Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

jelly

Hihi ladies...

Ya, my GDL just over on the Xmas day. Things went smoothly as my siblings all around to help out. After GDL bring my family to my new house in JB.

Ha, can't imagine our big day is less than 2 weeks away. Most headache part is the Singapore guest attendance. Some last minute said cannot come becos need to take care of kids or no transport. Sigh... Just have to take it easier and not to make myself too stressed out...

spongme

Happy 2006 to all!

bengchoo81

Hi dear all....
I m new to this thread...just discovered it n eager to join u gals...I m from Johor small town call Ayer Hitam...But nw my parents moved to Malacca(their hometown). I m getting marry in dec 06. Anyone having AD close w me?

anne

Jas, your big day is approaching. When are u going back to prepare for your big day?

Remember to share with us your experience and lots of photos ya!!

bengchoo81

Thanks anne,
wonder if u gals hv a list of details for every member? info such as AD, lovenest, BS...so tat i can get to know u all faster...

jelly

Hihi everyone, me have started on leave since yesterday. This afternoon when to the newly opened Jusco Tebrau in JB to shop! And yes, first time i drive to shop after 10 years of not driving, all by myself! I am so proud, hehe... The Jusco Tebrau is huge! Make me feels like in KL, and the staff are all so friendly...

Tomorrow going back to Pontian (my hometown) from JB. Gonna meet my morning makeup artist at 10am, then she going to bring me for mani and pedi. Saturday going back Spore to pick up a fren from HK then back to Pontian. Think will only reach in the evening. Then soon on Sunday will be my big day! How fast time has flies. Pray hard things will go smoothly on the day. Eveyone around me ask me not to nervous. Leave everything to my friends and relatives and just remember to smile and smile. Ha, guess things will move really fast on Sunday.

Sure, will share with you photos after the event.

See u gals then. Ta...

marilyn_chh

<font color="ff0000">Bengchoo,</font>
Welcome welcome. I'm the "unofficial" secretary here..heheh..ok, for your sake i post the member info and it's been sometimes I haven't update the list

<font color="0000ff">Forumer's info:</font>

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">MEMBERS INFORMATION UPDATE</font></font>
<font color="0000ff">Wedding Over liao </font>
Marilyn (B=Malaysian-Ipoh, G=S'porean, staying at <u><font color="119911">Punggol</font></u>) ~ 3rd Oct 04
Little_star (Spore/Batu Pahat) ~ 23 Oct 04
SP (B and G = KL, staying in <u><font color="aa00aa">KL</font></u>) ~ 30 - 31 Oct 04
Anne(B = Penang, G = Perlis, staying at <u><font color="119911">Sembawang</font></u>) ~ 27 &amp; 28 Nov04
Sincere Goh ~ 05 Dec 04
Zann (B=Spore, G= Ipoh, staying at <u><font color="119911">Jurong East</font></u>) ~ 24 &amp; 25 Dec04
Irene(B= Spore, G= Batu Pahat, staying at <u><font color="119911">Kalang Bahru</font></u>) ~ 25Dec04
SusanY(B and G = Shah Alam, staying at <u><font color="119911">Bedok</font></u>) ~ 25 &amp; 26 Dec 04
Evelyn(JB/Ipoh) ~ 18 Mar 05
YYBB (B=Msian-KL, G=S'porean) ~ 12 &amp; 26 March 2005
Eccentric aka Elaine(B=Ipoh, G=S'porean, staying at <u><font color="119911">Tao Payoh</font></u>) ~ 14 &amp; 21 May 2005
Lydia (Spore/KL) ~ 28 May 05
Geral (B=S'porean, G= Kota Tinggi) ~ ROM May 2005
Angie (customary KL/reception or party/SG, staying at <u><font color="119911">yishun</font></u>) ~ 9th Sept 2005
muaw_muaw aka liz (B= Sarawak, G=JB , staying at <u><font color="119911">Pasir Ris</font></u>) ~ 29 Oct 05
EvelynMao ( B=JB Pekan Nenas, G=S'porean, staying at <u><font color="119911">Punggol</font></u>) ~ 19 Nov 05
Sunsnow aka LK ( B=JB , G=S'porean, staying at <u><font color="119911">Marine Parade</font></u>) ~ 20 Nov 05
PPP (B= Kedah, G=S'porean, staying at <u><font color="119911">Depot Road</font></u>) ~ 27th Nov 2005
Nana (Spore/ KL) ~ 14Dec &amp; 24 Dec 2005
Jumbo aka Amanda (B=JB Pekan Nenas, G=S'porean, staying at <u><font color="119911">Jurong West</font></u>) ~ 17th Dec 2005

<font color="aa00aa">Wedding Coming </font>
tlc aka darcy_tan (B and G=Msian-JB, staying at <u><font color="119911">admiralty</font></u>) ~ 8 Jan 2006
jas (B=JB Pontian, G= JB, staying at <u><font color="119911">yewtee</font></u>) ~ 8 Jan 2006
EL (B=Spore, G= Msia - Sitiawan, staying at <u><font color="119911">west side</font></u>) ~ spore 8 Apr 06 and Msia 29 Apr 06

<font color="ff0000">ROM/unknown.. </font>
Wanli = JB/singapore
S Kong (B=Malaysian-Ipoh, G=S'porean)
Bwai
Periwinkle
Blur

marilyn_chh

Jas and TLC,
congrats!! so exciting!!! May you have a blessed marriage

Tomorrow, Zann and I will be leaving Bangkok for a 3 nites 4 days getaway.. So, when jas is enjoying her big day, we'll be shopping crazily at chatukchat..hehe..

bengchoo81

Thanks mrc!!
Ur info quite complete and i just realized tat most gals had their AD over...haha...by the way, i staying at bukit batok, my FH sgrean too. I hv bn in sg for 5 yrs since graduated from high school in malaysia. Its always happy to meet malaysian gals, i feel closer emotionally to malaysian...

bcing

Halo..
I am new in this forum. Will have my wedding on march in nibong tebal. Anyone here from Nibong Tebal? I am looking for my actual day make up package. Any suggestion? NB is such a small town that I hardly find any good make up articst...

anyway, please let me know if u have any recomendation. BTW, anyone here heard about "Kuang Yee" bridal shop in Nibong Tebal? Any comment?

june_goh

Hi everyone, I'm also Malaysian, came to Singapore to study in NUS, now in final semester. May I ask if anyone knows the procedure to register the marriage at the High Commission here? Still quite blur about it and no one's picking up the phone at the High Comm since Monday sigh! Thanks everyone

anne

Bcing, I can share with u my make-up artist. He is fr Prai. I'm fr Penang but working in SG

Leave your e-mail..will forward u his contact then.

anne

June, y register marriage at MY High Comm?? Usually we will register marriage at SG ROM then go to MY High Comm to submit the ROM cert and get the MY marriage cert, that's all.

lavender_tmy

I'm quite new in this forum.Me and my hubby( ROM not yet wedding ceremony) will have wedding end of the year in Msia.Both of us working in Spore now.He is from Kuantan and me from Johor.If u gals have any gathering please let me know.Hope have good sharing n learning with each other for wedding preparation.Anyone with msn, welcome to add n chat with me with msn : [email protected].

jelly

Bengchoo, bcing,June, lilybud and lavender, WELCOME WELCOME!!!

Glad to have new members joining this thread as most of the existing members have had wedding ceremonies over liao.

anne

Jas, welcome back. Are u back to work already or enjoying your post-ceremony holidays ah??

Oh ya, during your big day, issit heavy rain at JB and Pontian?

anne

lilybud, I already had my wedding in Nov'04. In Penang and Kangar. My hb fr Kangar.
what about u? have u booked your banquet in Penang?

jelly

Hihi Anne, me back to work since yesterday! No such chance to enjoy the post-wedding holiday.

Ya... Very heavy rain on Sunday in my hometown and JB, and the rain just wouldn't stop... Very stressed while doing my evening makeup as afraid of poor attendance. And wat's more, half an hour late to the restaurant due to the heavy traffic as a result of the rain! But what a relief to see so many friends and relatives already reached the restaurant by the time i reached! Dinner start at 7.30 and end by 9.45.

anne

Jas, glad that your guests all turned up in time. Fr the news, it shows that part of JB is flooded. I was thinking OMG..so many ppl getting married on that day. Such a bad weather!!

Wow..your dinner started on time ah! And it ends early too.

jelly

Ya, Anne... Many places got flooded and the road condition was bad, worsen by the newly opened Jusco shopping complex!!! So traffic much slower. I finished my evening makeup before 5.30pm, but only managed to reach the restaurant at 6.30pm, double the normal time.

We teased my hubby that he is stingy that's why rain so heavy on our wedding day. He said he got lotsa company as many couples got married on the day. Ha...

Traffic from Singapore to JB was smooth, that's why most of my guests reached way before 6pm. But heard the traffic back to Spore on that nite is very very bad! Many of them only managed to get home after midnite...

lavender_tmy

Hi Jas,

Congratulations to u....can i know where is your wedding dinner held at ? Me also from JB....Your photo shoot from which bridal shop ?

jelly

Thanks lavender...

My wedding banquet was held at Grand Straits View Restaurant at Danga Bay. Bridal shop is Graceful Creatin at Johor Jaya.

When's ur AD?

tingshen

hi all, i just joined last month, was actively involved in the redhill/bukit merah balloting thread. My fiancee is a Singaporean. Just wanna say hi to you all!

Our ROM date is not fixed yet. May or may not have wedding dinner so ROM may be done in a more grand way. We just got the Redhill flat through balloting exercise, will be moving in once it's renovated.

marilyn_chh

wow, so many new members i lose track liao..so, we've got a new member from Ipoh too --> June

Let me do a count,
June , lilybud( hey gal, you're from the BKK thread also right?), lavender and TS
Yahoo, the thread is suddenly so active!

<font color="119911">June
Are you a PR yet? Any intention of being a PR? Anyway, i only know of ROM at Singapore, then submit marriage form at embassy. No idea of the other round..mmm...Oh yeah, I'm also from NUS (a very lao senior) and hubby a singaporean</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jas
Welcome to join the Mrs club..hehe...</font>

june_goh

Hi mrc, not PR yet lah, still studying in final semester of undergrad! Actually what are the benefits of being a PR besides getting a *resale* HDB? Seems like not much advantages also hahah (becoming SOOO kiasu singaporean liao haha)

I still can't get through High Comm.. I think they must be having cuti panjang (been calling them since MONDAY every hour or so aiyo).

marilyn_chh

mm, you lose out on the CPF?

Unless, the company is willing to pay you a bit higher or backpay you the CPF in cash when you become a PR? If not, very rugi lor.. imagine for a pay of $2000, the company should contribute 16% = $320 into your account? But that also means you have to contribute 20% from your $2000 pay check. Your take home pay is just $1.8K.

Well, depends how you see it lah..If you have no intention of staying long here, then just forget it
Every month, you have $200 more to spend

tingshen

mrc, me also from NUS one leh, 6 years back.

The employer contribution is 13% instead of 16% now. It's getting lesser and lesser man....last time was 20%/20% one....

June junior, if you can change your IC to be east Malaysia, you can actually withdraw everything in your CPF when you withdraw your PR status in the future. Otherwise, better use the money to buy house, coz even you use it for investment, you can take back the profit one.

not many employer will "top up" the extra cash to you one. anyway, in case you're becoming PR, remember to sign the full contribution form with your very first employer. Then you will get the maximum benefit from day 1! trust me, you will earn more $$$ in your ordinary account!

marilyn_chh

tingshen,
ei!!you're not from batch 1995/1996 by the way??? Which faculty are you from?

wah, i'm very heng then...last time i used to think i rugi liao since before me it was 20-20.

when you say east malaysia, you refering to sabah sarawak?

june_goh

wah didn't know so interesting one haha.. anyway my future employer called me today and i decided to go for the PR since there are no extra benefits to remain non-PR. will be staying in singapore for a very long time too i think since FH's bond is 6 years (mine's only 3).

how to change IC one? if you really stay in ipoh, can't possibly say u're saying in kuching right haha...

tingshen

mrc, me 96/97 one, but that was BIO, then changed course to computer science become officially 97/98. So it took me just 2.5 years extra to finish the course. Started work in Dec 1999
It was 16/20, then dropped dropped dropped......sibeh DL man...

June, remember to request for full contribution, tell them before hand, ask them to put it in your letter of offer. Like that you get full CPF contribution straight away. They may tell you you have lesser take home pay lar blah blah blah, just ignore it.

Changing IC from Ipoh to Kuching? I dunno the process man. I am not interested and dun bother to find out yet lar, coz I bet my cashflow would be more than enough than the leftover CPF money when I really retire. Just work hard, dream can become reality

lavender_tmy

Hi Jas,

Grand Straits View Restaurant is "Hu Pin", rite?It's a popular place for wedding dinner....hehe....Must be a wonderful wedding dinner , rite?
How's your wedding photo? I like to see wedding photo a lot....i havent take yet....Mind to share with me ? U can email me to :[email protected]

My AD will be end of the year.