Bookclub - what are you reading?

ya lor, skylar... ur that dream a bit creepy leh. i dun have scary dreams as much now. maybe older liao... not really scared of many things... now dreams more abt everyday things or pple.

that time when my grandma juz passed away, i kept dreaming of her. almost 2-3 times a week. until after the 100th day... then now, no more liao... only once when i juz moved into my new place...

Wah ladies.. The dreams you guys have are really...swallow saliva...
Hi Avid, did u get sore eyes after the dream?Cos I had a similar experience n also cannot open my eyes cos alot of shit then i realise it is sore eyes!
Hi Alhana, are u too tensed up?

When I was young,I had a dream where...a group of life size p***r cards,in kings n queens n jokers,they held me captive n put me into a flattening machine n wanted to make me like them,i was struggling so hard..n was screaming n cryin...then i woke up.It is funny now but it was very scary then.
Then another time,I had a repetitive dream of a pack of wolves chasing n wanting to eat me up in the very dark n scary forest..n i had this dream for a long time..

Hello all! Sorry if I've spooked anyone about that dream I had when I was a kid! :P It wasn't THAT scary.. I'm sure there's a logical reason why my eyes were sealed with eye shit.

Slgerman, I couldn't really recall if I had sore eyes cos that was so long ago. I remembered getting scoldings from my mum though! She said I was talking rubbish when I was trying to tell her about the garden I saw!

Slgerman, have you read any of Charles de Lint's books? Cos he has written quite a fair bit about dreams in his stories... including about a pack of wolves chasing people in dreamland! hmmm.. that's so strange. I'll go check which book..

Slgerman I've to ask you this again... have you read "The Solitaire Mystery" by Jostein Gaarder? Cos that pokercard dream sure sounded like the book! Abt a bunch of pokercards living on an island which were the manifestation of an old man who got to the island after a shipwreck and all he had with him was a deck of playing cards. One of the best books I've ever read!

Heh avid reader...
Hee hee dunno i can dream of story lines in books! LOL the answer to your 2questions is no lei..i never even heard of these writers!Maybe i can write it into a book as soon i dream them then i can be an author!Hee hee
Abt the pokercards dream..all i knw is tat i was very spooked by it for years.And I remembered i was at my granny's place n i was sleeping in the living room near my grandpa n he was FARTING alot during the nite! Maybe the "aroma" contributed to the dream!LOL
Heh ladies..ask u huh...have u ever dream of people u knw who have passed away?

Slgerman, yeah you so creative! Ever thought of writing a book?

Everyone's busy at work ah?

Alhana I'm planning for my next holiday.. tigerairways air tic promo -- base fare only S$2 per way. But of course it's always the taxes that cost more.

hey everyone!
plaza singapura foyer area having a book n dvd sale by carrefoure!!! the books so cheap going for $3, $5 etc!!!! i m going back tmrw to buy some classics for my new hse.

So glad it's Friday. Going for my prenatal check up tmr. Having a hard time sleeping these past few nites..combination of the heat and uncomfortable sleeping position
Feeling so tired right now, and the day has only just started.

Avid

I'm so envious of you! Wish I cld go on a holiday too. The promo is for Thailand routes right? Any idea where you wanna go? Wish I cld go to Krabi again...lovely place to just chill and do nothing.

Hello Alhana.. another mth and u will be a mummy liao! i m also glad that its fri.. i m sick.. so miserable.. later still meeting up with my frens for dinner.. tmr nite have a piggy gathering at my place.. no need to rest.. can't take mc cos boss is in HK.... haizzzz..

Gd thing is i bought some books from Sunny.. one of them looks interesting! its called Root of Evil... will tell u guys how it is...

Oh ya, Alhana mummy would be please to hear that i parked myself infront of the tv last wkend watching DVDs! i finally got a player. looking forward to rent the whole of CSI and Lost...

Good morning ladies! It's another Monday but we've Wednesday to look forward to - National Day!

Slgerman & Alhana, I'll be going to Krabi. It's my 2nd time going since I went last year too. Have booked the air tickets already.. $228 for 2 & incl. of taxes so it's quite cheap. Haven't booked hotel yet though. Going for 6 days. Alhana, this time round we won't be staying at La Playa. Thinking of booking The Cliff. We already know that there's nothing much to do in Krabi but we just want to find some place to relax and read.... and... ahem... perhaps make babies? Sorry TMI!! :P

Morning avid

Oh man...I so wish I can go to Krabi too! The Cliff is nice. There's another luxury resort that's quite lovely called The Tubkkak (sp?)..can consider that too. I hear La Playa isn't so nice anymore. And that there's construction work going on near the hotel, so it can get quite noisy. When will you be going?

Bear,

Haha..are you gonna be a couch potato convert soon? Which season of CSI are you gonna get?

Thanks Alhana. Have checked out The Tubkaak.. it's really very nice! But the rates are much higher.. still looking around. I have also heard that there's construction work going on near La Playa. Will be too noisy so it's definitely out. Going in early Sept with friends. But that couple have already booked Vogue Pranang. Gotta look around for nice but affordable resort..

WAH! $228 for 2 persons! Tat is extremely affordable..Heh avid which airline is tat?And how long in advance did u book it?
Hee hee will go tempt my HTB...hee hee

Heh bear parking urself in front of tv sounds like a fantastic idea!But if you watch so many CSI,will u not get bored?When i was in Aust,they have CSI and some other similar shows everynite,i was watchin til i get so bored...

Hi avid

Yeah, Tubkaak is expensive..but it looks so lovely! Perfect for a romantic getaway :P How abt Pavillion Queen's Bay? Not as ex as The Cliff, but nicer than La Playa. Vogue Pranang is quite average right? Is that the one by the beach front?

slgerman

Only Tiger Airlines flies from SIN-Krabi now
Go check out their website.there's some offer right now...$2 tix to Thailand!

I agree that watching too much CSI can get boring. I don't really follow CSI Miami & NY for that reason.

Slgerman.. if you book now I think you can still get seats. Can go to other parts of Thailand too if you are not keen on Krabi.

Alhana yeah I also think Vogue Pranang isn't very nice. Still have some time to decide.. likely to book The Cliff.

So glad it's a public holiday tomorrow! What are all your plans tomorrow? Has anyone been to the Ikea annual sale? Any good buys?

Hello hello... busy busy...

Avid, wah gg for hol? happy making babies! heehee.. then Alhana mummy can recyle her baby's clothes! heehee...

Alhana, Slgerman erm, i think i watched till season 3. so will just get the last 2 seasons, 4 and 5 lor... i also dun watch CSI Miami nor NY cos there are only so many possibilities of killing someone/ committing a crime.. seeing repeated scenarios quite boring... dun think i will be a couch potato soon lah.. i didn't touch the tv set last wkend! heehee... i parked myself in front of a book instead!

Am gonna go shopping for more baby & nursing stuff tmr. Nope...haven't gone to the Ikea annual sale..aren't those things usually jam packed w bargain hunters? :P

What's the room rate for The Cliff?

Bear bear, yeah I better start taking leave.. haven't touch this year's leave yet. Planning for longer trip end of the year also.

Alhana, my hubby said he can get Baht2,850 rate(incl. breakfast & taxes) at The Cliff..

THB2,850 is quite reasonable, considering it's a luxury hotel. Wah..you haven't touched this yr's leave yet??? You do realise that it's already August right? Kekeke. Yeah, go make babies..then i'll hv some company here..LOL.

Bear,

Yeah lor..watching too many crime shows will dilute the experience. In season 6, there's an ep where Grissom goes 'There are too many crime shows on TV now'....we laughed so loud..keke. Anyone watched Grey's Anatomy last nite? It's quite additive. And yay! House will be back next week! Hugh Laurie is my favourite TV doc :P

Yeah man...yest's Grey's Anatomy was hilarious...esp with the female patient's episodes!Tat must be "satisfying" n yet frustrating...lol

Avid, i also haven't touch this yr's leave! heehee.. still clearing last yr'sleave lor.. but i can bring my leave over for one yr so not too bad.. saving them for my wedding and HM.. heehee...

Oh dear Alhana, u mean there is season 6 for CSI? that means i have more to watch! arrggh!! i heard that Grey's Anatomy is gd, plus House too.. but i still wanna watch Lost too.. i have too many tv progs to watch!

Wah...you ladies are so lucky. I can only carry fwd 7 days and that has to be used up by Q1 of the following yr. Co wised up after too many people starting taking really loooong holidays at the end of the year coz they were busy clearing the previous yr's leave :P

Slgerman

Yah, the poor woman with spontaneous orgasms...keke. Thought Izzie and George were quite silly lah...asking her why she wld want that cured. Imagine having an uncontrollable orgasm anywhere, anytime in public...so embarresing!

Bear..yah..CSI already finished season 6! U have alot of catching up to do :P I prefer House & Grey's to Lost. Lost meanders too much for my liking...so much can happen, and yet little progress is made. I get impatient with such storylines :P Grey's & House also have the humour factor..both shows can really hv you in stitches! Of coz being medical dramas, there are the kleenex moments too.

Hello gals!

Alhana, can carry forward better than not being able to right? best can sell leave.. heehee...

Ok then i will plan to watch Lost last.. cos i have been watching a bit on Sat 4.30pm while doing household chores... seems quite ok.. but i find it strange that if they are lost somewhere, how come got nice computers etc etc? kinda dumb...

Back to work... *sigh*... feels like another Monday isn't it :P

We are only allowed to carry fwd 5 days leave to the next year and gotta be consumed by the first quarter. But it's at my boss' discretion.. so I'm allowed to carry fwd more day. 17 days left now after deducting for krabi trip.

Bear, I'm quite lost watching LOST. Cannot understand why they keep introducing new characters. The plot gets deeper and deeper.. to the extend that I couldn't really be bothered what is really going on.

Morning ladies

Bear, I rather not sell leave man..keke. Rather take leave and hv a break from work! I hv 15.5 days left and gonna be on maternity from next mth on..so gonna use up some days to clear Dec..that way I don't hv to come back till 2007..YAY!

Yah..I feel Lost is getting abit ridiculous. Some people made fun of the show..said maybe even the writers themselves got 'lost' after making the situations more complex and confusing. I wld recommend Veronica Mars too...every Sunday at 6pm. It's such a good show with a really likeable cast.

Oh btw, I managed to try Choc a Bloc's choc fudge cake (the normal one and the one w the hard hazelnut base). Ok only lah..not as fantastic as they claim to be. Sigh..still on my quest to find the best fudge cake in SG. Maybe should make my own using Betty Crocker cake mix :P Her brownie mix actually churns out pretty good brownies!

Avid

Heh..I feel the same as you about Lost. Hv u finished watching VM yet?

Alhana, finished VM quite some time back. We can't wait for the 2nd season! Last nite we were watching Seinfeld, the episode on The Soup Nazi. It's so funny!!! One of my fav episodes! I kept bugging my hubby about wanting to have soup after watching! :P

Oh, I didn't bother to watch Desperate Housewives also.. the season finale was on Monday right? The stories get so depressing.. especially Bree's character. It's not funny anymore. Should be renamed Depressed Housewives.

Hey avid

Yeah, eagerly awaiting VM's 2nd season too! Did you manage to guess who Lily's real killer was before the last ep? We got it wrong :P Alot of red herrings.

Oh yeah, I loved the Soup Nazi ep. Did it end with Elaine finding the recipes for their famous soups in some old armoire? Hehe..No Soup for You!!!

You're right abt Desperate Housewives. Season 2 was quite boring. The whole Applewhite storyline was quite ridiculous and redundant. It didn't add anything to the overall story. I can't stand Gabrielle as well..such a bimbotic bitch! Did u know the girl who plays her maid is a Singaporean? Only reason y I still watch it is coz I need to stay up to watch Grey's.

Alhana, we didn't guess correctly the real killer as well. Very unexpected!

Yes Elaine got the recipes from the old armoire which the owner of the soup place gave to Kramer (aka Cosmo!!!) in the first place. Funny the way they queued for soup. Honestly I've got a craving for creamy wild mushroom soup now!

Yeah I know that girl who played Gabrielle's maid is a Singaporean.. happened to be the niece of one of our minister or something? Hmmm.. don't quite liker her :P

Yeah the soup nazi is hilarious...heh u guys tried the soup spoon at raffles city basement?Yum yum...love it...esp the sandwich too!

Yeah i agree desperate housewives is getting a bit depressing but nonetheless still entertaining...my gfs n i even played a game to say which hsewife who is more like ourselves...care to start one here...

I've not tried Soup Spoon yet. Hv u ladies seen the new basement area of raffles city..wow, it's changed so much! I like Pumpkin soup...maybe should check out Soup Spoon one of these days.

Yah, the girl who plays the maid is George Yeo's niece. She looks v plain leh. Dunno y Carlos wld hv the hots for her when he can hv Eva Longoria!! But Gaby can be very annoying. Hmm..which housewife am I most like..think none..or abit of each one..keke.

hi all!!

luckily caught project runway finale last nite. Chloe was the winner!
i thot it was Satino... sorry if i misled anyone... ;p

btw, alhana... is Raffles City's Soup Spoon still around? couldn't find it when i went wif my sister after they had renovated...

oh, btw, for those who didn't know.. there is a national library book sale in Expo tmr n sunday. all books going fr $1.

there's an article on it in today's straits times...

Slgerman, thanks! Probably go this weekend to try the soup there. A big bowl of soup with bread is a nice meal by itself.
Alhana I like pumpkin soup too! I actually have the recipe somewhere but never tried making it since my hubby doesn't like it.

Don't think I'm like any of the Desperate Housewives... they are all quite extreme. Yeah perhaps a mixture of all..

Hello levynn! Yeah I watched Project Runway finale last nite too. Already know Chloe was the winner cos I went to check the website. Santino's collection is already not bad too.. I like the colours. Thanks for the info abt the NLB book sale. Gotta find time to go this weekend.

Alhana, I got this recipe from a friend. I have tried her pumpkin soup.. it's SO SO good! Wonder if pumpkins are easily available at supermarkets?

Ingredients:
1 Pumpkin (remove skin and seeds)
Potatoes
Carrots
Tomatoes (can squeeze some lemon juice too if you like the soup to be more sour)

1) Thinly slice all the above (so that it cook faster) and put it to boil in a pot of water (no need too much water – depending on how thick you want the soup to be).

2) After it’s boiled, blend the whole pot of ingredients (with some water from the pot).

Put back to pot to boil. Add pepper, salt, butter/cream to taste. Bring to boil.

Serve with bread!

OK.. hope this works. Hard to measure the quantity of the ingredients and how much water to put…. Trial & error…

Hi avid

Thanks for the recipe...if free will try. Pumpkins are readily available..my parents make stewed pumpkin with belachan sometimes for lunch! Yummm!

I only watched bits of Runway last nite coz it clashed w Supernatural. Will catch the re-run on Sat. I did hear the judges' comments on Santino's collection..they said the fit was bad? The boobs all didn't sit right? Hehe. And that his collection was too 'safe'. Hard to please man these judges..when he goes wild he gets criticised. Then when he's more sedate, oso kena.

Levynn

Come to think of it, I dun think I saw the Soup Spoon either. Dunno if closed, or moved to another location.

Heh ladies...
The soup spoon is still there,they have a much bigger premise.The last time i went there,a gd looking guy with a nice body n neatly dressed was queueing in front of me,so of course i was checking him out.
Then when it was his turn to order,he SQUEAKED his orders like a mouse...i nearly bursted out laughin..his voice is like beckham..It was sooo ontrasting to his appearance..
LOL...
Aiya i missed project runway!! Aiya..glad tat Chloe won,her dresses is clean cut n elegant..hee hee tell u guys...last sun i dreamt tat my wedding gown was designed by Austin Scarlett(from 1st season),i flew to him n he custom made one beautiful dress for me! Hahahaha it was such a nice dream i did not wanna wake up!

slgerman,

Is the Soup Spoon at the same spot? That area changed alot..quite alot of the eateries are gone. Will look for it the next time I'm there. Haha..your story's hilarious! Yeah, Beckham's voice is so squeaky...really doesn't suit his image.

You can catch the project runway re-run this Sat at 7pm on Discovery Travel & Living. If not, watch the one airing on CH5...they are abt 2 episodes behind Discovery. Wah..u dreamt Austin made your dress? Kekeke. He does like making fancy gowns.

Yeah i sure was dreamin Alhana...the soup spoon is not at the same spot as the reno makes the whole place un-recognisable. You may also wanna try the blue berry muffin at the Cedele depot...so yummy esp after they heat it up!

Yum...I love muffins. I've tried cedele muffins before..but not the blueberry ones. My fave is usually banana walnut. Will try the blueberry one next time!

Anyone went for the NLB fair in Expo over the weekend? Didn't go coz I'm allergic to crowds :P, but it did sound like it'd be a good place to get great bargains.

Hello, now talking abt food?

Alhana, how was the choc cake ur mum got from Choc-a-bloc? gd? i think it was just ordinary. my mum likes to buy me stuff from Bakerinnz.. not too bad.. heehee...

Nopes i din go to the Expo fair.. cos i hate crowds! heehee... got the new Kay Scarpetta novel to read though but heard from my sis that it is pretty confusing.

BTW, where can i get DVDs of CSI? Videoezy?

Bear, you're right. The choc cake...nothing fantastic. We tried both the original fudge cake and the one with the crunchy hazelnut layer..ok only lah. Only thing is it's not too sweet, which is good for my folks. But for us, don't find it chocolatey/rich enough.

Hehe..guess I'm not the only one allergic to crowds. Plus, I'm afraid people will push or bump into me...very protective of my tummy area now..kekek.

You can try BlueMax too...VideoEzy and HMV tend to be more expensive. And BlueMax usually carries region 1 code, whereas the others carry region 3 discs. Alternatively, order from Amazon. It could be cheaper. I got the LOTR DVDs for like $10+ less compared to buying it locally, incl shipping. And with the weaker US dollar now, you can probably see more savings. Of coz, if you don't intend to keep the discs, then your best bet is to rent from VideoEzy.

Hello all!

Didn't go to the NLB bookfair at Expo as well.. was busy clearing out my own books in my little 'library'! There are books which I don't even know I've in the first place! No more buying books for a while.....

So sian it's only Monday..... already counting down to the weekends. *yawn*

Erm Alhana, wat's region 1 and 3? sorry ah, i nv bought DVDs before. Where is BlueMax? Order from Amazon? gd idea... not sure if i wanna keep the discs. most probably not... see how lah...

Avid, ya i hate Mon too... another 4 mornings to go!

hi all! me went to the NLB book sale on Saturday. was so super crowded. by the time i got there at 915am, i think i was already the 400th or even more person in the Q. within an hour of opening, the fiction books trolleys were nearly empty. i managed to grab 6 books... keke...

Hi Bear

DVDs are based on different geographical regions. Region 3 is for AP countries (incl S'pore). Region 1 is for USA & Canada. I prefer Region 1 stuff..you're getting the original version/cut. Region 3 stuff may be edited/censored. However, do take note that some DVD players can only play certain regional codes...need to check if your player is a multi-code one. If you look behind the DVD boxes (somewhere beneath the credits), you'll see a small box w a pic of a globe and a number superimposed on it. That will tell you which region your DVD is for.

There's a Bluemax in Suntec, and another in PLaza Singapore. Not sure where the other outlets are. There's a small tiny outlet in Marine Parade, but I think they stock mainly chinese drama series and movies, and maybe only popular english movie titles.

Levynn

Wow, I admire your tenacity. 400th in the queue! If it were me, I'd do a u-turn and go home :P Then again, knowing me, I won't go at all coz I hear the crowds for these things are HUGE. Good to hear that you managed to grab 6 books
The worst is braving the crowds and coming back empty handed.

Yeah man..crowds are scary! Levynn, u r surely adventurous. The last time i went to Expo for Metro sales,selected the stuff,abt to pay, saw the queue n left. LOL save $ man!

Heh guys..i m lookin for bridal studios..so if you knw/have engaged some gd ones,feel free to email me the contacts and pixs oki?

slgerman

Congrats on your upcoming nuptials! When's the big day? If you need a wedding consultant I can recommend my colleague's hubby to you :P He runs a wedding consultancy company. As for bridal studio..mine close down liao..LOL. However, they were related to Julia Wedding News, which is still ard, and I think quite a popular studio.