Cats Lovers??

Translucent,

They have flea collars meant for pets. And I think you put it on on your cat for about 1 week, the fleas will more or less be exterminated or reduced.

Or you can use the type of shampoo for cats which have fleas.

Get buttercup deflea-ed first, then ask for the vet's advise. Hope this flea problem will be gone soon.

Thanks lolli. I actually applied Adantage on her neck on Sat too. I think they should be dead lar. According to insert, Advantage kills flea in all the stages. BE it Fleas, eggs, Larve,or pupa. I hope it is true.Or it is just marketing gimmicks. Up till now, no signs of them. Im gonna get the flea shampoo soon.

Oh yar did i tell u bath her on Sat too. Wah so many things happend to her on Sat. haha. She was trembling after the bathe. Poor thing. And was so exhausted tt she slept thru when i had my dinner w/o disturbing me. haha.

Her next vaccination appointment is in April, so i was thinking when i bring her there, chk for fleas at the same time. Meanwhile, I'll wait in see for nxt few wks.

Aye, you bathed her in cold water? why was she shivering leh? next time wrap her fast with a towel so that she won't catch a chill. Er, buttercup's a she right?

Lolli, yup buttercup a missus. I bathed her in warm water. But i think cos she was really afraid too? Yar I read in the thread tt u wrapped her in a big towel after her bathe. I dry her with the heater on n wrapped her like a baby. so cute...actually rock her abit too. haha.

Where are the rest? So quiet today. Only 2 of us talking here.

I rock Nanook at times too... just that I dun really encourage it because he's soooo heavy. Sometimes I would just sling him over my shoulder

Perhaps Buttercup is afraid of the water, mebbe it could be her first contact with it. Cats generally do not like water, but that doesn't mean they dun enjoy their baths too, as long as they are dried immediately.

Going home already, continue tmr, okie doke?

Oh yar, Nanook is 4 yrs old now right. SHould be pretty heavy. Ok talk tomorrow. ;)

halo translucent,

we chose boxing day cos first choice 14 dec was oredi taken up n boxing is the next alternative lor cos parents wan auspicious day

yah lor, MIL complainin tat orange keeps biting ankles n appear suddenly to frighten ppl
think she extra worried cos she got alot of antiques ard n fear tat orange will knock them down lor. i oso headache dunno wat to do. maybe gotta lock orange in the room but i worried tat she might be too bored n would create even greater havoc when released from the room. how har??
i wonder if it's becos orange is a stray cat n tat's y they r more 'wild'??

Hullo Eunice,

How are you? Have the bites disappear?

Does Orange give you alot of trouble? Cats by nature are very mischievous. Sometimes the more you restrict them, the more they want to "rebel"
Has Orange ever knocked things over? Cats are quite nimble also. There were couple of times when Nanook would jump on top of the TV cabinet, and we were so afraid he would topple the pot of dried flowers. He walked alot, our hearts stopped, but no, he didn't send anything crashing.

If you were to lock him inside the rm, he'd prob miss Junior
and yes, he would mess up the rm, perhaps out of boredom or out of rebellion.

Hello girls, was off work yesterday and too lazy to on the computer..... Spent the whole day with Snowball but she slept most of the time. Not too sure if carrot has some effect on her. Give her a strip of carrot yesterday and after a while she was dashing everywhere. Thank god she didn't send anything crashing.

lollipop, I also like to rock her and sling her on my shoulder.

Eunice, better not confine Orange in one rm lar. She will go mad. I hve a friend who did just tt for her dog, and the dog is abit xiao xiao now.
Everytime bring her out, she will behave like a xiao char bo. i was so afraid of her even though she is just a tiny dog.

Curly, was it cos she doesnt like carrot huh? Or she likes it so much she is dashing ard. haha.

Hi Curly,
Nice to see you here! I notice Chin Leng changed the cover photo, in any ways, both looks just as good!

Erm, was the carrot hard? Was it boiled? I nvr feed Nanook with anything other than "chopped" eggs, fish, cuttlefish, fish crackles etc...think he won't appreciate vege.

slinging our cats over our shoulders like babies hor? I think he likes being handled this way

Hi lollipop, thanks for the compliment. I think I have a cheeky look in this photo....

Actually it was the carrot skin lah. I was peeling some carrots and she jumped onto the sink and watched me, so I gave her a strip. She then happily jumped down and brought it to the living area. She was playing with it for a good ten minutes. The next minute, she was dashing everywhere. Translucent, she didn't actually eat it, she was more like having some fun....

errr...I think my posting was overlooked, can anyone help me with recommendations on how to transport my 2 cats abroad, besides using Pet Movers?

Faces, Sorry, how abt the yellow pages? Maybe call a few pet shops. From there you can get more info? Hope this helps. ;) Where are you moving to?

Sorry Faces, I have no idea too. My hubby has a friend who flew his cat to NY. Not too sure if he has his contact as he had already left Singapore..... Will ask him to check.

halo lollipop n curly,

thank god the spots stopped appearing n no longer itch as much but they r still a sight for sore eyes

orange is a terror in the house. she pulls things down from the table, she would jump onto tables n dash here n there n everywhere. juz yesterday, i found my sis-in-law's g-string under our bed
i almost stopped breathing when she jumped into MIL's big porcelain vase n thank god she's too small to topple the vase *phew* i think she's running junior haggard with all her running abt n biting

from u gals' opinions, guess it's not a gd idea to lock her in the room. but i really hope she would outgrow this dashing n nibbling part.

today, juz bought whiskas advance dry food for kittens n 8 packs of wet food for orange (all different flavours)

Lollipop, Transluscent and Curly,

Thanks so much, will check it out. I am moving to South Africa.
The quote I got for the 2 is $2000.00 rediculous price!

Faces, from what I know, you can either do everything urself or u get some agent that does pets transporting for you. But of course the latter is more ex. IF u do it yourself, U have to get the cage, buy ticket for ur pet etc. Quite alot to do right. Who did you enquire from?

Eunice,
You really pamper Orange! Then again, who doesn't?

Nanook doesn't like the wet food in the foil pkg. Such a bozo... so picky about his food. He has this bad habit, he doesn't want to eat from his food dish at times, and when that happens, he'd meow and he wld not eat until we pour what's remained in his dish onto the newspapers... sigh.

Faces, hope you are able to find reasonable rates soon. But do compare several movers b4 making a decision. best of luck

Eunice, glad that the spots have stopped. Wow, you really pamper Orange huh? It must be really fun to have her around except for the "danger" she might cause (like Snowball).

Faces, my hubby's friend spent $1000 to fly his cat to NY also leh. Maybe that's the standard rate.

lollipop, Snowball has become very fussy as well. I think she doesn't like Iams canned food any more.... She didn't finish her breakfast yesterday, it was still there when we got home last night. So far her favourite is the salmon from Carrefour but I'm not too sure how good it is. Now I leave lots of biscuits (which is not her favourite) for her just in case she gets too hungry during the day.

Hullo Curly,
Perhaps Snowball has a change of taste? Why dun you buy 1 can of Whiskas and let her try out first? They have alot of selection as well.

HI there,

hi lollipop, hi curly,

never knew there's such a thread for cat lovers here! how nice to discover it now! So far I've only met many dog lovers brides-to-be but no cats.. so glad to discover this thread!

I have a cat too.... Mimi is her name. She is a very good cat, from day 1 she's brought home, she never ruins anything... she was a stray, but later had kittens & since then got accepted into the family. The kittens are all gone though, sadly.

She likes to sit in my lap when I stroke her & when she purrs.... that's the sweetest thing about her. Other than tt, just like any normal cat, she likes to dash into plastic bags, shoe boxes which are obviously too small for her, & sit in drawers left open unintentionally!!

I have got a friend who has 4 cats! A young married couple... & one room in their flat is for the cats, they made a door with glass just for that! Hope to join in the group here!

Hi Apple,
Nice to see you here too!

Looks like most of us picked up strays huh? What colour is Mimi? How old is she now?

I heard female cats are more affectionate compared to tom cats... however when tom cats are neutered, they become affectionate too. Nanook, nmost often shows his affections thru biting, kicking, and rubbing his head on my feet, then falling onto them.

Sad... why were the kittens separated from their mum?

I'd actually very much love to have more than one cats, but seriously, I think it is a little late to adopt more since Nanook's already so big and he's so used to being alone... not to mention he's jealous. Apple, I have a colleague who has 8 cats! (She's a Malay) Her cats are all so beautiful and well-kempt!

Hi Apple, welcome to the cats lovers club!!! Your Mimi seems to be a good natured cat. Wow, she had kittens!! So exciting but how come they were separted from Mimi? Love to have more kittens but I don't think I can manage.

halo Apple,

gd to hav u join us

wah ur cat so well-behaved *envious* can u post a pic of mimi here? i would like to see her oso.

y does ur fren need to have the door made of glass leh??

Hi curly, lollipop & eunice,

thks for welcoming me! Feel so glad to find some cat lovers finally! I do wish so much to post a pic of her here!! let me try & find out how to do it...

well, it was quite imposs to keep the kittens, very sad, coz one cat is quite enuf for the house. One was given away to a friend, another just got lost, & the 3rd to SPCA, hope someone adopted it, but it didn't look so nice so I dun want to think what happened to it. My dad got to know her downstairs & he brings some food for her. She would always dash out from among the bushes or wherever the moment she hears him walking coming home. Clever rite?

Then Mimi got pregnant, & one day she "disappeared" for 2 days so we thot she must be hiding to have kittens. Then my dad spotted her again, & followed her to where her kittens were. Then he took them & she let him! Coz she knows him well & trusts him. It's funny, coz Mimi is like golden brown + whte in colour & 2 kittens are exactly like her. My dad thot there were only 2! Then she went back into the drain & brought out her 3rd! Coz it was all black & couldn't be seen! that's they "not so nice" one.

After tt we gave them away. Then once Mimi got injured and my dad brought it to the vet to nurse the wound...& becoz of tt, she had to be in our home to rest, and since then she got accepted into our house! Yeah! Before tt my mum didn't want any pets but now she also grew to love mimi. Mimi can sleep on her bed & everywhere!

that's what cats do rite? Just sleep & sleep...be lazy! so cute... sometimes they sleep with one paw covering the eye, have u all seen tt? Very cute....

You have to have a see-thru door if you have cats inside all the time, so you can look from outside & they can look out too! They dun really let the cats roam abt in the house lah. It's really interesting - the 4 cats have diff characters!

Sorry for the long mesg! got carried away telling Mimi's story!

Hi Apple,

To insert an image in the posting, use the command \image{text description}. When you submit your posting, the system will then prompt you to upload the image. Please note that the image is restricted to 50 KB.

For more instructions on commands, you can visit this page.

Hi Apple,

Nanook has all sorts of sleeping postures. Some nights he is the "prawn" where he sleeps all curled up, with his head tucked into his legs. Other days he is very crude, he opens up his legs. There was once he did a Superman, one paw stretched out, the other tucked in. Sometimes, he's shy, he covers his eyes with two paws.. perhaps he finds the light blinding...

yeah, cats looks so endearing when they sleep...

Hi lollipop,

Just read in one of the older threads tt you are using/used Kriston as your catering. You have a church wedding? hee.. is your wedding already over or coming? Mine's in Dec.

I'm considering them for my church wedding buffet dinner & I wonder if they are good? They always seem impressive to me for the elegant food presentation & unique choice of food.... u have any comments to share?

hee cats are such sleepyheads really... I always say Mimi is the most fortunate/luxurious family member in my house.. dun need to work, just sleep all day!

Hi Apple,
Whoa, you're quite active huh?

I will be having a church wedding in Chijmes, and yes, I am using Kriston. My wedding's 212 days away! Haha... that goes to show how excited I am. Actually my wedding's Oct 19.

My church has always used Kriston, and their food is not too bad. The asst. sales manager, Anna, she's rather friendly and very flexible. Why dun you visit their website at www.kriston.com for more info?

Snowball sometimes loves to sleep on her back with her front legs curled and hind legs stretched straight out. Very amusing esp if you see her stretching out her hind legs but didn't take any pics as it might turn out unsightly. Sometimes she sleeps with 1 eye opened, 1 eye closed.

Apple, why did you say that the black kitten is not so nice?? I have seen beautiful black cats.

hi lollipop,
thx for the feedback on Kriston! I juz happened to chance upon your posting tt's all... trying to restrict myself from being too active... but these forums are just so addictive!

HI Curly,
well, the comment on the black kitten seems to be a general comment so most pple wouldn't like a black cat, isn't tt so? My FH has a black cat though! But it just doesn't look so good on photos we realize, just a whole patch of black! haha.... I do find the black kitten I had quite cute, & furthermore it's one with a long tail! So nice... it's mostly black, with bits of brownish fur all over too... must be Mimi didn't have very good taste with bfs & ended up with a black looking tom cat! haha....

There's one kitten tt looks exactly like her u know.. & it's a male, that's the one given away to a friend, but not my direct friend, so very sad, can't visit it anymore.

I have also seen beautiful black cats. There's a all-black stray with yellow eyes. I think she looks great. I call her "Coal"

Last weekend, FH and I chanced upon a stray which looked like a cross btw a Birman and a Ragdoll! Very nice, a little dirty though. I called her, but she ran away. She seemed scared, perhaps she had a bad experience before.

lollipop, I think I know why Snowball has been eating when I was there. I think it was still cold and hard. Last night, I took the can out and left it for 30 min or so for it to soften, she ate. She has been eating the biscuits too.

Hullo Curly,

Sorry, correct me if I am wrong. Snowball hasn't been eating the can food because it was cold and hard, but she did only when the food "thawed"

Is it huh?

Think you got a typo in your mesg Curly! That's why lollipop was a little confused!

do your cats have any particular liking for a certain food besides the usual cat food?

My cat likes pig liver v much! It's kinda strange... she doesn't eat other human food... my FH's cat loves prawns!

I microwaved Nanook's food. He's so pampered right? He eats before I do. Whenever I stepped into my hse, I have to heat up his food first, and whilst waiting, he'd yell.

Curly, just remember to put the canned food into the fridge. There was once I didn't and he had a bad case of vomitting.

I'm quite scared to feed him with cold food, I'm afraid Nanook will have tummyache. But my dad encouraged that! *pout*

Hi Apple,
Just a little confused

Mimi loves liver?! Whoa! Nanook hates it! He doesn't eat beef, chicken, pork too. Strictly fish. We feed him with cheese, fish crackers, cuttle-fish, mashed eggs.

Sorry for the confusion!! I tried microwaved once but she didn't really like it. Ok, we always put in the fridge. It's quite difficult to mash the food when we first retrived it from the fridge..... Iams and Whiskas are quite fine compared to the other brands.

We don't really let Snowball eat human food. So far, I had fed her with egg and ham. My hubby's last cat loved liver (chicken I think) too.

Oh, I feed Nanook with Aristocats. Quite reasonable, only $1.50/can and lotsa huge chunks!

Usually I heat it for about 2 min, mid high, then I mixed the biscuits and fish together..

Your cats are really pampered!! I didn't know food's heated for them!

Mimi doesn't mind canned food straight out from the fridge... but we put a dish underneath her bowl so I'll put some hot water into the dish so it kinda like warms up the bowl she's eating from!

But my dad won't bother doing that! Just canned food & she'll eat even if cold. She likes the whiskers biscuits too. I find it much convenient to feed biscuits! Canned food's quite troublesome!

Maybe becoz she was a stray before, so she likes liver & can take cold food.... guess wat, she even brought home a rat u know!! When she was a stray she knows how to come up to our unit... 4th floor, and wait outside. There was once she had a baby rat in her mouth!! I screamed like mad...haha... but that only shows she is a capable cat!! And when i read books, i found out tt it's their pride to show u their prey. They like to show off. but really gross....heehee.

Now that she's home all the time & domestic, think her rat catching skills prob very rusty already! heee....

Hi Faces,

one option you can consider is to use an airline that allows you to bring the cat with you into the cabin for a fee of USD50 to USD100 on average. That will save you having to pay the airline cargo fees, and your cats will probably be more afraid and unhappy there anyway.

Not sure which airlines go to South Africa, but you might like to check on their pet policy. SIA, unfortunately, is one of the few who insist that pets travel in cargo.

Check out www.petsonthego.com for a pretty comprehensive guide on pet travel.

Caira

Hi Apple,

You should count yourself lucky Mimi brought home her prey. By doing so, she's actually showing you she could hunt for her own food and that she prides herself in bringing them before you. Did you pat her and encourage her?

It's easier and cheaper to feed the cats with dry biscuits. And healthier too!

Hullo Caira,
Are you a catlover too?

I got myself a cat today. She is a grey colored Persian and her name is Sally. She is adopted from SPCA.

Right now Sally still refuse to come out of its carrier. Just now, we managed to make it come out but it went straight under the sofa!

Hi Hwey,

Hope you've prepared a litter box for her. Once she get used to the litter box and her food dish, everything would be fine.