Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

SP, thanks for the pic, you looked very lovely and sweet.

wonder what's the correct name to call the photo slide presentation ......

SP, your pic well taken..so sweet. I heard Ivory Romance is quite famous in KL. My friend also taken their package.

Hi Ladies, wah... looks like i miss out alot.

Susan, thks for yr advice. Most likely, I will get one silcon bar for myself. Recently its quite popular too, only $49.90 Oh... i am counting down to my PS. One more month to go.... Hey Susan yr "Thee Ching" is on the same day as my PS... heee...

My BS cover a flat MISC chages of RM50 which they guarantee that no addition charges. It will cover all like the fake eyelashes, ampoule etc. I hope they mean it.

PS, thank so much for the great tips. I guess this will serve as a guideline for us. I really don want to top up xtra. PS, can share yr photo with me too. [email protected]

Thks alot.

BB..she is SP not PS

I think is normal for us to say not to top up extra..but at the end of the day when u see good result u will tend to love it and top up a lot more..I'm very good example lor..LOL! Top up for $1600
now very poor de

Hi, BB_2! Sent to you liao

BB_2, you know, last time also I told ppl I won't top up... in the end, top-up abt 50% of my package price, hehe... So Anne, you are not alone... me also top up until very poor

BB_2, we are still waiting for you to tell us about your package, maybe when you have time lah. Seriously, RM3188 for a package is not expensive in KL. Most of my gf paid 3-4K for their PS. Very hard to spend below 3K - too many temptations, some more the BS will tell you, "once in a lifetime mah, so please spend more", hahahahaha...

My "mummy" gf tells me this: after her wedding, album went under the bed. Once her baby came out, baby photos take over the photo frames in the house. So, why spend so much on PS? Kekeke...

SP: I got my package in SG..so definately double the price compared to ppl taken in MY rite? I went home last week..ppl start asking how much I paid for and so on..I told them adding up the photo I paid S$5600+/- and my cousin was so shock by telling me "u crazy fellow, spent >RM10k for just the bridal package!" Sigh..what to do..
Now when I keep asking my hubby issit worth topping up $1600 for the photo :P to him the answer always the same "once a life time" pls drop the topic..hahaha

Susan, I got my invitation cards from one of the shop in KL. My cousin bro brought me there..not sure where is the place.
I find more varieties in KL than SG..and the best part is we only paid half the price
hehehe
Mine is RM1.45/pc without printing.

Oppss... Sorry SP not PS. Actually abit down these two days bcos of some office work. So abit blur blur.Hee...

talk abt my package. Hee.. actually my FH is the one who bargain for the price.
I only knw few detail abt it. I promise to share w u gals tomorrow. okie?

Price : RM$3188
Additional : RM$50

Photos:
Big album ard 50-60pcs
Small album 4R 21 pcs
3 wall picture (i xchange 1 big pix to 3pic)

PS: (outdoor & studio same day)
2 WG, 2 EG, 4 traditional (might change to 2 EG)
Outdoor (repeat 1 WG above)
1 fresh flowers hand bouquet (AD)
1 make up for PS

AD:
1 WG (2nd hand)
1 EG (2nd hand)
Groom one coat
1 hand bouquet, 1 bridal car deco
Jie mei's car deco provided but hv to tie yrself.

Others:
1 VCD (one song to display the photos)
1 12R crystal frame w/o photo

Sorry, the rest can't remember liao....

Susan, the printing for my invitation card was done by the restaurant here. The draft are almost done. My worry is the cards for Msia. Both me and FH are rather busy recently so didn't hv the time to settle some items overthere. oh forgot to tell u gals, my banquet cover the printing for my cards in spore. wonderful right. but limited choice of cards.

I don't find paying something extra for self satisfaction is ridiculous, as long as it is affordable by the payer. But to make one-self satisfied by commiting crimes and piled with debts, than this is totally unreasonable and not worth for a respect at all.

Anne, don't worry, I think the money u spent is more worth than the satisfaction u're getting.

R u ladies planned to have your pic printed for the card?

Susan: Ya, true. My hubby said so long we satisfied with the service and paying for something we admire is most important. That's y we paid huge sum to get the zhuan tou zhou converted to the montage canvas.
I don't print my pic on the card. My florist in MY told me this is outdated and orbiang..hahaha

Ya, actually as long as worth paying and we really like it, i thk that is fine.

I don't think i will be printing my photos on the invitation cards. Just in case i found my invitation cards w my photos in a dustbin.

BB, agree with u. When I went down to select my invitation card, my mom keep telling me just buy a simple one will do. This is just a notification to our guests..no need to spend so much. Furthermore, after the event, all the cards will be in the "tong sampah".
I like one of the card, but it is too expensive. One card costs RM4.50 without printing..a bit crazy if I gotta spend that :P

Very true, what everyone is saying. As long as we like it, and we don't overspend & end up in heavy debt, who cares what other ppl say, hahaha...

I am Malaysian Bride too !!! My FH is Singaporean. I will be holding my wedding at KL and Singapore 2 weeks apart next march.

Hi SP, SusanY,

I have already booked both wedding dinner in Singapore and Malaysia.

I am not worry about my wedding in Singapore as I've already have a BS to take care of everything.

However back in KL, I am still lack of pro. photographers for tea ceremony and wedding dinner. I don't know where to find a makeup artist to come to my KL house too. Headache.... Hope you gals can "enlighten" me with some information.

Thank you in advance.

When's your wedding day?

yybb, maybe you can ask your friends & family to recommend their make-up artists. If really don't have, let me know. I have a few contact numbers.

As for prof photographers, my gf's sis engaged Covershots to do her AD photography & was very pleased with the results. However, she said they are quite expensive. She took the 4 hours package & paid >RM3K (including top-ups). Here is the link:

http://www.covershots.com.my/weddings-2.asp

Oops, Anne, I forgot to answer your question!
My AD is on 30/10, dinner on 31/10. When is yours?

BB_2, when is your AD? So far I only know Susan's on Christmas Day! Very special!

SP: my AD in on 28/11, but I have 2 seperate banquet. My hometown on 27/11 and my hubby side on 28/11.

YYBB: Welcome here
If u need any make-up artist, I can recommend mine for u.
For AD photographer and videographer, I can recommend, but dunno whether they intend to do it in KL. FYI, I'm from Penang..they also from Penang, but work in KL before.

hi anne,

Congrats!!
Anyway can you provide me your make-up artist contacts? Thanks. Both ur banquet will be in Penang?

YYBB: I'll have 2 seperate banquet, Penang and Kangar. My hubby is from Kangar, Perlis.
Pls leave me your e-mail, I'll forward my make-up artist contact to u.

Hi yybb, welcome!

Hi Ladies, MIA for quite a while. My company is having the downsizing activities these few days. Some of my colleagues were forced to leave. So sad ...
Life is so unpredictable.

SP, my AD is the same as Susan.
25Dec04. I will Chu Jia from Batu Pahat's hotel to FH house. Then will be back the next day to serve tea to my parent. Follow by a wedding dinner the next day.

Here goes my package!!
I have my receipt w me now. Hope its not too long...

RM$3288
1 WG, 1 EG,
Photo Make up
1 Fresh Bouquet
Car Decoration (To be return)
Photo:
12 X 15 - Album
one front cover
12 X 30 - 10pages of "Kwa Yue" Continuous press (Neg 40) (something like story book)
8R - 1.T.T
12 X 15 - 3 pcs (which i convert 1 huge wall pic to 3 wall pic
6 X 8 - 20 pages of "Kwa Yue" Niang Jia Zhao
3R - 60
VCD - 1 Song to display our photo

Sorry ladies, hope its not too confusing. Hee... Me copy actually frm the receipt.

Hi BB, your arrangement of Chu Jia and dinner reception seems weird ler..
Usually bride will have their reception earlier than groom..u shd have your dinner reception one day before u Chu Jia. As for serving tea to your parents, it should be the AD or the day before too.
This is just what my granny told me, hope u don't mind..I just share with u this is what normally ppl arrange for couple who come fr 2 seperate places. Like myself, is a good example. For me, my tea ceremony gonna be one day earlier than my AD during my dinner reception at the hotel. AD chu jia fr my hse will have a lil relatives with tea ceremony and proceed to my hubby hometown for their tea ceremony and dinner later on.

Hi anne, don't worry its fine.

Initially, there are lots of disagreement and comments on this before we decide the arrangement. Some wanted weekend lah, some wanted within a week etc...
So actually, we didn't really follow the traditional way of doing. Just trying to get a convenient way when both the families are happy. So ended this type of arrangement.

But we will still serve tea when I chu jia frm htl to MIL's hse. To have wedding lunch in msia is also convenient for those staying far away. Then going back the other day act like hui niang jia loh...

BB, is good that both parents are understanding..
For me and my hubby, we don't really care much what others said too. I keep telling my parents this is my wedding not others. Y bother :P
I also have my tea ceremony a day before my AD..at least my parents support the idea..some relatives keep telling me cannot coz they said must do it on AD.

BB_2, I can't send you the link to my PS photos - the email came back "unposted".

Oh, yes, thanks for sharing your package information, BB_2. You are getting so many pictures, so nice! :D

Back from photo selection ... spent about 6 hours at BS last Friday ... phew, quite satisfied with the result but of course the service is still very bad. Managed to stay within the limitation given ie. 42 poses.

Also, I've confirmed with the photographer (freelance) and videographer in engaging their services.

Haiyayaya, left invitation card which I've not done ......

Hi to all!
I'm used to be Malaysian but now i've got S'pore citizen already. Since most of my relatives (95%) are in M'sia, I would like to hold 2 dinners, one in S'pore and other in M'sia. I intend to hold near my grandma's place call Rawang. (wonder if you all know where it is.
Can i ask if there's any thing i need to specially prepare? I intend to do my own makeup as I'll be there only for the dinner.

And how about the tea ceremony? Can I have 2 separate tea ceremonies? Which one should be the 1st? S'pore or M'sia? And do i need to prepare wedding invitation cards?

Thanks and i think i'm real "sua ku" in this esp i'll be doing this in somewhere i'm not familiar with. :P

hi, Mandy, welcome to the group.

Singaporeans practice tea ceremony at the groom side first, after bride 'chu-jia' from her parents' house, then come back again to her parents' house for bride's side tea ceremony.

It's vice-versa for M'sian customary where the bride will hold the tea ceremony at her place first before 'chu-jia', followed by tea-ceremony at the groom side.

Also, in Singapore, if separate dinner is held, the groom's family will hold the dinner earlier than the bride's family. And the other way round for M'sian.

So, in your case, it all depends on both side family agreement - guess yours will follow the Singaporean style.

Printing of invitation card is usually needed for your relatives in M'sia.

Anything for you to prepare - maybe Angpow for tea ceremony? And where will u be 'chu-jia'?

Am i right, ladies?

Hi Mandy,
I think I am in the same situation like you.
I will be holding 2 wedding dinners. One in Singapore, the other in KL-Malaysia.

What I do is, there will be 2 tea ceremonies as all my relatives will be attending my wedding dinner as well as tea ceremony in Singapore. My wedding dinner and tea ceremony in Singapore will be for my FH family, relatives and friends. Whereas in KL, the wedding dinner and tea ceremony will be for my family, relatives and friends.

Since I've decided that the "qu xin niang" ceremony will be in Singapore, so I have to choose auspicious date for that. After that the Malaysia one will only be tea ceremony and wedding dinner, no more "qu xin niang". I think it doesn't matter which one comes first.

You will have to prepare invitation cards for both Malaysia and Singapore if you plan to have wedding dinners.

Hope this answer your questions.

YYBB, SusanY : Thanks for your info and advice!

SusanY, i seriously dunno where i'll "chu jia". I din know it can be so complicated...

Gals, if "qu xin niang" is in s'pore, do i still hv tea ceremony in s'pore? cos my relatives here incl my parents, are only like less then 15. Of course i cant force all my relatives (my father's side) from s'pore to attend the m'sia tea ceremony cos maybe some of them are not convenient to attend.

If let's say we decided to "qu xin niang" in s'pore and hold one tea ceremony n dinner in s'pore and another in m'sia...Is it compulsory that my FH's parents must be present at the m'sia tea ceremony and must we offer tea to them again?

Pls dun be mistaken that I dun want to offer tea to them
i dun want to say the wrong things only...

If fact we'll like to have my FH's parents to be there. So does it mean if i "qu xin niang" in S'pore, then i just picked a lucky time in m'sia for that day and immediately proceed with tea ceremony already?

Hi ladies..seems like quite complicated from the "chu jia" and "qu xin niang" in 2 different places ya.
To me, i treat both the same..I'll "chu jia" from my house in Penang..but we will have 2 seperate reception banquet. Bride side will held 1 day earlier, which is 27 Nov (my AD is 28 Nov). Since my AD is quite in a rush to travel over to my In-law's place, therefore,brideside will have our tea ceremony 1 day earlier(my dad's family quite a big crowd) at the hotel boardroom before my dinner reception.
My itenerary for my AD is morning "chu jia" from my hse, then we will go round and take some photographer on the road..then back to my hse again to have a few tea ceremony to my mom's relatives (small group) then proceed the journey to Groom's house in Perlis. Reach there, we will have groom family for tea ceremony..and set off to the hotel there to get ready for the dinner reception in the evening.

Mandy: this is all depends on how we want it to be and how we planned for it..
For us, we don't have any "pantang"..so for convenient and time saving, we have our tea ceremony on bride relatives earlier in the hotel..no need to wait till "chu jia" then can offer the tea loh.

oh like that huh...
wah, very complicated. 1st of all think in s'pore on AD, to offer tea to grrom's parents and relatives bah. He got a large grp there. (got to discuss with future MIL of course
) then offer tea to my parents and my own relatives here (small grp).
Then maybe the next day after AD then go to m'sia with FH's parents only and offer tea and then dinner at nite. Wah like very rushing leh...

Then come back to s'pore again and maybe pack bag go honeymoon... (tentative).

I'm a Singaporean but hubby is Malaysian. Hope u all don't mind. I will also be having 2 times dinner. Singapore and Malaysia. My customary AD will be in Malaysia. It really took me big head to prepare those stuff. Anyone here already taken your PS. Mind sharing with me.

Zann, welcome here.
Which part of MY your hubby from?
I have taken my PS in Singapore. Album will only be ready around mid Oct.

My Hubby is from Ipoh and I think my hubby and I have make the wrong decision to have our customary AD in Malaysia. I wonder how am I going to bring so many stuff over there. It a headache of decorating the XI FANG. We have to go back Malaysia to AN CHUANG also. Very troublesome. Anne, which dialect you're from?

Anne, u r right. Just make it easy, simple & convenient for the both of u. Don't thk anyone remember our procedure aft our wedding.

Hi SP, Hee... me lazy lazy. We didn't check others BS cos two of my FH's classmate took their package there & Recd good comments. So we wouldn't want to spent much time on that. Sorry SP, u like to try sending to this again. [email protected]

Hi Mandy & Zann, welcome!!

Maybe u gals like to check with both side of yr parents what do they prefer. (FH will check his and u check w yrs first) Gather what they want, thn u have to work out a schedule which suit both of you & yr FH. Slowly, u work frm there. Fix the actual date already?

Mandy, think on the positive side. Actually u can purchase yr furniture etc..in msia & its cheaper there.

Zann, I'm hokkien and my hubby also hokkien. Btw, we don't follow any rules and regulations. We don't have any "xi fang" to decorate and nothing about "gua da li" and also "an chuang". Both parents are more to "westernise" side so we save alot of trouble on all those "pantang"..hehe
Our wedding date also we don get some "fengshui" or what to choose..we just get a date which is weekends and during school holiday to convenient our outstation relatives..that's all about

I'm also bring all my WG and EG and hubby's suits back too! A bit bulky, but I believe we can live with it..my cousins and friends also did that before, y not us..rite?
Okie..me getting "lor sor" here. Hope everything is fine at the end of the day..cheers

Welcome, Mandy & Zann!

Mandy, I've been to Rawang - we went to makan at the morning market. There's also a very nice chinese restaurant there. Hehe...

Zann, sounds like you'll need to make a few trips home just to prepare for customary things. I'm so lucky my parents are like Anne's, hehe. Only my in-laws require certain things done, most of which they are going to do themselves, hehe. Have you taken your PS yet?

Hi SP
I have not taken my PS yet but I will be taking my PS soon at next month 11th September. Hubby and I will travel to our BS in Johor next week to choose our WG & EG for PS. Our indoor & outdoor shooting will be taken seperately in 2 days. Therefore will stay overnight in Johor. Any comment for waterfall PS and Beach PS. Cos I still not yet decide where to have my outdoor PS.

Sometime I think that married seem not only concern to the bride & groom but also concern to others member in the family. I don't know how to say but when I find that it cause us so much trouble I really fear of getting married already.
I am afraid that after our customary, my all the in-law will have high expect for me. Cos my hubby is the elder in the family.

Zann, I agree with you that marriage of a couple involves 2 family (and relatives too). This is the challenge that all of us have to face. Conflicts tend to rise. Don't let this fear you, all of us shall strive our best in this 'battle'. You are not the only one here facing such challenge.

Maybe we can share advices and corrective actions of our experiences here.

Zann, I agree with you that marriage of a couple involves 2 family (and relatives too). This is the challenge that all of us have to face. Conflicts tend to rise. Don't let this fear you, all of us shall strive our best in this 'battle'. You are not the only one here facing such challenge.

Maybe we can share advices and corrective actions of our experiences here.