Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

tingshen

wow, I just went to a networking nite at holland village, so many people posted already.

LadyBug, I'm in business but the company doesn't belongs to me, I used to run 2 businesses, 1 is industrial product, in IT, another one is Diamond water. I joined back the corporate world about 8 months ago. Currently working in an IT company dealing with business intelligence. I'm always preparing myself to come out to run my own business again, when given the right time and opportunity
So that's about me.

mrc, as I mentioned, the deposit is supposed to be only 10%, with all the "+++" it turns out to be 12.51% (about $49K) of our flat purchase price, I believe the percentage will be higher if you're purchasing a cheaper flat.

anne@, yes, my fiancee is a Singaporean, that's how we get a new flat, and enjoy the lowest interest provided by HDB. Once you got into banks, you will fall into the game of refinancing again, again, again, and again. Dun you find it familiar in your Malaysia properties? hehe.... The highest price i heard at rehill was 460K, I am not sure which floor but definately it's around 5 years old. Unless we are very unhappy with the location, we may not move to other place until we can afford a landed property. Dun think I'm interested to stay in condo, almost no difference with HDB except the security guard.

Okay, how do I come out the total interest. To be exact, if I do not top up to the monthly payment, my interest is exactly $155,504.62 at the end of 30 years. There are quite a lot of calculator programme or excel spreadsheet in the internet you can use to do the calculation. Or you can try the one I make myself too. The installment part is not completed, if you have the time you can put in the formula yourself so that you will know for every month you're paying your house, how much actually serve the principle, how much is going to the interest.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
housing loan calculator (compound interest)
financial calculator.xls (29.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

jenu

I just working here for abt 2 years only... still waiting if my application for PR can be approved. Whereas, my bf gotten his PR few months ago.

We already realised that it is not easy to start a family here =( ....sometimes really lost and a bit scare.

Anyone can share your experience with me??

jenu

TS, are u an IT guy?? How you find working in this field?? my bf &amp; few of his colleages always complain that they are in the wrong field as they have to update/upgrade themselves oftenly to make themselves more valuable in the market.

june_goh

Ya I tried the chee cheong fun.. it is super sedap especially with green chillis haha..

I'm also trying to work out my bf and my future budget for a house.. I think both of us can't afford owning property so fast (I will only start working in June, and he has only worked for a year here).. SOOO unlike Ipoh where you can get a lovely house for around RM150K! Sighzzz

eccentric

Thanks Marilyn &amp; TS!

Unfortunately, my $$ in the ordinary acc is so miserable! Just started working in Spore less than a year. sigh... now i can't suka-suka lepak without a job lor.

anne, where about is your colleague's flat? Is it tallest one in toa payoh? I've seen a few but even for 5-rms, the selling price is less than $400k wor.

tingshen

Jen, what do you mean by we are both online now? Are you in my MSN/ICQ/Yahoo mesg list?

Yes, I am in IT. Same as mrc, graduated from NUS computer science. It's quite normal for the technical people complaining about their prospects in this line. That's why I moved to sales and currently in the business development role.

How do I find IT industry? It's a great industry! Who told you doctors/lawyers/accountants/non-IT related professions do not need to upgrade themselves? The only difference is the rate of change! IT tends to be more volatile, and that's life! Who are the richest people in the world nowadays? Microsoft, Oracle, Intel+AMD, IBM etc etc etc. No risk, no gain. If the fellow IT people still can't wake up their mind and still hoping for high salary, high position with super low workload, they will be "disqualified" from the competition very soon, unless you own the business, you created a system to let it run by itself. Not happy? switch career ASAP before you start regretting. That's why I always encourage people to come out and run their own business, if you're pursuing a bigger dream. However, just be reminded that do not fall into the franchise trap. The law here is not matured enough to protect all the franchisors. Do you know the McDonald's in Singapore is managed by McDonald's itself?

Not suitable or not ready for business? Then you must be the top performer in your organization! Treat it like your own business, run it like your own business and you will see results. Bottom line, choose the right boss to follow! However, we live only once, if you never try it, you will never know if you can make it. For yourself, try at least ONCE!

This is life, only the winner takes it all. Success doesn't come easy, and I'm still learning. To me, success is a lifestyle
No risk, no gain, but entrepreneurs take calculated risk. I look down on semi-successful entrepreneur, and I envy people like Douglas Foo. 1 is more successful in career but totall a failure in family. The other one is a more round off complete success personnel, in both career and family. At the end of the day, there is no right or wrong, it's a matter of choice. I choose the more rounded off lifestyle, that's why I want to tie the knot NOW!

Come on, where is the Malaysian spirit you guys are having? We used to be called a better quality workforce compared to the locals, but now? Think again, are you still a Foreign Talent? If not, aren't you wasting your time here?

beetle

totally agreed.. s'pore owning an asset is difficult lo.. with all the burden ah gotta ensure u cannot out of job or simply unhappy and resign leh..

imagine buying a 3rm here can buy a landed property in msia!!!

tingshen

haha.....LadyBug, you say until I more heart pain leh. The HDB we just bought can buy more than 2 of the semi-detached house I'm staying in JB now. Town area somemore! If i'm not wrong it's 3000+sqft, can park about 4-5 cars somemore!

marilyn_chh

sometimes we need guys like TS to motivate us to work harder hor?? hahaha..TS sure sounds a very aggresive worker/boss mann

but nah, i'm so lazy and easily contented msian bride..may be it's a girls thing? haha..

TS, your fiancee as aggresive and risk taker like you? wow, you have this never say die attitude that not many msian has mann..

anne

Elaine, my colleague who just sold last year is at Blk 60 for the price of $512k at 28th Floor.
Another colleague now sitting beside me, she is on Blk 154 30th Floor, wanna sell $520k. Haven't sell yet..but got a view interested buyers. She is waiting for her condo to T.O.P. first then wanna move.

tingshen

frankly speaking, i just realised my fiancee is a risk taker, especially in the investment side. Perhaps that really click us together. However, she's the type where she knows how to handle and manage calculated risk. Therefore, in terms of career, she's in the civil service, handling GDP now. She's actually quite against me going for business again, because I delayed the whole family thingy for at least 2 years, otherwise, we would have 1 child by now. Sometimes, it's just fate I guess, if I were to get married 2 years ago, I wouldn't have chance to bid for the redhill flat. I quite like that place in fact.

Well, it depends on how hungry you are to reach your dreams and goals. As I always say, we only live once. Must try everything mah.....but dun anyhow try okay? hehe.... It's up to individuals, I can't force everybody to go along this line. However, in my organization, I will try to make sure everybody is efficient and effective within that 8 hr, so that we do not need to work beyond 6pm. Opps....i better get back to work now heha...

anne@, what's that area? 512K???? walao, huat liao lar!

anne

TS, that is Toa Payoh Central. They both bought around $370k 6yrs back.
Hmm..the one that waiting for her condo to T.O.P. is making more obviously bcoz they only take up 10yrs HDB loan. So the interest they paid is very min. She moves bcoz of her daughter schooling at Raffles Girl Primary

tingshen

wow, that's interesting, even if take 90% loan, $370K 6 years is only like $27K. And now they are making more than $100K?!!!! Minus off renovation, they can at least still earn extra $50K!!!!

wow, that's the first time I heard people making big buck by buying HDB flat!

anne

TS, not the first time I heard. My HR mgr sold her 4-rm flat at Bishan and making nearly $100k!!

Actually 4-rm is easier to sell than 5-rm.
For those who is buying resale of 5-rm on all these prime areas, next time when they wanna sell, don't think they can make any profit. Only 1st time buyer can make big bucks..haha

anne

Talking about property. My another colleague wanna sell her unit at Toa Payoh at Blk 60 too after CNY,30th Floor at $505k. Anybody interested?? No need to pay agent fee somemore coz her hb is property agent..can do all the paperwork FOC.

tingshen

i just forgot to add something, actually the new estates in Malaysia is not worth buying/investing. Malaysia's property (non KL area) is very unstable nowadays.....

walao, dun make me gian leh...although I'm not staying at the top floor, but very close lar...higher than 20th storey. Never thought of selling away the flat in a few years time.....uhm.....

eccentric

wow! no wonder, the high floors really makes a lot of difference! Half a mil!

My friend just bought a 5-rm at TP, but only 2nd flr at $378k. Well maintained and not much reno, just some paint work.

anne

My colleagues told me for TP especially high floor point block can fetch very high price.

Well, they can see fireworks every year fr their balcony during National day and other occasion

I been to one of my colleague's hse. 30th floor, nice view and windy. No need aircon in the hall..haha

tingshen

well, to pay half a million just to watch that fireworks once a year? Cool man! But I prefer to pay a premium at Riz Calton istead hehe....just kidding, never tried that b4 yet.

Guess I will be staying in the same flat for the next 5-20 years. Dun think HDB Flat can really earn a lot of money, after deducting all the interest and the investment you put in for renovation....

anne

TS, U can if u put in more down payment and shorten your loan period

Actually for u, still enjoy the advantage of 1st time owner. Will still earn some $$ compared to resale owner like us rite??

tingshen

anne@, provided I am moving to a not so prime area. you see ah, resale flat buyer will always rugi, then if I sell away this redhill one and purchase a resale flat, in the end still the same leh. that's why the next home I'm aiming is landed property. If things are going smoothly, 5 years time!

jenu

TS, u look like my big brother => (I got no brother anyway). Thanks for your advice.

But so sad that I not so understand the topic on property, just know it is not easy.

jenu

Just checking, how ROM goes?? I can choose my preferable date for my ROM? If I choose 13/1/07, am I need to register the date in 6 months in advance or even earlier?

As my bf &amp; I are from the same hometown, so we will have our wedding at hometown. But thinking to invite few close colleages to attend our ROM in S'pore. Including both sides family member may end up 20 person. Any suggestion or idea how it goes? It seems strange if they just attend the ROM without any lunches later right?

tingshen

Jen, are you going to have wedding dinner? If so, dun bother to ask so many people to come along. Unless you're holding it outside the Registrar itself, it can't take in so many people one. Keep it to your family members and super close friends will do.

If you going to do ROM and Wedding ceremony at the same time at other places, then of course, you shall invite as many people as possible, but it's really up to you to decide the size.

I think you can't book the date so early in advance, if I'm not wrong it's 3 months, however, if you're holding it outside of the registrar, it's up to you, provided you can get the place and the person to do the solemnization for you.

wah, you want to call me big brother? hahaa....you will be surprised I may be younger than you!

june_goh

I am thinking of doing ROM in registry office itself end of April, so I was test-trying out the e-filing system. After clicking around, I finally came to the page where the amount of money I was supposed to pay came out. To my horror, it showed $128, not $28 as I expected!!! How come? Is it because both my FH and I are not yet PR? What a waste of money...

And I finally got through to High Com yesterday... they don't allow me to go straight to them to register sigh.

Anyone has any experience with ROM in registry office, and how long it takes? Any delays usually?

jelly

Hi Anne, is ur colleague's TP flat 5 room flat? Fully renovated? How old is the flat? Corner lot? My hubby just got PRship, and we thinking of buying a flat using CPF.

beetle

Hi Jen.. if not wrong.. u got to book the date at least 3 mths from your ROM date. If you are doing it outside the registrar than 1 month b4 also can but you need to find the person to do the solemn. U can find the list of people qualified at the web.

June, why don't you call down to spore Registrar there first? coz i think citizen n non-citizen do have diffferent in charges leh.. not too sure tho ..

susany

Bengchoo, bcing,June, lilybud, lavender &amp; TS - welcome ... sorry for the late greetings .. too busy at work.

I'm looking for a resale unit too, met few agentss liau .. is the commission paid to agent is based on valuation or selling price? Sigh .. my CPF has no $$$, so, got to use lots of cash for the downpayment and owner asking fee.

Jas/Tlc - congrats .. didn't have the time to look at your pictures yet. thanks for sharing .. will look at them during my break later.

susany

Hey Jen, u're from Anson .. used to pass by and had stopover at Bidor and Anson whenever driving to Penang from Klang.

tingshen

SusanY, I have no experience in buying resale flat, it shall be based on selling price one. But I think there is no much difference right? Negotiate with the agent lor.

June, if 2 of you are malaysian, you shall go to JB 中åŽå…¬ä¼š to settle your ROM. Should be cheaper and easier. Let me ask my friend how much he settled it in JB.

marilyn_chh

hi june,
You can only start booking 3 months before your preferred ROM date, not earlier than that.

Also, i think you can invite 20 person lah. I've attended an ROM before and i think the ROM room can accomodate up to 20 lah..just hang around lor..hehe..

The actual solemnization is very fast, probably 10 minutes? and very very punctual. So, you need to go there early and wait for your turn.

Also, couples who ROM in registra office will usually throw a buffet lunch to their guest in a restaurant or hotel. The popular ones are the dim sum lunch, etc. Just tell them the place, meet there and have a feast

Susan,
I think the commission is from the seller, not the buyer. Your agent will get it from the owner if i'm not wrong

susany

TS, u were saying about whether we're still a foreign talent in this country and why r v wasting our time here .. yup, u're right .. really make me wonder all these whiles if I should pursue in buying a unit here or continue renting or I should take all my savings here and start a business back in KL.

susany

Marilyn, seller agent will get 2% from the seller and the buyer will give 1% to the buyer agent. In M'sia, a buyer doesn't have to pay the commission to the house agent, only the seller needs to do so.

anne

Jas, my colleague's 5-rm unit is corner, 30th floor point block at TP central with no blockage. U can check directory is Blk 60. That's y another colleague who used to stay there on 28th floor sold at high price.

jelly

Think there are many places in JB where u can register besides 中åŽå…¬ä¼š. Me and hubby ROM at 中åŽä¸­å•†å…¬ä¼š. Think need to pay about RM50, cant really remember liao. But if one party is PR another one has been or is a WP or EP holder in Spore, u need to check with MOM (Ministry of Manpower) here whether you need to get MOM approval before ROM. We only know abt it 1 year after our ROM from this forum. Then quickly rush down MOM later being told my hubby fall under waiver group so no need to get prior approval. Heng...

jelly

Susan, u back to work liao!!! Ur mum is looking after GyAnn?

Anne, thanks for the info. Sound like very nice location especially it's a corner lot and at high floor. Near MRT also rite? Will discuss with hubby...

anne

Jas, u discuss with ur hb first. half a mil property..don't over commit ya especially u guys still owning a hse in JB.
My this colleague very close to me..so if u guys interested can pop by when u guys pass by to look at her place. She has good quality of kitchen top which very exp! I'm aiming for that when I redo my kitchen..keke

eccentric

hey susan, which area are you looking to stay at?
my agent is pretty good, nice lady &amp; even negotiated for us... let me know if you want to consider other agents too ya...

cheerios!

june_goh

wah quite confusing leh... haha interesting to read about resale flats also because if both PR then only eligible for resale flats, so sad cannot buy a new HDB

if register at JB need the 21 day notice also right? which means have to go down to JB for that ahhhh so ma fan! why can't marriage be sweet and simple? :D

marilyn_chh

hello people, i've not chance my IC leh..How ah? Feel very ma huan like dat. So lazy to go to Ipoh to change..aiyoh.. Can anyone tell me how much I'll be fine ah?

jelly

Marilyn, they will charge u RM20 to change ur IC now, previously FOC. Ha, all IC counters full of ppl before 31/12/05. But since it was announced only have to pay RM20, then the queue gone liao.

June, some places like 中åŽå…¬ä¼šdoes not open on Saturday. Previously we want to ROM there as they just open their new building. But they not open on weekdays and even said since ROM so important, we shd take leave to just go there to register a day for ROM! So we end up ROM in 中åŽä¸­å•†å…¬ä¼šwhich is not bad too. Will try see whether i still keep the tel no. U shd call them up first before gg down to ensure wat to bring for ROM. If i remember correctly need copy of both ur ICs, both ur witnesses (one from each), ur photos and fill up a form.

jelly

anne, we hope to get a flat at prime area, at least can fetch higher rental price if next time we want to rent one or two rooms out. As of whether can gain from the investment or not is not within our control. Depends on market demand. We are still considering whether to get a 4 or 5 room flat. Of cos 4 room will be much cheaper, maybe about S$300k plus???

tingshen

SusanY, if you guys are confident enough, why not? afterall, if you couldn't get any first hand HDB flat, you will not be making any single profit. Even for people like me who get to buy a new one, can only earn not more than $100K i believe, less all the admin charges, agent fees, renovation and interest. Please, for godness sake, start your own business so that you can really retire comfortably.
Nevertheless, do your finance and accounting properly, take only CALCULATED RISK!

You may email your business idea to me, I dun mind to help you take a look and see if I can help. There are 2 very important rules when it comes to business. A lot of SME suffers because they realised they are selling their time only, worse than working for others.

June, the moment we stepped into Singapore, our life is never simple anymore. Consider yourself as non-local, life will never be the same again
It's just a process we have to go through. Just bear with it for a while, it will be over. You want SWEET life? Then work harder so that you can really taste some sweetness soon

mrc, I JUST GOT MY NEW IC!!! YEAH! RM20 only meh? I thought RM50....haha...U know what? they hold my IC for more than 1 year and never inform me to collect. So 1 fine day I just pop in and visit them, they just pass me the new IC lor. Remember request NOT TO PAY RM1.50 for the stupid IC cover. They assume you to buy, unless you tell them not to.