Cats Lovers??

Thanks. You're welcome to pop by and see both of them, if you like. My colleagues suggested letting them stare at each other for some time then it will be ok.

Hello angels,

THanks everyone for your concern.
Lolli, have you ask for another vet's opinion on Nanook's drooling? Maybe another vet might shed some light to his problem. How does Nanook react when he sees his balding tail?

Hi Hwey
Give Sally more time.
Below are some tips I got off the net.
--------------------------------------------------

Aggression
When is aggressive behavior too much? House cats, although domesticated versions, are still relatives of the 'big cats'. And with that, still retain some of the aggressive behaviors of larger cats and wild cats.
Cats, like lions, show signs of dominance and territorialism over other cats in a household, and the dominant cat will most likely be the aggressor in the house. You should never try to break up the hierarchy of your pets. However, if your cat starts to get overly aggressive with you or another cat in your home you probably should intervene and try to help the aggressive cat calm his/her ways. Remember there is a fine line between a dominant cat and an overly aggressive cat. You will know the difference by the cuts, gashes and bite markes on you and your other pets. If you feel that your cat is overly aggressive and using the simple tips below does not help, you may want to contact your vet or behaviorist. Remember it is the behavior you dislike, not the cat so don't simply rush to give your cat up for adoption if he/she is troublesome to you. Most aggressive problems in cats have very simple fixes that with a little time and energy can help your cat be the sweet, lovable pet you want.

The simplest way to limit your cat's aggressiveness is to help your pet expend this aggressive energy in different, healthier ways while helping your cat limit the need to be so aggressive. Your cat may be aggressive for multiple reasons:

You are treating your cats against their already established hierarchy
Territorialism
Maternal/Paternal Instincts
Being in heat
Boredom/lack of play
Illness
Genetic predisposition
Not being properly socialized or feral
Fear or redirected aggression
Incorrect reading of cat's signals

Hierarchy - In multiple cat homes a hierarchy of dominance will be set up by your cats. Usually this can be seen through how your cats position themselves vertically. Generally your dominant cat will seek out the highest possible spot to sit. You should obey these 'laws' and treat your cats accordingly. Make sure to feed, pet, or talk to the dominant cat first. Also try to favor the dominant cat slightly if you can. This may seem unfair but this is the way it works best in the cat world and what your cats have chosen. If you try to go against this system and 'choose' the dominant cat yourself the real dominator will not be happy (and will take it out on your and the other cats which will also make them not so happy) and can start exhibiting aggressive behaviors to keep his position.

Territorialism - Cats are territorial creatures by nature. This stems from their ancestors who had to protect their territory in order to survive. Even though your house cat doesn't really 'need' to do this to survive he/she will still exhibit these behaviors. Make sure your cat has his/her own things (especially if you have multiple cats). Each cat should have his/her own toys, beds, areas to sleep and rest in etc. If a cat feels he/she doesn't have proper territory or if he/she feels that his/her territory is being encroached upon, aggressive behaviors may ensue.

Maternal/Paternal Instincts - A cat who has just become a mother or father will be very VERY protective of his/her young. If you get between a parent and child you may see some aggressive behavior first hand!

Heat - A female in heat (or a male in response to a female in heat) can become very aggressive as its instincts are to seek out a mate at any cost. Not only for the aggressive aspect, but for many other reasons as well, you should have your cat spayed or neutered when they around 6 months of age.

Boredom - To think that cats are completely self sufficient and don't need us for anything but food, water and shelter is incorrect. Our pets look to us for stimulation in the form of play and talking to. In the wild you will see cats 'playing' with other cats all the time, this is actually a very important part of their day as it helps to teach them to fight and attack prey, stimulate intellectual growth, teach proper social skills, and teach coordination and timing. Your cat needs this type of 'playtime' too. You should spend at least two hours a day playing with your pet (make sure to not teach your cat roughhousing). The more you stimulate your cat's mind and help your cat learn to explore and play, the happier and more self-sufficient your cat will be. Cats who have no outlet for their 'creative energy' can become aggressive for two reasons. First it helps them release their energy, and secondly it helps them get the attention they want from us. If your cat tends to bap or scratch your feet every time you walk by or likes to jump on you and attack you for no reason, he/she may be attention starved.

Illness - Many cats who have medical problems (ranging from fleas to kidney illness) will exhibit aggressive behavior. If you can't find any other reason for your cat's aggression you may want to take he/she to the vet for a full exam.

Genetic predisposition - Just like humans, cats do have personalities that they have genetic predispositions for. Some cats are aggressive by nature. If you have an aggressive cat you may want to minimize this aggression by making sure you treat this cat as the dominant cat, get him/her spayed or neutered, make sure he/she has plenty of territory, and keep him/her stimulated by playtime. If you feel that you have tried everything and you still have an overly aggressive cat you might consider talking to your vet about possible medications to help calm your cat.

Not being properly socialized or feral - Socialization is the act of teaching a cat how to be a social animal. If your cat is the type who bites you when you come near, hates to be held or touched and who lashes out at you at every chance you may have an ill-socialized or feral cat on your hands. A feral cat is one who is considered to be wild. This type of cat was most likely the progeny of an adandoned, homeless, or feral cat and has never really had human contact. Such a cat will need to be socialized before being an acceptable pet. Domesticated cats can also revert to such wild behaviors if they are abandoned, mistreated or ignored. But don't worry there is help for such animals, they can become the pet that you desire through being properly socialized. This is not a terribly difficult thing to do but it is time consuming so be patient.

Fear or redirected aggression - Many owners have been victim to this type of aggression, it occurs when the cat is already in an overstimulated/scared state and you intervene. This could occur if you try to break up a cat fight, if you try to touch your pet while he/she is stalking prey, or if your cat is already in 'fight or flight' mode. The best thing to do is to not get involved during these types of situations (unless of course you feel your cat is in danger in which you need to protect him/her).

Incorrect Reading of Cat's Signals - Cats, just like humans, have different moods and they communicate these moods to us through their ears, eyes, tails, body position, voice, and fur. If your cat is in a mood where he/she doesn't want to be played with or bothered he or she will let you know. The tail might be lashing, the ears might be back etc. If you disregard what your cat is saying and try to pick up a cat or pet a cat who isn't in the mood you might find yourself receiving a little bap, hiss or scratch. The best thing to do to minimize such situatons is to better communicate with your cat and learn to read what he/she is saying. If you do that you will know when your cat wants love and attention and when he/she just wants to be left alone.

--------------------------------------------------

Thanks Tigger. My hubby and I are trying very hard. Both are making us very busy. Today I dashed back from work in a cab. I locked Ah Two in my bedroom in the day so when I opened the door, gosh the smell is horrible. Then when I was cleaning up the mess, Ah Two went downstairs, ignoring the fact that Sally was staring at her. So, I dashed downstairs just in time to stop Sally from pouncing on her, but she ran away, Sally gave chase.....In the end, I locked Sally in the store-room and carried Ah Two back to my room. When I freed Sally, she dashed upstairs, right to where Ah Two was. When I stopped her by closing the door, she went and scratched my table. Sigh! This went on all night. When she heard me opening the door, she dashed up at top speed.

These few days very tired....keep waking up every hour to the sounds of these two...

Hwey,

Thanks for offering me a chance to see the two cats. Where are you residing? Looks like Sally is still hostile towards Ah Two. If the situtation doesn't improve in a week or two, you may really have to consider getting someone to take in No. 2.

Tigger,
Whoa, that was very helpful info you got there. Thanks for sharing it with us too. I didn't ask for a sec. opinion, and Nanook doesn't seem to care about his balding tail. He's so nonchalant abt it.

hello everyone,

Hope I didn't flood the forum.

Huey, give me more time. Still waiting for purrfect time to sound my mum. I dunno how to tell her. So afraid she will reject me and i'll be heart broken again.

Lolli, good that Nanook is alright with his tail. Cos I read some mths back that somewhere another cat has quite a similar problem as Nanook. The cat was very bothered by her blading tail. Everytime she sees her tail, she will be shocked or something. The owner actually cut off the tail to stop the cat from scretching. But everytime the problem will come back again. So sad. I can't find the website anymore. Wondering how is the cat doing now.

If HDB doesn't allow cats. How about condo and other property?

Hi Tigger

It's ok. Just to let you know the option is still there. (^0^)

Lollipop/Tigger

If you like to see Ah Two, just let me know. Must grab it out from under my bed first. (^0^) BTW, we are thinking of renaming her. So far, only Sally seem to understand that Ah Two refers to the new cat. Ah Two has no response. So thinking of names like Bubbles or Pancake. Head is round like a bubble, and face is flat like a pancake.

Hi Tigger,
Dunno what happened. I thought I had posted one msg here but it didn't appear.

Ah well...

I think cats are allowed in condo and private property. I am going to bring Nanook with me when my flat comes, I believe it is ok, as long as he doesn't cause disturbance to anyone.

Hopefully ure mum allow you to bring in a cat.

Hwey,
Recently quite busy with wedding preps, so may not be able to go to ure place, wld very much love to see her and Sally tho'

You so funny, the way you describe Ah Two... how about naming her bubbly pancake? ;B

Hello angels,

How's everyone? Lolli When is your wedding? Coming soon? How is Nanook doing? Did you bring him to see another vet? I just read from the papers this news anchor was decleared brain dead by the London doctors. But another prominient doc from China came along and said she is not and now she is recovering. Gosh one doc is not enuff to determine your illness nowadays.

Lolli, wanna ask you. Does Nanook always go to the window grill before you moved? Do you and your family always has to be vigilant tt he doesn't climb there? How to prevent? I came across this window screen in pet shops here. If only I bought it tt day when i bought Butter's stuff, she could hve been alright. But I wonder how will screen help cos it think it only cover half of the window, not all.

Hwey
How is your Bubbly pancake doing? Have you choosen a new name for her? How is she doing with Sally? Hope all is well.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Hi Tigger,
My wedding's in 19th October.

Nanook's fine, being the bozo he always is. Right now he's hiding under the comforter. I didn't bring him to see another vet. I dunno of any vets other than the one I brought him to, around my area. It's difficult because we have no car, and not many cabdrivers are as gracious to ferry us.

I have thought of using the collar on him again, but poor dear, he had been w/o it for 2-3 weeks now.. dunno.

Let's see, when he was much younger (and lighter) he would luv climbing onto these grilles. Because our sofa set was near the windows (ours was a corridor unit), he would jump onto it, and start climbing, clinging onto them. The thing is, the windows will always be closed. The other section where the windows were, was the dining area. He wouldn't climb there, he would just sit on the dining table and watch neighbours pass by. Yes, you are right, we had to be very vigilant, and I was so paranoid at times, I had to keep reminding my dad to close his room dr.

Cats are very adventurous, the more you stop them, the more they wanna venture/rebel. You just have to make sure they stay out of bounds, like close the doors... I think there was this period when Curly had to close the windows.

I'm not sure how the mesh would help. If the cat still wants to venture, it may try to climb on top of it, hurting itself in the process... although putting the mesh there may discourage the cat abit.

How're you feeling now? Better?</FONT>

7712.gif

Sally and Ah Two are okay now. Sally still hiss at Ah Two when she rubs her nose on Sally. But if Sally sees Ah Two come to me, she sometimes hiss at her. Otherwise, they are ok.

It's prob Sally's way of saying she owes you
At least there's an improvement... so you are still segregating the two of them? Ah Two sounds like R2 (the droid frm Star Wars leh)

Hi Lolli,

Hopes Nanook will get better. Is he considered an old man already? When I went down to collect Butter's bo.., i was rushing to take a cab and didn't put her in her cage. I had her in my arms and my bf hail the cab. But no cab stopped for us until when I realized what a scene I must have created and put her into her cage. That's when one cab finally stopped. In the cab, the uncle ask me if my cat was sick....I can only answer yes...as i look at her lifeless bo..hoping it is all true...

Thanks for your concern. Mentally and physically stronger everyday. But emotionally, there is still an empty void. I think it will never go away. Perhaps I will feel it lesser as yrs goes by, but i think it will always be there.

Hwey, it is good to hear they are getting better. Does Ah two still cry?

Btw, where is Curly?

Hi Tigger,

It's great that you are still dropping by this thread. It's the only way we can keep in touch.

Hiyah, Nanook's more than 4 years old already. Basically about an inch of his tail is gone. Like a mohawk hairstyle... and he isn't the least bothered by it. Shouldn't have taken out his collar while he was still drooling. But that time, what did I know? I just wanted his drooling problem to stop and I didn't care abt his "hair" loss problem.

Yes, I'm sure the feeling will always be there, and tt you'd always remember the date, the time of the incident. When this feeling wears off, it will soon be replaced by memories. And when you have these memories, they will be happy and funny moments.. of course the sad ones do crept in once awhile, but you would see it at a different light.

Take care Tigger. Hugs frm Nanook and I.

Hi Tigger, I'm still around. I have been very busy, so most of the time I just dropped by and glanced through without posting. Glad that you are feeling better.

Lolli, dunno why always like to come into this forum. I guess I still love cats and it's great to know how are you guys doing with your feline friends.

Maybe Nanook likes his new tail style.;) Macho.
I asked my mum abt keeping cats again. Wanted to adopt some stays after visiting metta cattery forum. She said nope. So heart broken again. Hate it. Can't wait to have my own house soon. I bet i'll have lots of strays in the house.

Curly glad that you are still dropping in. ;)

just thot i'd share this story about my 2 cats. i've a ragdoll (called chocolate) &amp; a norwegian forest cat (called beano)- both male &amp; 11 months old. They will turn 1 in September.

anyway, my husband bought a fish tank last week and kept 2 goldfish in there. subsequently he added 7 guppies &amp; 1 fighting fish. The fighting fish (which is not supposed to attack other fish breeds other than its own kind) attacked most of the guppies and only 3 survived on sunday morning. to solve the problem, we placed the fighting fish in a separate glass container.

on monday morning - the fighting fish was eaten up! couldn't find its body. we suspected beano ate it up &amp; thot that was the end of things as it was in a low container.

last night, disaster struck - well for the remaining fish (2 goldfish and 1 guppy) while we were sleeping last night.

this morning, we woke up to find 2 different halves of both goldfish on the kitchen and living room floor! there was water all over the kitchen floor. even the water plant was not spared. ;p in the end i had to take urgent leave to clean it all up.

my husband was quite mad with beano but i thot it was funny - afterall its only instinct.

as my friend put it : the forest cat has annihilated the entire acquatic population!

does anyone else have such tales to share?

Tigger,

My mum nvr liked pets in the hse, but somehow, Nanook won her over. As mentioned before, she now talks to him, and cuddles him... perhaps ure mum didn't have the chance to know a cat well.. I'm sure the cat will change her mindset about keeping them as pets.

When's ure flat coming btw?

Dun fret.. over at this forum, we will keep you posted with our cats' antics

Hi Lavenderlilz,
A Norwegian Forest Cat?! Cool! Is it very fluffy?
Bet it must have a bushy tail!

Erm, poor fishies... hope ure hubby had simmer down by now. You are right, they are just acting on their instincts.. just make sure u segregate the fishies and the cats the next time.. u won't want to find any halves of fishies again, will you? Eeewww..

Hi lavenderlilz!

Ohh i was cooing over a NFC the other day on the website. Wanted to get it soooooo much. And Maine coon. They look just like my darling girl. Did you get them from overseas or local?

We have a fish tank back in Perth, but it was too high for her to jump. Or rather she knows she is not supposed to jump up the kitchen table? We put the fish tank on top of it. She actually listens to us when we told her she cannot jump onto that place leh. Quite funny. She used to disturb us when we eat. But after i brought some wet food for her to eat with us during our dinner time, she doesn't disturb us anymore. Even on days when I didn't give her her fav food. So obedient. ;)

Lolli,
My flat not built yet. ;P Cos we are going for the BTO in Punggol. Came back too late for the WIS. No more flats in the esate i like.

I was thinking of getting a Maine Coon first. Cos they are so beautiful and temperament just like Butter. Perhaps she will get swerved by them. Once she is won over, I'll get in more cats. But, I'm just dreaming...

Hi Lollipop

Norwegian Forest Cats are supposed to be fluffy during winter and their coat will be less full during the warmer weather. Beano's head and body are both white in colour and has a silver-grey tail.

Beano is not very fluffy - i guess he won't ever be since he's living in Singapore.

Well, my husband got a stand for his fish tank last night and placed it in the balcony. He just bought one goldfish first. Of cos, Beano was most curious abt it as usual and leapt onto the balcony and sat there &amp; watched &amp; swished his tail while the tank was being fixed up. After the tank was fixed up, he even stood up on his hindlegs on the floor and place both paws up against the tank and got a scolding for that! hehehe

As our balcony door is shut most of the time, Beano will have to peer &amp; drool at the tank from the living room as our balcony door is made of wood &amp; glass.

Hi Tigger

I got both Beano &amp; Chocolate from Pet Station at Frankel Road. I first saw them in january 2002 but the price quoted for Chocolate was rather expensive &amp; we couldn't afford it then. fyi, i had just gone there to look for a ragdoll.

I liked what i read about the ragdoll - read that they are an affectionate breed. So when i 1st got to the pet shop - i zeroed in on the ragdoll and Chocolate just kept sticking his paw at me - the other ragdolls did as well. Actually I liked all of them but found Chocolate's colour to be a little more unusual instead of the usual cream &amp; seal point colour.

Actually it was my husband who spotted Beano - he found him to be very responsive and he would come whenever my husband called him and jumped around in the cage!

Anyway, we went back to the pet shop one day after our wedding in march and found that they were still there! this time the price quoted is cheaper as they've grown bigger (esp Choc) so its not so easy to sell them as people usually want little kittens. They were about 5 months old by then.

as we didnt want the cat to be lonely, we bought both the NFC and ragdoll - the ragdoll is my husband's wedding present to me and the NFC was my wedding present to my husband.

right now, Choc is more like everybody's cat and Beano became more of my cat as he got injured from falling from the balcony &amp; I took care of him after that. sorry - I hope this doesn't rake up unhappy memories for you.I used to have a dog for 11 years and he died in 2000 - I do understand what it feels like to lose a pet.

Beano is very affectionate. Everyday when i get back from work, both of them would be waiting for me at the door and would jump up on the sofa to sit with me. Once Choc decides that he has had enough - he would hop off and sit on the floor. Meanwhile - Beano would continue to sit on the sofa and if I happen to stop petting him - he would just put one paw on me to "remind" me - so cute, yet so dignified at the same time!

Tigger, i think its best you cat-proof your place first before you bring a cat home - i learn it the hard way ie from Beano's fall. NFCs love to climb up to high places - he can jump onto the breakfast table in my kitchen to up on the fridge.

Well, do feel free to ask me about NFC - I'll try my best to tell you from what i know from Beano's behavior.

Hi lavenderlilz, you'll be surprise. It's always Snowy bullying Snowball. She always starts attacking Snowball first and they would be kicking and biting each other. Each time we have to separate them. God knows how Snowball survives the attacks during the day? Snowy loves to eat from Snowball's dish too. She would have her share first, then go for Snowball's. Snowball never really bothered though.

Yes, they have grown bigger now lollipop. You know what? We noticed that Snowy has a sagging tummy - she might be eating too much. She's just so lovely (as my hubby always says) - she would be all over us if we were sitting on the sofa watching our programs. Last Sunday, while I was having a nap, she curled up besides me and took a nap too.

Hi Curly,

Heh heh, Snowy's bullying Snowball! Eats frm Snowball's dish as well.. erm , is her tummy saggy or just bloated? If it's the latter, she might have worms.. have you already dewormed her?

lollipop, we had already dewormed her when we first had her. When she's on her 4 legs, and running, her tummy actually swings from side to side.....

Recently, I bought some bubble solution for them. Snowball was very very curious, always trying to catch the bubbles. Snowy was more wary but now she tries to catch them too. It's really fun to see them chasing the bubbles.

Hi Lavenderlilz

Yar I know. When i finally get to keep the cats, i'll put the wire mash on the window. You are more lucky than me in that sense. Beano is still with you.

Curly, wow snowy has grown. So is Snowball. Snowy has such pinky ears and nose tips. Such adorable darlings.

Wonder how is Number two and Sally doing now.

We have some trays at my void deck. Yesterday, I went down in the middle of the night to feed them. Only found the bigger ginger cat. After staying with her for 10 minutes, she was already laying next to me with her belly exposed. Crushed some papers and played with her. Wanted soooo much to bring her home and hug her. I think 2 of the little ones are already taken by the kind pple. Haven't seen them around for days.

Lolli,

Did you bring Nanook home without your mum's permission? How did she react?

I always do that to my mum. With my rabbit, my mum nearly wanna send her to SPCA if not I come home early. Then with Butter, my dad managed to pursued my mum. I think actually i can just bring her home, but so afraid of the aftermath. Feel very tired emotionally to argue with her again.

Hi Curly

hehe - i guess looks can be deceiving. my 2 boys do wrestle with each other as well. Either one would ambush the other but they usually stop after awhile. So cute! playing with bubbles! maybe i should try that too.

beano loves chasing the small plastic ball that has a bell in it whilst chocolate loves string. but when i throw them a fake rat, chocolate is naughtier ie he would snatch it from Beano and Beano would usually give way to him.

Hi Tigger

When will you be getting your new place? Poor you - its difficult when parent(s) object to us having animals.

Nice to hear that the ginger cat has taken to you. did you try carrying it?

As for the rest of you - do your cats mind being carried? I can hold chocolate for quite awhile while beano doesn't like being carried or cradled

there's something I would like to ask you girls.

Some people tell me that if you have kids, you can't have a cat at the same time &amp; one would hhave to give up the pet.

I don't like children (mothers to be - don't flame me for this) and don't think I would ever want them. so this shouldn't be a problem for me.

What about the rest of you?

Lilz, hope you don't mind me shorten your nick.;P
I didn't carry ginger. I am afraid she might be dirty. Abit shallow I know. But I think it's the yrs of grilling that strays are dirty.Maybe one day I'll find enough love to hug her.

Butter don't really like us to carry her too. I think it's her breed. Maine Coon and NFC cats don't really like to be carried. They like to be around what you are doing though right? From what I read lar. Sometimes they will rest near you but not on your lap. Butter likes to rest beside my table or behind my chair when she doesn't feel like sitting on my lap. I've learnt to not feel rejected when she doesn't want us to carry her. When she does want us to carry her, we'll know. Ohh I miss Butter so much. *muak muak* Hope it'll reach heaven.

I read that cats poo or pee are not good for mothers to be. When you clean the litter and doesn't keep yourself clean aftertt, you might contaminate your food or something. I think it is ok to keep them, but maybe the husband wanna clean the litter instead during this period.;P

Oh ya, forgot to ask you Lilz, you much did you get Beano for?

Hi Curly,
Nanook loves chasing bubbles too! He would either stand on his hind legs and hit the bubbles, or he'd use his nose to burst them... it's comical watching them at play huh?

Hi Tigger,
I remember it was a Saturday afternoon, and saw lil' Nanook at the void deck. He was so cute, so tiny, I didn't know what made me carry him into the lift. I fed him with biscuits but he was making so much noise. I named him there and then. He stayed with me in my room, but the nect day woke up to a stench, and realised it was unfair to restrain a kitty in a laundry basket. I let him go, unwillingly. Was very upset because I kept thinking about him. FH tried lifting my spirits saying Nanook found me first.. my mum knew frm FH I was very sad... then one night, my sister came home and told us she saw Nanook downstairs. I quickly went down and there I saw my Nanook.. prancing around in the grass. My mum didn't say anything, Nanook was quite filthy then, and she didn't like the idea of him being so close to him... the more she wanted to be away frm him, the more he wanted to go near her
My mum was very nice, she was with me when we brought Nanook to the vet for the first time... I dun remember how, but my mum soon stroked him, and patted him, talked to him.. carried him... and things I nvr could quite imagine my mum doing to a cat... Nanook was the one who won my mum's heart.. she's able to appreciate cats more now.

Sorry, quite lengthy there...

Lavenderlilz, I also heard that once one is pregnant, she cannot change the litter of the cats anymore... some bacteria or something like that. As for the cradling part, hmm, I think Nanook doesn't mind that, not for long tho'. His attention span is rather short. I like to sling him over my shoulder.... like to give him tummy rubs, chin rubs, massage...

We dun intend to have kids after our marriage.. perhaps two years or so. Having kids nowadays is becoming more expensive, and you have to be mentally prepared for it... in the event if I do get pregnant, I'd just get my hubby to change the litter.. but yes, I think babies and cats dun mix.. have to segregate them...

Hey Lavenderlilz, do you have pictures of ure 2 boys which you can show us?

Hi Tigger

I am sure Butter knows u r in her thots always. btw, what breed was Butter?

We paid a total of $1600 for both cats so I think Beano is abt $750-$800. The 1st time i saw Chocolate , the price quoted to me was $1,300.00. The next time it was $900.00 and becos we were getting 2 of them, bargained for the total bill to be $1,600.

Hi Lollipop

The story about how you found &amp; had to part with Nanook &amp; eventually reunited with each other is just so sad &amp; touching at the same time. Esp when you said you saw him prancing on the grass by himself - it just sounded like he was so lonely. Well, it sure is nice to hear that he is in a good home now.

I would love to show u guys pictures of Beano &amp; Chocolate. Unfortunately, I still don't have a computer at home &amp; its not convenient to download the pics from my digi-cam into my computer at work. (my office comp doesn't even have a CD-rom drive - so I can't even install the digi-cam CD-rom at work). I will be able to show you guys next saturday when I go to my friend's house then &amp; he will help me with it.

Oh, I didnt know abt the poo &amp; pee thing. What pple around me are nagging abt is the cat fur &amp; how its not suitable for kids esp long hair from the cat &amp; how it will cause asthma in kids. This is the issue I was asking the rest of you about. How would u guys deal with this then?

ya, lollipop, having kids its not easy. unless you are prepared to give up ur freedom - then maybe but if not, then I'd rather things remain the way they are now.

Hi Lavenderlilz,
I actually wrote a story on how I found my sweet bozo. Could you imagine? I was so distraught I couldn't work at all. I went to my manager, who really was a nice lady, and told her I missed the stray so much I wanted to go back and see if I could find him. She agreed immediately and didn't tell me what time to come back. Needless to say, my attempts were futile... while mtg me for dinner, FH said he saw what fitted the description of Nanook inside a bicycle basket...he had nvr seen him before, I told him he has got really big ears, and long tail, and white patch on his neck to under his belly... I was sooo sad, yet at the same time, thought it was good Nanook found an owner. Then few days later, that's when my sis found him downstairs..
I lost him twice, and found him.

Oh, dun worry about the pictures. Patience is a virtue

Oh yes, cat fur will cause asthma. FH has a cousin who loves cats very much. She had three, and put them in the garden, because there's a baby at home. Eventually she has to give up her darlings because they were afraid the fur will cause harm to the kid... it was really sad. I dunno how to resolve this matter... even if you lock the cat in a room, when you go in to feed him, you will surely step on some of his fur, and then you bring these fur everywhere... back to square one.

Hi Lollipop

You know, about having to give up the cats becos of the baby - i just feel its so unfair as the cats were there in the first place. Besides, by the time you give them up - they are not young anymore and there is no guarantee that you will be able to find a new home which would give as much love as you did to the cat. What is even more frightening is the fact that who would guarantee the new owner won't get sick of your cat(s) and send it to spca or abandon it.

sorry - didnt mean to sound so negative but that is the reality we've got out there. somehow we do not seem to have a society that sees kindness to animals as a virtue.

Lolli,

Such a heart-warming story of Nanook and you. I guess you guys are meant for each other. Lost him twice and still ended up being your darling. ;)

U know my parents are going overseas again in Oct. So my bf and I had a naughty thought. hehe..

Liliz, according to her medical card, she is a normal domestic. But the vet said she will grow up to look like a Maine Coon type. Quite big and furry. She has raffles around her neck. I always say she has her own world class fur. So elegant. And I bought her for only $40 i think. But she is very exepensive altogether cos we freight her back to SIN and the cost was 600+. Hve to employ the the help of 4 pple that day i went to fetch her home from air feright centre.

I actually have asthma when i was a kid. Nothing happened to me when I got Butter.

Here are some pictures of Maine Coons.
Aren't they gorgeous? On close look, they have eye lashes.;P Butter has eye lashes like theirs too though theirs are more obvious.

8179.jpg

8180.jpg

Some pictures of NFCats. Don't they look like Maine Coons? They say NFC has more boxy muzzles. But I serious dunno how to tell them apart.

8181.jpg

8182.jpg

Hi Lilz,

Yes, I think owning a cat brings about great responsibilities. You dun just have a cat because it's fun to play with when it's a kitten.. sadly to say, alot of cats are abandoned because their owners (usually kids) decide they have enough of fun and begin channelling their attention on something more interesting. Secondly, their kittens grow and are no longer as cute as when they were younger. I was really glad I didn't leave Nanook with SPCA. Dun really trust them... judging by some phonecalls which I made..

I guess you are right. Having to give up the cat just because there is a new addition is unfair and cruelty to the cat.. but I still haven't a solution to ure qn.. and since we dun intend to have kids once we are married, say about 2 yrs, I dun want to think about it so soon..

Hi Tigger,
Yeah, even though Nanook can get on my nerves at times, he still is my sweet bozo.. take for eg just now, he started meowing for food already! We usually feed him at around 6:30pm, and dun want to spoil him rotten.. erm actually he's already spoilt rotten! When I ignored him, he started scratching the wooden doors, to get my attention, then ran away when I stopped him. Few min later, he jumped up onto my mum's dresser, and started attacking the artificial flowers, started biting and gnawing... and now he's meowing again... sigh...

Oh you have asthma? So does my sis, but it went away when she was a kid. My mum is still concerned, and will raise a rukus whenever she sees my sister kissing Nanook

I know of someone who has two cats, but is actually allergic to cats' fur!

Hello girls,

Yar I agree too. When I first bought Butter. I felt the responsibility. It is not just a cat, but a living thing. The same love and care should be applied to them as to a human. And bf actually commented that it is quite a responsibility to have cat when he went to Perth. Before that it was only him and I. Now it was like we have to think of Butter too. ;)

Haha. Nanook is cute. I love it when they do all this funny things. When I ignored Butter, she would give me a pitiful broken meow. I read Maine Coon and NFC also meow like this. Quite chirpy and short. For Butter's case, hers is abit broken when she wants something. Imagine someone who talks when they have sore-throat. I think males are more naughty ya? Butter doesn't scratch at my furnitures. She usually does that to her post. Maybe I'll have a male next time so i can enjoy the male spices.

Lilz, does Beano hve chirpy meow?

I read somewhere that animals fur does not contribute much to asthmatic attacks. But don't know how true it is. I used to sleep with lots of soft toys lined beside my bed. My doctor said it is a no no, so my mum had them removed.
Lolli, does your sis have any asthma attacks since you had Nanook?

I don't think I can catch up with you girls!! Anyway, just want to tell you girls about our frightening experience yesterday - went out for breakfast and grocery, came home 1 and half hour later, didn't see Snowball anywhere. We looked into every corner of the flat but still couldn't find her. We wished Snowy could talk then so that we know where Snowball was. Then we decided to look for her at the nearby blks but still no sign of her..... We went home and I broke down and cried my heart out. Hubby was upset too and decided to have another look nearby. I joined him 10 mins later and went different directions. Asked people if they had seen her but no one did..... I was really heart broken and went home to cry again! Called the vet to see if anyone brought her in but was told no but will keep a look out for me. Probably about 20 mins later I heard hubby talking to someone and I looked out of the window. Hubby told me "she's here, she's here" but I couldn't see her. I ran downstairs and oh my god! She was stucked in between the window and grill of our neighbour 1 floor below us. My hubby went up to the neighour to get her while I stationed downstair in case I needed to catch her (if she fell). After trying for 20 mins, my hubby (with help of neighbour) finally got hold of her.

Snowball must have been very frightened and shaken. She's been very quiet.... So glad that she's alright!

Hi Tigger

Yes Beano does have a very short and chirpy mew. In fact its so soft that I can hardly hear him! When he says meow its something like "mew! mew! mew!" (!!!!!!)Sometimes he says it to me when I come home and there are other times when he sees me patting Chocolate and he says it as he wants me to sayang him too!

Meanwhile - chocolate's meow is louder. Every morning he would be meowing outside our bedroom door. He just wants attention ( i guess he must be lonely from the whole night) - cos there is still food in the bowl.

Hi Curly

Its quite a frightening experience when an animal goes missing. For me, the first time was when my late dog went missing &amp; the 2nd time was when Beano fell off and I couldn't find him at first.

Glad to hear all is well for Snowball.

Hi Lollipop

btw, your wedding date is the anniversary date for the day my husband &amp; I first got together! it will be 3 years for us this October!

Hi Curly!

So glad you found Snowball and she is safe! My heart stopped for awhile! Absolutely can identify with your fear and desperation. Thank God she is alright. Do drop in once in awhile to tell us how is Snowball and Snowy doing. Miss them already. Take care. Give Snowball a hug on behalf. And Snowy too.

Lilz, So cute. can almost hear my Butter mew too.

I am wondering, how to keep your little darlings from further shenanigans. Especially when they like to go out from house and explore. And we can't keep watch on time 24/7.

Tigger

For me - i just shut all windows and doors when we are out - so no way they can get out. Anyway, those 2 boys (esp Beano) tend to sleep alot during the day especially in the afternoon.

Sometimes when i reach home around 7pm - chocolate would be waiting for me at the door while Beano maybe sitting on the sofa (where he had been napping) and his eyes are half open!

Sometimes these 2 silly cats would try and get out through the metal grill at the main door before i close it after i get into the flat. To stop them, I would just push them in gently. I will be putting wire mesh at the door grill as well.