Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

Angie, do u noe the bride fm China photos? they shhot all OD ler...China got many nice scenery to shoot hor...so pretty *envy*

Susan, if got enuf cash, definitely can save the interest. That's why i am saving really hard, squeeze stomach, for my house reno in Msia.

Don't know the interest for house reno is so high in Spore. Think they treat it as personal loan. LK, luckily u can get loan from company at lower rate.

not worth to get loan lah... but also not wise to dump all available cash into reno, may have liquidity prob lo... sigh... money not enuff ah

Luckily now most shops got credit card 0%instalment plan for purchase of furniture and electrical appliances. Else, on top of reno fee still need spend a lot money on these furnishings. But think these stores actually charge higher if we pay by instalments. Like i just bot a digi cam from Sim Lim. The price for my digi cam if by credit card is S$100 plus more than if by cash! So in the end i choose to pay by cash. Not worth to spend additional S$100 to pay by credit card lah...

Actually not worth paying high interest rate on renovation loan.
For us, instead of getting renovation loan, some of our furnitures we go on credit card interest free installment plan for 6months or 12months.

So far, in Spore, most of the big furniture shop do have installment plan with same rate as paying cash.
Jas, Sim Lim's shops always want a cash payment..even u pay by credit card without installment plan, they will charge another 2%

If any of u wanted to buy digital camera or videocam, can go to Cathay Photo at Marina Sq, they offer same rate for installment plan. My colleague just bought one Sony v-cam about $3k by Citibank 12Mths Installment plan.

i agree to go for 0% interest if it's allowable. PR doesn't entitled for HDB Home loan, rite and don't think it's available anymore ..

anyone knows about flexible/fixed home loan from banks?

talking about 0% interest by credit cards, which banks offer the best deal in credit cards in terms of annual fee, privileges, benefits, etc ..

Susan, PR can opt for bank home loan which offer competitive housing loan, some as low as 2.65%pa. U can choose fixed or floating i/r. U may want to check their website to compare.

I used to think Citibank CC has more privileges than other cards, especially on dining. Recently i found my UOB Lady's Card is better as they are getting more discounts for shopping and dining.

Haha, i apply Standard Chartered CC becos of the free travelling bag.

Other CC useful to me is OCBC Robinson card as i visit Robinson quite often.

Ya, UOB Lady's Card holder also entitled 1 free spa and fitness at Planet Hollywood per month. So far, never utilise this benefit at all.

does any of the credit cards provide free annual fee? seems like UOB lady's card is good hoh ..

Jas, which bank gives 2.65% interest loan? I wonder when the bank meant floating home loan, does it means something like what M'sia is practicing but called BLR (base lending rate) ..

Normally most of the card will give at least 1st year waive of annual fee. DBS Black Card now have 2 years free and think POSB CC even 5 years!
Ya, I think among all cards that i have, UOB Lady's card gives me more benefit. ;p

Susan, not too sure which bank as seen from newspaper sometime ago on housing loan comparisons among banks. Think Maybank is quite competitive here.

Yes, when they say floating, it will be the housing board rate +/- x%. Current HBR rate is 3.75%. Just checked Maybank's variable rates for HDB loan, very cheap. 1.88% for 1st yr, 2.18% 2nd yr, and 2.6% subsequent years!

U thinking of buying a house here?

Jas, yeah - in the stage of planning, researching & gathering info .. heard that Maybank offers good rate too .. in MY, a lot of companies r offering free annual credit card fee but mine is still paid annually.

mrc, tlc,

no lar i dont know the bride in that page hehe..

but i love this china's PS.. so wish to share with all of you lor. i emailed that photography service before leh and they did reply!! they said they got business from many foreigners also kekeke..

that 's why i said, go there when we are rich.... kekek

Angie, u mean the china bs is more expensive than here?

Susan, yalor, many Msia CC offer free for life oredi. Mine is Direct Access CC, it's free for life. And last weekend saw UOB also give life time free in Msia but no free gifts when u sign up.

So good ha, now both u and hubby PR oredi can start searching for a house. Plus a baby is on the way. Wow...

hey angie, u noe wat...one of couple sample fm ur link, i act got it before by mail. & i printed out for Eric reference ler... keke~

susan, so far i have not paid any annual fees for my CC, usually after the 1st year free, i will cancel my card, but they will usually extend another free year for me... hahaha.. I agree UOB CC is gd, I like the UOB metro card. 3 years free from the start.

Susan think Maybank is really competitive here, maybe u can try. Which area of house are u plannig to buy?

tlc, u printed out in colour? Else the image won't be clear rite?

Thinking of doing the same thing too, but do not have colour printer... ;(

haha... ya usually they will just waive off the fees lah... coz they still earn comm from your expenses on that CC mah.. so it will be silly of them to cancel our CC..

LK, r u taking Maybank home loan too? wow, u smart leh, can escape from paying cc annual fee, he he he .. currently staying at Bedok central, so kinda like this place very much, hopefully can get one here loh ..

Jas, the card provider is smart, if u're getting free gifts, u need to pay for the annual fee or vice-versa ..

susan, i m on hdb loan.. but i once considered Maybank home loan. but i worry the floating rate for later years of the loan may increase too high, so chose hdb loan instead even though the 1st 3 years of Maybank's rate was really low. Some people are able to pay off their loan within 3 years, then it is cheaper for them to take bank loan coz the first 3 years rate is lower.

bedok is a nice area. convenient too... u consider buying over the place u currently rent?

ya true... mrc is rite, shd be v costly there... maybe u wana consider new flats at punggol or sengkang, heard PRs can buy too

Actually i think Pasir Ris not bad, flats are newer and not too crowded. Have been staying in that area for about 4 years. Like Pasir Ris more than Yew Tee where i m staying now...

Yeah, Bedok is a mature estate, don't mind if could get one exactly at the central .. have not thought of other estates (will be taking sometime to look & perhaps to give a consideration too). I think those leftovers at Punggol/Sengkang are those not 'nice' type.

LK, HDB loan is still applicable for citizen?

Jas, I've stayed in Pasir Ris before this .. & Tampines too .. but thinking of hubby as he's working at Pandan Crescent (Clementi).

Looking at UOB credit cards, so many types .. are they all the same?

susan,
you might be wrong... at least the whole place is newer and the concept is very diff from bedok! lots of gardens but the only thing is its quite inconvenient lah...

the good thing abt bedok is there's lots of good food at the central, cheap things also and many direct buses to town..all facilities are there compared to new estate like punggol.

susan, yes, hdb loan is still applicable to citizens. Each citizen entitled to 2 times of the hdb concession loan, but the 2nd time must be upgrading of flats then only be given, eg, change from 4 rm to 5rm...

Susan, u don have to look for bank loan rate first..every month they r changing. Very competitive now. When u get the hse, then decide which bank to go. Sometimes your agent might have lobang with bank.

PR are not able to take HDB loan at this moment..they already changed the rule in Year 2002

susan, yes, hdb loan is still applicable to citizens. Each citizen entitled to 2 times of the hdb concession loan, but the 2nd time must be upgrading of flats then only be given, eg, change from 4 rm to 5rm...

Marilyn, I'm not talking about the design of the flat or layout of the township ler .. what i meant was more to the interior of the house - built with a lot corners, small build-up etc .. and you are wrong as i'm not doing any comparison between Punggol/Sengkang with Bedok.

HDB loan gives a cheaper interest rate, is it .. yaloh, i believe agent will recommend the best home loan for the buyer ..

Buying a unit must look for layout..most important is easy to buy furniture without customise needed. New designer flat only look nice outside..inside comes with corners which difficult to display furniture. And the build-up for old flat like 6yr-10yr-old is much bigger than the newer flat unit

susan, hdb loan is 2.6%pa flat.
banks usually first year v low of 1+%, then 2nd yr 2+%, 3rd year onwards may be higher and sometimes can go as high as 3-4% i think... not sure...

hey gals, i doing updating housing loan rates now ler...fm chart, Maybank offer not bad! all rates update as of 6th June, Sunsan & LK, u interest?

i'm not saying you're comparing bedok and punggol..merely saying you might be wrong to think that all the left overs are not nice type lah...

in singapore the government do not released all the flat at one go..they will hold back certain units (some really good floor with good view and near amenities) and wait for the estate to mature then release so the government can earn more money...

i think for you're looking for good location unit rather than a new unit... usually good location units very expensive.. i have a girl friend who bought a resale flat in queenstown ( close to town, 5 minutes to MRT, high floor, extremely huge flat and near amenities) for $600K!!!! i was shocked! for the amount of money, she can buy a condo liao...but she opt for this cos she like the location and the size of the flat..1.5 time bigger than mine!!

Dracy, i'm interested lah in your loan research .. anymore info that u're gathering?? Just for reference, like Anne said, will still need to get the updates at a later stage.

Marilyn, yeah - we're looking for convenientability due to our working place, one at east, another one in the west. I've been to Punggol/Sengkang and defnitely like the exterior outlook of the flats.

LK - oh, the HDB loan is low hoh .. if given a choice, one should get loan from HDB .. is there any cons that HDB doesn't provide but private banks do?

Susan, send to u laio...i just update it for my co. use, so coincident ur discussing here too...hehe

yah...we r PR n able get HDB loan few yrs back...

em.. susan... usually bank loans come with some freebies like free valuation of property done, waiver of legal fees etc and sometimes can get house insurance at lower rate.. but hdb loan, nothing.. just flat rate of 2.6%

tlc, can email me too? me kpo... hahah :p

Dracy, thanks a lot, browsed thru it, ah .. seems like HSBC also give good rate leh but don't know what they mean by Smart Mortgage rate ..

Ping, don't envy lah, it's bo-pien and bo CPF, must ngeh-ngeh-lai & chiak taugeh liau, now depending on our savings for everything.

LK - oh ya, so, that's the privileges getting loan from banks .. but in the long run, hdb loan still show more savings ya ..

tlc, thanks ah!

ya, long run hdb loan still a better rate. Also if default on loan payment (touchwood lah), hdb more lenient on giving grace period, but banks may just repossess the flat lo...

susan, u don't have cpf quite tough on you hor... must come out with 20% cash downpayment..
u should also take note that there are some other cost to consider leh... like like 1% commission to agents if u go thro them, stamp duty (can be a few thousand on top of purchase price) and miscellaneous processing fees... oh ya not forgetting the cash above valuation if any...