Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

Susan, I think Taipei Taipan is quite famous BS in M'sia. I wonder whether r they similar to France Taipei. Good to hear that u enjoy while selecting your gown.
My KL trip was quite in hurry..not much shopping for me
but I manage to source for my invitation card. It is much much cheaper compared to SG.

Anne, they're not the same. I still prefer bustier gowns. I think i have too many gowns on that night and don't know if it would be like a fashion show. Thot of wearing the wedding gown for 1st March-in, 1st evening gown for 2nd march-in and 2nd evening gown for bidding farewell to the guests.

Don't know if this seems too much.

I've not printed my invitation card yet. How's the price like in KL? Wouldn't it be troublesome for you to print in KL?

BB_2, an email has been sent to you.

Eeem, wondering how's Mrs Chan doing.

Susan, I also good better in bustier gown. Maybe I'm quite big size :P..hehe..I total 3 gowns to bring back to MY. I will only change different gown for 1st march-in and 2nd march-in. To me, I don't feel like changing to tea dress or simple gown for bidding farewell. It gonna be quite hassle and waste of time.

I found quite unique invitation card in KL and I only pay RM0.95/card without printing. I'm not doing printing in KL. My cousin will help me to bring back the invitation cards to my dad to do the printing in Penang.

Hmm..just wonder how's Mrs Chan too! Her situation abit worry ya..hope everything goes well to her and if she still able to catch our message here, I want to wish her "Happy Marriage"

Yeah, Mrs Chan, Blissful Marriage to you too. Perhaps you could share with us your experience in solving the problems that you were facing.

so Anne, u plan to give those invites in September (8th month of Lunar calendar)?

I need some advices, if anyone can share:

How do you arrange a time slotting for a video-shooting presentation and what's the time duration/length of the VCD during dinner reception?

How do you source for songs compilation? Can share type of songs u'll be playing?

Ever heard of giving angpau to the guests who come to your house who and not involved in the tea ceremony? Let's say your neighbours, bridemaid's partner, etc?

Do brides still put on fake eyelashes, nowadays?

Susan, most likely will only distribute the invitation card by Oct. Else ppl tend to forget the date and so on..very messy. My parents will help me to consolidate RSVP for the guests that they gonna invite.

I still no idea about the photo presentation slides and so on..probably gotta discuss this with MC.
I'll compile songs that I like for march-in and so on. U can check it out in this forum topic call Wedding Songs.

Sorry for MIA for a period. I was sick last week. mmm... abit lost here. Thanks Susan, I will retrieve later.

As for wedding card in spore, my restaurant provide free printing & cards up to (if i am nt wrong) 80% of attendance. Now i am doing the editing of details. Hee.. actually, just filling in the infor.

Back to work. Tell u gals on my song compilation in the afternoon. Bye...

Hope you have recovered, BB_2.

Ever heard that brides need to go for hair facial 'threading'? Don't know the actual term to call but traditionally, it's like someone using a thread to pull or clean your facial hair so that we'll look more radiant when putting on make-up.

For emcee, I'm asking my colleague to be one.

As my day will fall on Xmas and a day after Xmas, any suggestion on how to create a Christmas feeling to everyone who attend the dinner reception?

BB, hope u get well soon.
The weather is bad..do take care of yourself and drink alot of water.

Susan, r u going thru all the traditional "rules"? I think that "threading" facial hair is only popular among cantonese and those in HK.

Hi gals, thks alot. yup, I will drink more water.

Susan, is 'threading' like the olden days whn the old lady will use thread and powder on the face? Wah, tht will be really painful right? As for my face, I DIY by doing mask regularly.

Hi Susan, hope this can help.

time slotting for a video-shooting presentation
- I suggest doing it before the Grand opening after thy have seated.
and what's the time duration/length of the VCD during dinner reception?
- I will let them watch before my march-in. (maybe 5mins shd be enough) Hee, when our love story end, the light will be shone at the entrance, thn we will hv march-in. Hee... the focus will be on us "superstar"

As for the songs, I guess i still prefer Mandarin Song. I hv selected one, which is Jackie Chan's show "Bo li Zhun" the rest hv not yet.

Ever heard of giving angpau to the guests who come to your house who and not involved in the tea ceremony? Let's say your neighbours, bridemaid's partner, etc?
- I thk i will only give to those who serve tea to us and the helpers.

Do brides still put on fake eyelashes, nowadays?
- Yes, and I will be putting on too. The one i wear for my ROM, was pretty fine. I need to put on cos of my short eyelashes. The make up artist will help us to trim to a much more nature look for us.

Bb_2/Anne, yeah, that was what I meant about facial hair 'threading' yeah, should be very painful ... I never thot of this, till my mom highlighted that I should go for one because she went thru too ...... eeerrrrrr, i think no way I would want to go thru this.

BB_2, I like your idea of putting the photo montage first. I'm just having the concern if the guests come late, thus affecting the dinner time too. That's why I'm thinking of putting in the slot before my 2nd March-in. But anyway, I like the idea of walking in like a superstar

What about video-shooting on morning ceremony event? Maybe I'll just play it after Yam Seng session and leave it there playing till the end.

BB_2, what's your plan on 2nd March-in?

I'll give angpows to those only involved in the tea ceremony and jie-mei.

Does any of you know where to get nice and good fake eyelashes? I need to get a pair for my photo shooting and actual day. I don't really like those sold at jewellery and accessories shop like SINMA, and the glue sold is very bad in quality.

Susan, its a good idea too. Your guest wouldn't miss your gorgeous look on show and I thk at least it wouldn't delay the dinner. Thy can also enjoy it during their dinner.

mm... have not plan for my second march yet. Hee.. maybe i should use the same march-in song for the lunch in Batu and dinner in Spore. This will save the trouble blurning into different disc.

Susan, isn't our Makeup artist provide this? I pay a MISC fee of RM$50 which cover everthing which i need for the makeup session. Thy claimed, thy will not charge me again on tht actual day. If it does not cover, can ask yr MU artist to help? I believe, thy are experience in this.

Hi Susan and BB, would like to check with u gals here about bridal cars. Is your BS gonna prepare for u or u gal go and source it?
Pls advise..

BB_2, about the Misc items - I thot of sourcing my own, if worse come to worse, then I'll use theirs.

Bridal car - as for me, I have to source it my own. M'sia Bridal package doesn't include a bridal car.

Headache loh..BS in MY all don't provide bridal car..and we are here..very difficult to source.
My hubby is kind that don't want to go and bother parents on all these thingy!

Anne, i'm in the same situation too .. so try to figure out if there's any relatives/fren, whom u think can lend their car ... of course an Ang Pow is a must for those who lend u the car.

I don't have any preference on car, anycare will do. Afterall, I want my hubby to be the driver.

Susan, tht will interesting..w hubby driving u...so loving... planing to tie cans behind the cars..
but not safe hor..

But don thk hubby's family allow him to drive. cos we will be rushing back to Spore for tea serving and dinner in the nite. Might be tiring for him. Ladies, i am bit excited. Will be going back Batu Pahat to try my gown next Monday. hopefully, i can select my gown soon and start to source for accessory. oops hv nt call to get the silicon bar...

I've actually made my own signage for car display. Something like the 'Just Married' sign .. He he, proud to say that, he he he. I was thinking of the cans too but worried, will be too noisy and cause distraction instead of attraction.

BB_2, how many selection of gowns that you can opt? Most gowns come with padded bra, thus silicon bra is not really required unless your 2 little 'sisters' need extra support.

Susan, tht interesting!! How big is your sign? Where did u display it?

i hv also sent u sample of the photos. Do u thk i need to get the silicon bra? Like to hear yr advice. Thks alot!!!

Hi Susan..we still trying to source for the car.
I'll be going home mid-Aug, hope I can get some help and settle the car prob.
My PS in Spore is just around the corner..this Sat..keke..a bit kan cheong now!

BB_2, those gowns shown come with padded bra attached to the gowns. Thus, not necessary to get a silicon bra. A normal strapless will do enough.

As for my car display, I'm designing for a size of A3, using a Powerpoint and print it on a color printer. Then, can take the whole piece and attach it on a hard board which is obtainable from Popular Bookshop. I can either tie it onto a car plate or display it from inside of the rear windscreen.

I'm feeling the 'kan-cheong'ness today as last Friday I've sent out a bulk email to my colleagues and friends, asking them to save the date for me.

For photo shooting on 8 August, I've listed down the type of poses that I want the photographer to shoot. Hope, he can meet my request.

And also, I've not putting down weight!!

hi, jus wan to ask something.. did anyone here use the BS in city square? think the BS name is Printemp.. any reviews abt that one???

Hi Susan, i am on my diet this week. starting it slow. taking note of my diet. Hope at least a few kgs is off whn i try my gown next monday.

Wah... susan u r creative. I won't be able to do that. Talking about posting, mmm.... i thk i am really stiff... sure make alot of jokes.
Must tell us more about yr shooting.. hee.. mine will be 14 Sept.

BB_2, talking about the announcement .... quite disappointing ... thot many people will come and congratulate and teasing you but ....... not really. Out of 150 email addresses and mainly office addresses, only 7 came back so far. Those whom u see everyday and those who are really close to you, didn't even bother to talk/response about/to the announcement at all.

Good luck in your dieting, I had the intention too but still failed, ha ha ha ... anyway, don't push yourself too hard, there're ways to cover our fleshy figures.

Blur-Blur, sorry, no idea at all about bridal shop at City Square.

oops, forgot to welcome blur blur

Hi blur blur, sorry i have no idea on this too.

Susan, True.. True.. At times, i feel like throwing a small party with a group of close fren. but now i have to invite someone to the dinner who i don like just bcos she is someone related to us. But i will treat tht person transparent. hee..

Thks, i will just do my best. Hee.. will show u gals my fleshy photo aft my PS when thy r ready.

BB and Susan, are u gals already sent out invitation thru e-mail?
For me, abit kan cheong now..my PS coming soon..this Saturday..hehe..scare of having some pimples breakout!
okie lah..will update u gals when I'm back fr my PS whether enjoy or tired or....

MrsChan/11 July/bentong&spore
Chrisz/11 July/JB/
applestrudel/11 July/Johor(Yong Peng)

mmm... the above ladies has gone thur wedding liao... wonder how's their day. Hope everything goes well for them. Hope to hear frm them again. maybe more stories and experiences from them...

As for us...
Little_star/23 Oct/BP&spore
Susan/25 Dec/klang
BB_2/25 Dec/BP&spore
Lynn/25 Dec/Perek&spore
Wendy/2005/Malacca
Ung
Anne/Nov/Penang

Hi anne, i have not proceed with the printing of the cards yet. So will confirm the design next month. but the text are almost done up. So I will either send by post if they r not free or maybe by hand.

Anne, u hv to relax and don get nervous. But for my case, I will worry i can't sleep the day before.

I'm getting married in KL on the 21st August. Since by package was done in S'pore I will not have the services of a makeup artist in KL. Anyone have recommendations of any affordable makeup artist in KL? Preferable in the ringgit 250-350 range.

Thanks so much!

Joo Yin, it's hard to get one with that budget. You can walk-in to any of the bridal shop to enquire for one.

Anne, yup, I've sent out a 2 in 1 type of 'Save-A-Date' cum 'Invitation' through email but not many people responded so far.

I'll send out the physical card, maybe in Sept or October.

Susan, that's a idea. At least thy will reserve that date on their diary. But some don even open the mails once a week. Maybe just give them some time.

Oh, i realise my "auntie visit" will be here this week. Hope it wont't mess up my plan.

BB_2, don't worry, u can actually wear a tight short for gown trial. 1st, your body measurement will be taken, then the coordinator will suggest you the gowns which he/she think might suit you, then you try all the gowns and select the one that you want. The gowns will then bring for alteration according to your body measurement.

Susan, sorry for being lo so...Tht's mean, I wear my short with the gown? Will the ladies there help you to wear the gown or they will teach you how to wear. I hope they don't get me nervous.

It's Ok .. it's good to ask and i'm glad to share info ..

I didn't let the coordinator to help me to wear, 'phai-seh' mah ... I brought my mother along ... so, for those gowns which I couldn't wear properly on my own, I got my mother's help like pulling the back zip. So, for those which really cannot be worn, then don't put on anymore lah ... u can tell her whatever u want to do on the gowns that you like - to make it bigger or fitted. The lady can help you to wear and will also teach you how to wear.

I wasn't wearing a short but you were saying, you're expecting your aunty coming, so play safe loh.

The trial is only on the bride. Don't know about yours .. so, the groom, didn't get a chance to try on anything.

Hi ladies..I'm back from my PS last Sat

It was great but the weather was quite bad..that's made us sad loh..we wanted the sunset view..but it was disappointed with the cloudy weather!
Anyway, my photographer and MUA is very good..I believe I'll have hard time when choosing on the photo next 2 weeks..hehe

Anne, good to hear about your PS satisfaction. I thot u could choose the photos, 1-2 days later. So, must share with us your photos, ok!
How's your package like?

Susan, Thks for yr suggestion!! I actually wear a tight short, those for aerobic. It's so much easy for me to try the gown with my 'auntie' coming. Wah, i din knw i hv to select so many gowns. I hv to choose 2 wedding & 2 evening gown for photo shooting. on tht day I will hv 2 more traditional outfit. But i don want to select two traditional outfit for the studio shooting I can select another evening gown to replaced it.

Hi anne, so happy for you. Must share share yr photo har....Oh, now left me who has not take my PS. Mine will be on 19 Sept, I tot of pushing 2 weeks later. worry it will crush w my auntie visit again. Susan, my AD is the same as you. Should I change the PS date? Is it too late?

Susan, if I know my current photographer is actually become own boss of bridal house in KL earlier on I would recommend u to go to him.
He is really good in photograpy..his BS in KL is at jalan pudu, opp Swiss Garden Hotel.
U must be wondering y I can get him to shoot for me rite? Actually he works in SG before, and when I signed up my package, I insist that they must stated there I wanted him as my photographer..hehe..so even he left the BS in SG, the BS boss still have to pay him more to come and shoot for me :P
I can only view my samples on 7 Aug..
Oh ya, I do have a few pic that taken by my hubby during our outdoor shooting. Give me your e-mail..

Hi Joo Yin,

you can try my make-up artist, Shin Kitt. She charged me RM550 for 2 makeup and hairdo session. For 1 session it will be around RM 250 to RM300.

If you are interested, let me know. I will need to retrieve the contact number since my wedding was last year.

BB_2, at first, I didn't want the traditional outfit too but darling said, it's a rare chance for me and him to put on, so I gave in loh .. that's why my kepala pusing, don't know which costume to choose.

Anne, thanks for the recommendation. Hope that this BS of mine will promise a good job for me. U're luckly for able to get a good photographer.
My email : [email protected], can't wait to see your pics!

Hi Susan, will send u later..
For tranditional outfit..I suggest u take KUA. To my MUA, she said now ppl prefer not to wear jap kimono or european gown anymore.
U can bring casual wear..that will be fun and cute

Hi Ladies, i also wanted KUA but then i hv to choose another pc of trad outfit. Maybe, i will decide later. But Susan, how many trad outfit u hv to choose?

Anne, my email: [email protected]
Thks!

Hi, I'm new in tis thread! I'm doing planning for my ad a few yr later in Spore wan to lower my ad cost I planning to get a BS in JB so to just enquiry tat Any good one to recommended??

Hi Contented,

It would be great if you could provide me with Shin Kitt's phone number. Me head spinning big time trying to arrange for makeup and photography for the AD.

Does not help that my guest list have not been finalised and its less than one month to go.

I noticed that a lot of you ladies have your PS and BS in M'sia? Isn't it troublesome? I initially wanted to do that but the thought of having to travel to KL for the numerous fittings was enough to put me off the idea.

Hi Susan, I agree with Anne, Jap kimono is a big no no. Especially if the MUA does the traditional jap hairstyle. The big fan like thing?! Eughhhh

Joo Yin, are you taking your PS in Spore? Which BS u attached to?
I'm taking my PS in S'pore. My gowns fr Yvonne Creative and my PS is taken by French Bridal which my photographer now no longer served them. He is now becoming own boss in KL.
Well, if u are looking for some make-up and photographer in KL, probably u can pop-by his shop. It is direct opposite Swiss Garden KL, Jalan Pudu. His gf is MUA. Seen her work..nicely done up. His name is Xiao Fei, very good photographer.

Hi SP, I'm not too sure about the charges. SORRY
My package with him is still in Spore..bcoz when I signed up the package with French, he is the photographer there. Only recently he moved and become his own boss in KL.

Thank you for the suggestion for not having kimono, agree with all of you. I'm entitled to 3 traditional costumes. I'll choose KUA as one of them and very unsure to choose the other 2. Any other suggestion? I would have to give up 2 traditional costumes for 1 own outfit.

Hi Susan, actually depend on what u and FH like. Maybe for me, I will choose the KUA and change the 2 traditional costum to a eve gown.

Hey Anne, tht photo taken was good. i like yr gown. simple and nice. where is the place. looks romatic with the lighted building. i thk my outdoor will hv some seaside photo. pray hard for the weather.

Hi SP & Jooyin, welcome!

Hi Anne,

My PS is already done, did it in S'pore. Should be collecting my album sometime next week. The photographer was Andrew tay from The Edge... very nice guy, work not bad too.

So where did you take your outdoor shots? Send me pics can?

MY BS is Blumesh... not many other brides go to them I think coz they are not into elaborate designs.

Thanks for your suggestion to use Xiao Fei but I think these bridal shops MUA is generally quite pricey. Anyway, can give me her contact number of you have?

Susan, I guess in your situation you would want to maximize the number of outfits that you are wearing but at the end of the day remember that no point wearing something you dun like just to fulfill the quota!