Carlton Hotel

miracle_miracle

crazibee and other carlton brides..it's has been a long time since we last update in this thread..how was everything going? my AD is in dec so carlton has yet to get to me regarding the menu, theme, favors etc.
my previous coordination, Eunice, left carlton quite sometime ago and i have not hear abt Ursula Rose who took over from her..anyone has any comments abt her?

swallowtail

Yes, as green had mentioned, their 2008 package is not out yet. Met with one of the coordinator yesterday. The room was quite old-looking, the march in was weird and worst of all, they will increase price and decrease the number of perks for 2008! terrible issint it!?
Probably wont sign up with them. Based on the 2007 package, it was really attractive, but now, NO!

Leslie,
Thanks for letting us know. It saves me a trip down to Carlton next week.

How much will they be probably charging for 2008 per table (including gst & service charge) for weekday? I find that all hotels have increased prices significantly for next year.

swallowtail

I was looking at the 888nett weekend package for 2007. Apparently, they will raise it by a minimum of 30-50$.
And lots of perks will be taken off too, for eg, no more free 1 bottle of wine per table, no more free-flow beer etc.

Carlton coordinator just called me today to go down to have a discussion. When I asked her if the package 2008 was out, she said "No".

Haha how to make the decision when no much info is given to couples? ;) Anyway Carlton ballroom is booked for other event on my wedding day, so I can't pick it.

junjun

I had signed the contract with Carlton early and had managed to capture the 2007 prices and perks...so quite lucky... met up with Rose and she said that the management had instructed not to accept new confirmation for 2008 yet as they are still finalising the changes in package...
so nothing is finalised yet, but the think price hike is confirmed....

yaya,
Not sure who I spoke to leh. Haha anyway I'm an impatient person and like to chop chop settle everything fast although my AD is next year!

I'm signing up another hotel cos I'm impressed with the good services from sales coordinator, receptionists and even a waiter :p

ednamode

corene, i think i had some misunderstanding with her... imagine i havent even meet her before and already got mis understanding liao. so i am quite annoyed and request for change of cooridinator to Jason!

green,me same as u la...hehee.. i will want reply and action fast fast especially my wedding..hehee..which hotel u signed up with eventually? glad that u found the ideal venue for ur wedding oh!

ladies, are u going to get catering at ur house on AD?i am thinking whether to look for one ..as i will have my relatives at my house at that time...what ya think?

yaya,
Holiday Inn Atrium. Haha the coordinator replied my emails even on a Sunday. I also heard from other brides that they were pleased with the coordinators' services. My coordinator is those who patiently explains things to us and shares personal tips on how to manage the banquet. I like their Crystal Theme! I always love dark dark places till I wonder if I'm a vampire hehe.

Yaya,
I was a jiemei before. I think you should get lunch catering for your relatives, imagine they travel all the way to your house for your tea ceremony. And I think it's not a good idea to ask your mum to cook as she will be super busy. Many caterers offer $10 per head, min 30 heads. It roughly costs about $330 including transport.

cheekychick

Hi Green, din noe u sign up with Holiday Inn Atrium already :p U'll not be affected by the F1 racing then, keke..congrats to u!!! Agree with u dat Holiday Inn Atrium's service is good. I emailed to abt 9 places & Holiday Inn is one of the first fews to reply me
Package not bad...quite cheap for weekend even. My colleague told me the ostrich meat is very good, hehe...

ednamode

ok green.i will consider consider... i agreed the svc of HIA is quite gd..cos they trying to take business mah. other hotels who are already established and busy like siao one will normally become 'yaya'liao.
last time i was served by malcom. okay la, quite good la.but my ah lao dun like him and also the the ballroom

Sorry for discussing about other hotel here paiseh :p

Yaya,
It depends on what you are looking for in your banquet

I'm not particular about ballroom appearance, as I believe that the standard in decoration makes a bigger impact. When I shortlist hotels, I do it based on min table requirement, service, costs and decoration theme. My BF and I find HIA ballroom appearance boring, so he didn't want to take HIA up as banquet venue. Last Sat, I brought my BF to see 3 on-going banquets at HIA. After seeing 1 decorated ballroom, he immediately agreed hehe!

Actually HIA is very popular for corporate functions. Some of my friends' companies and my organisation held functions there. In terms of wedding banquets, it's still not as well-known as other 5-star hotels .

I actually like the ivory & gold theme of Carlton! It looks elegant. Too bad, its 2008 quotes not out yet.

Hope you and HTB find your dream ballroom soon! I have gathered quite many hotel quotations for 2008. PM me if you want.

dear girls,

just 1 2 find out...

has any1 had their banquet on the smaller ballroom which is on the level 2?

any pics to show on the deco? also, is it cramped with 15-18 tables?

summer_54

I have a 2008 carlton wedding package for a Sunday dinner to be transfer at S$788 nett.

Minimum requirements : 28tables at Empress Ballroom

Food provided by award winning Wah Lok Restaurant. Nice hotel ambience , 5 minutes walk from City Hall Mrt Station.

For more details, email me at [email protected]

shi40lin

Will want to share that there's a wedding show coming up in Aug 5 at Carlton Hotel.

On this day, the 2008 packages will be released.

jamie80

can you recommend me which good wedding cordinator for carlton that i should talk to? i am thinking of going down to take a look this wkend ;) thks.

ades

Hello Brides to be,

I have signed up their package in 2006 before the Gst increase in 2007 and my AD is on Oct 2007. Would like to check if anyone of you receive any letter from Carlton saying that the price per table will be increased due to the increase of GST?

miracle_miracle

Hi Ades, my AD will be in Dec 2007. and similar to you, i signed up with them before the GST hike. I did not receive any letters about the increase in price per table. Did you receive?

ades

Hello Corene,

Nope i did not receive any letter from them. But 1 of my fren who is holding her AD in Sept receive a letter from her hotel about the increase of price per table due to the GST hike.

dfish

Hi Ades, my AD will be in early Oct 07 and I did not receive any notice from the hotel. My contract with the hotel states that the price is NETT.

miracle_miracle

Precisely, if the price stated in the contact is nett.. there should be any reason for them to increase the price per table. i have looked through the contact again and there isn't any clause stating that they can adjust the price due to changing of gst etc.

cheekychick

Carlton juz forwarded their 2008 package to me...If anyone wans, u can juz leave ur emails here & i will forward to u guys
Cant make it for their wedding show coming Sunday...anyone going?

shi40lin

I've signed up with Carlton for my banquet next year in Dec last Sunday during the show!
Did any others here signed up?
I saw quite a number of people signing up that day.

Hi Ling, i've a few pictures of ballroom but not taken from a banquet. I don't mind sharing my site. Hope this is of little help to you. I've a few other pix taken during the show and the 2008 packages as well.
http://theweddingthehome[dot]wordpress[dot]com
HTHs!

strawberri

Hi Cheeky Chick,

Thanks! I've received it.
And has booked with Carlton too.
Brides who had or having their wedding there... is Jason or Rose a better person to deal with?

shi40lin

Hi strawberri,

When is your AD?
My coord is Jason wor.
Who do you sign up with?

In fact, during the wedding night, there's another logistic operation in charge for the dinner. Last time, when my ROM was held at Carlton too, is Louis whom helped me. He's very good but had left. Is Dennis good as well? I've read here some people recommending him? Pls advice.

strawberri

Hi Xinglin,

My AD is 14 Sep.
We signed up with Benny.
No... we are not informed of the contract yet.
Xinglin... seen ur webpage.. it's real nice and informative!

Saw ur website.. saying u have not confirmed the min tables... do they allow that?

shi40lin

Hi strawberri & liquidskye,

I've checked with Jason and he said there's 22 couples signed up during the show last Sunday...
As they r still busying preparing the contracts, they need another 1-2 wks time to inform the couple on the contract.

I've confirmed 28 tables when signing the day's contract in order to enjoy the perks. 28 is minimum no. of tables to commit if signing up the package from Carlton too. And for us, we are likely to invite up to 32 tables, so 28 is a safe no. to guarantee.