Cats Lovers??

ohh really. Ok now I feel better. hehe.
Cos I've never seen Butter so agressive towards humans before. Only at non-living things tt make lots of sounds. hehe.
Even when my bf first came to Oz, she was alright with him and not hissing or anything like tt.
So I was wondering...
THanks again. You guys are always such great help.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Gals,

Latest pictures of Nanook.</FONT>

6449.jpg

6450.jpg

6451.jpg

6452.jpg

6453.jpg

Ai yo lollipop!! He's so adorable!! Has his fur grown back yet? I had also taken some pics of Snowball and Snowy with my new digital camera but still haven't worked out how to up load yet. Think gotta install the UBS?! Will post the pics here after my holiday. I'll be away for 17 days and I'm already missing my babies..... Started crying last Sunday....

Also... last night I let them sleep with me as my hubby was out entertaining. They were jumping all over the bed and Snowy licked me all over my face till I fell asleep.... I think I woke up about 2 hours later as they were jumping all over me distrubing my dream. I had no choice but to lock them in the kitchen....

Hullo Curly,

His fur's growing slowly. But once we take his collar off during mealtime, he'd lick vigouriously. And he would be defiant when we try to stop him from licking excessively.

You are going away for holiday? Where to? Dun worry too much abt ure precious, they will be well-taken care of by ure brother, just try to enjoy the trip, and before you know it, you'd be reunited once again

The first two pictures were taken when he was in the bathtub. My mum couldn't bathe there because of him

The third one was in the sink. Quite surprised he can still fit in nicely. Notice how the colours blend together?

If you see the last picture, and notice carefully, you could tell his tail is shedding fur...

He really blends very well with the vanity top. After looking all over his tail for 2 mins, I finally spot it!!

Yah going away tomorrow to England and Switzerland. I know they will be very well taken care of but I'm already missing them. This morning when my hubby woke me up and counting down, I was already in tears!!

There there Curly... pat pat pat... I'm sure ure precious will be ok. In any case, you are reachable right? Just trust ure bro and enjoy ure trip while u can.

Switzerland's a nice place! Going there to spend quality time together? Sec honeymoon?

i am thinking of getting a cat/dog but both my husband and i work. we will only be there to play and take care of the cat/dog after work. would you (anyone) advice us to have one? how did you (anyone) 'manage' the time?

Hi Ren,
Cats are rather independent, they sleep during the daytime, so it doesn't really matter if someone is at home or not. Just make sure there is always food and fresh water around.

When you reach home, however, you have to spend more time with it, to cultivate a relationship. Cats need to play, and they would appreciate you lots if you spare some time for that

hello, had dogs from young.. but I think I'm really a cat person. But I know HDB don't allow cats.. any ways about it ?

hi lollipop
ur reply increase my hope of having one!!
may i ask how to go abt toilet training a cat?
is there any 'course' for new owner n pet?
thanks a lot!

Hi Ren,
When I first had Nanook, he was still very young. He was a stray. I bought a litter tray, and some granular litter. After he ate, I placed him inside the tray and he started sniffing. A sec later, he was peeing, and he covered his waste with the litter. We were very encouraged. We praised him
Generally cats are very clean animals. so you dun really have to worry about that.

I dun think there is any course for training a cat. But you can get a lot of info from this thread. Just read from the first archive

Someone,
I used to live in HDB before Vivian Balakrishnan implemented the No Cats Allowed in HDB rule. Nanook was really domestic, didn't dare to go out of the hse. Kept his meowings inside the hse, didn't disturb the neighbours. No complaints whatsoever. And if you neuter the cat, there shouldn't be any problems, like what he said, caterwauling. I just feel that if you keep ure cat indoors, and if it isn't causing any disturbance, it's ok.

I just came back from Oz on tuesday. Butter came back yest (wed). This morning, i wake up to a horror story. Couldnt find Butter and found her at the ledge outside meowing when i call her.
Bcos my mum is overseas, i didnt where she put the window keys. Took my bf and I 10 min to find the key. When finally opened the window, my bf saw Butter laying in the drain...........
It drained awhile ago, washing her blood in the drain away. Few minutes later, the church bell rang. Someone pls tell me it is a sign from God that she is taken care of in heaven?I love her so much...like my own child....and she died so tragically for such a sweetie and pampered cat...The pain of losing her is killing me and i wish time will quickly pass.

Hi Tigger,

This is so sad... My heart ached when I read your posting. I'm sorry about what happened to Butter and I share your pain in loosing Butter. Please don't feel sad anymore... Butter has gone to a nice new place and it is Cats' heaven. Butter would be sad if she knows that you are feeling sad too. Butter wouldn't want you to feel sad.

Take care and cheer up! That is what Butter would want too!

Hi Tigger,

I truly am saddened by this pc of sad news. However hard it is, stay strong. The most important thing is, you have known Butter and showered her with love. And I'm very sure she understands that too. Below is a poem, which I hope, will make you feel better. Pls take care.

RAINBOW BRIDGE

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge.

There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together.

There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor; those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by.

The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent; His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together....

Author unknown</FONT>

Hi Chin Leng, Lolli

Thanks for your kind words and the poem.
I'm missing Butter so much. I woke up today at ard the same time she fell yest...my bf commented she must hve heard the birds...When we were at Oz, she likes the sit on the inside ledge window n watch the birds. She would meow at them...But bcos the house has window screen, she is alright. I can't bare the hear them sing now...
I keep waking up n thinking it is a freak accident...she could hve been on my lap disturbing me on my laptop as she always do now...
She is so precious to me and i felt i've lost my very dear child. The towel i used to dry her after her bathe sleeps with me from now on. I can smell her and feel her so close to me...

Hi Tigger,

*hugs* It's not easy to deal with sudden loss. I believe Butter knows you miss her, and that she you. But she wants you to be happy, and if you look at the poem, she's fine, she's just in another place, at another time, waiting to be reunited with you again. But right now, she's enjoying herself, playing with her friends.

*hugs again* It's normal to grief dear Tigger, but the most impt thing is, you have taught each other love.

Pls take care

Hi lolli

thanks... the poem gives me hope.
I have entrusted Butter to the Lord and I know he will take care of her for me until my time is up too.
I just miss the times we had together. And the memories we had together are all in Perth.
I know she is happy with me and I know i give her love every of her living days alive. I miss her distubing me in the morning i miss her meow, i miss the way she looks at me or meow at me...
And i still wake up ard 7+ in the morning. And it will remind me of the fateful day...There are so many birds today. And i sat by the window to hear them this time. And i can see Butter getting curious by their chirping...
Thank God i listen to you. And snapped so many pictures of her. I only hve them now. The night before she died, my bf took a motion pic of her with a digital camera we found. I thank god we are allow for this precious little mintues of her ywaning and licking her paws. I thank the Lord.

Lolli once again thanks for your support.

Hi Tigger,

It's great to know that the poem gave you hope.

We know for sure Butter is in a better place, and that the Lord is taking care of her right now. With the photos, they bring back memories. Think about all the happy times you have spent together. No doubt it was short, it made an impact in ure lives.

I know it will probably take some time for you to get over the loss. Just take care of yourself, and do not dwell on the sad things anymore. Butter would very much want you to be happy. All of us too.

*More bear hugs*

“Butter”, Buttercup
My darling girl..

They say memories are golden
well maybe that is true.
I never wanted memories,
I only wanted you.

A million times I needed you,
a million times I cried.
If love alone could have saved you
you never would have died.

In life I loved you dearly,
In death I love you still.
In my heart you hold a place
no one could ever fill.

If tears could build a stairway
and heartache make a lane,
I'd walk the path to heaven
and bring you back again.

Our family chain is broken,
and nothing seems the same.
But as God calls us one by one,
the chain will link again.

Now I truely believe, the rain and church bell rang is a sign that the Lord has a rainbow, that brought Butter to heaven. I feel really better today and started going out. Though my heart is still heavy and I'm still afraid to look up to my flr.

I guess i won't be coming in here often now. Thanks for listening to me.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Tigger,

That is a really touching dedication, and I'm sure Butter would be really touched of ure love for her.

Glad to know that you are feeling much better today. Remember, cling on to the happy memories. That's how Butter wants you to remember her.

Take care dear. And God bless you.</FONT>

Hi Adrienne,

The command to attach image in the posting is,

\image{any text between the brackets}

or you can refer to the posting here

Hi Tigger,

Am glad to know that you are feeling better. Hope that you can still come in here once in a while. There are always other cats that require our love and care. I think Butter would like you to share your love and care for other cat as you had loved and cared for her.

Take care. * hugs *

Hi Chin Leng and lolli

Thanks for all your support. I still do come in here everyday. Habit already. Morever, it's something Butter and I do every morning too. I will come into SB, she will disturb me for awhile then rest on my lap. Chin Leng you did a very good job on this site.
Lolli read that your wedding is coming up. Have fun and best wishes to you. So envy that Nanook is sharing the joy with you guys.
Miss miss my darling girl...

Hi Tigger,

We miss her dearly too. *hugs* Stay strong Tigger. Whenever you feel down, look up to Heaven and smile. Butter's looking down at you.

*hugs*

hi tigger

my dog (someone shot it) pass away when i was 17. it took me quite somtime to get over it (esp how he died).... 10 yrs ago... but i tell myself that i have love him dearly when he is with me. i treasured him. i feel that my dog knows and understands me n he can actually sense it when i m upset. at times he actually come n sit by me to comfort me. at times he tried to use his nose to smell my face n then lick it. i believe he wants to cheer me up. i believe i will b able to see him again in heaven. now i m thinking of getting a cat or dog again.

i think butter wants u to see you being happy too. do take care.

Hi ren

Thanks for sharing your story. ;)
Everyday, it's a little bit better.
Though she is gone from my life, she is never gone from my heart. I still walk around with a heavy heart. I think i need a holiday soon.
When all this is over, I am thinking of getting another one too. I miss the tiny paws pressing on me every morning. Hope Butter is alright with it.

Lolli, does your Nanook likes to use his paws to do little presses on you to find a comfortable postition before resting on you? Butter likes to do that. I wonder if the other cats do the same.

Hi Tigger,

Nanook doesn't do that to me. If he did, it would have been painful! He's gotten heavier. He likes falling onto your feet though, and you have to squat down to pat him, otherwise if you walk away, he'd grab you and bite you. Spoilt.

Need some advice here. We just brought home another cat. It's very quiet and pitiful looking...that's probably the reason why we brought it home.

But Sally was hissing at it and ignoring us. Now I feel extremely bad. As if we have betrayed Sally's love....But the truth is we still love Sally a lot.....no less than before this cat arrives....

I just hope two of them gets on well

Cats are territorial, Sally hissed because she's intimidated by the presense of another cat. She feels threatened, because all the while she has been having all the attention you and ure hubby have showered on her, and suddenly, she feels insecure. I don't know how to get these two cats to get along with one another, but give Sally some time. Talk to her, feed her favourite dish, hug her. Let her know ure love for her will not change. At the same time, segregate them.

We are doing that...but now the situation is that Sally refuses to come upstairs, like it used to. It also stops rubbing itself against us, hissed and growled at the new cat (we named it Number 2)everytime it came into Sally's sight. Now, Number 2 also refuse to let us touch it. Sally is also hunting her down whenever we are not near Number 2.

Number 2 is a pedigree Exotic Shorthair. We bought it from a pet shop that is closing down cos we are afraid if it remains unsold, they may put her down.

We shall see how first.....it is extremely quiet and tame. Yesterday when Sally hissed at her, tears actually welled up its eyes and it cried!!! Donno if in the end, must rehome it to a cat lover.

Hi lollipop! I'm back just this morning. It was our so call honeymoon as we had not gone anywhere after the wedding last Oct. Switzerland is a beautiful place and I enjoyed every second of it. England was nice too as this time we went to Stratford-upon-avon and Gloustershire with family.

So happy to be home again! Snowball and Snowy were happy to see us too. And Snowy has grown so much since we left.

So sorry to hear about Buttercup, tigger. I have tears in my eyes as I was reading the past postings. Don't be sad as Buttercup is now taken care by the Lord and angels.

Hi Tigger

This may seem a bit too fast.....but would you want to rehome Number 2? We love it very much but it pains us to see Sally hunting it down, causing it to shiver and cry. Now it is under the bed, refusing to come out.

It is a very quiet and gentle cat (born Oct 01). So, we thought it would be better for it to be raise in a home with no other cat around. Just now, it innocently went to drink from Sally's water tray! Sally looked as if she was about to pound on her and tear her apart.

Hi curly,
Glad you are back! I told ya ure darlings will be well taken care of by ure bro. So, how did you reward him? ;P

Hwey,
Dun despair. Asking Tigger to take in Number 2 is a good suggestion, provided she's ready. Let's hear from her first, and at the same time update us with how both sally and number 2 is doing.

Take care!

Hi Lollipop

I agree. Tigger has to be ready first.

At least Number 2 is eating....that's a relief. Right now, we try to keep it away from Sally but somehow it likes to walk right to Sally and look at it. I think it is still young, donno what is danger.

Now Sally doesn't even want us to touch her. We always feed her from our palm. Now when I show her my palm with food, it ignores me and eat from her tray. It is also sniffing the floor for No. 2's trace and looking for her. Sigh! Never expected Sally would react like this.

BTW, Tigger, if you are interested in seeing Number 2, please sms me or call me. Chin Leng and Monica has my number.

Alternatively, you can reply to this thread. My hubby will be checking it for me. He'll then contact me

Chin Leng - sorry to trouble you.

lollipop, my brother certainly had looked after them very well. He was telling me that he has got scratches all over him..... Snowball has a bald patch which I assume she got cut when Snowy broke an ornament on the display cabinet which we still don't know what it is?!

Hwey when we first brought Snowy home, we didn't introduce the two cats until a week later. I would say they get along very well except on certain ocassions when Snowy distrubs Snowball....

Hi everyone here
Thanks for your comfort. I hvent been coming in for awhile. Been moving furnitures in my room to keep my mind off sad things.
Curly you are finally home. Glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday. You must feel real re-fresh now.
Huey, i'll think about it first can? Cos I hve to ask my mum first. And she is only coming back to SIN tonight. We hvent tell her abt Butter's death yet. I had a hard time convincing her to let me bring Butter back to SIn. Now that Butter is gone, she may be relieve to hear there won't be any pets in the house. My heart aches for number 2 too. I'll get back to you tomorrow or wednesday. Thks everyone for your support.

Hi Tigger,

Good to hear frm you too. How are u? Been feeling alright?

Hwey,
How's the situation now? Is Sally less hostile towards Number 2 and ureself?

Remember I told you about Nanook's hair loss? And that the vet gave him a collar to prevent him frm licking himself excessively? Erm, 2 weeks ago, he was drooling, for 2 days. We brought him to the vet and he was given another injection and some tablets to stop the drool. We had taken off his collar since then. He's recovered now, although I won't say the same for his tail. The fur around his tail is gone. Should I put the collar on him again? The vet said the reason behind his drooling was because he was stressed about something, or perhaps he saw something he did not like. We thought it was his collar, cos he couldn't scratch or lick himself for almost a mth. To put the collar on him will prevent him frm licking, but it wouldn't mend the hair loss. How?

hi huey

how's number 2? is the situation better?

we have not renovate our hse yet.... if not i can help too.

if in the end situation no better, i check if i can bring pets to my MIL hse first.

pls take care dun stress hor

It's okay, Tigger. Please take your time. I ask first cos I also very unwilling to let go of my Ah Two. My hubby and I love her very much as well. We thought we want to give both she and Sally more time. Unless Sally makes it very obvious that she wants Ah Two away....

My hubby told me just now Ah Two went downstairs to look around, and unwittingly drank from Sally's bowl again. Sally was furious and when Ah Two tried to leave, it blocked Ah Two's way.

Well, at least, in terms of "territory" sense, Ah Two has the upper floor and bedroom. So it is still quite safe.

BTW, I ask my mum. She told me cats can co-exist in same hse but must have different corners. Don't expect them to be close. Sigh.

Oh, just to assure all of you, she is not number two in our hearts. Same place as Sally. We were watching Austin Powers when we got her. So, named her after the character, Number 2.

I really hopes things get better. Maybe give them another month to see.

An update....Sally is still very hostile. Last nite we were watching TV and Sally was with us. Then Ah Two came out of the bathroom and sat outside. The moment Sally saw it, it started growling at her and to the point of pouncing. I quickly held on to Sally while my hubby took Ag Two away. ALl these while, AH Two just sat there.

This morning it rained. Sally is very afraid of rain, thunder, etc. But it refused to come into our room. Just sat outside. When I asked it to come in, it growled at Two again. In the end, Sally went to the kitchen and hide under table, shivering. Sigh!

Hi Hwey,
Have to be patient... at least Sally is coming to you now.. you mentioned something about watching TV together. Sally is not angry with you anymore, just that she's not accustomed to having another cat in the same roof. Give them some time, prob in a week or so, Sally will realise that Ah Two meant no harm, and tt both of them will be friends

Look to the bright side. Are you and ure hubby at work today?

yeah, at work. I think I'll move Ah Two to another room that Sally has not been to. Hope that will change the situation