Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

Ecc, sure no pro! remember keep it for urself ya, gals...just for reference oly lar...

no need coffee lar...BUT teh, hahaah, just kidding

Marilyn, I'm not surprise your friend paid $600k for a bigger unit in Queenstown. We ever view there which is a few blocks opp MRT, near the church and condo. The price starting fr $380k for 4-rm unit..some even asking for $440k.

My colleague sold her Toa Payoh 5-rm, 30th floor unit for $590k and she moved to condo bcoz wanted her daughter going to Raffles Girl at Bkt Timah.

I think a few areas of HDB fetch higher price than condo, like Bishan, Toa Payoh, Queenstown, Redhill, Tiong Bahru, Holland Village, Ghim Moh, Tampines, Marine Parade and Paris Ris.
These r all the matured estate that asking for real high value.

LK - yeah, i'm aware on all those fees incurred .. bo pien, no CPF & not intending to get the 16% out of HDB 20% deposit from bank too ... ok, see how myself can struggle thru this, he he he

Anne, does it mean that the residents staying at those places will make money out of their flats if they would to sell their properties away, right .. LK, that's why you also ngeh-ngeh choose Marine Parade area lah ..

Elaine, I tot your hubby has one liau .. how's your planning like?

Susan, if u r buying resale at high price, u think u can make $$ out of it when u sell later on? My colleague Toa Payoh flat buying price only $228k first hand 51/2yrs back..that's y she can make $$ now. Now the new owner bought fr her at $590k..next time u think the new owner can fetch $800k? I don't think so..

susan... no lah, i choose marine parade becoz i like the area, have been staying there for 7 years liao. It's heartpain to pay high price for the flat.
Anne is correct, usually on the 1st owner will make $ out of the flat when they sell after 5 years. 2nd owner onwards usually won't fetch a higher price to make a gain anymore.

Morning ladies...
296932.gif

Actually those flats at north area cheaper hor. My fren bot a 4-room resale flat at Yishun at less than S$200k, and another one bot 5-room resale flat at Choa Chu Kang at S$240k.

anne, ur colleague really make a lot of money from the deal hor. But TPY is a hot area so can fetch higher price.

No lar susan. At the moment staying with MIL. Just that we want to get our own place, so friends & my family can stay over when they visit. I'm keen on TP but prices are steep and no new development. Maybe Punggol. Further but then prices are affortable lor.

I forgot ladies, but anyone staying at Punggol now? How's the buses, transport and traffice flow in the morning? It's basically my main concern.

yah...jas is correct. My family bot 4-room resale at woodlands nearly S$200k, wat's more bigger size than newly build 4rm & no blocking, easy access to martket & scholl ler...

Ecc, TP defintely exp...since after HDB hub der, n air-con interchange...a whole city just re-alive than last time. Cos i working der, can see then BIG diff these yrs. the housing pricing keep increasing even 3rm. There's new flat, wif highest floor...think 40 floor.

ya, houses in the west and up north are much much cheaper lo, but the location not v gd lah, i mean still accessible but not near town lo, so have to travel quite far to almost everywhere.

so it v much depends on individual's criteria for choosing houses lah

Toa Payoh is very convenient but the flats there quite old. My fren bot a 4 room resale there a few years ago at $280k, and it's very old...

How about Tanjong Pagar and Tiong Bahru?

Ah, tlc, u work in a real estate agency firm rite?

eccentric,
me and evelyn_mao staying at punggol!!
Me staying very near the LRT, 5 mins walk..the frequency of LRT very good, better than bus..butthe after LRT still have to take MRT lah...at the moment there's no direct buses to town, but we have direct bus to tampines, pasir ris and hougang i think.

To go to town, usually we will take LRT then MRT to dhouby gaut (35-40 mins) and change..

Traffic flow for cars?? Dun know what to say cos there's jam every where in singapore one lah..to me, it's quite all right

But dun expect Punggol to be as "wang" as Bishan, ang mo kio, tao payoh, bedok, woodlands or tampines cos it's basically a very new town. Not much facilities except a small punggol plaza (good enough for me at the moment cos there's wet market, NTUC, watson, food court and other shops). No swimming pool or cinema and no big food fourt..

One thing i like abt punggol is lots of garden and big green patches for pets to run and to fly "layang"!!! the wind is good.. almost every evening, residents nearby my unit will bring out their layang and play

Jas,
your collegue that bought the 5rm flat for SGD240K got a good deal mann...It must be very big right cos CCK flat are normally very big!!

i bought my 4room resale a few months ago.. at yishun.. not sure whether it's cheap or expensive?

i bought at 230k , the blk facing the reservouir one at khatib..

so is the house pricing going up now?

Mrc, yalor...CCK/Yew Tee 5room v BIG, my coll oso bot her resale flat der, v worth it lar, near MRT sumore!

angie, think since last yr July onwards, Yishun, Sembawang, Admiralty area's hdb units especially 4-rm fetch higher price.
We bought our 4-rm at Sembawang for $215k in Year2002, and just 3 months ago my neighbour sold same unit size like mine 2 floor higher at $260k

marilyn, ya, units at CCK/YT areas are big! Think she bot it last year, so maybe that time property price still quite low.

Another fren better, he bot a 3 bedrooms condo at Upper Bukit Timah at only $500k plus! Been to his house b4. Very new and quite big! Even my hubby think it's a good price for such a condo.

tlc, since u work at real estate agency, any lobang for our house-seekers here?

Jas, i work as backend staff in office, not as agent...not so familiar wif those agent since i not at counter site serve them. But if u wan, can help intro lor...

Haha... Maybe next time when my turn seeking for house here then ask you to introduce.

To9 got facial and hubby will pick me from Kame's house to go back JB.

So fast, Monday PS oredi...

jas,
ya, no doubt 500K very attractive price for a big condo at upper bukit timah but unfortunately i got no $100K cash to pay for downpayment..hehe... and me not willing to be in debt for a long time just to own a nice apartment lah...haha....

and what if hor one day kena retrench, jialat... no money to pay installment, then kena force to sell the place
oopss...me not cursing your collegue.. ur collegue very cash rich is it?

Haha marilyn, u so cute.

He is not my colleague but my fren's hubby. Work as a IT Manager with PWC and from a quite well-to-do family in Sarawak. Think he got some support from his family for the house lah. Else so young save hard hard also extremely tough to have $100k rite...

Jas, enjoy ur PS ya! feel exicted & nervour not?....n remember tis time can bring along ur digit cam liao! do u take leave on tuesday?

tlc, feel excited but not nervous lah. Yep, this time got my digi cam to take photos on Mon. Didn't apply leave for tues. If really too tired, then maybe tues take 1/2 day urgent leave lor. ;p

Jas > sorry to bother u again.. need to get more infos from u.. as u were saying tat ur cousin were holding on to WP last yr end when she came to work in a bank..
can i know how long has she been hodling on to this WP/how long has she been working here when holding on to WP?
Wat is her qualification? estimated income at that point in time when she is holding to WP?
u sos mentioned tat she first apply for EP? is it successful? her EP is S/P/Q pass? any idea how she go abt applying for her EP? ( juz submit the form to MOM? )
Coz from wat i know is that as long as u dun earn ~ 1.8k, cannot apply for any pass leh (S/Q/P), die die can onli hold on to WP onli.
very curious how come she managed to get her EP?

I know i beri loh soh... but i sort of frustrated n kan cheong lah for my fiance.

Susan > u were oso mentioning that ur co worker oredi got his PR upon submittig his ROM cert, n sponsored by his wifey who is a PR ya..

any idea how long is his wife working in sg already huh? coz u were saying she earn < 1.5k n her qualification is oso lower ya (is it diploma or SPM?) How come in the first place his wife can get a PR? any idea how she got it a not? coz from what u mentioned, seems like she dun meet the requirement for PR leh?

melodygirl,

My gf got good SPM results, so she got EP although pay less than 1.5k. After a few months, she applied and got her PR, hehe. That was during 2000-2001. Don't think the same rules still apply now, right? They do change their rules from time to time.

Has yr bf filed an appeal?

I remember the first time I applied for EP I was rejected. My employer helped me draft appeal letter and subsequently, they approved the application, hehe. This was way back in 1996.

Now u know how terribly old I am, can only tell u stone-aged stories, hehehe.

Hi melodygirl,

My cousin started working here October last year, after she graduated from Australia. She works in OCBC with a salary of $2k plus. She applied EP think sometime Feb this year, and got it 1 mth later. Not sure what class of EP she is holding. And she just submitted her PR application 1 month ago. Now waiting anxiously for approval. She said her colleague who is in similar situation as her has oredi got her PRship. So she very kam cheong now...

U said ur bf applied for PR b4 but got rejected. Did ICA explain the reason?

To add on wat Sunsnow said, u may have to call or go Ministry of Manpower to check whether ur bf need to get approval before u can ROM, as he is a WP holder. That happen to my hubby as he was a ex-WP holder more than 10 yrs ago! We only find out 2 months ago but oredi ROM in Msia last October. So we purposely take half day leave to go MOM, end up the officer told us for my hubby's case, no need to seek approval as there are some changes recently on this rule and hubby fall under category NO approval is required for marriage. General rule is: If ur spouse is a WP/EP or ex-WP/EP, he/she need to get MOM prior approval before can get married. But not sure how for ur bf's situation. Better check first.

angie and tlc, thanks! Hope the PS go smoothly. This Sunday evening will go down bs first to try the gowns again to ensure the alteration is alrite.
If weather is good, we will go OD PS first this Mon, then next Mon ID PS. But if rains then terbalik lor.

Yalor, sunsnow, back in KL and back to being broke. Really miss the S$ but of course life here is better becoz family around and can drive and be lazy. No need to depend on public transport, kekeke.

Ping, u pack your delivery bag already?? will load the pic taken this weekends.
Susan and the rest is waiting to see your tummy..wahahaha

Hihi sp, I hope i can be as "xiao1 sa3" as u lei... Sometimes i do think shd i give up my work here and go back jb instead of ask my hubby to give up his job in jb to come here. Sigh... Very hard decision...

On my PS, actually more look forward to ID one as not as tiring and more "zhao4 xin2", more interesting hor... ;p K, sure will snap some photos to share wif u gals.

Haiyo anne... Thot u forgot the photos of u &amp; sp taken in Genting liao... haha, looking forward to see ur photos next week.

Ping, u start packing oredi ha? Very soon liao rite?

Jas, so tis monday is OD PS if weather ok...den ID ah...diff pratice wif my BS. remeber take sunblock wif whitening lotion during OD, where is ur ID place?

Melodygirl - about my colleague's case, yup, he's a WP holder, earning salary less than $1500 .. i believe before year 2003, his wife already obtained her PR. I don't think she has diploma and she is still earning salary < S$1500 because the husband said that her CPF contribution is only S$300/month based on 20% deduction.

as before 2003, the PR restriction wasn't that tight and many of my PR colleagues (with low salary) now got their PR before 2003 and they even said, the government offered the PR status to them ..

I came right after 2003 and I've been researching about PR and the rules changed after SARs .. that must be a EP holder first before can apply and now, lately, if u're an S pass holder, u can apply liau ..

and for ROM, because my colleague's wife is a PR and he's a WP, they informed MOM about their ROM and got approval for that, eventhough they did their ROM in M'sia .. they didn't go thru any ROM in Singapore.

so, it's proven that if u can't obtain EP/S pass, then you must get ROM (advance MOM approval is required), then should be no problem liau in getting a PR ..

Jas, your cousin has a degree but because her salary is <$2.5k, therefore, she's only entitled for WP but since, she has the qualification, she tried for the EP and she got it.

Jas, going for your PS - shoot mei-mei ah .. give the sweetest smile, ok ..

Dracy - give the greatest smile too for your outdoor PS!!

Ping - he he, want to see how penguin you are, ha ha ha .. i'm definitely a one now!!

Anne, Jas,

Hospital bag not packed yet! Hb thinks it's still too early, hahaha. He said if I want, next week can start packing. He's "confident" bb will listen to him and come out on EDD 27/7, so still got plenty of time, kakaka

How nice to hv easy-going hb to balance my gan-cheong nature, heh heh heh.

wah, HDB houses in good location are really expensive hoh, but anyhow, still belong to the government, right ... doing renovation must get approval from them too, is it?

Hi Susan, thks...my OD PS next week after Jas...

Jas &amp; LK, normally wat item included in PG/VG pkg? not sure market at all.....wat shld we ask to take note for PG/VG pkg? can we opt out some items &amp; ask for bargain like wat we did when sign up BS? any idea......