Carlton Hotel

gelaine

Hey corene,

Did you insist on using the new cards when Rose showed them to you?

Basically, it's not that it's weird food to me lah... but my PIL commented like... the straw mushroom dun look presentable for a banquet. So we're changing it to some other types. HAh... and the fruity sauce pork rib just look like a normal zi-char sweet and sour pork... so not nice too. So we're changing it to probably roasted pig... things like tt. But i think that's coz my ILs are very traditional ppl... for me i love the food. HAh... if you are looking for something nice and dun mind the comments by other relatives, i think it's great! But since my in laws arent tt satisfied, we decided to go along with them to make it a really joyous ocassion lor.

shi40lin

Thanks Gelaine to share the food tasting.
They so good to allow change pork rib to roasted pig?

Thanks Lstephie for the card pix and the ballroom and table settings pix. I also want to see your AD pix leh...mind sharing? keke...
Ya, one of the cards which i've seen during the wedding show is the card you attached wor.
Funny ya....they are not showing all their available invitation cards to the couple?

Anyone going for the buffet dessert instead of the normal dessert dish ah? Me and the hubby are still considering to do with the buffet or the normal dessert buffet.

gelaine

Hey xinglin,

No lah... you have to top up sometimes when u want to change your dishes. Anyway just met up with Rose today and she mentioned they dun do suckling pig as a main dish...think they cannot cater to banquet due to volume. So we're changing to something else instead of suckling pig.

As for the cards, we also did mention to her. Her reply was that the cards are too expensive so they do not have the budget for them to include into the current year's package. Stephie is probably one of the very few couples who got it. So now it's not approved by the management.
We took the maroon cards instead.

sleepyapple

Hi Lstephie,

My banquet at carlton is in Nov 2008, do u mind sending me the pics of the card, ballroom and table settings? Just wana have a feel of the whole environment in advance.. my email is [email protected]

thanks so much!

adelow

Hi Corene,
I also choosen the maroon instead of the pink one, so lucky of Stephie.

Hi Xinglin,

your package includes buffet dessert? What is that ? My coordinator never mentioned to me before.

junjun

sorry for MIA...super super busy at work.
Hmmm.... yah that time Rose did show me the new invites, the one with a translucent layer one. She was saying they changing table clothes too... but dunno to what colours... think next year will have slightly more colour bah...

But i did observe that the hotel is slowly upgrading/ changing their furnitures batch by batch, that's what Rose said also. Hopefully by next year the hotel will look nicer and newer too!

shi40lin

Adeline, i think the buffet dessert is newly introduced ba. If you want it may request ba. Cos i've signed up during the wedding show, therefore is free upgrade. But i still duno to have this a not. Is it funny ah? Will guest really will want to have it? haha...

Hi Cuihui, maybe you should enquire whether your AD date is still available?

Hi Junjun! I also hope the upgrading is carried out gradually... Best they can hack the pillars away! Wahahahaha... So how is your preparation going on?

adelow

Xinglin, dont they allow cos i did mentioned before what if i prefer half cold half hot dessert.. my coordinator also rejected me... so yours is a spread of dessert for guest to choose after the whole meal course is over ?

junjun

Hi Xinglin,

hmm...haven start much prep cos too busy at work. going down for my gown fitting on friday...so excited. Hee. what about u?

shi40lin

Adeline, what is indicated in the buffet dessert are those pastries and hot pudding kind...quite a few of them but all pastries. Will guest still want take after 8 course dishes?

We've mentioned wat if we want to change some of the dessert dishes, he said can request but nid to check with chef if they are able to cater leh. But cos we are still thinking to go with this a not, so nv really insisted to get an answer from him.

U ask ur coord for dessert buffet too ma?

junjun, me also haven prep. Also bz with work. Mine in Dec 08 so still got more time.
Which Bridal Shop u are with?

adelow

Xinglin, no did not ask for it, thought something new .. but what you said is quite true .. don think guest will have space for additional pastries. so i will stick to the traditional dessert ...

strawberri

huh.. i din really think so much abt guests not waning to eat the dessert buffet leh.. thot it is something that will make my wedding more interesting / memorable from other weddings they had been to because of the dessert buffet leh.. u gers dun think so?

glenlyn_lyn

Hi Lstephie,

was sourcing around.. was thinking to take carlton Hotel in sept2008, do u mind sending me the pics of the card, ballroom and table settings? wana have a feel of the whole environment. my email is [email protected]
thank u so much!

junjun

Xinglin,

oh... I'm with WhiteLink...just went for my fitting last Fri... not too bad...but I very fickle minded....tried on for 4.5 hours!!!
In the end decide le went home still think think think, then Sat request to go back retry 2 of the EGs to double confirm. Haaa... me very ma fan hor?

shi40lin

junjun, so you managed to choose your gowns? U've got 2 EG?

Seems like not many people had held their wedding recently posting here ya. Hope to read more on reviews here...keke...Do post ya!

darine_gal

dear all.. i'm also keen with signing with carlton... anyone has problems with the 4 pillars? i wonder how many tables will be most ideal in order to minimize the impact of the 4 pillars..

anyone has a coordinator to introduce?

junjun

xinglin,
yup, managed to choose my WG and EG...teadress all this haven yet....

Darine_gal,
well the max for empress room is 37 so I think if yours fall bet 30 -34 still be quite ok with the pillars bah...

baby3530

hi...sorri...din log in for quite some time...ive checked with them that the dates that i want is still open...=)

any comments for carlton...they having wedding shw on 23/11/07

shi40lin

When is your date baby3530?
You mean there's another wedding show coming at Carlton? I've signed up on the last wedding show which was like in Aug 07 lor.

So fast ah?
Wonder will the perks be the same?

insanetaz

I just finished my Wedding at Carlton 3 months ago and I have 30 spare maroon wedding cards left but only with 24 envelopes left.....

Due to some miscalculation on our parents' side, we brought 50 more cards from carlton at $1.50 each...however, we got left with quite a lot so we decided to sell it off to those interested at half price, that is $0.80 per cards (total $24 for 30).

For those who are choosing other design of cards, and you can follow what my friends did. He have the traditional designs for family and another design for friends.

The photo of the cards can be found here:
http://www.kodakgallery.com/Slideshow.jsp?Uc=ant88rvx.a4kqkxdd&Uy=-7qdse7&Upost_signin=Slideshow.jsp%3Fmode%3Dfromshare&Ux=0&mode=fromshare&conn_speed=1

Please email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

Peter.....

shi40lin

I've checked that yes Carlton is having a wedding workshop next month. Is a smaller scale event.

I've also enquired the new extension will have a bigger, pillarless with high ceiling ballroom lor! My coord said this will be the plan but not firm ba. But i guess more or less should hv la but this new extension won't be ready until 2009.
so envy! Too bad...i still praying hard they will finish the extension early! Hahaha...

junjun

Baby3530,
think u may still get a chance to get the new ballroom. Me sure no chance le...sob sob... and with the construction going on dunno will be noisy anot...

shi40lin

I wonder will the construction will affect the operation in the present hotel a not?
I rememeber my coll told me she used to consider holding her banquet at Carlton. But during her time, the circle line was under contruction at that area. A lot hotels around there were affected and there's electricity tripped and cause some hotels (i pressumed) having no electricity wor. :X

baby3530, think the new ballroom still under their planning project...wonder they will have it a not but if you ask, do post and update ya! Thanks!

baby3530

ok ok....ya u haf a pt there...hmm...thn if such things happen thn its nt nice liao...

sure will post once i gt a confirmation..=)

cheers!!!

ednamode

by the way, anyone knows the theme of carlton? my EG is marroon red..i worry i may blend into it....

by the way, any Btbs here under Jason's care?

hello Jun jun! i also v long time didnt check out liao..right now, 4 months plus to my wedding..i am getting excited..i wonder when is the best time to start laising with jason liao....

baby3530

jason? who is he?
sorry ah...abit blur

btw wat BS u gals choose? im still looking ard..so far BZ has given mi sth tt im ok w it...any reco or advise?

baby3530

I've not liase with any1....
jus checking if Im going to their wedding show 1st b4 confirming to take their service, must I call them to book w them verbally? cos i scared theres no available slot ltr....headache man....lolx

junjun

Yaya,
my coordinator is Rose too. Hmm ... when is a suitable time range to go for food tasting?? cos mine is in end march, Rose suggested I do food tasting earlier in Jan due to CNY in Feb...but will that be too early? as in will they rem any comments made on day of my food tasting...like 2 plus months wor...

insanetaz

My coordinator was Rose....we had our wedding in July but did food tasting in feb.....we wrote in the feedback/review form what we would like to see and what we like...example, the fish has no garnishing for deco and not very presentable, mango too sour. bla bla bla.....and all our feedback are taken note of and changes are done on the actual day....

junjun

Peter,
thanks for the feedback. ok, what u said made me more at ease about having food tasting earlier... Hmm..what dishes would u recommend? I am taking the 9 course weekend dinner.

baby3530

hihi...just went to see the ballroom yesterday. Abit disappointed as the ballroom's ceiling is low. but Rose was nice...But i like the whole things that is listed on the package.

Xinglin, the new ballroom will only be ready by mid 2009. Rose told mi.

And reagarding the upcoming wedding shw..the promo will be the same as the previous. So gals not to worry. =)

ednamode

junjun, mine is beginning of March.. i should be going for food tasting before CNY. dun think is too early lor..not to worry.
Baby3530,yap the ceiling is low..but thats nt a problem la... Holiday Inn Atrium also have low ceiling... but , Carlton one is better lor.i think the lightings play into effect..

my cooridinator is not Rose.. actually was under her, but i had a unpleasant incident (small matter anyway) with her , so change to Jason.

junjun

Peter,
ok. Thanks anyway. Hee.

yaya,
ok. mine will be end march, rose advised me to go food tasting b4 CNY also. u taking the weekend package?

baby,
oh, so new ballroom only by mid 2009, so will u still want take up carlton?

strawberri

hi, anyone here has a pic of the ballroom setting of their wedding in carlton before? Haven really seen it and i am still wondering how it looks like... will appreciate if anyone of u can email me? my email is [email protected]. Thanks!

junjun

baby,
yeah! cool!

Hmm...just 1 thing i think Carton should upgrade is the projector and screen cos theirs is still the manual one got to shift up and down during the wedding itself...do u think they will upgrade that one? attended another fren's wedding also got that problem so that flow of the wedding a 'leng chang' at times due to having to wait for set up and clearing of the screen.

baby3530

thnx Junjun...
wahhhh reali arxxx....thn i nd to voice out liao..
i dun wan to haf 'leng chang' lor...tts bad...

btw whens ur wedding Junjun?

rinsan

hi Yaya,

My coordinator is also jason and also having french Bridal. Don't worry about the maroon EG. btw, mine is maroon as well.

From what jason informed, they have two themes, one is oriental (mainly red) and the other is western. So i choose the western one instead, not bad, combi of cream and gold color, the gold is shimmering....

P.S. Jason is good but you might need to take note of the schedule yourselves and remind him. Maybe i'm too kiasu or what, i find that he might be abit slow to remind us on the things that need to be done.

ednamode

hello rinsan! when ur AD? heee... u got any pics on the western theme?? then lidat WG will clash or not? my WG is champagne gold color lor... actually i find that their oriental theme v nice le... dark shimmering red right? heee
sure, i will take note of this..i think he himself also handle too many couples and cannot expect him to be superman to know which couple is which AD etc...

shi40lin

strawberri, you've got mail!

baby3530, thanks for checking for me. The new ballroom so late then ready. Wat a pity.

junjun, Your friend's wedding at where? I thot the coordinators shouldn't include the time to clear/set up projector and created that leng chang period...
Hmm...noted! need to emphasize to the logistic coordinator on the banquet night ;)

Ya Jason tend to be quite slow in responding esp to emails. Better to call him. I called him most times to talk to him. I guess i agreed with yaya, he's handling too many couples ba.
But rinsan, to be kiasu sometimes is good. Me too! Wahahaha :p