Carlton Hotel

shi40lin

Hi go5, the photography i took up last year is $1.6K but i heard Daniel has increased the price this year. He is very friendly guy and very flexible. The videography package think is $1.2K with express highlight but he also has increased price this yr leh.
Maybe you can check with them the packages.

Daniel: [email protected]
Yow Siang: [email protected]

BTW, do you all know how many food/drink servers in a wedding banquet does Carlton has?

shi40lin

Oh sorry off topic...
go5...Yow Siang has combo packages (PG+VG). You may wanna check with him.

Another alternative and reasonable package prices are http://www.depixel.sg/ (PG) and http://www.dreamzcoffee.com/ (VG/PG). FYI

go5

Huh...haha..
wat a concidence.!!..
opps...
so must get permission from u b4 posting..haha..
paiseh ah...
anyways ur blog realli quite informative =)

ruachgall

Hey xinglin

Your blog is realli useful lor.. it has 03 of the hotels which i have shortlisted!!!

Credit should also go to go5 for posting this link!

Thanks to both of you!

go5

no worry..
i dun dare to take credits since she doing all the hard work man.=)
just realize how un-observant i m ..
that so mani clues that the blog is xinglin 1 but i nvr realize..haha

shi40lin

cos i'm not using the same name to post in my blog and here.

haha...no hard work la. I like to post my experiences and comments in my blog. So feel free to drop by ya.

Winnie, which 3 you choosing? One of them is Carlton? When is your wedding?

BTW, do you all know how many food/drink servers in a wedding banquet does Carlton has? Posted this but seems no one know this. Is there any service problem in Carlton cos some other hotels might hv such problem.

go5

i think is 1 is to one table ..
so when they going to get food ..ur table is empty...
when i went for the dinner ..
i must say the serving of drink n stuffs r a bit slow..
one of my fren actually scold the captain," is it realli tat difficult to serve me a cup of water?.."
so hope it dun happen in our wedding..

ruachgall

Hi xinglin

I actually have 05 hotels in mind.. namely, park hotel, amara hotel, carlton hotel, Grand Plaza Park Royal (City Hall) and Merchant Hotel. I just completed my visits to all the 05 hotels today. My FH and myself have narrowed our options to Amara and Carlton... tough decision now.. any comments?

I am looking at having my AD on 29 Dec 2008..

liquidskye

Rose just sent me the wedding cards sample.
only 2 types... looks very plain to me. =( any one has sample of how the finished product looks like?

so we just print the insert and slot into the cards? if i supposed to gt cards for 80% of confirmed attendence... can request for any extras?

621528.jpg

gelaine

Hi liquidskye,

I do think 80% of the cards is sufficient as some are families and you only need to send 1 mah. For me i had 70% and i had so many left overs. Heh.. .dun worry about it. These cards are WAY nicer compared to when i had mine... ours were so orbid! LOL. Yeah i suggest for you to print inserts and slot in.... this will help you minimize mistakes. For us, we printed 10 inserts extra in case we write our guests names wrongly.

shi40lin

Winnie, your AD is 2 days after mine!
You must see your priority.
Then the packages lor. See who offer a better package. Then if food & service are your concern, then you got to research for it.
Most imptly, the availability of the date ya!
Good luck and update us ya.

Hi liquidskye, i thot the invitation are nice wor. I saw before the old orbid card i think Gelaine mentioned, this is really way nicer

Ya 80% shd be enuff. Hmm... do you all know whether can we choose 50-50 of the 2 choices of cards?

I saw the paper 16 Mar, Carlton is having wedding show wor. Anyone going?

medic

hmmm..the cards really look nicer than mine....

yupz...u can get ur inserts done and DIY insert them urself...

ruachgall

Hey xinglin

Thanks for your advise...will realli need to give some thots into it.. if i decided to go ahead with carlton, i m likely to go for the wedding show!!!

Btw, did you change the food items in your menu? what are the additional costs like?

go5

ya..cards r better..
the old one r all bright red one rite..haha
winnie: most impt is ur priority... some ppl might b package, some is ambience..some is location
so both must give n take...not easy rite..but most impt must enjoy the process..=)

ruachgall

truly lost boy...
i think the package by carlton is more attractive but i prefer the ambience of amara.. location wise, both are just as good...

ruachgall

amara hotel is also near tanjong pagar mrt station mah..

m looking thr the menu of these 02 hotels.. m likely gonna upgrade the menu for the carlton one

anyone here been to a wedding dinner at amara? any feedback?

shi40lin

Eugene, meaning i can choose both the 2 cards ah. Let me ask Rose by then

BTW, during your wedding, is there any feedbacks on the number of servers and the service?

Winnie, both hotels still available for your date? I think most imptly you got to go with you and your FH feel ya. Go for the show. Maybe can make you decide faster

Haha...i dun think i'm going for the upgrading of menu but I'm still thinking to go for the dessert buffet which i can go for free upgrade for this.

liquidskye

woah... den i sld be glad my card is not that obiang. =P thanks alot! any idea how much does insert printing cost on average?

also does any idea how many types of ballroom decor / themes there wil be for 2008?

if not, im thinking of gg down to the wedding show to recce. =P

plasterbride

hi gals...long time did not log in to this thread...

go5, gelaine, thanks for sharing the experience...it is helpful. because my HTB was also tinking of borrowing a extra projector from his vendor.

my wedding is also in Dec in empress ballroom.
i went to the oct wedding show which has food tasting, the food quite nice i must say. but i find the portion small and food decor plain. hopefully they will improve as time passes.

liquidskye >> my coordinator rose told us that there is a new ballroom decor/theme & wedding cards for 2008, she told us back in Jan, i am not too sure if the wedding card you shown are the latest revised one or the 2007 one...**actually i quite like the card sample you posted...simple, elegant ...maybe you can double check. but from the last wedding show, it seems there are 2 different table cloth and decor to choose from.
(for me, my wedding is in Dec, guess if i want to attend wedding show will be of the Sep wedding show)

xinglin, if you did not attend the carlton wedding show before, maybe you can try to attend the one coming up. because there should be a 5-6 course sit-down meal. you can try out the dishes. and during food sampling, you can skip these dishes and try out the others...so in a way, it helps you to decide on the menu.
just sharing my 2cents worth, cos this is what my HTB intention..

plasterbride

go5 >>> I have done up a list of several AD PG comparison list , i can send the list to you for your reference. my email is [email protected]

just to share , I have personally engaged Am.Pm.photography - Leslie as my AD photographer
we want those skilled photography and able to capture candid shots nicely and not anyhow one. I get to know this photographer thro my friend wedding. Leslie from AM.PM was my close friend's wedding photography. early morning we are unable to smile, too sleepy, so he make us the jiemei laugh and laugh with his jokes and take candid shoots for us. we thought it will be awful, but to our surprise, we look pretty and natural. and he even helped my friend do a very nice photo slideshow for the morning event and played in the dinner. I introduce to my colleagues and they loved him alot too, my colleagues' wedding photos also very well-taken, full of praises. you can also take alook at his skills at my album, he helped me took a few fotos at changi T3 contest (i can send you my blog link let you view his works) his website is http://www.ampmphoto.com/. So, I guess for the skills he has comparable to the famous Photographer KevinKoh, and the price I paid, quite reasonable, most importantly, my future husband and I are very comfortable with him, and this makes us smile natural in front of him & camera.
we already booked him for our AD wedding, because he is getting more more popular & heard he is going to increase price, we KS quickly booked him. if you are interested, you can just give him a call at 98413593 Leslie , you can just intro say you are Wendy's friend (the wendy that went to changi T3 contest, haha, maybe he will give you some freebies ) & ask if he is available on your wedding date before you arrange a meetup with him to discuss/view portfolio. I think it good that you shortlist a few and meet up with them , see their portfolio and chat with them see if you are comfortable anot.

AD wedding day is so important, it only happen once only, so really need a good photographer who can make you smile happily in front of the camera to capture the moments.

btw, I also just booked my videographer Don from Forest production - www.forestprovideo.com
.we like their style, their works...We saw our friend 's wedding highlights ...we feel the mood captured in the video...Very sincere couple Don & Eve...feel very comfortable with them...Reasonable pricing...there are 4 packages, we are likely to take the cheapest $850 (with no express highlight) or $1150(with express highlight)

if you are also planning to book Forest production Don as your videographer, try to book them before Mar (because they are also increasing price in this coming Mar) & maybe tell Don & Eve you are introduced by Wendy (dec carlton wedding) haha...i also quoted my friend name when I meetup with them...because i believe with referral name, they will treat you better and give you their best works and bargain.

Hope this information helps !!

go5

thanks plasterbride..
will look at ur recommendation..
just a question..is kevinkoh from lightedpixels?

go5

btw..plasterbride..
think u all should be able to borrow one more projector with no problem from the carlton management/...

shi40lin

plasterbride, I've went to the wedding show last year in Aug - that's when i signed up

But during that time, there's no 5-6 courses to sample wor.
This coming wedding show indicated a high tea session. Don't think having 5-6courses of food to sample ba?

So you intend to go for Sept's wedding show? Maybe i shd go with you ya since our wedding are in Dec also...keke...

go5, i think carlton can provide another projector screen but not the projector device ba. Am i right?

I think Carlton now has only 2 themes right - Oriental and a westernised theme. Wonder what's the new theme ya. *excited* keke.....

go5

ya got 5-6 courses to eat...i went to the one in october then. n hve desserts buffets as well.=)
oh...i not sure abt the projector though coz i rem i read in the earlier post hve some who use 2 projector ..
maybe those who had can help out here.=)

ya 2 themes...VIP tables diff 3 set up.
special one will b black long table ..veri westernised

ruachgall

hey all

i m likely to go down for the wedding show next week if i decided to proceed with Carlton.. If i didnt rem wrongly, you will get the dessert buffet for free if you sign up at their upcoming wedding show...

plasterbride

go5 >> yes
Kelvin Koh is from the lighted pixels..a very famous PG though

yup, i tink carlton able to have screen, but maybe not the device...but i guess not much issue, cos my HTB has a few contacts for these projectors stuffs

xinglin >> yup yup..haha we can go together, somemore we are of same coordinator rose too right ??
oh, this time coming up one is high tea ah...didn't know abt it, i tot it was 5-6 courses...erm....then maybe benefit those who intend to hold ROM at carlton...
i want to go to those with 5-6 dishes kind one...hope sept one is this kind...

winnie quek >> ya, you should go down to the wedding show...but maybe you can discuss the contract with the coordinator first before going down the wedding show, because during the show, the mgrs will be all busy, hard to discuss with them. i signed up in oct before the wedding show, i also got the free upgrade of dessert buffet

the dessert is very nice !

shi40lin

For me, i'm loaning the projector from my coy! keke... Will ask for extra projector screen during my wedding day.

My ROM also held in Carlton 2006 Dec. I would say my guest din complain much on the food. Their pastries are nice lor.

Ya normally during wedding show, they will give free upgrade to dessert buffet. But come to think, is it funny when the guest have to go outside to get their dessert instead of serving to them? Plasterbride, r you going for the dessert buffet?
OK, let's go together for the sept or later wedding show if there's any ya!!

ruachgall

Hey Plasterbride

I have actually met up with Rose a couple of weeks back liao... she was the one who told me the perks that will be offered at the wedding show...

I agree with xinglin that its kinda funny asking the guests to go out for the dessert.. in fact i m wondering since my AD is gonna be a weekday, will be guests even bother to go out for the dessert lor... cos i m quite sure they wanna go home

jojo07

I've signed up with Carlton during their wedding show last year... My AD on 7 Dec 08.. Getting a total of 34 tables but most probably won't be adopting the layout with Rose had emailed me... Will be dropping down this weekend to get the dimensions of the ballroom, hoping to shift the stage so that i could place 2 projectors... Going to engage livestudios, thus there would be live projections constantly througout the dinner...

anyone going for their wedding show this month?

plasterbride

xinglin and winnie >>>> ya at first we have that thought too, esp the elderly relatives...will they bothered to go out and take dessert...wait they tot the dinner is over and went home..so the impt part is the MC, the MC must be very good to make the guest take the dessert and stay back. mine wedding is on a friday...i guess most likely i will take the dessert, cos it looks presentable and I want to eat !! hahah i already told my friends to ta-pao for me the dessert and sent to my suite room...i guess i will make a effort to at least tell my guests and ask my jie mei to spread the news that there is a dessert buffet must stay must stay during the reception or photo taking time......if dun upgrade like very wasted perk lei...

ednamode

wow..so many post..hehe. go5, pdn = production. there is a thread under the wedding photography and videography section.

liquidskye, i choose maroon wedding cards ..but in the end, over shot. i left with no more cards and have to send invitation by sms.. sigh..luckily my friends are ok with it.

anyway, my hubby and i just met up banquet cooridinator, Alan. anyone laise with him before? when is the latest dateline to confirm table? anyone? rose told me 1week but anyone can change the confirmation table 3 days before AD??

go5

er..regardin the dessert buffet..
so will ther still b the 8th course."dessert" huh..if u hve the dessert buffets??
yaya: k..thanks will go there find.=) thumbs up

shi40lin

Hi Joanne,
Do share with us the plan you going to adopt for the arrangement of your table ya.
I thought of putting the stage at the center of the ballroom before. The march in will shorter lor. But seems this way will more people will be kena block by the pillars wor. So cannot work like this.
I also thought of live recordings before. How much does this cost?

plasterbride, you do make sense by askng the emcee to let the guests know about the dessert buffet and maybe through your sisters and brothers and even parents hor. I may be considering again.
I've asked my previous coord that if i want to change some of the dessert menu, he said if is the same price range, shd be fine wor. Maybe also need to review the dessert menu again and decide. keke...that's fun!

BTW, who's Alan? Is he the logistic person to coord the dinner?

ruachgall

i think if the dessert buffet is free, i wouldnt mind taking it up as well.. m jus concerned that there will ne no takers.. haha...

medic

Alan will be the main co-ordinator on that day...he will guide you along on how to do the march in and blah blah...on my AD, he was on day shift but stayed back to help Indra who was on night shift...=)

Can change number of tables 3 days before...but only increase not decrease..coz they will have bought all the food by then...

plasterbride

xinglin >>> oic...erm...gd strategy..if the usual dessert is more tasty than the dessert buffet then maybe not a bad idea to change...

eugene >>> in that case, is it safer for us to settle for a more conservative number of tables first ?? table planning is such a headache ah......

jojo07

Hi Xinglin,

I went for GCW wedding show last week and saw the live projections there. Was attracted by their instant photocards and digital guestbook. U can go to this website for the details and price: http://livestudios.sg/weddings/

I've asked my FH and his bro to work out the layout this weekend, will let u know once done.. My package also include dessert buffet and most of my colleagues seems to find that a good idea as most never attended a wedding dinner with buffet dessert..

shi40lin

Thanks Joanne.
It's a good idea to have live recording but hor...thinking abt the Carlton portable projector and screen, seems hard to project for live recording? Did you think about this?

Thanks Eugene! So there are only just either Alan or Indra managing the banquet? So we are suppose to meet Alan/Indra?

yaya, your wedding is this month ah? When ah? You excited?

shi40lin

Wah, it's fast!
Must relax and be beautiful bride ya!

Hope everything will be smooth for u!

Winnie, better call her and ask. Else just get hold of anyone to enquire lor.

jojo07

Xinglin - Thats a big challenge for me currently... Told my FH that I wan the live projections for my AD... He asked his bro to brainstorm and work out the layout.. Lucky for us, his bro also working as Banquet Ops Manager but not in Carlton thou... Thus, able to assist us in most of our wedding prep esp the banquet portion... Might be loaning equipment from other hotels as choice of tablecloth, seat cover, etc seems limited for Carlton...

Will get u the soft-copy of the modified layout once his bro recee the place...