Carlton Hotel

ryoko

hi laura, mine is also about 2 months away! So have you confirm you theme and invitation? I'm meeting my coordinate this week, wonder if there's any new invitation or theme?

shi40lin

laura and ryoko's AD should be very near ba?
Excited? keke..
Remember to feedback food tasting.

BTW, my hubby told me Carlton is having their wedding show this month when he read the paper. Should be at 26th Jan. Maybe for those whom are looking for venue can see see look look this. Should have extra perks if sign up during wedding show ba

ednamode

eugene, i am in midst of getting the wedding card done. the printer kept on making mistake... hope i can get the cards by end of this week lor.any lobang for wedding cakes? i am looking for butter cream cake slices...

ryoko, whos ur cooridinator? rose or agnes? i will be going for food tasting soon. whens ur AD? can say? ehehe..me is begining of March lor.

medic

laura...

u din take the cards from Carlton and go TS Dragon print ur inserts mah??Tat's wat i did..spent arnd 150 for inserts coz rushed job...

wedding cakes...for sending to relatives or wedding gift on AD?

flyingpig

For those who had their wedding at Carlton, usually there will be a montage before the 1st march in right? As Carlton's is a manual screen, anyone did a 2nd video (wedding highlights) before the 2nd march in? As I was thinking of doing that, but seems like kind of difficult as need to set up the projector again.

medic

flyingpig==> I had the montage and the highlights..no problem watsoever for the setup..just gotta let ur emcees talk abit longer while they set up...

liquidskye

hi, the screens are the set up manually? so they will be doing the setting up behind the MC while they are talking? that's so obvious....

i wasnt told abt it when i signed up. =|

flyingpig

The screen will be up before the dinner starts. But their projector is the manual type - got to be push out and place at the centre and removed before you march in.

flyingpig

sounds very troublesome...
my coordinator said need to reset the projector settings if there is a 2nd...
mayb i will juz flash the supposed montage pics when the ballroom is open for guests to enter - to keep guest 'entertain'...then will show the highlights before the 1st march in...at least juz 1 setup...save all the hassle

pineyong

We won a bridal package worth of $1688 from L@ Belle Couture during a lucky draw at Carlton Hotel wedding show today. This package consists of the following:

- 20 copies of 15R Photograph (Full Page Album)
- 10R Table Top Frame
- 20 Copies (2 Pose) of 4R Photograph
- 1 Piece 4R Mini Album Acrylic
- 4 X Bridal Outfit
- 2 X Groom Suit
- Bridal Makeup & Hairdo

This package is open date and upgradeable to any bridal package from L@ Belle Couture. We are letting go of this package at $1200. Interested parties, please email me at [email protected]. We may transfer the package at the bridal shop.

ednamode

Eugene, i bring the cards n let AD imaging print the cards. the printing quality is pretty good.. spended 160+ ( have to pay 7% GST) for it.

i also just went for the food tasting yesterdae. tried the dishes as follow:
a) suckling pig combination - pretty nicely done especially char siew. however the jellyfish was salty.
b) sharkfin with conpoy and mushroom - i feel like drinking mushroom soup because too many mushroom liao.
c) prawn with cashew nuts + red/green pepper- good!
d) garoupa in hk style- fish overcooked .
e) conpoy with brocolli- too little conpoy. cant see anything. so change to scallop with broccoli.
f) sliced abalone with sea cucumber and sprinach- abalone very chewy
g) roasted chicken- good too!

h) ee fu noodle- nicely done
i) longan with sea coconut and aloe vera- good too!

by the way, AD serving will be smaller or not? the serving portion for food tasting is big le.. we are all very full before the 6 dish come liao.

medic

laura>> of coz food tasting session servings bigger mah...mine also haven't reach dessert already full liaoz.

but watch out on the day the consistency of the food might vary...you best remind Rose or your co ordinator..else complain!!:p

ednamode

ya.. i will be meeting rose soon. only like to deal with agnes cos she more responsive and willingly to help...as for rose, i cross my fingers because there is some issue with her before i signed the contract with carlton. hope she can prove me wrong. -.-

liquidskye

wah...the screens & projectors so mahuan 1 ah?

actually when i signed up e sales guy told me can put 2 projectors (and he gave me that perk). den i was told when tey sent me the contract that put 2 projectors may have problems cos it may hinder guest movement. hopefully 2 projectors is less of a hassel, ie: put it there and leave it.

wana reduce the hassel on tt day =|

shi40lin

I've requested for extra projector screen. Intend to display all my ROM, PS & whatever relevant during the reception period.

Actually i'm also worried on the blocking of pillars when some guests can't see the projector screen on the stage also. Pretty sad but bo bian liao...Got to accept this fact....Hope they can get a bigger portable projector screen :p

medic

liquidskye>> try collect arnd late Feb/early March bah..then got time to print inserts and send out the cards...

ruachgall

Need some advice... i m looking at having 30 tables at carlton... met up with rose recently and saw the pillars in te ballroom.. m quite disturbed by it as well....

Will the pillars really obstruct my guests?

go5

haha going to attend a wedding ther later..
my AD is there 2..but in Dec..haha
so now go there gather feedback n take lots of photos haha...
but oso sian also alot of my guests going to reinvite again in dec haha...
i go then i tell u the pillars got blocked me anot.?

melodi

go5: Do come back with feedback. I went down today & see them doing the setup. I quite like it. I think the 2 pillars at the back does block a few tables.

go5

hi..m back..=)
ok ...the pillar do block a few table..
like say half of the tables at the back..
but i dun realli c it as a issue..
if those who r veri interested to c..
will just shift their position to view the montage ..
so to each his own..
n rem u can't please every1 in the world

ednamode

hello there, if really dun like pillar,then shdnt choose/ consider it in the 1st place.

like go5 has mentioned, u cant please everyone too.
for me, i will be having 33 tables. surely will have some pple blocked by pillars. but no choice right. furthermore, its common to have pillar in the ballroom.
what can be done is to shift the tables around to minimise the blockage only.
this is my opinion la.

shi40lin

Initially i'm pretty concern on the pillars too.
Got bothered abt them...
But ya...if dun like, shdnt hv consider the place at first.
Got to learn that can't please everyone lor.
Well I'm trying...

Other than the pillars, go5 how's the food during the wedding?
Do you mind sending the pix u've taken?
When is ur wedding? Mine in dec too

go5

sori dun not realli took any pics..
use onli a cam phone n quality veri lousy.=(
so better not share lor..haha...
but over all ok..
but if u looking to max table 38..
can got quite hot n squeezy..
so my advice is dun max the tables..
food wise..i ask the guests all say ok lor..haha
not veri nice la..but not bad 2..
they say hotel all about the same one la..haha
unless oriental la..haha..
heard the food there realli good.=)
mine is 5th dec =p ..

if u interested just drop by one of the weekends lor..
then u can take a look..
n btw they r quite efficient in settling up n dismantling the projector 2..
so although quite a hassle but overall all rite..
stage was complimented quite small though.=)\
hope all this helps in ur decision making..

go5

if 2 projectors i dun know where they can put in..
they hve to dismantle..
i dun think they can leave it there..coz realli no space..haha.
once they dismantle they hve to put the cake there for ur first march in lor..
then after cake cutting..
then dinner start..haha..
then setup another for another montage if u wish to hve it,...
then dismantle again then second march in for chamagne pouring..
so quite a hassle la..haha..
u need a good host to divert the guests attention when they r doin the stuffs..
but they r realli fast i must say.=)

shi40lin

U r still not asleep ya...

I think i'll have max 32 tables for my wedding ya. Shd be ard 30-32 ba.

Is the projector screen really small ah? Some ppl actually commented very small.

Thanks for your feedback.

go5

hi...u 2 ah..haha..
max is 38 tables in empress ballroom..
ya it quite small..is those portable type screen..
so cannot help it.=)
so which date u hving in dec?..=)
maybe drop by give angbao..=p

go5

haha...=p
ya...but no money inside one.=p hehe
wah..close to christmas ah..=)
those table at the far end will hve problems viewing la i felt..
wonder if the stage is at the centre of the ballroom will it b better...but i guess it will not help much.=)
march in oso will b shorter that way.=)
any1 hve AD photographer /videographer..
now sourcing...big headaches man...haha

gelaine

Hey all,

I've held my wedding at Carlton in Nov 07.
Just thought i'll share my experience. I had 32 +2 tables in all. 99% of my invited guests turned up. There were about 4 tables being affected by the pillars.

But rest assured, your guests will move themselves. A few of my guests came closer to the aisle during both our march ins. For us, we had our guests seated during our march in, so this can minimize the blockage in viewing too.
And also, when there's people moving to the aisle, it'll not look messy.

As for the food, we were lucky. Were told that one of the famous Hong Kong chef is in town that week. So he was the one who handled our dishes. All my guests commented it was great. Some even said it's the best banquet food they've eaten. Even if that chef was not around during our food tasting, we didn't have much complaints too. So i guess Wah Lok food is something you dun have to worry.

The projector screen i think quite standard size la. But it's definitely clear... so no worries. The staff are quite fast in setting up and removing the screens. For wedding couples, you're not around when they set up or remove anyway. But definitely no disruptions to the guests since they will be enjoying the food.
And they are really quite fast la...

The stage wise, i think i had about 30 people on for the toasting and it was just right.

All in all... my experience with Carlton was great. So i guess you guys dun have to worry!
Have a nice wedding yeah? Like what go5 mentioned, you can't please everyone. Remember, it's your wedding. People should please your instead. Hah!

BTW go5, i recommend my AD photographer. He's great! I like the photos very much though his pricing is on the high side. About 2.5k-3k. You can take a look at his website.
www.feldberyl.com

go5

gelaine: nice reviews there..ya u rite..=)
wah so lucky ..got good chef..=)
so when ur first march in ur guests are actually seated is it?
k..will take a look on the website..although ex.hehe...
thanks for the recommendation..

ednamode

go5, i engaged sam from sam photography ( 98584964) and christopher from HILO pdn (98427458).

total expense for engaging them is under 2k but i nt sure whether they increased their price liao or not.. u can check with them.

gelaine

Hi go5,

Yup, we had our guests seated for both our march ins coz we wanted them to be comfortable and save the hassel of standing up and sitting down repeatedly like what we usually experience at other weddings. We ourselves dread the standing up and sitting down coz sometiems u tend to hit the other tables' chairs and all. hah... So we just did some adjustments to our emcee speech to request for guests to be seated lor.

Our guests only stood up once throughout the wedding, that was during the toasting.

medic

go5..my PG and VG were both from Visioworkz...express highlights with montage included... www.visioworkz.com their services are very good....mine was $1650 after promotion discount..look for Chris...

i had 2 projector screens...1 inside the dining hall...another outside at reception to play the flash movie my studio give while guests are mingling around

go5

thanks all for the photography contact..thumbs UP..
xinglin: so how much are ur package for the PG & VG?.
anyways the stage being small is a comment by my manager..guess diff ppl hve diff exceptional..=)