Cats Lovers??

Thanks for your compliment for beiebi (I told her that you all phrase her... haha) She said meow meow...
Yes she is always that fat ever since we have adopted her 9 years ago when she was a stray cat. She was playful but now she has tone down a bit... always sleeps. However, whenever we swing the rod that she used to play, she will get excited! Very cute. Quite pity that she is losing her teeth and she can't enjoy those cat's dry food that she loves. She will vomit if she eats that. Do your cats vomit too? She'll get very scared when she vomitted even though we have never scolded her for that. She'll be scared and runs away from the patch of vomitted food, and stays under the table or chair.
Our family love her and she has become a member of our family. At first when she was adpoted by my family, my father really disliked her as she was a stay cat and some chinese tradition says that stray cat will bring bad luck to the family. However, me, my sis and my mother insisted to have her with us and eventually my father accepted her. Now, he treated her as if she is his youngest daugther! Even better than me and my sis. He loves to bring her around and talks to her.. haha
Hey I think cats watches TV.
Apple: I think your mimi is younger than beibei, Your mimi watches 'Feng Yun'. My beibei watched 'Shen Diao' (you know the artificial big bird on chinese TV?) She watches the big bird flying!

Eunice: Try not to let orange becomes a stray cat. Very poor thing one. He got to look for his own food and I think he can sense what you try to do. He'll feel sad!

Curly: BeiBei like to bite my leg too. And she'll get very excited and her tail shakes and becomes very puffy! She just wants to be playful

Hi all, this morning when I left for work, I met a neighbour who stays below us, so I asked her if the siamese cat belongs to her or her neighbour but she said no. Apparently, it's always outside their area.....

Eunice, we are supposed to make arrangement to spay Snowball this or next month. But I'm quite hesitant about depriving Snowball of motherhood. My hubby on the other hand, is very insistent. The vet said that infection, breast cancer, etc might develop in the future if she's not spayed. We still haven't decided when to do it..... Anyway, our vet is at Pet Safari at Simei.

Neko, Snowball just loves to bite! I let her sleep with me last night as my hubby wasn't home yet and she started attacking me. Now got a few scars on my elbow....

After my hubby came home, he let her sleep in our room. When I woke up this morning, she was sleeping on toilet cover. Don't know how she managed to open the door as I always make sure it's shut.

Another thing to add, whenever we come home from work, Snowball always gives us a welcome stretch. Same when it's meal time!

Hi Curly, Lollipop and Apple,

Thanks very much for your advice! Was so busy over the week, so only able to come in the forum today..... guess I will most prob be reading up on keeping a cat before I make the committment! Hv to convince my hubby first that the cat won't destory the house!

BTW, if you leave the cat at home, will they try and wander outside the house? My new house is on the 2nd storey, so quite worried that I will come home and find that the cat has gone out by the window. And how do you confine a cat to a room besides closing the door? They can jump pretty high, right?

Hi Crumpet,
You can try closing all the window before you goes out if you are worried that the cat will jump dowm. As for my cat,Beibei, she never tried to jump down from the windows (we stay on the 5th floor) She loves to look at the scenary outside the window,but she never attempted to jump down from there).

Hi Curly,
Beibei also welcomes us when we reach home. She tends to look very pretty (eyes big big) when we are having meals, She wants to have a share too.
Beibei also knows how to open doors if there is a small gap. She'll force it open using her head and her hands

Hi Crumpet, I don't think you have to worry. We are staying on the 3rd floor. Sometimes when we go out for an hour or 2, we never bothered to shut the windows. I had done a test to make sure that she won't jump - put her outside the window - she just got really scared and cried....

Neko, our master toilet door is a bi-fold, even if when it's totally shut, she still manages to push her way thru....

Aiyoh! I cannot catch up!

Sorry guys, I had my photoshoot last Friday, wasn't able to see all your postings.

Crumpet,
Yes, having a pet requires lotsa commitment. We have to take several precautions because cats, afterall are cats. They are curious about everything.

We make sure we close our windows whenever we go out. if it's just for awhile, we just close our doors. Cats are quite independent, they sleep alot during the day, they won't get bored. You should also get a scratching post and some toys to keep the cat entertained

Nanook has the habit of wandering along the corridor whenever we come back from work. Afterwhich he'd come back in. Guess he needed some environmental change

I used to stay on the 14th floor, and several times Nanook stood outside the window, on the ledge. I can swear my heart stopped for tt few min when we tried to lure him back in. We couldn't possibly force him inside because he would be afraid and he might struggle. Once he came back in, we would hit his butt for being naughty. I won't know whether he'd really jump off or whether he's just plain curious about the moving cars, but I sure know I won't want to try.

Neko,
I showed Beibei to my Fh, we both agreed she doesn't look old!

hello...
I stay on the 4th floor... mimi also loves looking at the scenery outside! We have this sofa agst the window so she'll sit on the top of the sofa and put her head slightly out of window grills to look downstairs! so kpo...haha.
Sometimes in the morning she will lie in the balcony and sunbathe.... heehee.. she also looks thru the grills from balcony to pple downstairs... I wonder what she sees really... maybe she's even able to spot a mice running thru the grass!
Yeah, cats can open doors.. esp cupboards and shoe cabinets.. they can use their paw to try pry open the door and hide inside! My FH's cat likes to hide inside shoe cupboard outside their flat. eeks....so smelly! good thing Mimi doesn't do much of that. But isn't it cute when cats go inside a plastic bag or box? Mimi loves to put herself in new shoeboxes.... & she is not conscious of how small the box is to fit her! haha...so funny, always wanna squeeze into any small box!

me juz sent orange for sterilization this morning. i went to the edmund clinic at serangoon north ave 2 n the process took less than an hr (includin waitin time). it was heartbreaking to see orange disoriented n his eyes werent able to focus after the operation
me was wondering whether i did the right thing. hubby was very upset oso. orange tried to get up n walk after the operation but he was still bleeding. i tried to stop him n get him to rest. he did sleep for abt 4 hrs n was much better. he's now very docile n affectionate. he comes to us n wans to lie next to us. ive oso yet to hear him meow. prolly becos it's still early after the operation.

Hi Eunice,
Don't worry, orange will get well soon. There was once BeiBei was bleeding so badly that I sent her to the vet at night (don't know what happened too,I went home and discovered that she was bleeding from her bottom. I was so scared and I cried. Luckily that my FH was around. The vet told me that BeiBei is getting old and her womb is getting loss, that's why it bleeded... dun quite understand what he has mentioned. BeiBei was very obedient that night. She didn't want to dirty up the place and she stayed still on a piece of rag... She seems to understand that she need to go to see the vet and she went into her box willingly. Now she is fine. She stopped bleeding on that night. Of course, sick animal would like us to pay more attention to them and love them.)

Hi Lollipop:
I love to share BeiBei's photo with others. I love her a lot (as if she is my daughter/sister). My friend also said that she does not look old... in fact she is getting old now.. sleep a lot, not as active as before.

Hey Eunice,

Dun worry too much about it. I am sure Orange will be back to his usual self soon. Umh, I mean walk around meow alot.

Nanook was disoriented initially, I dun remember if he did meow right after his op, but he was climbing up and down the window grilles.

Chin up girl, he will be fine.

Neko,
How heavy is Beibei? Just asking
She does look big you know?

halo neko n lollipop,

orange is oredi up n about n back to his usual self
for the first time, im so glad when he fights with junior again
he now keeps chewing n playing with his soft toy, a blue dolphin.

Hi lollipop,
BeiBei's weight is about 3-4 kg. In the past she used to be 5 kg (we always say that she is as heavy as a package of rice!).
She didn't eat that much now as she is getting old.

halo neko n lollipop,

wahhh....compared to ur heavyweights, orange is only a featherweight champion
tink's he weighs no more than 1-2 kg. more recent pics of orange
btw, the weather so hot tat my catnip withered liao

5093.jpg

5094.jpg

Hi Eunice,
Orange is sooo cute! The month is soooo big! How old is orange? Seems like his lower jaw does not have many teeth! (Just like my beibei!)

Orange's face has changed. More adult now. He look so cute! Was he yawning?

Hey, recently Whiskas has introduced a new range of dry food for cats. Pockets! So cute! My mum bought one bag for Nanook. Creamy inside, crispy outside

Hi eunice, what a good picture you've got of Orange! Always wanted to take one like that for Snowball too.

Yesterday I accidentally left Snowball in my bedroom. I was a bit worried when I didn't see her when I left for work. When I got home, I could only hear her meowing. She must be so hungry! After she had eaten, she went to her tray and messed it up! To take revenge I suppose.....

hehehe... i was tellin hubby tat orange looks more like him each day, with double chin n protruding stomach

yeah, me saw the whiskas pocket product on their website some weeks back before it was launched in sgp. me wanted to get tat for orange cos he likes them crispy on the outside n creamy on the inside as well but they dun hav them for kittens
juz gotta wait for another half a yr before i can feed him with tat.

wahhhh lollipop,

serious or not?? if tat's the truth, then i go buy the whiskas pockets liao!!!

wahhh....tat's it liao, me gonna get the whiskas pocket food
wonder which flavour i should get

Hullo Eunice,

My mum bought the ocean fish flavour. Suggest you buy a smaller pkg (if they have) Mix Orange's current food with the pockets, that's what I always do when I introduce Nanook a new dish

Mebbe you might like to check with your vet if it is ok to feed Orange with "adult-cat" food... wonder if all cats are the same lor.

halo lollipop,

all the packets r of the same size. wish they hav one with mixed flavour
tink no need to check with vet cos stray cats all the same wat hor
like the hokkien saying "anyhow eat, anyhow big"

If Orange likes to eat fish more than he does chicken/lamb/liver etc... then buy ocean fish, tuna and anchovy or salmon
Nanook's eyes are as huge as saucers everytime I feed him fish. That boz, doesn't know how to eat liver or beef or chicken.

Hi Curly,

Nope. Can't really survive on my own already... need to save up lots for my wedding. Besides, I won't want to think something bad's gonna happen to my Nanook :/

Hi lollipop, neither do I ever wanna think something bad will happen to Snowball..... I was just curious about pets insurance; I think there are some pre-conditions like the pet must be licenced which Snowball is not....

This morning I went to the pet store to get food and there were some kittens for adoption. They have one of them there and she was really cute. The salesgirl was already very attached to it. I was very tempted but my hubby was a little concerned about Snowball.... So in the end, I had to leave her there with the salesgirl....

You are keen to get another kitten? Snowball may not like it... cats are rather jealous, unlike dogs. They vie for affection, unless they are being raised together. I am like you, get very attached to strays and started naming them and feeding them.

Dunno if you still remember me? The girl formerly known as translucent here.

Been really bzz with school work and my bf is in Perth now. So you can imagine how occupied I am these days.

Anyways, I have some pictures of Buttercup here.
your_image.gif

3 months old.
Lolli, you are so right in saying they grow so fast! She almost look like a cat now.

Hi lollipop, whenever I see kittens, I'll be full of maternal instinct, especially when they are so cute. Furthermore, they are without parents which make them more pitiful.... Just feel like mothering them......

Hi trigger/translucent, glad to have you back! Can't wait to see Buttercup's pics!!

Buttercup is so...... cute!! She has a good mix of colours too.

Currently, we feed Snowball with Iams and Whiskas. Sometimes, I buy Carrefour's inhouse brand which she loves but I'm not too sure how good it is!?

Thnks Curly.
My bf calls her "Bao Gong". hehe. COs half of her face is black. haha. But I really like her white fury chest and her pitiful round eyes.

I feed her with Eukanuba kitty food. Recently, I bought some fish whiskers food for her and she don;t want her chicken Eukanuba anymore! And her stool comes out with 2 colors when i feed her a mixture of the chicken and fish. haha.

I was just looking at all the pictures you guys have posted and the kitties are absolutely adorable! I wish I had a kitten too. My cat is all grown up now but sometimes she still behave like a child. Don't think she will like the idea of sharing the household.

She just had 5 teeth extracted. *ouch* The vet has recommended special dry food that would clean her teeth. Have any of you tried that? The assistant there also told me that whiskas and friskies are not as healthy as the less commercialised brands. Is this true?

tigger, I think their poo poo colour depends on what they eat. When we first mixed the food, Snowball's poo poo also had a mixture of colours....

kelly, I'm not too sure how healthy the different brands of food are. As long as they don't cause any problem, then it should be alright.

Hi Curly,

I figure tt out when I mix the food. The paler color will be the fish and the darker color will be the chicken. haha.

Hi Kelly,

How old is your cat already? DO you have any pictures?

Aiyoh!!! can't stand! So sacharine sweet and cute!
You choose a good name for her!

She looks so huggable!

I feed Nanook with Whiskas dry foof. For wet food, I go for Aristocats.

Must update us with more pic of Buttercup okie?

Lolli you make me laugh. I sometimes wanna squeeze her to death.

yesh yesh yesh, I just took another roll of pictures of her. Will post it in here soon.
SOmehow what you said about them growing very fast got stuck in my head. I don't wanna forgot how she looks like at every stages of her life.
Too bad I don't hve a viewcam. It will be more memorable.

Hmmm it seems like Eukanuba is not a popular choice.

Hi Tigger,

Eukenuba and Iams are associated right? But I thought Eukenuba specialises in dog food while Iams concentrates on cat food.. mebbe I remember wrongly.

Hi Kelly,
So far Whiskas is alright. I only heard about feeding cats with Friskies could lead to cats having kidney stones..

Hi. I recently adopted an adult female stray cat that appeared at our door. It was so skinny we decided to let her in and fed her. She has been a good cat so far...she relieves herself on the common toilet floor and all we need to do is pick up the waste and spray water at the urine. However, a few days ago, she has begun meowing in the wee hours of the morning and waking the whole neighbourhood up. And she is behaving strangely...she is often in a crouching position and has started peeing in all the wrong places, whereas still removing her bowels in the toilet! The vet says she is on heat. I am wondering if she will revert to her normal self after this period?

Hi meow meow, I think she'll be her normal self again after the heat period. Not too sure how long it'll last or how often it'll happen though. The best option is to spay her. However, spaying during heat is more complicated and there's a risk involved.

Snowball is about 6 months old now and we'll probably send her for the operation next month. The vet told us that unspayed cats can suffer from some kind of infections and breast cancer....

I have a picture of my cat but not sure how I to show you all.... I am not too good with this. I am not sure how old she is cos she was initially a stray. She has been with us for about 6 years.

Hi meow meow,
If your family has decided to keep this female cat for good, you should spay her immediately. bring her to a nearby vet, and have her thoroughly cleaned up, her eyes, her nose, her ears, deworm her, and clip her claws. She will be as good as new.

Spaying her will prevent her from meowing at night, and it will also avoid complaints from your neighbours. Get a litter tray and teach her how to use the tray (although it might be a little late since she's grown up)

Crouching position is kinda normal. Nanook does it quite often too. The most impt thing is to toilet-train her first.

hi Kelly,
try typing
your_image.gif
and send your opsting normally. you will be asked to select the file to attach.

halo kelly,

to attach pic, first make sure ur pic is less than 50k in size. then simply type

\ image{description}

but make sure tat there isnt a space between the backslash n the word 'image'. wat ive done above is juz for demonstration

Thanks all. Will definitely want to adopt her. We are worried that there is more to her weird behaviour becos i read on internet that spraying during mating season is usu on the vertical surface e.g. walls rather than floors and the position described is diff from how my cat pees nowadays. We are worried it may be a urinary tract infection. Anyway bringing her to vet today to check. Better saf than sorry. My cat is very inactive. We tried to play with it with a piece of string it didn't even bother to get up from her sitting position. Maybe she's been through a lot when a stray to be bothered with play.