Carlton Hotel

plasterbride

Joanne >>> can share the soft copy of the modified layout also ??? I am also a carlton bride.

Congrats laura yaya !!! must take more shots and share with us your happiness

medic

plasterbride>> yupz...best is to divide the total number of guests you have at the moment by 10 to get the number u need now...but minimum of 27 was wat i had and agreeed upon on...3-7 days before wedding, think Rose will confirm number of tables again, else u remind her..

xinglin>> so far I met them both only, Rose will arrange hubby and you to meet them to go through the actual day process, music, logistics and any special requests...

To all brides/grooms...relax...smile..be happy...the AD will be over in a wink of the eye de...=)

shi40lin

Thankie Joanne.

Roger that Eugene. Thankie. But we can request who we want to get help from for the banquet right?

Today is yaya' wedding...Hope she has a great day!

liquidskye

erm...no idea ley.

should be sometime in april. i heard is 1 month b4 AD. my AD's 25 may. so probably mid apr.

im gg to drop by the wedding show next sunday to recce the location & table set up again, since rose not very prompt in response. almost forgot how it looks like liaos. haha. =P

medic

xinglin>> ehh...not say really can request for whom coz they work on shift basis mah...so must see who's on shift for your AD...yupz..hope yaya's AD went well and didn't get stressed out...=)

shi40lin

Hi Melodi, when is your AD?

Hi liquidskye, you should have went down last sunday to checky yaya's wedding setup. Actually wedding dinner set up might be even better ya.

Oh, can't request ah? Hmm... shall see hw when near my AD ba
During my ROM, i actually also requestrf one of the ex-banquet coord when he is quite popular and good. Too bad, he left Carlton as well.

go5

melodi..may u would like to sign during wedding show..if ur AD date is available..
coz usually they give perks during the show..
just my 2 cents worth

liquidskye

xinglin, last sunday not free lei.

carlton jus called ytd, they need us to confirm the food tasting date, and it sld be b4 april... now im left with 2+ to arrange for a food tasting. sianz.

ednamode

thanks everyone for the warm wishes. i viewed some of the photos taken by my hubby's sis.. i look too fat >.<
anyway, i am v grateful to Carlton's operation team who assist and help us for the wedding banquet and it went very smoothly. we achieved just over 95% attendance. everyone was punctual too. hehe

thumbs up for Alan!

shi40lin

Hey that's nice to hear your smooth wedding ya. Finally, the day is over ya...In the beginning, we are still talking about the progress. Share with us your photos ya?

liquidskye, why sian? So you decided when to go for your food tasting?
Prior the session, they will ask which dishes you wanna try ah?
Say if you requested to change some of the dish (like some of the dishes from menu A to be replaced with menu B), you got to tell the coord ah?

ednamode

xinglin, i will post pic ..but that will be 2 months after my AD..cos thats what my PG told me..>.<
anyway, i am quite disappointed with teh food. apparently,our comments for the food was nt taken into account. the abalone still very rubbery, the fish overcooked.. and also too much mushroom in sharkfin soup. my colleagues told me that the serving is pretty big..

but i am quite happy with the overall manangement and assistance from carlton , especially alan whos the overall incharge of the operation. he is also very patient guy too. so those whose AD will be under his charge, rest assure that he will assist his very best in every way.

shi40lin

Oops...So your guests complained abt the food?
Aiyo paid so much for the banquet but end-ed up food not good.
I thot wah lok is good for the food leh.
Did you feedback to Rose?

Seems Carlton food is not quite standard hor. Some say nice some say bad.
But now seems bad more hor?

liquidskye

hi, im sian cos my march is quite busy with work n personal commitments. so last min got to fit in new stuffs abit diff to coord.

anyway rose's service quite ok, replies my email quite promptly these 2 weeks. gona hav my food tasting on 23 mar dinner. hope it goes well. =)

shi40lin

keyi, I've only the 2008 package. Maybe you call up the banquet department and get from them?

How is the wedding show? Any feedbacks?

jaimegal

Hi Keyi,

I think if you are looking at 1st 3 mths of 2009, then the package &amp; pricing is the same as 2008. Cuz i book for 15 Feb and the pricing still hold.
I heard from Agnes, after march 2009, the price will be higher.
Hope this help.

liquidskye

hi anyone got the table layout for empress ballroom to share? i went down last week to cc look look and realised that the ballroom seems quite small to me all of a sudden. pre wedding jitters i guess.

but if u hav table layout can send me for reference? [email protected]

supergal

Just to share that Carlton Hotel will not be holding any events from September to mid of November 2009 due to upgrading on the upcoming wing. Just received their email today.

smartkel

the renovation is planned in 2009. The hotel are not taking any wedding during the affected period as what was stated in the email.

medic

34??tat's quite alot leh...my layout is 30 tables...I dig arnd and mail to you??btw, never get layout from Rose??

milky_kio

hello all, i am new to this thread.. planning to hold my AD in mid/end 2009. currently looking for a venue..

i went down carlton for 3 times.. finally, yesterday managed to see how it looks during the dinner..

1st time: normal room wo anything..
2nd time: Normal layout with table.. looks ordinary.
3rd time: With stage deco..actually there was a wedding dinner going on. Looks great! Romantic feel..

going to meet up with Rose next week.. the only concern now is that might have to push my wedding earlier due to the reno..

i was also thinking of having Live Photography during the dinner..not sure if it is worth it.

liquidskye

she started MIA-ing again. zzz...

yahs, i went to see after my food tasting today. super duper small. im thinking of 32+1 or 32+2. getting both side parents to cut some ppl. the ballroom is way to small, wonder how they say can put in 38 tables.

shi40lin

liquid, how is your food tasting? Any feedback?

if 38 tables think very crampy, chairs back by back ba? Diao....

Eugene, mind sending me your layout? I'm looking at 30+2 layout. [email protected]
Thankie!

milky, Wah you pushing your wedding early for the reno ah? Where other venues you've gone seeing?
I believe after the reno of Carlton, it must be so much better than now.

milky_kio

i also feel that 38 tables will be a bit cramp..

i have a list of dates from July to Nov 09.. so not really push early la.. been around to look at holiday inn, conrad, merchant court, novotel but haven't meet up with the coordinator yet..

i m still a sheep looking ard.. any advise?

liquidskye

food tasting. erm, ok lo. i dont think its very fantastic, ard 7.5 - 8 out of 10marks. i think im not quite used to the cantonese style of cooking la...

Combination of Suckling Pig, BBQ Pork, Baby Octopus, Spring Roll &amp; Jelly Fish --> all nice except jelly fish abit tough
Braised Shark’s Fin with Dried Seafood --> good
Braised Broccoli with Straw Mushroom &amp; Conpoy --> straw mushroom abit watery and tasteless
Steamed Prawns with Garlic --> the prawns were actully frozen prawns, apart frm garlic, the inside of the prawns dont really have taste.
Roasted “Pi Pa†Duck --> Nice but presentation abit ugly. the duck looks quite dark, i think they use alot of soy sauce. mayb its the canto style. but the way they arrange the duck not v nice, like never put properly.
Steamed Pomfret with Black Bean Sauce --> good. fresh fish and very big.
Sautéed Scallop with Sliced Chicken --> fantastic! its quite qing dan, yet tasty. duno how they achieve it.
Braised Ee-Fu Noodles --> good.

flyingpig

Am wondering can we specify what are the dishes we want to change - in terms of ingredients or cooking style before the tasting? So that they can change accordingly on the actual food tasting.

jojo07

Hi all, sorry for the delay.. Managed to get the dimensions and layout (32 tables) of Empress Balroom from Rose.. Tried to play ard with the layout but seems that shifting the stage to the centre of the ballroom doesn't help as the march-in would be cut short... I prefer a longer march-in thou... no choice but to give Livestudios a miss (difficult to place 2 projectors in the ballroom)... anyone need the dimensions and layout, feel free to email me at [email protected]

akino

hihi i'm new in this thread. my bf n me are likely to sign up with carlton. perks not bad but no free wine lei... will be holding nxt yr dec. but hope if we sign up this yr can get the pricing for this yr's

shi40lin

i wonder is it the same standard 32 layout?
Joanne, sent you email already. Maybe you can send me to see if it's the same as what Eugene has sent me?

Hi akino! Oh wonder do you have the chance to hold your wedding in their new ballroom if they have and their extension building got ready by then?

flyingpig, maybe you can check with your coordinate and see what they advice you? Keke..let us know the procedure too!

Hi melodi, congrats on your wedding ya. Who's your coordinator? Wonder Carlton has how many banquet coordinators ya....seems like only Rose and Rose?

flyingpig

Mine is also Agnes. But my bf is the one who had been dealing with her haha. I only got to see her on the day we sign the contract.

junjun

after mia for super long. I am finally back!
Had my wedding at carlton on 29 March.
Must comment tat things went really smoothly.
must really thank the 2 operation managers in charge of the entire evening: Indra and Alan.
They were very professional, i din have to bother about the details at all. Everything jus ran nicely.
Hee,the part about the portable screen doesn't seems to be any issue also.
Guests feedback were good, both food and service.