Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

tlc

Hihi all ladies,

soly for long din join here...juz back work at 12th Jan. after wedding, me still busy cos hv help to fetch & entertain my outstation relatives, bring them shop around & makan...
11th juz send last batch back to airport, phew~

Yah, sien...raining whole day whole nite tat day, spoil mood even expected...lucky guests turn out rate 90%...most Sg guest reach early cos no jam but back really terrible Jam manz...guesss most them not only come JB for Haji but oso attend weddine diner(like for Jas & me), haha...

my banquet start bout 7.20pm, i finish makeup bout 6.15pm at hotel as i wan greet my guest when they come(my card stated start at6.30pm). few guest come early b4 our family, when i go down there's some guests seat in oledy.Due to raining, reception initially at outdoor of the hall hv swift inside the hall, the recept area bit cramp when some guests come together & queue der..

diner end bout 9.15pm, it's quite fast & try to end early so Sg guest can back early, but who knows they all stucks at custom bout 1.30-2hrs!!

tlc

Jas,

u manage chnage all 3 gowns? there got vIP room for u to change?

i din't change last EG, lazy n yet raining, floor bit wet if hv go all the way to hotel room for change. Act i can change at nearby Spa facilities room, but the gown was put in my room....before last dish, we stand at entry to greet guests back, but noone intend to leave, i thinking wan go chnage last gown not, yet scare no enough time travel back hotel room & ballroom. anyway, me oso not so keen on last EG color & troublesome if change...juz opt it out...

jenu

Glad to know all of you are M'sia's bride. me from Teluk Intan (oppss... its a very small town at Perak stage, hope some of you may heard it before =P)

I'm planning to ROM on Jan/07... but a bit lost... don't know whether to invite friend or not... btw, my FH is from my hometown too.

june_goh

Of course I know where Teluk Intan is.. the chee cheong fun there quite nice one right? And the famous leaning clock tower! Hahaha

jelly

Hi tlc... Glad to see u are back too!

There are so many similarities between us for our wedding! Like Spore guests reached earlier than our families (5 plus, some even 4 plus reach liao), me also managed to change only 2 gowns (opt out the WG last minute during my evening makeup at the bs), finished the banquet 9 plus (u even faster than mine hor) and majority only left after the last course (think still early for most), and my attendance rate is around 90% also.
Ya, they got a room for me. But both my EGs difficult to wear (gotta tie strings at the back), so to reduce my stress, i wear straight the first EG at my bs, with the help of my MUA.

And ya... Next 2 days after the wedding busy bringing my overseas frens around too and sending them back to airport.

Just got my AD photos back from my photographer on Saturday. will send to u gals later...

Hi Lavender, yep, Grand Straits View Restaurant is called "Hu Pin" in Mandarin (actually "Xin Hu Pin" after renovation, but JB people still used to call it "Hu Pin" loh).

marilyn_chh

Jen,
You kidding me?? Who doesn't Teluk Intan? There's a quite famous male singer cum actor from there right. Forgot his name liao and he's quite handsome one. He acted in a few drama series in HK.

TS,
You know what? I think we're classmates mann. But i started working in late Jul 1999.

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">WeL</font><font color="119911">Co</font><font color="0000ff">Me</font></font>
<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Lady Bug!!!</font></font> I'm from Ipoh too

tingshen

mrc, you also from NUS SOC one? add me in MSN and talk more, later here become our very own thread liao hahaa....

my MSN is sales at ejaya dot com.

beetle

hi hi.. everyone.. me feel so at home .. well it seems quite a few from Ipoh eh.. teluk intan sure know ah. Me stay @ First Garden.. Ring any bell.. or forgotten ..

beetle

bout the full CPF contribution ..I think now a lot employer don't agree with full contr to new PR liao.. I tried ask when my first yr PR my company reject. so gotta go up slowly. 1st yr is only 5%/4% 2nd yr 15%/9% 3rd yr than full 20%/13% .. if i got it correctly. can check ICA website tho..

june_goh

haha first garden of course know lah.. but it's the other side of Ipoh relative to my hometown
so all of you going back for CNY? i'm stuck here sigh

tingshen

tell you gals a small trick here, you go set up your own company, then use that company to approve your very own PR rate, before you join the new company. All these can be processed within 48 hrs if I'm not wrong.

But if you are already on the job, too bad lar....if you're switching job, take this opportunity to turn on the FULL RATE thingy. I was lucky to turn it for full rate, bosses were very kind and nice. Otherwise I dun think I can even buy a flat by now.

tingshen

mrc, it's absolutely legal. The government even encourage you to be an entrepreneur! The only way is to make sure you handle all the admin process properly. If you're not too sure what to do, do consult those consulting firm that handle all these adminstrative stuff for companies one. However, take this as the last resort. Try to persuade your boss to sign that full contribution form.

I am contributing 20% from the day 1 I became PR. It was 16% for employers during my time (Dec 1999) and now is only 13%!!! walao, sibeh sianz sometimes.

marilyn_chh

wahaha...only now i know TS is actually a guy (rechecked his prev posting and he mentioned fiancee..hehe.

Now we really have a guy member

beetle

mrc.. employer contribution change to 13% long long lo.. tat's y imagine from start total u get is only 9%.. 3rd yrs onwards than total 33% ..how long to save for buying hdb??

marilyn_chh

lady bug,
how do you 33%? you just started working? yeah, it's a bit tougher now since i heard you need to provide cash for down payment right??

tingshen

33% is 20% (you ) + 13% (employer) lah.

if you signed the full contribution form with your employer, you will get to contribute 20% and they will be forced to contribute up to 13% lor. That's why i mentioned, I won't be able to buy my redhill flat now if I didn't sign that form last time. I can't recall who is the one who remind me of that, I must thank her for that man!

downpayment is 10%, but with all the extra charges in (stamp fee, surveying fee etc), you will need to pay extra $10K to cover all these funny charges. Luckily, payable by CPF.

For my case, the flat is $391.6K, we have to pay a total of $48892.47 as the so called "downpayment". Ridiculous right? 10%++++++++ well, that's life. that's HDB. So with your total $$ in your ordinary account in CPF, you shall be able to calculate what kind of flat you can afford.

beetle

sigh.. me gone thru the whole process oh.. now 3rd yr PR. started working in spore coming 8 yrs but did not get PR lo.. my BF also msian. TS is rite, not sure how many "++++"
settled the dwpayment got reno fee leh..

marilyn_chh

wow, your flat sure expensive hor..but then redhill is a matured estate and close to ammenities? high floor?

can you pay $48892.47 using CPF?? If not, pengsan mann...

marilyn_chh

Never mind, apply for 4 room in North area?? it's not so ex.. My PIL last time sold their 4 admiralty room for $210K only and decently renovated. So, the family who bought the flat, damn lucky. Move in condition! My inlaws even sold the glass dining table and chairs, sofa and glass coffee table(in tip top condition) to them at SGD500! really "jap tou" mann! And they dun even need to do reno for the kitchen.

May be you can ask agent to look for this kind of lubang. Decent flat with minimal reno. When you safe enough, then upgrade lor..

Your fiance/ hubby PR too?

tingshen

mine is a 5 rooms 23rd floor. Price wise guaranttee won't rugi lar, unlike those in punggol sengkang one, if bought at the wrong timing totally cannot sell away man! i heard some flats in the area besides is going for $460K for 5 rooms now!!!

that $49K is totally paid by CPF, and we can still spare some for emergency. That's a total of about 6 years of accumulative CPF from both me and my fiancee. I wasn't contributing any CPF for 2.5 years while running my business earlier.

MRC!!!! didn't know you're also from Sheares Hall, I think you sure know me, but I really can't recall who you are now....reply my email and give more hint leh! The current master Garry Tan, you know him right? our first year lecturer and now he's my good friend too. He drives a Z350...woohoo...fly like rocket man haha...

beetle

now still BF... have not fix any date for ROM yet.. yep yep he is PR too. He is from MUAR,Johor

hmm .. both of us get use to AMK area leh.. work also near

marilyn_chh

ts,
garry tan?? oh oh..the young chap lecturer?? hehe, i hope i'm right..anyway, i'm super lousy at school and results barely there and forgot most of the lecturer's name..haha...

ahem, me staying in punggol one leh...dun "put lang shui" ok?? haha...when we bought it, the price already came down but then after that price went down futher

dun think will rugi lah, may be just won't earn as much. last heard from a friend that punggol flat is better off than seng kang flat..oops, me not trying to threw cold water at those staying at seng kang..hehe...but that's the news i heard lah..

marilyn_chh

lady bug,
three years of CPF should be enough for downpayment right? what abt your BF? yeah, AMK is a matured estate and fetch quite good price especially those near amenities..

tingshen

MRC, garry tan is no longer young.....going 50 in a few years time. You forgot about him? go to his webby lor, http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/~gtan/ the logic design assembly course lar.

sorry lar, didn't mean to say bad things about your area. You can't simply sell the flat at all right? otherwise you have to top up cash back to CPF, that's the problem for punggol sengkang area. Most probably you have to tahan a little longer before that area recovers. Do you guys drive? If you have car it's actually quite a nice place.

We bought Redhill coz we dun want to buy car anymore. at most maybe rent car. until my business is really successful. anyway mine is the Aug balloting exercise one, so it's phase 2 N6 RC29, right opposite the MRT station.

Well, I dun expect to earn from my HDB. At most I can cover my interest only. U know what? 30 years later, I would have paid a total of about $150K interest to HDB man!!!!! That's already taking into account the interest rate will be at 2.6% throughout. for PR/PR couple, it's very high....the interest.

marilyn_chh

at that time, all our lecturer very old mah..think he's the youngest..hehe, then he was only 30+ leh..hehe

all new HDB can only be sell 5 years later.. hopefully by then the market would have picked up. If not, i dun mind staying there. The environment quite nice still..Still a lot of undeveloped land
but the disadvantage is it's very far from town. Lucky thing, my company moving to AMK. At least nearer to my place

yeah hubby got car and we're quite dependant on it. But then i believe even if dun have, can still survive lah.. just a matter of time adjusting to it. Now, i'm like taking 3 kinds of transport to reach my office?? (LRT,MRT and bus) hehe..

beetle

aiyah.. i still think where ever yr place is good one la.. as long is comfi n love it..

my Bf only cmg 2nd yr PR only.. so CPF can't cover much oh.. gotta fork out cash alot..

tingshen

well, there is no perfect place one. I would say overall it may turn out similar cost. You stay further cheaper rate but higher transport fee, may end up the same amount we are paying every month.

a car cost $1K or more. So in reverse we can save $1K or more for something else mah

same thing I always want to say, work harder, the best come out and run your own business, then you can get retired earlier or comfortably in the future

marilyn_chh

ladybug,
aiyoh, if fork out cash, not worth it leh..save a bit more first? i'm sure you can get cheaper place around AMK one.. might slightly futher from MRT or wat? sometimes resale flat also very nice one.. just need to be hardworking to find it
dun give up!

beetle

agreed.. tat's y b4 buying must thinking of all the pros/cons..
both us also work &amp; stay in AMK area. tend to save a bit on the journey to work ..
TS, wat type of biz you are in?

eccentric

ts... $150K? know how to calculate? i tot 2.6% is consider ok mah... even for Sporean it's 2.6% and banks loans are even higher.

btw, anyone know of a good renovator/ id/ contractor huh?

and... helloo to all new members! i'm from ipoh toooo....

marilyn_chh

i guess TS put down a lot of deposit bah, that's why $150K of interest in the end? Actually abt this 2.6% interest loan thing, not sure it's for everyone or only for PR-SIN/SIN-SIN couple?

i have a ID friend but she needs a small fee for her design though. She will draw out all the plan layout and you can use her plan and engaged any any contractor in singapore. They will be able to do the reno with the layout cos the layout includes the measurement of all your custom made furnitures or features according to your design. You interested? she's a malaysian too and she's nice to work with and she has many lubang for curtains, furnitures, lightings, etc.. Let me know if you're interested to contact her..

eccentric

but $150k is a lot wor... oh gosh... i just recently put down a deposit to buy a flat at $334.5k and i wasn't aware that the interest can accumulate to that much!

oh dear, anyone can enlighten me on the calculation? i dont wanna be in debt till i'm old and wrinkly!

marilyn_chh

it's the same wat in msia.. if you buy a terrace say at 100K and take 30 years loan. the interest at the end of 30 years can be up as much as 100K! so, in all you paid RM200K for the house lor.. Before the admiralty flat, i heard from my hubby that, his parents also took 30 years loan and after calculation, in the end the interest accumulated over 30 years is as much as the flat purchased price..

it's just an accumulative figure over 30 years. Not asking you to come out cold hard cash of 150K one shot lah.. It's just that the longer you stretch your repaying period, the more interest you pay.. But then it's safer cos over the years if you have extra cash in your account, you can ask HDB to arrange to deduct more. But if you opt for a short repayment period, after that you cannot change your mind and ask to change to 30 years back. Some people just play it safe in case of the hubby or the wifey got retrench and CPF cannot sustain the loan too long.. so, dun worry lah..

Actually, so much said, i still dun know how to calculate the interest..hehe

anne

Wow..today's thread got lots of new members and all talking about HDB flats!!!

TS, your fiancee Sporean? Only PR-Sin/Sin-Sin couple can apply for those balloting estate rite?
At first when reading your message, I was telling myself wow Bkt Merah, expensive place but look at your price..seems cheap! I was puzzled..then continue reading your posting, realised that is balloting lot. Good buy..won't rugi for your case.

My colleague also got a ballot unit at Toa Payoh. She is now looking at selling for $510k! Bought at $380k 5 years ago.

anne

Tianci, I only have MUA for actual day. My BS is in Spore not PG. I taken my PS and MTM my gowns in Spore and bring back for my AD.

beetle

my bf is telling me same thing.. he say take long period repayment but after fews years opt for a top up for the repayment and recalculate the interest with short term period might save a bit from there. than after few years do the top up again.. end up u might not need 30 yrs to pay and interest might be lesser oh..

marilyn_chh

eccentric,
mm, let me attempt to calculate the interest. think roughly there lah...

1st down payment, must pay 20% right? so that's 334000 * 0.2 = 66800

2nd down payment when you collect the key, say each of you have 20K and 30K each (HDB will wipe off all your $$ in ordinary acc)
==> 334000 - 66800 - 50000 = 217000

Interest over 30 years = 217000 * 0.026 * 30 = $169416

That's the total amount of interest you pay HBD over 30 years.

Outstanding amount yet to pay = 217000 + 169416 = 386416

Every year for the next 30 years, you need to pay = 386416 / 30 years = 12880.53

Every month for the next 30 years, you need to pay = 12880.53/12 months = 1073.38

jenu

Dear June
wah... you try before the chu cheong fen?? very nice

Dear Mrc
r u mean "Kuan Te Hui", I think so...