Cats Lovers??

lollipop, Snowball sometimes scratches/digs on the floor. Our floor is marble so no problem..... She does it in the toilet as well. Hopefully Nanook has no such habit.....

Fh and I will be bringing Nanook to the new pl one night before the moving... hopefully he doesn't tear the place down.

I just discovered that Snowball loves moisturiser/hand cream/lip balm!! Each time after I applied moisturiser or hand cream and get ready for bed, she would be happy to stay with me and start licking it off. I always brush her off
but she would always wait till I'm asleep and attack me again. Worse when I have lip balm on, she always kisses me..... Does your cat do this?

Hi lollipop, hope Nanook has been a good boy in his new home. How's he adapting to the new environment?

halo curly,

snowball soooo cute. must be she wans to be moisturized as well

yesterday, me cooked hardboiled eggs again for my pets. i oso went to this petshop called pet tales at eunos where they seem to specialize in cat stuff. the owner loves cats n has lots of them all over in her shop, persians esp. i bought this packet of crab slice (kinda like our crab stick but dried ones) n 3 packets of treats (some r for odour-control, some for vitamins etc) i bought IAMS dried food for my orange to try as well.

last nite, we brought orange n junior to pasir ris beach n i fed him with lots of the crab slice cos he really likes it. then suddenly, he started to gag n he puked out the crab slices mixed with mashed hardboiled eggwhite (i cooked tat for him for lunch). i was worried n he was pretty quiet after tat. on the way home, he slept all the way. do u think he's overfed?? n tat's y he puked? then how to get him fat like tat?

Hi eunice

Not too sure what happened!! Is Orange alright now? If he's still unwell, maybe you should bring him to the vet. I think it's important not to overfeed him. Why do you want him to get fat? As long as he has his regular meals, it should be fine. We only feed Snowball during meals time.

BTW, how's your catnips grass growing?

halo curly,

orange is fine n jumping on his mouse now
well, fat cats to me r cuter
n orange is too slim

heheh, my catsnip is growing well. now abt 2cm i tink. it's quite easy to grow, wanna try?

Eunice, glad that Orange is fine now. I'm not too sure if Snowball is over weight but my brother is always saying that she's very fat - fat until no neck! hahaha...

Maybe I'll try to grow the catsnip this weekend....

Below msg earlier appeared under another thread. Too lazy to write everything all over again :P

Sat: FH's cousin picked us up. Nanook was meowing piteously, but was silent throughout the whole trip. When we reached the new hse, he refused to come out frm his cage. And when he did, he was practically crawling.. you know, the commando crawl.. He hid behind the curtains when we slept. He didn't dare to eat or drink or pee or poo. It was tt bad.

Sun: Did't really sleep well, was conscious of Nanook.. he didn't meow, there were no sounds frm him. He didn't even want to smell my hand. The movers came and gone, Nanook was only more brave towards the evening, but still refusing to eat. Has found his fave spot: the sink/bathtub in my parents' rm.

Mon at 4:25am: Woke up to find Nanook sleeping on my blanket. Was meowing outside my parents' rm. Followed me for awhile before he took a few bites and sips. Finally! But he didn't eat his dinner.

This morning I found him on top of the fridge. :D He's fine, and we suspected he ate some fish this morning.

Here's what I found in NTUC last weekend.

Kitten biscuits
Purina kitten chow $3.60
Friskies kitten $3.20

Treats
Purina lickin's fishy's $2.25
Purina lickin's kluckers (chicken) $2.25
Nature's gift soft tender treats $2.20

Hi Eunice,
Perhaps Orange didn't digest his food properly and it all started to come out. Dun worry, cats usually feel better after puking..

Hi lollipop

Just to let you know that I found a set of Snowball's teeth today. At first I could only guess..... then I grabbed her and made her opened her mouth to check and she has a red raw patch on her upper gum.....

That's milk teeth! keep it! perhaps the tooth fairy will come sayang Snowball

Dun worry about the raw patch.. cats are tough, they are able to recover very fast. I dun think Snowball realises it.

Nanook is adapting, well, sort of. He has a very bad habit which is quite upsetting. His feeding hrs are hay-wired. He doesn't eat at night, and he sleeps alot during the day. (which is pretty normal) The thing is, he meows at 3 - 4 am and wants food. In the past, he wakes up early, but he would nvr meow unless my mum or dad woke up at 6 am to prepare for work. And at tt time, we fed him with biscuits. Now he eats fish. I am trying hard to train him to break this habit. I even resorted to locking him in the kitchen and put food there. He still meow. I told my dad nvr to feed him at 4am. We want him to adjust to us, not we him. But my dad still wake up at that hr to feed him with fish....

xian..

lollipop, I intend to keep her milk teeth!

I hope Nanook will adjust to the new environment very soon. Snowball is very different, she doesn't meow even if she's hungry. I suppose there's always a dish of biscuits available.... She doesn't really like the biscuits but I guess when she's hungry, she eats anything.

Nanook is spoilt. I spoilt him rotten, they all say. He'd meow even if there are biscuits.

Did you manage to find any kitten biscuits?

We spoil her by giving her lots of hugs and kisses.... Didn't manage to find the Whiskas kitten biscuits, so we bought Iams.

I guess there are many ways to spoil cats. Buy him lotsa stuff which he doesn't make use of, giving him good and expensive food, lotsa hugs and kisses, playtime etc.

There's one qn I have been wanting to ask you. If you dun mind that is. How old are you?

:P

We have not bought her toys for a long time, she always loses interest after a while.....

Why out of a sudden interest you want to know how "old" I am?? Hmm..... very old, hahaha... - coming to 29. Thank god I don't feel anything like 28/29. I still feel like 24/25.

Yeah, remember the cat spa I was telling you guys about? Nanook only used it once and it is now being stored in my cabinet.

No lah, had wanted to ask quite sometime ago but forgot. Judging from the photos you shared with us, you look pretty young

Will be going for my photoshoot next Friday, but haven't decided where to go yet.

Wow, lucky Nanook!! How does this cat spa work? Does it involve water? Snowball really hates water. Whenever she has done her poo poo, she'll hide in a corner as she knows that I'll wipe her bum and wash her paws. But she never got away with that. When I put her near the sink, she always struggles and climbs onto my back..... Likewise with bath.... Now I bath her very fortnightly instead of weekly.

Thank god that you said that I look young! If not, I'll look older than my hubby..... He has a quite a boyish look (except for all the wrinkles around his eyes).

Have fun with your photoshoot! For ours, the locations were chosen by the photographer.

The cat spa doesn't involve water at all. rather, it has some acu-pressure pads for the cat to "massage" their pawpads. It also has bristles for the cat to clean its gums, as well as to massage their chins, their necks... the trick is, you have to put some catnip on these bristles in order to attract the cat.

$30

but not sure if it is still being sold. I got it from Pet lovers. Perhaps you call the office at 6842 1088 to enquire?

just to "warn" you. cats have very short attention span. my colleague who has 8 cats, bought one, and only one cat used it, and must have peed in it also. now it's being kept inside a storerm.

Nanook only used it once as well.

I don't think my hubby is supportive of a cat spa..... I'm just curious. I always give Snowball massages anyway - good and foc. heheheh...

lollipop, I found another set of Snowball's teeth last night! My hubby thinks I'm crazy for keeping the teeth......

This morning when I left for work, the siamese cat followed me from the 2nd floor till the next block. I think he already knows us. Whenever we say something to him, he'll answer back but of course we don't know what he said.......

Have fun tomorrow. Remember don't drink too much water before you go to bed!!

I'm thinking of getting a cat sometime in the future, but quite worried about whether they will scratch the furniture. Any advice? Also, can I leave them alone at home when I and my hubby go to work? Will I come home to a disaster??

Hi Crumpet

I think it's a cat's nature to scratch. So when you get your cat, get it a scratching post. Whenever you see it scratching, bring it to the scratching post and teach it to do its scratching on the post. It will take some time though.... I would say be prepared to sacrifice some of your furniture.....

When we first got Snowball, we left her in the kitchen as she wasn't toilet trained yet. After she was trained, we let her into the living area as well. Now, she's free to roam freely. So far Snowball hasn't created any disaster. The mess she made were very minor.

Even when I'm angry, the sight of her is very comforting, then I'm angry no more!! She has brought much joy into our life!

Hi Crumpet,

Kittens are easier to train. But they also require more care. The essential things you have to get is a litter tray, sand, food and water dish, and perhaps a toy. To prevent the cat from scratching, you have to get a scratching post and train it to use it from young. That way, it could save your furniture. You have to discipline it when it is still young.

If you are concerned about the cat leaving its "trail", after feeding it, you let it smell its litter (be sure to get the clumpy type). Cats are very smart animals, they will know how to pee and poo in their tray.

Cats are also quite independent. I leave mine alone, at home too. Afterall, they sleep during the day, and when you come home, you just have to feed them, spend time with them.

Hope the above helps.

Hi lollipop & Curly,
how're you gals doing? Looks like the 2 of u are more active in this thread. Where's Eunice? It's been a while since I posted here...heee....was hoping to get a pic of my Mimi to show you all. That took some time...I hope I can successfully attach the pix, keeping my fingers crossed!

4900.jpg

Yeah!! I did it!! How do you all like the pix of my Mimi cat?? heehee...she is really my precious pet!

And to add on to Crumpet's question, well, in my house we also leave the cat at home on her own. I am not married yet... still with my parents, and hardly anyone's at home but she's very good, she doesn't do any damage and most the time she's just sleeping!! She tends to scratch the leather sofa a little bit but as soon as she does that we'll scold her and spray! You know tt spraying water is a way to discipline cats rite?

Mimi also doesn't bite or scatch us, she's gentle and sweet. Likes to sit on my lap and purr!!

I shall try to attach another pic..a nicer one!
4901.jpg

Apple,
Mimi looks great! Looks very docile and tame, unlike my mischievous Nanook

Hope to see more of Mimi's photos in the future

='o'=*

Thanks Lollipop for the compliment!! Maybe coz she's already 5 years (rough estimate) old and she is female...not so active & adventurous!

I like her face..and the paws esp, she's wearing socks!! haha...

Hi Apple, Mimi is very beautiful!! Nice colour too. Yah, hope to see more of Mimi's pics.

2 days ago I saw a kitten of the same colour and it looked really scared. I tried to go near it but it always got away.

lollipop, how's Nanook doing in the new apartment?

You know the siamese cat? He followed my hubby to the shop and back last Sunday. He follows me (a few blks) when I leave for work everyday.

Snowball did a disappearing act on Sunday. We were looking for her for 20 minutes and finally found her on top of the kitchen cabinet but she didn't know how to get down. Took a pic of her, hopefully it'll come out alright.

Oh yes, Lollipop!! Nanook wears socks too!! How cute.... the white patch on their throat area also very cute rite? white & clean....

is Nanook a male or female?

Hi Curly,
Nanook's adapting. Thanks for asking. He likes to sit by the window and look at ppl frolicking in the pool
Once he growled at a woman in a bathing suit! Wonder what he was thinking.

That day my sister couldn't find Nanook. After 10 min, she found him inside my pillowcase, all curled up!

Apple,
Nanook is a tomcat
I love his white patch in his throat too.

me here me here

mimi really very docile. hopefully orange would become more tame or else we may hav to let him go after all
mil told my hubby tat orange tried to attack her ankles while she's climbin up the stairs causing her to nearly trip

me saw this petshop at great world city n it really has quite a variety of accessories for all types of pets
saw this cat spa n was really tempted to buy. we saw this modernised kitty tray which looks so futuristic! very tempted oso but i thot it was a bit small but hubby said it's ok.

nowadays orange always sleeps with us on the bed between my hubby n i
he oso likes to follow me wherever i go, even into the bathroom. he watches me when i bathe too
sometimes feel a bit paiseh oso

Eunice,
Nanook is quite the peeping tom also. He follows me to the bathroom and sits at the sink while I bathe.

The cat spa you are talking about, is it circular, reen and beige in colour, and it costs $30? I bought one for Nanook and he doesn't use it at all. Ok, he used it once only.

Think Orange was trying to be playful. Are you getting a hse of your own? Perhaps that could solve the problem. I have also heard that cats, once neutered or spayed, will become more affectionate, more docile. doesn't seem so for my case though.

halo lollipop,

i heard abt it too but hubby is against the idea of neutering orange becos he tinks tat it's against nature to do so
as for whether they will become more affectionate, neutering must be done before they reach maturity at abt 6 mths before their aggressiveness kicks in. cos otherwise, no change in behaviour. orange will be 6 mths in another mth's time n i really wan him to be neutered but dunno how to persuade hubby leh
i even tried telling him tat it would prolong orange's life but he still dun like the idea

yep, the spa i saw is the same as wat u described. go bumps to massage their paw pads, got some brush for them to rub their fur n got some catnip thingy for them to massage their gums

my sis-in-law juz asked me if im willing to give away orange
my mil told her tat orange keeps attackin her feet at the stairs n tat orange likes to walk around the antiques at hm
how???

juz wondering if orange would be happier as a stray instead of giving the spca

you are considering giving orange away? Is your sister in law offering to look after him?

Since Orange has been with you for quite a while, he may not be able to adapt being a stray again. I dun really trust the SPCA. Why dun you try putting up ads and have the pet shops to help you? That way, you can see Orange's "future" owners and you can still keep in touch with him.

This is so sad... I think Junior may have a hard time coping also. Mebbe your hubby can talk to your mother in law? Or mebbe you confine Orange in your room?

Can I join in your conversation? I am a cat lover too. The two cats shown ablove (mimi and nanook, if I'm not worng) look very cute
I also have a cat at home. She was a stray cat but has been with us for more than 9 years. Don't know the exact age but we love her very very much. She is getting old now, not very active, Her name is beibei. Here is her picture:

4936.jpg

4937.jpg

By the way, how did you manage to take the cat's photo as the cat's eyes aways reflect light.

Hi Neko,
Welcome to the cat lovers "club"!
Beibei looks very peaceful.. wow, a cat which is almost 9 years of age or more. she's very beautiful Neko

Tell us more about her!

Eunice, please don't let Orange become a stray again. I agree with lollipop, let someone adopt him. Yeah, I think Junior would be sad too. For your info, Snowball loves to bite my ankles too! Can't really do anything, she just loves to attack me.....

Neko, your beibei has nice colour! Please tell us more about her....

Hi Neko,
Beibei is so cute.... fat too!! Like most domestic cats huh... in comparison I dun feel my mimi is very fat but pple still say she is, guess they are used to size of stray cats. Chubby cats we have....so cute.

Eunice I think u really should persuade ur hubby to agree for Orange to be neutered. It's better for him & he won't be so agressive. it's not really agst nature, maybe u can show him what it says in pet books... most pple who keep cats at home would have them neutered. Maybe coz Orange is still young? So still v playful? When they get a bit older they won't be so playful.

Come to think of it I am really thankful mimi doesn't attack us, she does bite my hand sometimes when I stroke her but it's just play, the teeth dun hurt me. When I watch TV in living room these days she likes to come sit beside me...quite sweet. Sometimes putting her paws on my lap! Yesterday I came home & switched on the TV and then went downstairs again to take something. My dad who was home thot Mimi switched on the TV to watch "Feng Yun"! heehee...
For me I dun feel so shy when Mimi watches me change...haha...coz she's female too! But we always laugh at her esp when she likes to look at my mum bathe...ha.

halo all (esp to Neko, welcome
),

ive decided i shall neuter orange either with or without my hubby's consent. after all, he's MY cat
would greatly appreciate any recommendations for which clinic i should go to? the toa payoh vet clinic which i went for orange's vaccination was a bit run down n it's within the industrial estate which is pretty inaccessible.

will wait n see if orange would become more mellow after the neutering. if he doesnt, then i guess i would hav to start looking for new owners for him