Carlton Hotel

kimifin

ivied,

for:
4 weeks before

2) Contact printing co for printing of complimentary poster

Do you provide the softcopy of the image you want to print?Any mininum file size for best quality?

ednamode

BiBi, u mean the smaller ballroom? thats good.i still waiting for them to call me. i called them up yesterdae and they said they will return my call. if by today still not giving me a call, i think i can give up on carlton hotel already.

damsel

Hi Bibi, if you are considering the smaller room is best to keep it at 15 tables cause anything more and the space will be too cramp. And the table that is blocked by the pillar should be kept as a reserve. I was a 2005 bride and the bridal suite was'nt fantastic but spacious enuff. The reason I chose carlton was due to the good food review, location and pricing during that year.

damsel

Hi yaya if you are really keen on carlton then you need to be proactive and chase them due to their high turnover no one is accountable for new accounts or enquiries. I had to chase them everyday.

ivied

Hi yaya, I agree with damsel. Though competition is high, the rates quoted are fixed and it is up to you if you wish to take it or not. There is no accountability to any new accounts. So if u are really keen on Carlton, then u have to be proactive in calling them up and negotiate your terms with them.

My hubby and I were lucky, we managed to get them in just 2 phone calls and we closed the deal on the spot. We chose Carlton due to Wah Lok, the central location and the comprehensive package. We did not even view the bridal suite and the four pillars do not bother us. Come to think about it, you will be so tired after the banquet that you would just want to sleep after removing the tons of makeup and hair pins.

Hi kimi, yup, I provide the soft copy to the printing co. You can either send via email or upload the file to their website. The max file size is 20MB which I think is possible even for a high resolution picture. You can call them up and they will provide the full details to you.

My advice to all BTBs is to be pro-active in your planning. The coordinators will do their part in ensuring your banquet to move on smoothly and successfully but you too have to ensure that the scheduled is on track and all the necessary arrangements are being taken care of. This is a 2 way traffic.

sallz

Hi damsel,

Thanks for your advise. I shall try my best to keep my attendance of 15 tables and the reserve table which will block by the piller.

Hi yaya,

I agreed with damsel too. The reason I choose Carlton becos their package is most comprehensive than others. Think abt it.. =P

ednamode

i just managed to speak to ROse. okay la.she said if i signed with her within 2 weeks time, the price still stay for 2008... which i have to discuss with SO now.

by the way, can check with u who is going to have solmenisation on the AD or already had solmenisation done on the AD ? jason told me to hold it by the poolside ( but only limit to 30 guests)..i thought of everyone to witness the solemnisation in the ballroom..is it workable?

i still kind of concern over the food actually.....becuase see pple post like some good some no good..aiyo..... if mine turn out to be no good.i think i be hanged by my SO family..
pardon me for being loh soh and indecisive..... because we happen to get different comments on food.......

kimifin

ivied,
thx again. Cos i jus attended a wedding dinner @Marriot & realise one thing. I rem Carlton projector on the stage can set up once only, before the dinner commence. I can't rem if there's another one near the walk in. But did anyone try to display the projector again after the 1st March in?

ednamode

kimi, i think it will be only set up once. when jason told me how and where they set up the projector. i was quite stunned. he told me the projector will be in between the 2 VIP tables while the screen will be on the stage. after the montage, they will be removed (i think its quite a ugly sight unless they hav to think of someway to did it.)... as for to show during the banquet . i am nt so sure.... preharps u like to check with jason or rose again?
their ceiling is low. if only higher, i think can be fix onto the wall... purely my comments...

ivied

Hi kimi, I had mine set up twice, once before the banquet starts and the next before 2nd march in. And yes, the projector is set up in between 2 VIP tables and the screen is projected on the stage. None of my guests complained, not even my family members who were seated at the VIP tables. Carlton is pretty efficient in the setting up, they coordinate among themselves well.

ednamode

for those who interested in carlton.managed to snap some photos for yesterdae wedding banquet setup..

march in view
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v386/kiroro/Wedding/P1000311.jpg
Overall view
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v386/kiroro/Wedding/P1000309.jpg
reception table
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v386/kiroro/Wedding/P1000308.jpg

pic quite small and dark......realise not upload properly at photobucket le....so just bear with it.
tomorrow going down..so hope to settle this by tomorrow

damsel

Hi Gals, no prob at all just glad to give my 2 cents worth of opinion.

yaya you go anywhere if food is mass produce quality is always compromise there will be some dishes better than the other and some not up to expectation, what matters most is that the food can still be consume and your guest is full.

ednamode

hi damsel, i agree with u.... different pple different taste bud.so we dun hav control on that. my parents are okay with anywhere as long as its is convinent which Carlton is the most ideal place among others we have viewed. in fact, after seeing the wedding banquet set up, my SO and i quite like it.

as for solemenisation, no one did it during the banquet at carlton before? i asked this is to have a feel how it will be like..i find its better to share this with everyone at dinner too.

dfish

Hi yaya,

Personally dun feel its good to have the solemenisation during the banquet cos some people may be eating/drinking/talking instead of focusing on the solemnisation.

damsel

Hi yaya, I had my church ceremony in carlton itself just before the dinner. Manage to get everyone to come on time, I got carlton to provide finger food and drinks just before the ceremony. Was afraid that ppl will find it too draggy but everyone told me they enjoyed themselves and found it meaningful that they could be part of it. And right after the ceremony I could start the dinner and rest of the programme without any delay.

sallz

Hi damsel & all,

Can u all share with me which food menus have u all choosen for ur wedding dinner and what are the comment? Cos I have 2 menus to choose from so a bit headache which one is nicer. Is there any particular dishes that got ppl commented nice & not nice?

Tks =P

damsel

Hi bibi, my AD was in 2005 and I chose interntional buffet not the usual course dinner. The food was highly praise by my guest. If you want a copy of it give me your email add and I'll send to you.

ednamode

ic..thanks damsel for sharing. anyway i am so looking forward to meeting ROse tonight.but she cancell my appointment.i am quite disappointed when i heard it because i want to confirm with her tdy.she just said but she havent even draft a contract so how am i to confirm with her.
pple, normally u all meet how many times with her to sign the contract? meet her 2 times and 2nd time go sign contract? can she send u the draft to vet through before signing on the next appointment u see her? now i sound like i am desperate to sign with her likdat. actually quite angry lor.because already fix tonight and she go cancel my appointment for someone else... she just said actually alot of pple wants to see the hotel after their work..yeah.so do i ..i made that appointment way advance last week.

damsel

Hi yaya it's quite sad that the service of their banquet sales staff have not improve during this 2 years. I remember my coordinator was Diana, always so hard to get her on the phone and when arrange appointment always reschdule or she sick. I was getting really frustrated at the time so I when and complain to the banquet manager. I met her once to view the place and the 2nd time to sign the contract, before my AD she resign and it was taken over by someone else who was quite blur. So in terms of coordination I had to follow up very closely. I work very closely with hotels due to my line of work before so I kind of know how to handle them. I would advise you to be more proactive when dealing with them.

ednamode

Hi damsel, i think the girl quite sianz of me calling them up and to find that Rose is nt available etc...so she gave me her HP. hope settle with her by today for the drafted contract. if not the location was ideal (my parent like it), i dun think will nt be that keen afterall. by the way, after signing contract, they contact me OR i hav to contact them? is it Jason who i can laise with afterwards or? i think if not wrong, Jason is just an assistant right?

anyway, i hope to meet her next week and settle all the outstanding issue and close for case for wedding venue!

damsel

hi yaya, for my case after I sign the contract i never liase with the banquet sales staff anymore as I was pass to the banquet manager Augustine. he was the one who called me two weeks before my AD to finalise everything. So I was in very good hands with him, he never say no to any of my request and went all way out to make me and hubby feel like royalty on our AD. But unfortunately I read thru this thread that he left already.

sallz

Hi yaya,

I liase with Jason. Have not go down to confirm my booking. He is quite a nice guy just that he had a tight schedule also. I met him once oni, I requested for a draft copy of contract and he email me liao. I think is better to go thru the contract before going down to sign. Cos u might need to add something of to amend. Btw, u are getting which ballroom?

Hi damsel,

Thanks for sharing. Think is ok cos I looking for the 9 course dinner.

ednamode

Hi Bibi, i also laise with Jason that time. but sad to say, he cant make the decision and he stil have to report back to Rose ( so make sense i go ask ROSE for quicker decision right?) in fact, i just now called him earlier.he said the contract have to be from ROse as require her signature lor. IF really i signed with carlton, can i request Jason to be my cooridinator or what? i dun think i want ROse to handle my stuff.

i still waiting for ROse to call me back..just need at most 5mins to call me back also cannot. in fact,jason has sms me Rose number..i just said i will wait for her to call me (even through jason promise me that he make sure she call)tdy. its really bad for me to complain this way. giving me an impression that they dun want my business..
i even told Jason abt the poor response..what will happen when i let them handle my wedding?

i am taking their ballroom ,28 tables at $888/table on sundae

damsel, thats good..read that augustine left right? thats kinda sad for carlton to lose such a great person ..

sallz

Hi yaya,

I not too sure leh. I never heard before ROse. All the way I liase with Jason and he is the one who send me the contract and the end of the contract got his name indicate there and also the catering manager. So I don't know still need ROse signature leh? Cos there is no indication of her name in my contract.

ednamode

bibi, really? then i not so sure already.... anyway, she just get back to me finally. i just discuss with her in 5mins,chop chop and fast fast... and i can go and wait for the contract liao. better that way right? not i am fussy or what. i just need to speak to her 5mins and then thats all....
if u got hold of jason , thats real good. we tok to him when we met him...both of my SO and me felt comfortable toking to him...

kimifin

My "new" coordinator is Rose too, after the earlier coord left. Since she's so bz, may I know if it helps to communicate by email?

Wana ask, for the card printing:
1)Do you engage Carlton partner co to print?
2)Do you print direct or with Insert?

damsel

Hi all BTB the early coordination is always most tiring and annoying but after you get that out of the way you can just look forward to having a memorable wedding. I have to admit that although their banquet sales coordination is slow and needs a lot of follow up but when comes to the AD the banquet manager and his staff will do a good job and make up for it.

Hi Kimi, carlton does not do printing but they will recommend the printers, at the same time maybe you can do your homeowrk and check the rates of other printers as well. I printed directly on the card cause find insert too time consuming and can't do emboss print.

ivied

Hi Bibi, you can mixed and match the 2 menus, and determine the order of servings. The common and well received dishes are:

1) A Combination of Suckling Pig, BBQ Pork, Baby Octopus, Spring Roll & Jelly Fish
2) Braised Shark's Fin with Dried Seafood
3) Sliced BBQ Duck with Mango
4) Steamed Sea Bass with Thai Sauce
5) Roasted Crispy Chicken
6) Deep Fried Prawns Coated with Mashed Taro
7) Braised Ee-Fu Noodles

Hi kimi, I'm printing on inserts and engaged an outside vendor to print.

Hi yaya, my coordinator was Jason. Yes, he is quite easy to talk to and will accomodate most of your requirements. I have been lucky. I did not have much difficulty in getting hold of Jason. And damsel is right. On AD, the operation team will do a good job and let you have a memorable wedding.

ednamode

hi Kimi, ur hubby surname is? anyway, i just read through the contract. it was stated min 30 tables.i thought i want 28tables as stated in their package? wonder y an increase of 2 tables then.new requirement? they didnt inform me of such changes...anyway,i will check with her when i see her next monday...hope she dun 'chu' pattern anymore. i wondering whether to contact Jason and request him to take over our contract after all.can be done possible?

hi ivied, u are lucky
..It seems that Rose dont send email out herself but asking pple to send on her behalf.i dun feel sincerity on this part. i think the banquet cooridinator under my contract is Andy..how many banquet cooridinator are there actually?

Hi Bibi, i think is only after i complain to Jason ...otherwise i dont think she will call...quite annoying right? i know i need to be proactive...but not OVER proactive.lidat i will be vexing on my wedding instead of enjoying my wedding..

by the way, Anyone took the $888/table price ? i wonder whats suckling pig combination consist of ..because i see this suckling pig combination also in $788/table package as well..but the $788 one got state whats in the suckling pig combination whereas $888 dont have.

jhanella

hi! yay and kimi! i just met augustine week ago at my friend's wedding at sheraton tower.my friend engaged him as an wedding planner thought her wedding j.p. mr david low.and i just get his new mobile (97827087) and you can also reach him at [email protected] i also getting him to help my friend wedding on this coming dec at carlton.according to him althought he no more working in the hotel but he can be engage by wedding couple to act as wedding planner for consultation and if you have any problem with the catering sales you can look for his former boss, andy chua(catering manager)
this"rose" i don't understand why the hotel employ her?may be no one available in the industry?she have a bad reputation over at the previous hotel she work.according to my friend she almost as bad as the last sales manager, april teoh.

chibi

Hi Kimi,

As for the invitation card printing, I engaged with one of the Carlton's partner, AD printing, who taken the banquet poster printing. I printed on a paper and the vendor will insert into invitation card for me.

Personally, I feel that their work is not so reliable, although the price is cheaper than another Carlton's partner.

(1) For my case, they printed wrong family position (Chinese version)for my husband. Whereas they did wrong during their artwork stage (in the form, I filled it in correctly), but I didn't notice their mistake, until the card is printed out. I was so angry... Initially, they wanted to charge me half of the cost for the re-print, as I didn't inform them during the time of artwork confirmation (But I gave them correct particular mah). Luckily in the end they didn't charge me.

(2) For the Carlton's map, they charged 5cents per piece. I wounder the map should collect from the Hotel together with the invitation card. But nevermind, I asked them to print for me. However, the qty they passed to me is less than the qty I requested, but they still charged me with the qty I requested. I only discovered it when I insert it into invitation card.

(3) For the poster printing, the sales co-ordinator accidently used another couple photo during the artwork confirmation, which our name is being inserted in other couple's photo.

But one thing good is they do delivery, u know, it's quite heavy if we need to go down to the vendor's site to collect ourselves.

sallz

Hi ivied,

Thanks for your recommendation. Will try out during my food tasting. =P

Hi yaya,

I don't know whether ok to change planner a not? But if u really don't feel comfortable with Rose, maybe u check out with Jason directly and ask him whether he can/ok be ur planner a not? Will affect anything?

Need to ask hor, during ur actual wedding event, ur wedding planner won't be there to assist right? Is the banquet mgr who take care everthing? Then what is the catering mgr do huh? Pls advise.

ednamode

hi julia, thanks for sharing this also. i been
and angry over this incident yesterdae ..SO also dunno what to do with me when he went out with me for dinner and shopping... so tdy, he asked me to go see whether Jason can take in charge of ours or not... anyway,i just spoke to him and he agree liao...its better this way as he knows what we wants . as for the other , i no comment.

Hi Bibi, in fact, i will be more happy to have jason took over. those he said , is not even reflected in our contract (issue by Rose). so better to get Jason take charge. for this change, i going to write an email to him later on.

there is one girl called Rina but she is nt incharge of sales de.i find her quite nice also (although never deal with her directly) when i always called ask for R*** ,its always RIna pick up the call instead.

jhanella

hi ivied,

I remember the person who incharge of my wedding(augustine)called 1 week in advance before my actual day to introduced himself as the person incharge, double check all the details base on the update of my sales manager,kelvin khoo,advised me on the wines ordering,march in songs, floor plan and seating arrangement,but a final dicussion will be arrange upon arrival in the hotel.He will stay thought until the whole event end.So another words to say on the actual day the operations incharge will be the person attending to you thoughout to ensure everything went smooth.on my actual day i never see kelvin.i heard he also left the hotel.

kimifin

All,

thanks for sharing your experience.

Yaya, his surname got Y as the 1st letter. We were assigned to the earlier coord coz of this.
Now, I haven't get in touch with Rose yet, but hope she will respond, OR better still, pass me to another PIC.

damsel

Looks the banquet sales service is going to affect the hotel's business, the management better step in and take control of things before it get out of hand. It's a good thing that banquet operations make up for it.

Bibi, go ahead and change planner if you are not comfortable with the present one cause this is a big day for you and your hubby. On the AD you want to be rest assured that everything is flowing smoothly while you enjoy the day and not having to worry if things are being taken care of.

Another tip for all you BTB is get a wedding coordinator from elsewhere to coordinate the AD event and to work closely with the banquet operations staff, the coordinator does not have to be someone you pay for it can be your sis, friend or a relative. My best friend was with me throught my liasing with the hotel so she knows what I wanted and executed it on that day.

sallz

Hmm.. Anyone know when can we have the floor plan? Upon confirmation or only (weeks) before ur actual day?

Have u all heard that their flavour "might" going to change?

Hi yaya, Kimi, ivied, Julia,

When is ur AD huh? Mine, is Dec 07. Which ballroom u all taking?

Hi damsel,

I'm quite ok with my planner just tat he quite busy so everytime I have to keep email/msg him to follow up.

ednamode

Hi bibi, my AD will be on 09.03.08. want 30.03.08 but this date already long taken up already
anyway, where u heard that their flavour going to change?

i just received the contract from jason yesterdae.. it stated solmenisation at cabanas level 5. anyone held there before? i assume poolside is at cabanas?

sallz

Hi yaya,

I heard from my wedding planner. Cos I asked him to show me the flavours they have & he told me no point showing me now cos they "might" change. Currently they have 3 flavours, I have not seen yet? U seen before? & also I have not seen their invitation cards. Don't know nice a not?

Cabanas is it near the waterfall?

Haiz..

ivied

Hi Bibi,
Mine is over already, Jan 07. It is held at the Empress Ballroom. You can request for the floor plan when u have a confirmed number of tables, which will be approx 2 weeks prior to your AD.

Hi yaya, yup, cabanas is near the poolside. Waterfall is at level 4, pool is at level 5. It is quite pretty with the deco. I did not have mine there as it was raining on my wedding day.

ednamode

Bibi, yeah.jason let me look at the invitation card and wedding favour. quite limited they have. invitation card got 1 red with "XI" chinese word only, 1 classic (those western style), and the other , i cant remember. nt really nice.but i prefer the red one lor.

wedding favour got 1 is couple keychain ( the nicest), then the bear and then the other one is the dunno what in test tube which i didnt pay attention to.

thanks ivied! i havent view it..so i do nt know where it is actually.so far, kept going to level 2 only. by the way, for the suite is their Deluxe suite (as stated in their website) right? whats the max floor for that deluxe suites? do u happen to know that? jason told me that normally they give the room at 6th floor because its nearer to the ballroom.

kimifin

Mine's on 26May.

Intend to get the cards soon...n maybe not engage their printing co...since getting such bad review.

Any1 tried Tdragon?

chibi

Hi Kimi,
My frd give a gd comment abt Tdragon, you can try to the printing of cards with them.

Hi Bibi,
For the wedding favour, think Carlton is having the Chinese wedding couple magnet, which I feel is quite nice. Heard from Jason that it's their new favour. During my wedding in last Nov, Carlton also have the wedding favour that yaya mentioned. (Bear, couple keychain and test tube tea leave) Your co-ordinator will show you the favour 2 weeks before your AD during the confirmation appt.

sallz

Hi Chibi,

Thanks. I will be going down next week to pay my deposit. I have requested my planner to show me the invitation cards and the flavours. Hopefully is nice.

Anyone seen the bridal suite. I requested to view but they always said it was occupied. Heard is only 2 room size of deluxe rm with 1 living room. Anyone got pix to show? =P

sallz

Need to check ur package include Breakfast for 2 at their club lounge right? Anyone had Breakfast-on-bed?