Cats Lovers??

Tigger, sorry for being so long-winded. I forgot to add that Beano does have ruffles as well but somehow its not as fluffy as those in the pictures you've posted.

I must say the maine coon in the 2nd picture does look very grand - so elizabethan! Actually the maine coon doesn't look like those i've seen in cat books. I guess this one must be champion breed.

Sorry, I haven't been able to log on during office hrs except during lunch.

I'm not feeling well. I was on two days mc last week and have yet to recover. I've got alot of phlegm which is really irritating and my voice has gone off-key.

Butter, it's true. My life was centered around my FH and family. After that, whenever I go out, I have to make sure there's food left for Nanook and that someone would feed him.. drives me nuts at times

If only you gals can hear how Nanook's meows sometimes. It's hilarious! Esp when we ignore him, he doesn't give up and he would et his meow drag on and on and on.. almost like a baby crying, or talking. Really. He's quite the bozo.

My sis doesn't have asthma eversince.

Regarding the prevention, guess you just have to remind ureself to close the windows everytime, so you might have peace. I am quite paranoid, even when I am out already, I still wonder if I have closed my windows.

Hi Curly,
I'm really glad Snowball's alright. It's a really frightening experience, esp that time when my dad brought Nanook down, despite many warnings frm us not to. Poor dear dashed and hid under a drain, which we couldn't hv any access to. We managed to get him out only about an hr later, that was on Christmas, and I was crying so badly, and screaming at my dad at the same time.

How did snowball land up there in the first place? Were the windows left opened?

Hi Lilz,
What a coincidence! We will be celebrating our anniversaries together then!

Hi Lollipop

The way u described Nanook's meows is so cute! Just sounds so persistent of him.

How come ur dad brought him downstairs? Did he want to bring him for a walk like a dog?

We did buy a harness for taking the cats for a walk but I decided against using it as i didnt want them to like the idea of going outside and who knows whether they might dash out of the house when the door is open.

Thanks for everybody's concern. Snowball is ok now. We didn't shut the windows when we went out, hence the accident..... We'll be careful in the future.

Sorry that I can't participate much as work is really busy.... I come in here when I need a break from work.

Lilz,
Yar the Maine Coons I posted are show cats. That's why they look so different and beautiful.
I bought a harness for Butter. We tried to walk her at the park! Quite a hilarious sight actually. haha.

Lolli, Hope you feel better soon. Drink more water. Hey u know when I have stomach ache in Perth, the doctors don't prescribe medicine. All they ask me to do is to take plenty of rest and drink lots of water. Don't even take too much food. Except porride if you are really hungry. Their logic is the stomach needs rest, so try not to overwork it if possible. Quite funny when I first heard this.
Lolli, U mean Nanook drags his meows like how a singer hold their breathe and pull their notes? Very funny leh. My only regret is I didn't record Butter's meow. ~sighh~

Few days ago, I went down to feed the Ginger cat again. Guess what, I saw her eating the food offered to the spirits. Aiyo. At the moment, I really wish I can bring her home so she doesn't hve to eat those food anymore. But just a few minutes later, her eyes came fixed on a mouse and was on hunting position! Wow, I've never seen a cat catching a mouse before. Within seconds, she caught the mouse and had it in her mouth. Brillant hunter man. Then she came to me, but I was so afraid of the dead mouse. Maybe she sense it, then walked up the stairs to the 3rd flr where we followed her and saw her tossing the poor mouse up and down playing with it. I told my bf beside me, wow, it's like watching National Geography on TV.

Curly, see you soon.

Hi Tigger

i think all predatory animals are like that. my cats would even toss a fake toy rat tat i got for them!

btw, which uni in perth did u study at? my cousin is at UWA now.

Hi Lilz,
I didn't know his intention, just tt Nanook is a strictly domestic cat. He didn't even have a collar on, so you must have imagined the terror he felt when my dad put him down. He ran straight into the drain. Good thing is, the drain isn't linked to the main road, otherwise, the situation will be worse. We had to lure him out with food, and his fave toy, but he just won't budge. It was raining, and the drains were wet and dirty.. poor dear, he had his bath earlier that week... I dunno how my mum did it, but she manage to drag him out and I quickly covered him with a thick towel to protect him.. needless to say, he was given another warm bath later.

Hi Tigger,
Thanks for your concern. I have been told by many to drink loads of water, and I am certainly doing it. Sigh.. have to eat 5 different types of pills! Sianz.

Yah, something like that. Sometimes, he would meow and meow and yawn at the same time, and you could hear his mews go frm very loud to barely audible! He's sleeping on my parents' comforter now, like a comma!

Yeah, cats have tt hunting instinct... it's cruel to watch, you'd pity the mouse, but it's just their nature.. the life cycle. FH's cousin's cat gnawed and growled when he chews the chicken bone.. very feral.

I guess I can only log on before office hrs, and during lunch, as well as at night.. hopefully can catch up with you gals.

Take care!

lollipop - ya i can imagine he would be terrified if he had been staying indoors all this while. Does Nanook like to be bathed? Do u bathe him often?

Beano hates bathing and the worst thing is he needed to bath on 2 separate but traumatic occasions. One was when i first brought him back from the pet shop and on the way home while he was in the carrier - he suddenly started meowing & i thot he was talking to us - so i meowed back at him - thinking i was comforting him! (So silly of me really!) Shortly after that, there was this huge stink & it was then when i realised. :P

The 2nd time was when i brought him to the vet to remove his bandage. While i was waiting for a cab along the road - he mewed and there was this slight smell. When i got to the vet - he did mess himself up but it was worse when it was on the drive home.

Poor Beano - had to have a bath after each traumatic experience. He just hates it that he would try to run around in the bathroom while he is soaked just to escape it. He even tried to jump on top of the toilet seat to seek refuge. :p

lilz,
I think Nanook dreads bathing too! We bathe him once every two weeks. He knows it when we start to bring in his towels, and he would run away frm us. When one of us finally catches hold of him, he would make pathetic sounds.. as if he were protesting.

He doesn't mind the water, I think he minds the drying up/licking part.. so we tend to dry him up as far as possible, and after that, he would go to the sun and dry himself. Course he would remain grouchy for awhile. We can't use the dryer on him, he would run away.

Butter Doesn't like to be bathed too.;) Always a two person job to bathe her. Don't think I can do it alone. I'll have scratches everywhere. I didn't know how grumpy she looked until when we saw the before bathe and after bathed Butter. Really grouchy man. But she likes to play with running water. Funny tt she detest to bathe so much but she doesn't mind getting drenched by the running tap. She likes to go into the shower screen after we bathe too.

Lilz I'm from Curtin. Where does your cousin stay? I used to stay near UWA cos my bf studied there.

Lillo Hope you feel better today.

Yesterday, I carried and hugged the ginger cat.;) She is so heavy. SHe follows me everywhere now. Wrote my dad a letter today n hopefully he reads it in his office. Getting so attached to the cat. I'll miss her when I don't see her for one day. Wanna name her Gilly Bean. After Nicole Kidman's nick in "Practical Magic" the cat's color reminds me of Kidman's hair.

I am a cat owner too. 2 cats in fact. Had them for a year already. Loved them a lot, just like my own kids. Worry about them when they are out of sorts, worry when they don't seem well, play with them every night (even if I return home at midnight) and every morning (before I leave for work), talk to them, groom them, cuddle them...

After going through this forum, notice that some of you do not have meshes on your windows and main door. As a result, you have to close the windows and door and be extra vigilant when your cats are running around. I guess to be responsible owners, we should secure all openings so that our beloved pets will not fall off our flats. The meshes do not to be the wire mesh kind. There is this thin plastic mesh (with really tiny holes) available in most DIY stores. Cheap (below $10 per roll) and a proven deterent (I have used it for 1 year and have encountered no problems so far) and not overly unsightly (if installed properly). Total peace of mind as I know my cats will not fall off my flat, especially if they are excited about the birds that sometimes fly past.

There is also a thread about pregnancy and cats. Cats and pregnancy (and children) do mix. The virus is transmitted via cat poo so the best way is to wear gloves when clearing the litter or get someone else to do it. And usually cat owners will already have the anti-bodies as we may have come into contact with the virus before the ladies get pregnant. I am not a medical doctor but various books and studies have debunked this myth. Don't give up your furkids just because a human kid is coming. I understand the pressure exerted by well meaning family members. I know my wife and I will never give up our cats even if she is pregnant because I will be the one clearing the litter everyday for the next 10 months.

And studies have also shown that the incidences of asthma actually decreases when a family has pets as they become more resistant.

Glad so many of us love cats, be it strays or pedigrees.

orange didnt like to bathe but i noticed tat he would stay still if i rub his neck n chest n he wouldnt protest. so wat i do is keep one hand rubbin his neck/chest while i wash him with the other hand

will be paying orange a visit during the weekend. both hubby n i lookin forward to it

Hey girls, I'm back again! But not for long though as I'll be very busy again from next week....

Anyway, how's everybody's cats? Snowball and Snowy are both doing fine. After the window accident, Snowball doesn't climb up to the kitchen cabinet anymore but she still likes to sit by the windows. Now whenever she's scared, she hides underneath our quilt. Both of them are growing!

Yesterday while my hubby was going to work, he saw 2 abandoned kittens in a box. Must be really pitiful. If I was there with him, I think I would have brought them back home. Just can't resist kittens. Don't know what happen to them now.... Can't understand why people can just abandoned them like that!!

Eunice, how's Orange doing??

halo curly,

havent got to see orange yet
the owner said tat her bf not around last weekend so changed the date to this coming saturday. hope it's confirmed

Nanook's fine. My mum rubbed some whiskey on those areas where he's balding
Was quite perturbed by the idea, cos I knew he would lick himself, worried he might have some adverse reaction to the whiskey and ended up drunk.. put the collar on him again, and poor dear, walked backwards again.

Hey Tigger,
Do you know a person by the name of Melissa Lim?

Hi Lolli,
Hmm Yar I have a distance relative by that name? U know her?

Curly and Eunice, welcome back. This forum quite dead for a few days already. Curly, maybe u wanna call Metta Cattery so they can help to find pple to adopt the kittens.

Yesterday went down to take pictures of Gilly Bean. Will post them up soon. I brought her to my house couple of days ago. But have to put her back at the void deck. I think she is too wild to be caged up in my house. So I guess what i can do for her is to keep going down to feed her.

Thanks Cat Man for your advice. Hey I read in Lifestyle magazine there is this product called Magic Seal that is magnetically sealed against the window and doors. It is good for keeping mosquitoes and other insects from getting into the house. Most importantly, our previous babies wouldn't go out the window. We can have a peace of the mind when we are out or even when we are at home. Ring 9737 2021.
8510.gif

Hi Tigger

have not been able to post much as i've been pretty busy.

i can't remember my cousin's exact address but i know she's been staying at the hostel the whole time. she is in her final year now.

Hi Liliz,
I'm sure she is having a great time staying in a hostel and they so near to Uni.;)

Below are some pictures of Gilly bean.
SHe is quite big already. Can anyone tell me how old could she be?

8543.jpg

8544.jpg

Hi Tigger,
Melissa's my sec school best friend! What a small world right?

Hey, Gilly Bean looks so cute! Quite well groomed, for a stray, and well fed too!

Wow, Chin Leng is sooo efficient man.;P Thanks for clearing my mess.

Lolli Ohhhhhh, really small world leh. Secondary school friend? You guys have come a long way.;D

Yar I thought Gilly Bean look so clean for a stray too. I think I am not the only one feeding her. She looks fit for a stray hor. Sometimes, I see this old lady sitting at the void deck with Gingin feeding her. But I noticed pple mostly give cats food, never water. Worried she will be dehydrated, so I bring water everytime, and she will drink like mad. Do you know how old she could be? 2 yrs old?

Hwey, are you still around? How are Sally and Number 2?

SIgh! Sally is now infected with fungus and it is spreading. Brought it to see vet and after we applied the creme and powder, she would lick it off. Now Ah Two also got slight infection.

I am so worried that my cats will die, of posioning, not fungus infection.

Hwey! Ohh no...How come? How did she get it? How about having the affected area bandaged. Would it help? Or put the funnel thing around her neck? So poor thing. The two of them get along fine already? Does Number 2 still cry?

Yeah Tigger, we are best buds, still keeping in touch.

I can't tell how old Gin is.. looks are quite decieving leh.. FH's cousin's cats are older than Nanook but Nanook is way much bigger than them!

What mess?

Yes Hwey, better put the collar on them. They may be uncomfortable for awhile, but they will adapt. It will prevent and discourage them frm licking.

The Cat Welfare Society is organising a CHARITY RECITAL at:
Address : AGF Theatre, Alliance Francaise,
1 Sarkies Rd.(
Time : 7.30pm
Dates : either 27th or 28th Sept
Price : S$18/- per ticket
Programme: Piano Recital & Great Singing.

I went last yr, not bad. It's put up by a group of young musicians who love cats & want to do their little something for them.

Oh Lolli, this afternoon I posted alot of repeated posting here. THen my pictures take up abit of space here and it was off centre too. Thanks to Chin Leng for clearing the unsightly mess, you guys get to see a clean thread. hehe. Like nothing happened. ;D

Ohh Lolli, she is gonna be your bridesmaid right???

Hwey, praying that your darlings will recover soon. Hope they take to the collar.

Palmolive, where can i get the tickets?

Hi Tigger,
She told ya she's gonna be my bridesmaid? She's pretty excited about my wedding

Hi Hwey, the big collars will cost around $2.00. Should be able to get them frm the vet. Hopefully ure cats will recover soonest. Let us know how they are doing ok?

Oh Lolli. She mentioned that she is gonna be the bridesmaid for a friend. So I thought it could be you since that friend's wedding coincide with yours mah. Really small world. hehe.

Ai yoh!!! I really can't catch up with you girls!

Eunice, hope you'll get to see Orange this weekend and update us on how he's doing.

Tigger, Gilly Bean indeed looks good! So are you adopting her?

Hwey, I hope Sally and Ah Two get better.

Sorry girls!! Gotta to go liao cause very busy!! Will drop in again when there a chance.....

Tigger, Do check out www.catwelfare.org
CAT WELFARE SOCIETY is organising a CHARITY piano RECITAL at:
Address : AGF Theatre, Alliance Francaise,
1 Sarkies Rd.(NEWTOM MRT)
Time : 7.30pm
Dates : either 27th or 28th Sept
Price : S$18/- per ticket
Phone No: 64671476
You can get tickets @ Bouquets B'ete, 901 Bukit Timah Road. ( I think the florists there love cats that is why she is doing this for charity)

Lolli,;P

Curly, no cannot adopt her. Tried to bring her home. But she meowed in despair after awhile which she don't normally do when she is at the deck. So I reckon she misses the freedom of the deck and my place could be like a prison for her. I havn't tell my mum that I brought her home too. ;P Maybe I'm fated not to hve cats now lar. But I'm gonna give Gingin another try though when I get my flat which I hope is soon.

Hwey, how are your kids?

Palmolive, thanks.

Hi Tigger,
I think Gillie Bean is happy with her comfort zone, and won't want to give up what she has in order to be a domestic pet. There there, at least you get to see her everyday, without getting into "trouble" with ure mum.

Hello Lolli, so early today. ;) Yar you are so right. My sentiments exactly. But it is always so heart-broken to leave her.

How is your Nanook huh? How's his tail?

Hi Tigger,

The patch on his body is getting bald again. Sigh.. seems the whiskey didn't work at all! And he's so nonchalent about it, he still licks and licks.. sigh.

How's Gillie? What food do you feed her with?

Hi Lolli, Oh no...does Nanook get "high"
after licking off the whiskey? Poor thing leh.
There is this black cat near my place so poor thing too. Dunno male or female. His fur is infested with fleas i think u know. So dirty. And it seems like the fur around his ear is balding too. He meows so pitifully too. He is not as lucky as Gingin.

I feed Gingin with Eukanuba kitty food. Left over from Butter's food lor. Sighzzzz. I think I'm gonna start introducing wet food to her soon. What brand of wet food do you feed Nanook with?

Ah Two gave birth yesterday. We had a shock when we came back cos we didn't suspect she is pregnant. Her kittens are white and grey in colour. One of my fellow church mates already reserved the white one.

As for Sally, her fungus is getting better but donno what happened to her left eye now. She refuses to open it. SIgh!

Hi Tigger,
No, he doesn't get high or drunk at all, and he doesn't stop licking. Sigh..

For wet food, I feed him with Aristocats, it's only $1.50 per can but it has lotsa chunks of bug fish.. which our dear bozo likes.

Hwey,
Ah Two is pregnant?!!! What do you intend to do with the other one? Give it away too? Mebbe it is better to keep one next to Ah Two, so she feels happy. It might be sad if you give away all her kitties.. just a thought.

Huh? hwey, who is the father??? *scratches head* Ah Two is allowed to run outside your home huh?
Wow... is the litter big? How many kittens? Hope Sally will get better soon. How is Sally with the new additions?

Lolli Butter's food is finishing too. So i'm gonna get more for Gingin. I'll try Aristocats too.

SIgh! Also donno who is the father. Must be one of the cats in the pet shop. We don't know it is pregnant at all.

She gave birth to 2 kittens, one white one grey. The grey one was very much smaller in size and less active. It died this morning. So now left one.

A friend from church also indicated her interest in it.

ohh nooooo. Another cat died in this world...How is Ah Two? Do they cry or tear when their children die? So sad...

Hwey it's ok then since your friend is interested already. But if she changed her mind, can inform me? Thanks.

OK. Ah Two was looking for it just now.

The vet said that in animal kingdom, the mums know which child is the weaker one and will concentrate on feeding the stronger ones instead. Letting the weak ones die

Tigger

You won't believe it! My husband told me that this morning, the vet said that Ah Two has not finished giving birth!!!! She is still pregnant and her next litter due next week!

whoa whoa whoa! This is something new and interesting! I didn't know female cats can give birth to some litter at a time! I just found it weird that at one time Ah Two gave birth to only two kitties.. at least average about 5-6... let us know Ah Two's condition.. I know when a cat is pregnant, she seeks a quiet place to rest.. has she been at a secluded area?

HI Tigger
I think they have smaller cans of Aristocats. If you buy the blue label type, whoa, the anchovies are huge and long! Nanook's eyes water everytime I feed him with those!

Haha Lolli. Nanook so cute. So fortunate to have you. I just went to buy Whiskas wet food at NUTC. Cannot find Aristocats. They can only be found at the pet shop huh?

Hwey, wow wow wow. More yet to come? Can reserve one for me Hwey?

Yar I thought 2 was quite little too. Usually, it was like 4-6 at one go. Did the vet tell you why is was so? Poor Ah Two.

Hi Tigger,
Great to see you in the chatroom last night, pity I had to bathe

Anyways, Aristocats can be found in NTUC, Cold Storage and pet stores. The price should be the same.

Lolli, U went off suddenly.No chance to talk to you. :D Hwey was there later on too. She is gonna reserve one kitty for me. Hope all goes well.

Hmm I cannot find Aristocats at the NTUC near my place. I bought one small Whiskas can for Gingin.

hwey - i've got something to check with you. When u first brought Ah Two home - u said Sally gave her attitude before being able to accept being in the same room with Ah Two eventually. How long did this last?

i've got a problem now - yesterday we sent both chocolate & beano to the vet for vacinnation & to get their ears cleaned as well. Well my husband drove chocolate there 1st and then brought him home & then drove beano there. Why we did this was because the carrier is now too small for 2 of them to be put in it together. Which is just as well as Beano pooed on the way there & peed on the way home. Beano is kind of nervous & does this too the last time we brought him to the vet.

Yesterday to today hasn't been peaceful. Both of them have been fighting. chocolate would stare beano down and would bite off beano's hair or claw it off & beano would retreat to under the sofa. At 3:30am - i was awoken by choc's loud snarly meow at beano. my husband went out to calm both of them down. Shortly after that - Beano attacked Choc back by swiping choc's face - close to his eye - luckily nothing happened to choc's eye. but there was a scratch on choc's face & some blood.

i called the vet today to ask how come they are like that. i was told that cats tend to be like that if they've been stressed out (from all that poking and prodding at the vet's) and we just got to sit it out.

any ideas how to sit it out?