.. i damn TL now coz jack up to $30!! no way am i going to bid for it lor.. grrrrrrr...

levynn

good morning all aunties!!

wah... busy for a few days n so many newcomers liao ah...
kao_welcome2.gif

antonia... ur bowls n plates same as mine... haha... free ones rite??

schnauzie

good morning! aiyo, so many post i blur liao

PB - wat happened to u? me not so drastic nv kena accident or wat lah but think all the long term use of computer and once or twice fell..or more like hua dao from stairs before so got poor posture resulting in chronic back ache, should ache and a stiff neck. then see chiro liao then know my posture is so poor hahaha

antonio - all the herb u show is everytime cook all must throw in issit? i must print all the picture and go herb shop to find liao. keke..or u can find out the name bor?

i also use rice bowl to eat, then if no soup then don use spoon too. my family tradition is must hold the bowl when eating one. my ah lao is use plate with spoon and chopstick, then i always luff at him haha..

joniel - so many post i see blur liao then see sky say its ur lao gong keke..

levynn - Hi!

btw, is the deep fryer really useful? fry finish liao store the oil elsewhere or keep oil in the deep fryer? my mother always use wok to do everything. if can store inside then not bad leh, the kitchen will be clean clean. my lao gong don do housework liao, the delegate all the work to me. say he only clean window..kaoz..

levynn

schnauzie...
if u r not into deep fried food, then dun get the deep fryer la. me got the free one fr Simply Her, so far use twice only.

by rite, the oil after frying is no good liao... but most of us stil keep it. it's best to pour it out of the fryer if u stil wan to use it again.

schnauzie

levynn - but my mum say used oil is more xiang..if i fry fish or tau gua must use 'used oil'. i like deep fried lah wah if i get deep fryer then got more excuse for such food..then i better siam..

aiyo if next time got other promo for simply her must jio me ah!

now only lev you ard, everyone else all eat snake ah..

bunnyngsg

Hi Antonia, Can I ask, all the herbs you throw in the slow cooker to cook can liao? Also add Ginseng? I can only recognise ginseng, and the one above is beiqi. The one below danggui, I can't see properly, I think it's dangshen. You know whether men can drink this or not????

yongee86

ohaiyo oba-chans!

levynn, hihi.. hehe.. yup.. yellow bowls n plates r from MIL, white bowls r from ikea, other colored bowls n plates r from my dad... ahaha..

i think have deep fryer is good leh, if nt, your floor damn oily.. imagine, after cooking, not only gota wash plates, clean the hob, still must mop floor.. tat's wat happened last nite.. i pan fried fish roe n the oil splattered everywhere.. aiiii..

schnauzie

which si danggui and which si beiqi?

my new kitchen beri small leh so b4 i buy anything must see got place to keep or not..my rice cooker still keep in a drawer somemore

yongee86

sch, i oso loved deep fried stuff like chicken wings.. now no deep fryer, always grill them in oven.. but eat alr, dun have that shiok feeling lor.. tat's why i thot should bid for that deep fryer at yahoo auctions!

penelope, u can use normal pot or slow cooker to cook lah.. n must 'wash' it b4 dumping into slow cooker lah.. but for the tonic soup for woman, i dun think need slow cooker.. n i honestly duno the names of the herbs.. but those names you named sound familiar thou.. men can drink the soup but not too much.. if ur hubby nose bleed, dun look for me k..

oh, i store all the herbs in fridge thou to prevent the attack of ants!

levynn

schnauzie...
fry fish must used second-hand oil?? hmm... 1st time i hear that. i dunno leh. we actually got the deep fryer for the convenience only. my ah lao dun really like to fry things in the house. coz my kitchen quite small n he's a bit of a clean freak. so we can only eat fried fish when we go to my mum's or MIL place.

antonia...
so qiao ah... i also got my yellow bowls n plates fr my MIL! haha. actually all my bowls n plates r free... we only bought the forks, knives n spoons...

yongee86

levynn, eh, your set of bowls n plates dun come with forks, spoons and knives? mine do leh.. we only bought 6 rice bowls from ikea coz the set only got 6 yellow rice bowls.. we only bought tat so as to cater to hubby's family to come over for dinner gathering..

pinkbunny

nabz. one bright green early (yi da qing zao) got called into meeting. not eat snake ok.

antonia - the one that you don't know the name of, i think it's dan gui. i like the smell
btw my deep fryer was $22, also from yahoo auctions
the fried fish i did recently too big to put in deep fryer so i fry in wok. KNS ah lao say wah all the laundry smell of fried fish.

joniel - i lik eating from rice bowl also. i find it more homey.

ok now another meeting. KNS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

pinkbunny

quick question: how many sets of plates and bowls you girls have? i have 6 of most things - wine glasses, rice bowls. 2 big bowls for soup, 1 kong gueh bowl, a few small plates, 4 big dinner square plates from ikea, and 4 round patterened ones from tangs i think

those that i have less is because my ah lao clumsy fingers, break when washing.

schnauzie

mostly i got 6 of each too. break then got excuse to replace mah..hehe see ur ah lao so good to u. but cutlery i tot of getting for 12 leh..is it very KS ah?

joniel

antonia: i think u better bring all the packet back and ask ur MIL the name so that u can write it down la...tio bo

wow..all like eating from rice bowl har...maybe i shd try hor..

anybody? what is the chinese name for red snapper?

ckw1011

good morning all!
can i ask u all huh, if cook soup (for macaroni), the soup base juz use chicken stock,
will the soup b sweet enuf? i initially thot of using both ikan billis &amp; the chicken stock, but dunno if the tastes will clash??

yongee86

PB, whenever i cook, i will either take the laundry into living room (if still wet) or keep them in bedroom (if dry). den, will close the door between kitchen and living room.. if u dun have door, hang a curtain to absorb the smell lor..

i got 12 rice bowls, 6 big glass plates, 2 slightly smaller glass plates, 2 even glass smaller plates, 2 even even smaller glass plates. then i have 6 small small plastic plates. i got 4 big plastic soup bowls, 2 smaller glass bowls and 4 even smaller plastic bowls. i oso have 1 big metal bowl (for baking v good), i big salad bowl. then i have countless spoons, forks, knives, chopsticks, saucers (for sauces).

then i have 3 sizes of metal bowls and 3 sizes of metal plates. good for seasoning and stuff..

i guess by now all of u must have fainted by the qty of my cultery! ahahah

Good morning!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wahhh u all sibeh eh sia man!! move so fast!!! kkeke...

Anatonia,
u r like my ah bu man!! like to pack all the herbs into boxes .. kekeke.. still got label some more.. same same ah!
Whah.. ur dinner looks good leh.. basket ur dinner table still got flower arrangements one ah.. steady lah.... maciam restaurant man! keke..

KA,
u also got a bit of nonya blood ah.. kekeke.. me too leh.. think Pink also...all the nonya gu niang here.. whahaha...

Pink..
i forgot where i got the receipe liao.. just that i got a link for recipes in the past one.. let me slowly dig out that link ok.. dun forget i got lao ren chi dai one mah..
kekek..

LINA!!!
the pig!!! nah.. sms u last nite so long then reply.. keke.. by the time u reply i oredi reach home liao..

Nahh.. show u the pixs of the ACV lah.. its Braggs brand - Organic one ok? keke.. .not those Heniz dressing one.. nabz.. even the price I also snap for u to see lah.. whahaha..
383120.jpg

Heng I neber kena caught by Cold Storage ah.. keke...

yongee86

okie, can i know what is the use for rice wine, hua tiao jiu, shao xing jiu, white cooking wine, red cooking wine and vinegar? i see some recipes got those til i blur..

joniel, ma hai wa la.. i bring back and ask her, sure gana nag.. i get hubby to see if she can write down the prescription down or not.. my MIL is super naggy and cheong hei..

skylar, those herbs hor, are alr pre-packed by my MIL. i only take from her house to my house fridge only. ahahah.. u tink i so hardworking ar...

flowers sui bo? bought from bkk.. vase oso.. my living room and bedroom got diff flowers too! ahah

Lina..

Of coz the taste will clash lah.. its either one that u shd use lah.. pengz… but if u were to use these kinda packet stocks hor… not so healthy lor.. &amp; also the chicken one taste maciam very rich leh.. its up to u lah… or u can just use some soya beans &amp; ikan billis &amp; bring them to a boil… then throw the soya bean &amp; ikan billis away after the ba wu come out.. then use the soup lor… add ur macaroni or chicken bits lah.. kkekeke…

Antonia..
Dun mind me asking ah… how old r u? coz u maciam sibeh expert leh.. whaha….

Joniel.
paiseh my mistake...

Wahah.. Antonia..
that is why i thot wahh.. u really sibeh good eh hsewife man! kekeke..

Sch..
ya lor.. this particular brand lah.. got gal intro to drink to detox one lor.. she say she drink liao.. tummy flat flat then Lina &amp; I both tummy big big wanna try lor.. kekek..

just mix with honey &amp; water to drink lor...

yongee86

expert meh? my dad keep suan me useless leh.. me ar.. 30 minus 3.. one thing is, when me n cousins are young, we had to help out in the kitchen especially during CNY. plus i stayed alone in overseas for awhile.. so must learn basic cooking skills or else i alr mati lah..

yongee86

okie.. 1st recipe for today...

Sukiyaki (had that last week when my frens came over to my place)

- chicken stock / ikan bilis soup
- mushrooms (the white color type)
- golden mushrooms
- tofu
- raddish
- leeks (suan)
- sukiyaki sauce (or soya sauce + sugar + sake)
- green leafy vegetables
- ultra thin slices of chicken/ pork/ beef

i used my steamboat to do this lah. dump the chicken stock + sukiyaki sauce in the steamboat. agar agar the amt k.. rough gauge is 1 bowl of stock to 1/3 of sauce. den you lay all your ingredients (except the meat) sui sui in the steamboat. den you cover the steamboat, turn on electricity power. den get 1 beaten egg. when boiling, dip your meat into the steamboat. when cooked, dip into the beaten egg and eat.

fat

Wah lau eh....you gals damn fast fast man...me cant catch up liao....

Sky - the apple cider i tried before...sibeh pai lim ah! ANd also..those with weak stomach or gastric prob...dun try hor....

Ant - wow..your dinner so nice ah...must decor abite somemore....kekekeeke....and ur style of packing those chinese herbs like my MIL's style when last time staying with her but ur's neater then her lah...hahahahaa

KA..
whahaa... ok lah... the ACV taste like sai lor. whaha.. but I mixed with alot of honey.. whahaha... i drink last nite.. but think i drink too late liao.. so end up .. stomachache.. whahaha...

ckw1011

skylar, answer the qn:
hv 2 boil 4 roughly hw long?
juz boil the ikan billis huh? no nid 2 fry them wif ginger 1st? i scared w/o ginger taste fishy leh

really huh KA? those wif gastric prob cannot drink? wah lan, liddat i dun dare 2 try. muz find other ways 2 lose weight liao, sigh ...

Si Lina!!

Boil until the smell come out ah!!! pengz...
if u wanna fry the ikan billis first also can but the soup will be abit oiler lor...

actually for the ACV ok lah.. just add abit can liao... like 2 spoons lor.. then add water &amp; honey.. shd be able lah.. me also got gastric mah... dun over drink it lor...

Sch..
add honey is to ease the taste ba... drink alittle lah.. coz this ACV is the undiluted one leh.. wait ur stomach cannot take it ah.. whahah....

fat

yah...have to take moderately lah...abit ok..coz this stuff very acidic wan.

KNS man! "big aunty visit me this morning"...now stomach very cramp &amp; bloated...wanna die liao....

Sch..
i drink abit nia leh.. kekeke.. so not much result lor.. but just feel that after drinking hor.. i will keep burping one.. whahaa....

KA..
wah.. u lai ang ah today! whahaha... drink hot water to ease the pain lor...