Carlton Hotel

gelaine

Hi corene,

No problem.
When we went for food tasting, there wasnt garnishing too.. but during my AD, there was according to our feedback. Heh...

To the rest,
I think coz preparing for wedding hence all of us are very kan cheong. But dun worry. Rose has many years of experience and when need to arrange to meet up with you guys, she will call. Just need to be patient lah... hehe... i'm one very happy bride of Carlton and i'm sure the rest will be too.

shi40lin

Shito...
My hubby recieved a letter stating Jason has left Carlton wef TODAY!

I'm so shocked to know and sad to know that.
Called him and is confirmed

ednamode

what?! i have requested Jason as my cooridinator and yet i learnt this. he shoudl have told me that when he called me a few days ago.! now dunno who to call liao. ROSE ar? i intially called her and had misunderstanding with her..thats y i insisted Jason to be our cooridinator.. *sigh*..... then who take over Jason's role? *shrug*

shi40lin

duno wor. He said Rose/Agnes will take over until his replacement has found.
Pretty sad. I also duno how also. When my wedding is nearer than see how lor.

arcturuz

i think carlton management needs to improve on their service standards and check their staff integrity if they still want to maintain their rather high profile image.

ednamode

xinglin, thanks ar.. this morning i just called both Rose and Agnes. only Agnes called me back.anyway, i am considering to downgrade my menu for my AD. cos my AD is sunday and i am taking up Sat menu..nt sure whether it could be done. so far, i know its okay to upgrade from 788 to 888 menu...

shi40lin

yaya, i thought the Sat menu now is 928? Mine is 928 menu wor, on Sat.

Hopefully you can get your stuff settled well ya.

medic

just finished my AD on Friday....had mixed reviews of the food....but in my opinion....the food tasted different frm my food tasting session...dessert was not even cold lor...spoke to Dennis from Banquet side and they will get back to me ASAP....

Anyway, thanks to Alan and Indra from Banquet too for their assistance and advice...cheers..=)

shi40lin

Hi Euguene,

May I know What's your dessert?
Care to share your menu and any comments?

Alan and Indra are your logistic coordinators during the night?

Do share your photos ya! Thankie

medic

1) Combi of Hot & Cold Salad Prawns
2) Braised Shark's Fin with Crabmeat & Shredded Chicken
3) Sauteed Scallops & Broccoli
4) Steamed Garoupa in Hong Kong Style
5) Braised Sliced Abalone with Mushroom and Lettuce
6) Crispy Pi Pa Duck
7) Sauteed Dear Meat with Black Pepper
8) Braised Ee Fu Noodles
9) Chilled Longan with Sea Coconut & Aloe Vera

Have mixed comments about the food...some find CMI, some find it's ok..yupz..Alan & Indra were the co ordinators during that night... Photos gotta wait till the photographers finished their editing bah..=)

ednamode

xinglin, i was informed by Agnes i cannot change my menu price. she also told me that the new 08 price for Sunday menu is 828 and sat menu is 928.. so i also drop the idea of insisting too..anyway, i will be collecting wedding cards soon.. see that they have new purple and maroon wedding cards, so will be taking that..

eugene, what theme u choose for ur wedding banquet?

medic

arcturuz==> I find their service overall not bad...banquet side people are very friendly and give very good advice...you booked your AD with them le or...??

yaya==> I chose the gold silver theme for the banquet....cards were peach colour...

shi40lin

i Fish, not sure 2009 package is out already?
but i've sent you the 2008 pacakge for your ref.
Checky your mailbox ya.

yaya, you r lucky to have the 2007 price for the sat menu ya. So more beneficial to you ya.
You AD is coming soon right?

Do you have the pix of the new purple invitation card? I love purple colour! Would like to see if you have taken a pix of that? Thankie!!

Eugene, so scary to hear guest complaining the food CMI wor. Wonder has Wah Lok food standard has dropped that much?

gelaine

Hey xinglin,

Dun worry about the food yeah? My guests all commented it was great. Even my jie mei says that was the best wedding banquet food she has eaten. Just make sure you keep emphasizing to your coordinator before your day that you want the food to be perfect. Hahh... Wah Lok is well known for their food... so should not be a problem.

My menu was as follow (just for your reference):
1. Cold dish (we added 1 more dish on top of the original 5)
2. Braised Shark Fin's with Conpoy & Shredded Mushroom
3. Braised Sliced Abalone & Sea Cucumber with Spinach (we top up to change to this dish. Initially was the Brocolli with straw mushroom)
4. Stir-Fried Prawn “Kong Po†Style
5. Steamed Pomfret with Black Bean Sauce
6. Roasted Chicken (Everyone thumbs up to this)
7. Sliced BBQ Duck with Mango(Everyone love this too)
8. Braised Ee Fu Noodles
9. Red Bean Cream with Glutinous Rice Balls (we top up for 2 balls per guest too)

To rest of the brides,
Try to relax as much as it is difficult. Thigns will turn out well!
Be a pretty bride!

ednamode

xinglin, we booked the date earlier this year , before Feb CNY 07. didnt know that the price for 08 now has increased as i keep seeing the same old price uploaded in the website..
u have email>? agnes emailed to me. or u can ask her to email u the cards to u directly. my AD is 3months away from now.seems that 3 months now is too short already..

Eugene, i also may be choosing gold silver theme ..cos my wedding gown is champagne gold and EG is red.. want to take Red Theme..but too bad, my EG is red.. wait clash. anyway, they have how many themes????
i wish carlton can introduce some more new themes.. the last time i know is that they have the cream theme and red theme.. forget their exact name.hehe

medic

mmm....after speaking to most of my friends and colleagues....majority find the food ok...think the kitchen's cooking is inconsistent...have spoke to Rose and she will bring it up to the chef...

yah...all brides and grooms relax can le...I was so tense during march in that my friends noticed...:p what to do??got to march in slow and not step on wife's gown...:p

irene_yong

hihi, i am new to this thread. Carlton Hotel is currently on my list as preferred choice.

I would like to check if there are any pillars in the Empress Ballroom ?

irene_yong

thanks Eugene for sharing this with me.
am going down for site inspection on Thursday, hope the 4 pillars aren't a major issue, or i will have to strike Carlton off the list..

shi40lin

Hi Eugene,

Did the guests whom are at the blocked tables commented anything?
How many tables were blocked roughly ah?

irene_yong

Hi xinglin,
rose's email address is [email protected]

i just met up with her last friday to confirm my AD with Carlton Hotel. She has mentioned to us since the maximum tables for Empress Ballroom can go up to 38 tables, they are able to 'play around' with the tables arrangement to minimise the blockage.

After looking at the room layout,we have also considered shifting the stage to the longer side of the ballroom, instead of the usual stage location. However this may result in a shorter march in as advised by Rose.

hope this information nugget helps. =)

shi40lin

Thanks irene!

So overall how do you think of Carlton? What is your AD date you looking at?

Yes, i've ever thought of that way too...shorter march in though, but won't that increase the possibility of more tables being blocked by the pillars meh?

irene_yong

Overall, I find Carlton's wedding package perks very attractive (esp the free flow of beer and free bottle of red wine per confirmed table)& the ballroom looks okie to me.. their location is a (critical)deciding factor for us too.

my AD will be on 19 Sept 2008.

i think we are only able to decide on the location of the stage after they set up and let us consider nearer to the dinner date.

are you going to have other programmes (other than the cake-cutting, toasting) on your wedding dinner? You can also try to get your videographer's help in sourcing plasma TV screens to place in the ballroom. We got this idea from Trader's Hotel (as they also have pillars). But we feel that its not economical and very damaging to our pockets unless we have other programmes lined up for the night. =P

shi40lin

Carlton's packages are really attractive except the Sat package. Everything like free flow of beer and free bottle of house wine also dun hv. And mine is on Sat next year. Hahahaha...

When they setting up that? I want to see also leh...keke
Can let me know once you got to know?

Ask VG to plasma TV screens for?

irene_yong

The plasma TV screens will be placed at strategic locations for tables who are being blocked by the pillars

Sure, i'll take pics for you for reference.. will take note to send them to you.. =)

ednamode

for a while, i thought carlton provide plasma tv.. hehe

xinglin, u mean the package is not really attractive? i thought sunday aso have free flow of beer and free wine per table but only 1 night stay

shi40lin

go5 is right. Sat no free flow of beer, and free bottle of wine per confirmed table. It's the most bo hua package and the most expensive package wor.

But i managed to get good offers after bargaining with Jason that time that i've got free wine per confirmed table. Haha...

irene, if you able to know when there's such set-up, let me know when so maybe i'll consider to go Carlton and see also...keke

Happy Holidays ya!

benbenfish

Find the package calton offer is quite expensive for Sat wedding. the package is only attractive for weekday coz it's free flow of beer and 1 wine per confirmed table. unlike the package they put on their website. Hai...

shi40lin

You bet...Glad you've enjoyed. This isnt your honeymoon ah? keke...

Fish, are you looking at the Sat package as well? Try to nego for more perks. Maybe you might get at least 1 more perk?

Happy New Year ya!

danger82

anyone had a look at their Esplanade Room? Cos i intend to haf ard 15 to 18 tables. So the price for 2008 is $828/table?

benbenfish

Hi Xinglin,

Yups, we are looking for Sat package. but i believe the $999 price is reli abt over our expected price..sob..think have to drop this hotel..

shi40lin

Fish, it's $928 nett for Sat.
It's quite true quite ex.
Heng i bargained a lot!

Grace, I only used one of the Esplanade room during my ROM. Think $828 is Sunday price.
At least esplanade room is pillarless lor...keke

plasterbride

hihi gals, I am also a Carlton customer. =)
my AD wedding is in 2008 too.
I took the friday package. but has not fixed the menu, we may consider to upgrade to the Sun package after food tasting.
think so long as you has not sign on the contract, you can still upgrade the menu. after all, the package price also comes with different menu, so i guess for those who want to opt for sat package, no worries, your package comes with abalone by default if i remember correctly.

heard that carlton pricing will be increasing soon, because next year 2008 , carlton is one of the nominated hotel for F1 race event, so their rates will increase. and those having wedding in Sep/Oct not sure will it be affected, due to road blockage etc, better check.

ednamode

Hello ladies ,hows everyone wedding preparation?
my wedding now is like 2 months away.. food tasting will be in mid Jan..

plasterbride, i tok to carlton on the new pricing for 08. i thought they already increase the price package for 2008? so it will be a further increase on top of the 'increased 08 price"? wow, thats really expensive hor.