Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

guinguin

yup.. gate crashing is a MUST! enjoy the whole process bah, the victim is ur htb & his hengdai.. lolz.. once in a lifetime, treat is as ur memories lor..

charmaine_chin

Can I join you guys? I'm a malaysian and my htb is singaporean. I've just started planning for the wedding. Realised that cross-border weddings quite tedious...must plan for both sides. Luckily, my in-laws quite chin chai one...

Going to confirm bridal house and restaurant this weekend...quite excited!

jaslyn288

Aiyo.. ger.. me not MIA lah.. i was bz preparing stuff for my PS.. Finally done for my OD le.. so tiring!! but I was like a BIG STONE standing there.. the PG oso cannot stand me.. den worst, my sickening hubby only know how to tease me.. making me sooooooo maloo... sianzz...!! so worry, the pics wont come out nice.. how...??? next week is my ID le..

Hi Jaslyn

Wow you took it at Desaru, where is your BS, when i saw the gowns that you have selected, not too bad wor.....

My PS is on 4 November and I am a bit worried leh.... I think your AD is quite near to mine right?

jaslyn288

aiyo.. ger, dun gan cheong.. juz taken last friday nia.. yup, i went desaru for outdoor shooting.. heehee.. =D aft completed, still nid to wait, i will sure show up when is ready, okie? =D

My BS is venus bridal, JB de.. =)
den those gowns u saw in my facebook n multiply, are for my indoor de.. hee.. I will be having my indoor this friday.. ;p

Hi Jaslyn

I am just a bit worried because I scare the pics dont turn out to be well lor.... Somemore I have not done much preparations for the PS leh.....

So can you describe your experience to me? What to look out for?

jaslyn288

Sabine, actually I oso worry leh.. I am super bad in posing.. me so worried now.. haiz.. but as wat i know lah, at the end of the day, they will add in effect to your raw pictures.. so shdnt be any problems de.. =D

Experience ah?? maybe i am too stress for my outdoor ba.. so my mood is affected lor.. haiz.. most impt, u must relax n kip your mood good.. if you feel anythg uneasy, voice out to either the mua or your coordinator or your photographer, dun kip inside your heart.. dun feel paiseh, cos u are spending a bomb for this..

btw, where are u having for outdoor? =)

I will be having my indoor this friday le.. hope things will get better n smooth..

Me really havent decide yet because so busy with work. But I think most likely will be the Museum near the YMCA but need to pay lor...

I am afraid because I am shy and dont know how to pose so scared that the PG will be mad at me.... somemore I am not photogenic leh... teeth not straight so smile not nice

jaslyn288

Hi Sabine, what are the choice for your OD which given by your BS? how abt T3 or sentosa?

Ger, we are under the same ship... I also not photogenic.. actually have to b bold sometime lor.. i regret tat i din last week.. I oso feel shy to those pple who I dunno de and hor, i also worry if i make noise den the PG anyhow take.. this is all guessing game lor.. as wat my frds told me, photographer's job is not only taking photo nia, they have to make u laugh oso so that they can get a better effect.. Mmmm... my teeth oso not str8, but I dun tink tat's the problem lor, at the end of the day, they will touch up on the photo de.. not to worry for that lor..

hahaha.. my frd teach me a method wor.. she ask me to smile at the mirror, kip on practice to get the correct natural smile on myself.. haizz.. how to.. tough man.. but still we nid to do some homework before our PS..

guinguin

Jas & Sabine, dun worri lah... take it easy and u will look mei mei!!

My own view, a pro PG shud capture the 'natural' moment instead of capturing the 'stiff' look of sum1 who force to smile.. this will cause a very unnatural outcome.. my own opinion lor..i prefer my PG snap my candid shots instead asking me pose pose pose..

jaslyn288

guinguin.. i'm trying to be easy now.. dun want to tink much oso.. hahaha.. my frd ask me to trust the program, photoshop wor.. lol
to me, too much editing will cos fake oso.. haiz.. let it be ba.. aldy over le, tink too much oso nO use.. I will try my best again for my indoor shooting tis friday.. gambatek ba.. =D

sabine, advise frm my frds lah, kip practicing infront of the mirror.. and watch a commedy show the day b4 the PS, ÅàÑøÐÄÇé.. u still got time to practice, shdnt b a prob de.. for me leh, haiz, still got 4 more days to go.. let jia you ba.. maybe we shd b more positive. =D
the more we worry, might get thing worst also.. rite?

guinguin

haiyo, u gals.. y worry so much? juz relax, it's ur PS, u the biggest star leh! do watever u tink u shud, juz relax and laug/smile as much u wan! dun worri too much...

princess_girl

I am new to this tread! My HTB is a Malaysian (Johor)and I am a Singaporean.... We are having headache on how is the procedure of having our wedding banquet at both sides, any one can give advice? normally in malaysia, wedding couples will held their banquet in restaurants or hotels? It seems like most pple just held in normal restaurant or even in rented school hall? Anyone can advise me?

guinguin

hahaha, yeah... lets all relax babe~~~

welcome princess! nt a must in school hall nor restaurant lah, depends individual mah...

princess_girl

guinguin -- ya I knew that as I am a Singaporean...common in Singapore is either held in hotels or restuarants and i am not very sure of the culture for Malaysia as I need some advice anyone from this forum.... My HTB is from Johor and at first we intend to hold our wedding banquet in a hotel but it seems that there is not much hotels in JB ( anyone here from JB that can recommend me??????) . But my HTB told me that if we hold in hotel sure lose money de...bcose the culture in Malaysia is different..pple will not look at the place we invite and give high amt of hongbao de....so we are considering to go for high end restaurant (any to recommend also??????)

anyone can share your view on this?

guinguin

yes, ur htb is abs right!!! thats why my banquet in KL we choose to have in restaurant instead of hotel, due to cultural diff. they wont judge base on rates of hotel/rest to pay angpao.. sum may tell u 1 guest bt end up bring 1 more person come, u better expect it to be happen.. i saw many cases liao in my sis wedding.

princess_girl

ya...this is what my HTB told me also....he said soem pple will bring the whole family come but only give little hongbao only.....so what is the market rate that pple will give in Malaysia when they attend wedding dinner? Normally when we attend friends in Malaysia my HTB will give quite alot de...bcose is his close friend ma....then for relatives his mum will give.....so can give any advice any idea what is the market rate of hongbao pple in Malaysia give? So on average we should choose per table at which range? RM600 to RM700 ? will lose money ma?

guinguin

RM600 ah... think u hav to take a risk to lose $$$. Dun b surprise sum ppl may onli giv RM50 hor! As what I know, only BIG boss or really close friend will give u more, like RM80-RM100 per person, couple RM200 or RM180 is depends. But most of the 'normal' guest will only pay RM50.. this number is a common rate in Msia as I know. so u see lor..

relatives worse, sum said couple come, end up whole families come!!! not even hav enugh seats for them! I saw it during my brother's wedd! gosh, me & my fiance was the coordinator, wan vomit blood liao!

jaslyn288

welcome you, princess.. =D
me oso singaporean n hubby is malaysian.. having both side too.. I will chu jia in singapore n banquet oso b held here 1st den one week after will be malaysia side...
Mmmm... i agreed with guinguin, they can bring the whole family n give a small token, they can feel nothing somemore.. haiz..

ger, i tink RM 600-RM 700 is too high end le ba.. I tink RM 400-500 is more than enuff le, their dishes are standard de.. not like singapore.. heehee.. =D but it's also depend on individual lah.. Ermmm... you are having which part of JB?? since ur HTB is more familiar, let your HTB side to decide lor, afterall, i believe your PILs knows which/where is better.. less headache for yourself also.. =D

Angbao rate is malaysia, frm wat i know lah. between RM50-RM100 or even lesser (dont b surprise) depend on relationship.. akind of feeling sure will lose money de, so play safe, dun find too ex.

I kip wondering, y malaysia's banquet always starts soooooooo early n end early.. the earliest i went, starts at 6pm de lor den abt 5plus has to arrive liao... aiyo.. not only tat, guests sing karaoke.. like ge tai.. hahaha.. ;p
really cant get use to their culture..

ger, afterall, juz comments frm us.. depend on u and your HTB de.. if u have more relatives n friends in singapore, make it a grand one (of cos must be affordable) in singapore, den a very simple one in Malaysia.. like tat u will balance up the cost at the end of the day..

Hi Princess

I think you better hold your wedding dinner there at restaurant, wait you become a fat carrot for people to eat lor...

Unless your hubby's family is rich and are business man and have high profile guests then you may want to consider holding at the hotel.

My restaurant price is about $400odd only and the dishes are not too bad but it is not in JB. I think for JB side the restaurant is slightly more ex but not the price of $600 ba.

I think if you want a grand wedding, realize your dream here because people here will be able to appreciate what you planned here instead of Malaysia....

This month end my hubby is going to place the deposit there because the restaurant dont want to accept the deposit in July. I also dont know why they dont want to accept the deposit now so troublesome..... Got business also dont want to do, dont understand these people....

Yes Jaslyn I have a friend who told me that she brought her montages to show to her relatives but they were not interested to see and were more interested in the Karaoke, faintz.... and she said that she felt like she is not the main lead leh....

jaslyn288

wahahahahha... rite sabine, sing like nobody business.. lol
so leh, i will not waste much time putting much afford there.. I shall let everythg to my in-laws.. heehee.. i will juz concenrate here.. =D

guinguin

gd morn ladies!

hahaha!!! yes yes!!! msia got cultural wer like to sing karaoke!! wa liew, buay tahan, super noisy leh.. montage?? wats tat in their mind? lolz! they wont b bother to see, nt even the guest book u knw? during my bro wedd, they all throw ang pao liao juz wan to knw sit wer, eat! guest book, even u ask the, sign they pretend nv heard, kaoz!!!

as jas said is rite, do a grand 1 in SG, while msia can b normal to balance off urself.. i prepare everything as my dream wedd in SG, but msia... i leave it to my sis, coz the restaurant belongs to my sis. cant expect too much lah, the food is nice bt ambiance confirm cannot compare. AND, i insists TAKE OFF the KARAOKE!!! no K in my wedd banquet in KL, NO WAY!!!!! i will go crazy if any1 sing like nobody biz during my nite!

princess_girl

Thanks guinguin & Jasyln for the advice... Actually we are considering to have it at Taman Sutera of JB, my HTB hometown is at Kulai but it seems like his side only have those old old restaurants which I dun like. So after much discussing, we decided to have it at town area which the price is much more expensive...we have done some survey and per table at least RM600plus if it is at town area...but if at my HTB hometown can get as low as RM300 plus --- only SGD100plus (lower end de) then higher end de is RM500 plus.
Now we are still considering which to choose in JB but in Singapore definitely will be will be grand one...is the Malaysia side also headache lor....

Jasyln----- u meant that u will chu jia in Singapore ? what do you meant? Can share? Normally, what my HTB told me...for Singapore side will just have wedding dinner without any tea ceremony, then on the AD is Malaysia side, he will come fetch me from Malaysia...then to his house ...then cum back to Singapore for tea ceremony..then back to Malaysia...i dun know if this is the right procedure...but i found it very weird lor...in Singapore that day only go for weding dinner ...like nothing to do...go for gathering like that...then Malaysia side will be very xiong cum to and fro the whole day.....Now we are also very headache on how we are going to plan for our weding which will be happening both sides....I told my HTB that i hope everything will be done a day lor...so tiring and ma fan...

Any advice from anyone regarding abt this? I need some advice...Thank you!

Hi guinguin

My friend thought that they might be interested in the pics taken in Singapore ma who knows they got a shock.

Last time when I heard about the Karaoke thing I also say dont want but my hubby said that is the most important thing wor so cannot remove or else they will say that we are not a good host. I give up!

guinguin

princess.. no pro! then since u dun like the old old type restaurant, go & get the town 1 lor, bo bian also.. abt ur wedd, hw abt like tis:
*where u ROM? SG or Msia?

SG - if ROM in sg, morning after ROM continue wif yum cha for sg side..no need do wat groom fetch bride game. then dinner banquet

Msia - the traditional actual day ceremony, including ur families bt no relatives since all done in SG, Msia tea ceremony more for groom side. include gate crashing also. then dinner banquet as usual.

sabine, they hack care abt the photo leh, even photo album put ter nobody care to view!! wa lao.. lucki my htb agree wif me, we hate noisy & traditional style, tats y we told my sis remove the K, my sis even said 'huh, take out? then very quiet 1 leh'.. i told her, it's my wedd, nt their wedd! i invite them come, join my feast, eat and go.. i dun need to entertain them for sumthing i dun like leh, im e host leh.. juz play music enugh lah, wat e hack.. bcoz of them play K? no way, later half way the couple run away!!!

Ha ha guinguin that is funny... For me I think cannot wait they thought we stingy or rather that is what my MIL thinks... Dont know what is going on their mind.... wa ha ha

Hi Princess when is your big day? For me no gatecrashing. Singapore doing wedding lunch and tea ceremony for my relatives before lunch in the hotel

For Malaysia, tea ceremony for hubby's side and dinner...

guinguin

sabine... dun care wat others tink lah, most importantly we happi.. lucki my parents and in laws all ok.

princess, mine & sabine quite similar. sg onli church wedd + dinner banquet. tea ceremony all in msia plus dinner.

gals, provide me urs wedd date leh

princess_girl

Sabine & Guinguin --- for mine , we will be having our ROM in a hotel in Singapore will not be together with my wedding dinner in Singapore....that will be a separate day.... I fully agreeded with both of u that y must have the Karaoke thing lor.....Like the geitai....some more some of the pple also dun know how to choose the songs that is suitable for the event de lor...some even sing those sad songs...i found very weird lor.....I dun know but seems like i really cant get used to the culture....like totally different de.....

Thanks for the advice both of u have given...i will discuss with my HTB on the suggestion ....Really headache de lor....dun know how to plan 2 sides very very ma fan.....I really wish one day can settle everything liao....Actually my HTB said if combine 2 days into 1 day then we held at Hyatt hotel in JB near the custom so that everyone from Singapore and his hometown can cum....but i told him like that i think we will definitely lose money de...someone not every friends in s'pore will make the effort to travel to JB to attend wedding de...unless very close friends lor....

Sabine--- may i know which restaurant you have taken for Malaysia side? which part of Malaysia will ur wedding banquet held in?

Anyone have any good restuarants to recommend in JB area?

guinguin

princess... dun b so stress up, can b settle 1.. relax ya.

try tok 2 ur htb lah... but tink do all in Hyatt, may nt a gd idea, lose $$ and not much ppl will attend... is realli depends wat u guyz wan lor..

jaslyn288

Ermmm.. princess, are you chu jia ³ö¼Òfrom singapore?? if yes, u will have jiemeis ard for the gata crashing.. den you will be touring one round, maybe go T3 for photoshooting.. blak blak blak.. den go back your own parents' place for tea ceremony den small buffet... den night time dinner.. den say, one week later (cos most pple will held on the wkends..), you dun nid to have another round for chu jia, as chu jia can only once.. you can either stay in your PILs's house den having tea ceremony with small buffet den dinner, or you can do everything during the dinner time.. depend on individual lor..

Mine, will be chu jia in singapore, cos most of my frds n relatives are here.. so I want to let all my relatives n frds see me happily married out.. ;p another thg is, my hubby's hometown is super far lor, ipoh leh.. abt 6-7hrs journey.. dun tink my relatives can make it lor.. den the whole event will turn v lonely.. I dun want lor.. den when everthing done for singapore side, den will go back together with my parents to malaysia..

To be done which side 1st, is subject to the elderly lah.. respect mah.. have to seek their approval de. =D

ger, if u are handling both sides dinner, sure headache de.. 1st of all, u are not familiar with the area there, the food there & etc.. if can get someone to help you, i tink will be better lor..

Kulai, i got one frd's staying there too.. she oso held a simple dinner there.. actually food wise, they are abt the same de..
Mmmm.. there is a nice rest in »Êºó.. but not very sure abt the table rate, but i can chk for u if u are interested to hold it there.. =D

ger, u consider lor.. if u set a high budget on both side, sure one side will lose de.. frm past experience, seeing my hubby pao the angbao, i can agar agar know.. as you say, not many relatives n frds may not be able to attend cos travelling distance prob..

btw, when is your AD? heehee.. =D

guinguin & sabine, wahahahahaha.. can u imagine, one side karaoke n the other side mahjong session.. piangz rite?? lol

jaslyn288

additional:

princess, i agree with guinguin.. I dun tink is a gd idea to hold everythg in hyatt.. u might ending disappointed.. better reconsider again ba..
once in the life time, we (brides) are more impt than anythg in our big day..

gals out there agress?? lol

ixoral

hi everyone! long time no log in le.

Am currently sourcing for a BS package in JB. Anyone able to share w me yr package if u took up in JB as well?

princess_girl

Thank Jasyln for your advice ...will take into consideration..... After learning some of the Malaysia culture on wedding from both of u, now then i knew y pple can also held their wedding in sch hall liao...That time my HTB's cousin held at sch hall and i went..then i told him...my goddness...how can wedding be like this de....really cannot imagine..then immediately told him upfront....i definitely do not want anything like this de lor....in a sch hall...some pple not even well dressed just wear shorts and t-shirts lor....then i wore a normal dress so that to look formal ma....then i like bcum alien like this....most of them wear so casual lor....I went hm and told my mum and she said they are like that de......

Jasyln -- can u check for me the restaurant in Kulai that u mention is nice? What is the price range like per table? What is the name? Thank you for your help.

If there is anyone like me will be holding at JB, pls share with me your wedding banquet information...and can recommend? Thanks in advance.

jaslyn288

Hi ixoral, long time no see you here.. how are u? =D

heehee.. my BS is in JB.. I'm using venus.. believe u heard of it rite? =D
wat is your budget? got alot there.. Mine is RM4288 de.. Mmmmm.. they have 2 types of designs (classic & signature), mine is signature type de.. heehee.. ermm... package listing real long leh.. but share with u the impt lah..

- total of 8 gowns for photoshooting
- either 12 x 30 or 15 x 24 album (abt 24pgs - 35 poses)
- 1pc 24 x 36 poster
- 8R full page album (20 pgs - niang jia ben)
- 11 x 14 photo (2pcs - either wooden frame or crystal frame)
- 20 x 40 (1pc - zhuang tou zhao)
- montage (max 40 fotos w/ 2 songs)
- 150pcs - 200pcs 4R photos (give away photos to frds n relatives)
- 2R mini album
- 1 guest book
- 1 musicial box (w/foto)
- car deco
- hand flower
- album foto burn to CD (35 poses but if u have topup photos, you can get more - 8R format)
- free desaru (outdoor shooting)
- coats for both fathers
- 2 coats for hubby
- 1 WG for actual day
- 2 EGs for actual day

Excluding: hairdo, ampoule & eyelashes.. (but leh, if u have your own eyelashes & ampoule, can bring along to your photoshooting)

if you want other places, like, tioman or redang, can request de but have to topup abit lah..

ermmmm.. those items above, if you tink is not necessary, you can bargain to exchange other thing.. and those items tat not stated above, have to bargain.. heehee... =D

Btw, from what I know, comparing with other BS in JB, package wise are abt the same de.. more to their "quality" (either skill on photoshooting & gowns) & servicing "no hard sell".. you can go racky racky ard lor, ard the same area got alot of BS de.. check it out, face to face enquiry, you can understand more, have any doubts, ASK.. dont b shy.. you may even can try on their gowns oso leh.. =D
but hor, don't go too many leh, u will be more luan at the end of the day.. tat time I only went 2 bridal studios, den go home consider n finalise with Venus.. heehee.. =D

if can hor, go on weekdays, better ah, not many pple, u can take your time oso.. no rush, they wont rush you oso..

jaslyn288

Hi princess, no problem.. I will gether those information u need n let you know asap.. dun mentioned lah.. happy happy mah.. heehee.. =D

Mmmm... if can, maybe sit down n discuss with your HTB abt the advise we gave you .. most impt both of you MUST be happy.. cos ONCE IN A LIFETIME mah.. heehee.. =D

ixoral

Thanks jaslyn! wow yr package is v comprehensive! did u sign up with time some time back liao? cos now they increase to 4588 (signature) and still need to further top up for desaru. haiz. HB and i thkg of coming back sg to take PS. do u thk their cost for desaru & sg is substitutable?

Princess> all the best in yr wedding prep. for me i'm gg to hold in both sg and kl. but the kl venue not even fixed yet! hoping my FMIL can help settle it :p

jaslyn288

heehee.. dont mentioned lah... =D

Yuppie, paiseh din mention earlier.. they had increased their pricing le.. I signed on June 08.. huh?? topup for desaru?? bargain with them..!!!! not reasonable lor, maybe is business trick ba.. want you to bargain with them.. lol
juz petrol nia leh... dun nid to give any entrance fee, no food covered.. y nid to topup? bargain..!!! can talk de..

Y you want PS in sg?? u want to go back to your school?? heehee.. ;p

anyway, to exchange or change anythg, these need to bargain de.. you dun gan cheong 1st, go racky racky ard.. den u compare, sure can find what you want de.. heehee.. =D

Hi Princess

My restaurant in Malaysia is in Ipon but I dont know the name because it is in Mandarin. I think it is very far away ba.... Me think that if you hold your wedding in Hyatt then your guests in Singapore will be greatly inconvenienced and then dinner may start late because everyone caught in the jam at the Causeway....

Wow Jaslyn your package is so comprehensive but what is a musical box that they are giving you? So in the end what gown you chose?

bling__

Would like to find out if there is any Penang brides here? I would like to take some outdoor wedding pictures on my AD, any suggestions on the nice places to take pictures on Penang Island.

jaslyn288

Hi sabine,

wahahahhaha... of cos not tat high class de lah.. juz a common type de.. next time show u the pic.. =)

what gown i chose ah?? heehee.. i got write out my selected gOwn photo numbers in my multiply ah.. u take a look again? heeehee.. ;p