Catholic Advice Needed Please

shern

ok, see ya

celtricia

heh.. of coz lah.. u two left me alone wif nothing to do dat day..
but its ok lah.. so when's d nxt best date dat u gals can make it?

blush

i need some advice please. is it a must to have a choir during wedding? i'm not very involved in church, so don't know any choir ppl. and most of my friends are not catholics. so if i don't have a choir, would it be strange if hardly anyone sings?

celtricia

eh... tis friday i can't coz hubby off.. so got to accompany him.. heh..

hi blush..
i tink basically having a choir or juz a singer itself is quite impt as it brings up the atmosphere in the wedding itself.. if u attend a mass n there's no singing watsoever.. wouldnt it b very depressing? tis is my opinion.. so it all depends on u lor..

anyway, if u looking for someone who can sing n play for u at ur wedding, i can recommend philip lye.. he's a solonist cum organist.. very well known for ppl who is having church wedding.. me n shern had bked him for our wedding areadi.. so when's ur wedding? hope it helps..

little_a

blush,
otherwise i can always recommend the choir i am with.. but then i think u may need to charter a bus if the church is not OLPS.

blush

thanks for the quick response!

celtricia
yeah, i thot it will be pretty strange with no choir too....
how much is philip lye charging? my wedding is in nov 05.

little_ger
i was thinking it may be strange to just walk up to them and ask them, cos i don't know any of them....
me not at OLPS, me at St Ignatius.....u're in the choir at OLPS?

celtricia

hi blush..

he's charging a hundred.. its a standard rate for all.. i've heard him played for my uncle's wedding b4 n i simply love it.. dat's y i've engaged him for my wedding..

oh! so ur wedding in nov 05 ah.. can still look ard.. but do bked him ard half a yr in advance if u r interested.. i can always give u his contact number.. btw, he's blind.. his wife will also accompany him to d wedding..

shern

cos next fri i'll be off and will be settling some wedding stuff....hmmm any other days?

blush, just to add, if your AD is on a weekday, there'll be problem getting a choir...if not not than it'll be a breeze

celtricia

oic.. den tink got to do it after ur wedding den.. heh.. ur wedding in december right? kan cheong on ur preps? btw.. hw many bklets did u print out ah.. i'm still tinking hw many should i print if i haf ard 300 guests..

blush

shern
thanks, my wedding on saturday afternoon. in fact, i was wondering if i shld ask the saturday evening mass choir to help me out, and then they can just stay for the evening mass after my wedding.

little_ger
erm...ok, will consider just approaching them. just thot they may think i'm strange! :p

s_lavender

any holy family (@ katong) brides out there?

hv heard that holy family has lots of restrictions:
- only parishioners can hold weddings there;
- can only use their appointed caterer for tea/buffet reception;
- can only use their appointed florist

can anyone share their experience w me?? tks..

celtricia

hi lavender..

not sure if anyone here is having her wedding at Holy Family.. tink u can check wif the priest over there.. it might b more accurate...

Heya little_ger n shern!!

hw come so quiet tis days.. r u gals busy?

little_a

hi celtricia, i am always ard just tat i have got nothing to contribute.

Ur AD is drawing near rite? any PS pics to share?

celtricia

hi little_ger..

oic.. heh.. coz tis tread too quiet liao.. haiz...

ya lor.. drawing near.. getting more n more worried of things undone.. like my wedding bklet cover.. haiz.. cousin's fren suppose to design for us.. end up sayin not confident of doing it.. nw duno hw..

my PS pics ready liao.. but yet to scan in n arrange.. once done will do up in my web for u gals to c.. heh..

shern

my AD is finally over, went quite well except marchin too fast and forgot to let the priest pronounce us as man and wife :p didn't know mah, during rehearsal din mention bout it heheheh

sysa

Hi minssy,

I had Philip Lye sing at my wedding too. He does wedding Masses so ur Mass will be in good hands. Hope this helps

hi sysa,

thanx for your sharing. actually whats the diff between a wedding mass and service?

do you also mind sharing your chuch program with me cos i have no idea how's its gonna be actually.. hee

dec03wedding

hi, celtricia

we had close to 300 guests turn up for church ceremony and had printed 250 booklets. there were close to 70 unused booklets left with my receptionists. ouch.

would suggest you print only half guest list taking into account fact that some older relatives don't really read english and most people don't really mind sharing :p

maybe can learn from my experience (also printed too many wedding invites for dinner (relatives only needed 1 per family per table :p) and put the money saved to better use.

have fun

celtricia

hey minssy..

sorry din response to u.. coz din really haf time to check the internet.. heh..

hey shern.. wow! kan cheong n too happy till forgot to let priest pronounce u man n wife ah.. kekeke.. so hwz ur wedding? everythng went fine?
for me.. all is ok.. but seems too over crowded though... heh.. din even haf time for all frens.. haiz...

hi ve.. my wedding over liao.. was in 1st Jan.. but anyway thankz for ur advice.. i printed 300 copies of bklets.. though nt all r used up its pretty ok.. coz i wasn't charge a single cent for the bklet..
so its pretty much ok..

celtricia

hi minssy...

heh.. coz i got it frm my own supplier.. n they give complimentary to me lor.. heh..

hey ve..

thankz..
ya i definitely did enjoy my wedding.. heh.. felt so nice n blessed by it... kekeke..