Carlton Hotel

Hi ivied,

banquet mgr will call u up one week before ur AD.. run thru with u whether ur wine, reserved tables etc need to increase/decrease.. for my case, I have 1 reserve table n augustine kept checking with us if really need to "open" the table out.. coz we actually wan to open that table on tt day.. but somehow, some frens informed last min tt they cant come...so in such situation, it will be better to squeeze frens into the 10pax table.. just need to increase the amt of food at that table rather that opening up 1 table that is not fully filled etc...

ivied,

i used the player provided by carlton... u can arrange with ur sales mgr (Jxxxx) to test the system say 1-2wks b4 ur AD... then test again on the AD again...

Hi Choc,

Nice to hear your compliments abt Augustine, cos my wedding is coming to the corner... At least I no need to be worried...

Just chk with you... in the end, did you reduce your no. of confirm tables in your banquet? If you reduce to the no. of less than your confirmed no. of tables, did Carlton charge you the price of the no. of confirmed table?

Cos mine also is a weekday, and the situation now is not so positive, cos more and more guests now saying that he/she will not turn up on my big day... and my no. of tables is reducing...

As at this stage, I can say Carlton's service is at a noraml range. The initiative of sales person need to be improved, as comapred with other 3-4 * hotels.

Hi iViED,

Or you can try to call your sales co-ordinator up to make an appt abt 2 weeks+ before your AD...

Becos I feel if you meet your co-ordinator before 1 week of yr AD is a bit rush, 2 weeks is just nice, at least you can think carefully of what you want, for those item that you are unable to decide during your appt...

I think for the case the banquet manager (Augustine Ng), if it's not serious, try to open and close one eye, becos ppl also need their ricebowl too... But overall, he is quite take care (xi-xin) of the couple, although they are the pay master...

Chibi,
Dun worry so much ya... i realli feel my banquet manager Augustine is absolutely fine... dun worry abt such thing...

in the end i didnt reduce...coz mine was 35 confirmed tables and i had already taken the gimmicks liao...

and the other problems is my in laws....they simply wan to keep the existing table arrangement and would rather let 2 pple sit in a table then "lose face" to squeeze pple ..

so...end up i heck care...just stick with my own confirmed no of table...

actualli i was surprise my guest ard 95% turn up... ^_^ mine also weekday...so u dun worry so much ya...

those got "xim" to come will come

Hi, we had our wedding dineer last mth n augustine was our banquet manager, wr r veri pleased w his svc, so the above mentioned incident might be a misunderstanding?

suddenly so many ppl say good thing abt him, seems like he do his homework ah, look out for couple who come to tis site den handle their wedding, all of you here r handle by him, so co incident ?? cannot b la, carlton not onli 1 person handling wedding wat, y the ppl here all attended by him de meh ??

seriously speaking la, no matter how good he is, 1 time bad thing abt him will b enough already lor, like wat some of you all mention, he will need to treat the wedding couple like king as they will b the one paying at the end of the day

hi junie,

ya, carlton not only 1 person handling wedding, there is others who is taking charge also, i was there for my friend's wedding 2 weeks back and i was her mc, Mr Alan Lee ( think he is the BQT Supervisor ) was the co-ordinator for my friend's wedding, i can say that he is good also, he go throught everything with me and keep asking me to relax, he even take the trouble to correct my script for me. my friend who is the bride of that nite was also very happy with the service and co-odination given by Mr Alan.

for those BTB if you dun wanna Augustine to handle your wedding you can oso look for this gentlemen tat i had mention

junie_tian,

I feel that there must be some mis understanding on this issue ba.... no need to ask pple to change coordinator just because you saw him scolding his staff rite... small issue onli

please lar... our nickname and information are not revealed to him.. how can he be so aware of who came to this website and then be nice to them...

i didnt noe who my coordinator is until 2 days before my wedding....well.. .brides to be, just treat the staff and pple in carlton the way u wan to be treated... and u will be happy for the whole event..

i treated them nicely and i am a happy carlton bride.. ^_^ just stay cool and relax...

nt an event to stress about...

Actually, they just need to know your wedding date and they will know who are you.

By the way, i always see BTB posting their wedding dates and their GTD tables here..

So it's quite easy to guess.

ling yun,

I second your thought. that is actually quite easy to guess for those who really go through to read.

Same for my case. If anyone were to check my posting will noe know is my Coordinator and my actual date.

Comments for my coordinator : So far so good but he can be very franks. Thus, those who might not like that frankness might feel offended or what. Nevertheless, I still feel that I am in good hands with him.

Hi choc,

Phew... glad to hear that you have sticked to your original plan of squeezing 2 guests into your confirmed table. Otherwise, it will be a waste that just open a table for that 2 special guests, heehee

As for me, now the situation seems a little bit controlled... Because some KIV change to agree to attend... Just pray hard that there's no more ppl to "fly kite" at the last min...

chibi,....

tink i didnt say clearly... i got 2 guest in a table...coz mine is 35 confirmed table... onli 34 is full...
the 35th got to open no matter got pple anot... then happen tt some guest change their table arrangement themselves.end up tt 35th table onli 2 pple...

hahahaha

Is there two persons with the same christian name, Augustine in Carlton? I dun know whether this Augustine is the Augustine
Ng who is now the "limelight" of this thread. In any case, we tot of commenting that Augustine who was a great help on our AD. We must say that he is a very detailed person and someone who really have his clients in mind.

We had our wedding banquet at carlton in June 06.. We were told that augustine would be the one handling our AD about two weeks before. On the AD, when we were on the way to the hotel, he sms us to check if we were reaching. And, when we reached there, he was already there for us, with his other colleagues to bring my gowns and our stuff up the hotel room. Knowing that we were stressed and tried, he gave us assurance not to worry and all will be in his good hands. And, he delivered what he promised. He sent us some sandwiches after we checked in. He did not rush to brief us but instead let us rest awhile in the suite. As not to affect our resting, he asked for my main "jie mei" hp to coordinate their check in. before the banquet started, he briefed my hubby and helpers again at the ballroom. He also conducted a briefing with all the waiters and waiteresses.

Thr out the dinner, he was always there, giving us direction on what was the next step. He even helped my hubby to block off some liqor at the end of the banquet when my hubby's friends were still crazy toasting with my hubby. The next day, Augustine took the liberty to extend our check out time and saw us out when we finally left.

Like what Choc written, there might be some misunderstanding. So far, those had him as the banquet manager in this thread are happy with his service. If you are still not comfortable with the banquet manager, just ask for a change.

seems like all of you here had Augustine as ur banquet manager, glad to hear tat he is so good as god, mayb i not tat unlucky to see wat happen.

most of u were sayin that he is good but mayb becoz he treat u all good, singaporean r like tat, onli will say ppl when he is treating u nice

bery weird leh... why junie_tian so upset about pple who received gd service from Augustine...

did he owe u $$$ or wat? hehee...

i heard of pple who came in to forum just to create problems... like putting unreal comments etc.....

hmmm..are u one of them?

Hi Choc,

Haha, you just have 2 VIPs in one table...

Mine is a few days later, now very nervous with it... Cos more & more ppl starting using different (and weird) reason of not to turn up my dinner. quite worried & disappointed...

Basically I feel Augustine is alright, he doesn't seems problem, when I called him up for enquiry, he is helpful and ans my question although he is not my banquet co-ordinator. I feel BTB not to worry la...

Hi Chibi,

yalor...2 VIP in a table... =( abit sad abt it..but come to tink... its better than opening it and nobody sitting there...

relax chibi....those who will come will come..

those bo xim come ah...u keep calling them also no use... (i tried tt)....

if can... try to compact ur seating arrangement...
put 11 to a table...if u tink that some pple may not turn up... its better this way...

i actualli put 3 tables of 11 for my frens... and guess wat... those 3 tables got ard 9 pple turn up... heng man...

Wish u good luck...

Anyone have about 20 tables that fall in between the minimum for Esplanade Room & Empress Ballroom? Heard that they will have to customise and the price will be higher if I take Empress Ballroom as I have only 20 tables.

Hi Junie Tian,

I totally agreed with you , once a person have bad comments , we should blacklist him / her all the way. Read what happen , i think you should go to the hotel and kick a big buss in the lobby , and maybe invite the press along so that this matter could blow in nation wide

Once a person committed a bad service , it is like a crime... ignore those stupid yellow ribbon orject , there is nothing such as a 2nd chance or rational explanation. I mean the whole is either pure black or pure white right , where got in between ???

as for those praising Augustine , I highly suspect that they may be euther clones or worst still , mercs being paid to say good stuffs about him , who knows , his salary may be pegged to per good comment received.

please let me know if you intend to execute the plan to blow up this matter , I will be there (at the lobby) to support you.

You ardent fan

p.s we shall stick to our staunch beliefs , even though if it means no friends , no family. Thou shall exclude those who differ from our opinions. If any express a different view , he.she is a turncoat.

Hi Choc,

Yo... just finished my banquet last night.
Very very busy and nervous for the night

As for me, it's abt 90% attendance. Becos of the insufficient, we need to cut 1 table. After the banquet, the hotel sent us the qty of 1 table for supper, keke

I luv the decoration of the ballroom very much

Hi chibi..

Its an unforgettable nite for u,rite?Tat special day juz end so fast..

Hi psyduckie..

I had my wedding at carlton oct,receieved feedback from guests tat the food is so so only,but service is good..we manage to have some sharksfin,colddish n mango duck during my wedding we too feel the same as our guests,not fantastic..the sharksfin not nice..v starchy..me n my husband feel quite disappointing tat tis kind of standard from an awarded restaurant..

Hi Chibi!

must be very happy to have it all over hor?!

for me ah... i was so happy to know that i managed to cover all the cost... so... happy ending lor

ok lar... on a weekday got 90% attendance is consider very good lor...

hehehe...at least u guys wun waste the food mah...can get to eat the remainding... ^_^

Hi jaclyn & choc,
Ya, really can relax and enjoy my honeymoon after the whole event was over

Hi psyduckie,
The food of Carlton is not bad (as in paying this price), no worries

For those complimentary vouchers after the banquet, is it a MUST that the couple uses them or we can give it to our families to use? any idea?

hi jennie,

so so nia leh...the suite is spacious, with a living room, study desk... but the pity is onli one toilet...

decoration more towards classic feel lor...

flowers? hmmm... got plants lar... i dun see much flowers inside

but from wat i know the augustine very well known in tis wed site, seems like lot of ppl here n alot of ppl having their wedding at carlton is handle by him, if not then they request to have him as co-ordintor....dun know wat is so good abt him, reali cannot believe tat he is tat good after wat i saw abt him quarrelling wif his staff n scolding all those vulganrities.....

wah! i cant believe till now someone still bearing a grudge...

got 2 methid lar
1) choose another coordinator
2) find another hotel ba

Hi Kimi,

May I know who's your co-ordinator that resigned?

I just had my banquet with them, their service is gd, think you dun hv to worry

Hey all,

I think the coordinator Kimi talking about is Eunice. I also just received an email from her saying that she is leaving Carlton too and a Banquet Sales Mgr by the name of Rose will take over.

For me, my AD only in Nov 07, so i am not too bothered by it. Hotel banquet sales people move around in the industry, maybe by then, i would have a new coordinator too. Heh...

Anyway, i recently attended a wedding at Carlton. I would say the service is not too bad and food is generally above average.
So i'm not too worried. Heh...

Good luck to those BTB whose Ad is nearing.

hi kimi and gelaine,

we are some sort in the same boat. rose will be our new coordinator but mine is rom solemnisation and not wedding banquet.hope that it will work out well for those who have rose as coordinator.

kimi,
u are also in the march 07 rom solemnisation thread.u replied to my first post! nice to see u hear again.

Jus received a quotation for 2007 wedding package fr Carlton Hotel n I can't believe it...comparing to the price quoted for Year 2006, the price difference is $130! Ridiculous! Does tis applies to all hotels n restaurants or jus Carlton???

Hi elchwong,

Hmm... how much is the pricing now? Are u looking at Saturday packages instead? For me, I booked my Nov 07 banquet this yr in March. And the increment I had is not as much.
Some brides here even had the increment waived.

Hi Elchwong,

Hmm, from what I read from the forum is year 2007 have a increase of $30 from year 2006 package.

How abt you chk with your co-ordinator abt the accuracy of pricing ba...

I think all the wedding banquet co-ordinators is being titled as mgr.