Bookclub - what are you reading?

man_tou_bear

Alhana, honestly i don't like Asian countries.. didn't i whine nonstop when i had to go to Jap?? heehee.. i just dun like lor.. Not sure if we can go to NZ with our budget.. that is our top choice though... the tour agent will let me know by tmr lor.. i was thinking if not i will go to Melbourne again to see Philips Island and the Great Ocean rd.. or else it will be a farm stay at Perth.. but like not romantic enough leh.. haizzz see how lor.. i just want an easy, fuss free HM.. but now like very messy...

avid_reader

Bear...I feel the same way. When it comes to asian countries, I'm only keen if I'm looking at a beach resort or shopping vacation (hence my fave asian destination is Thailand) Otherwise I'd prefer places like Europe, US or Down Under. But Europe n US wld be tough on a S$2k budget. Ure best bet is Australia, unless you can up the budget and go for NZ.

Avid

Yeah, isn't it lovely? Those are the rack rates, hence v ex. Probably cheaper if you can find a package deal or book online. It was worth it as a HM location (very romantic!), but if u ask me to go again, must think twice :p

Btw avid, do you watch the US version of The Office? It's quite funny!

avid_reader

Alhana, I have only watched the UK version of The Office. It's quite funny too but british humour can be a little dry sometimes. Is the US version shown on tv?

Avid

Yah, heard abt VM season 2. U gonna get it????

The US version of The Office is showing on Star World now. Every Thur at 9pm. I find it funnier than the UK version, which like u say, is kinda dry at times. But both can be painful to watch sometimes...the manager (the Ricky Gervais and Steve Carrell roles)...wah lao...damn sickening! If I had a boss like that, dunno how to put up with him/her man :p

levynn

good morning ladies!

did u all know abt The Books Sale at Expo? it's fr 7th sept to 10th sept.

i juz went yesterday. got 3 Stephen Leather's books for $10. maybe it's the 1st day, there r quite a lot of variety of books...

man_tou_bear

Hi gals!!

Really busy today! have to do the damn budget!! already late by 1 wk liao... haizzz why must create so much prob???!

Anyway if really Gold Coast cannot, then i was thinking of gg Maldives.. Mauritius sounds gd too.. wat can we do there ah? worse come worse we go to Melbourne + Sydney lor... wat u guys think? i think the reason why i m so undecided is becos the place i wanna go, i can't afford... Haizzzz.....

I went to check on Amazon the cost of Sex & the City, its USD$200 for all the seasons on DVD... worth buying?

avid_reader

Good morning all!

Levynn, thanks! I didn't know there's a book sale at expo. Will go check it out. Oh have you been to the new Bishan library? My colleague went earlier this week and she was impressed with the selection of new books.

Bear, you mean the budget for your wedding right? I remember you are in finance.. not talking about work budget? Wah US$200 for DVDs you are willing to buy ah? Put the money in for your HM trip! Or buy after your wedding lah.. buy now also got no time to watch.

Alhana, yes very tempting to get VM2. But some of the reviews are not very good.. hmm see how. I'm still watching Seinfeld. At season 7 still I think. The US version of The Office won some awards recently right? My hubby loves the UK version and although we have not seen the US version.. he kept saying that it can't be as good as the UK version.

levynn

hi avid...
haven't been to the new Bishan library. might go down next week. but i think all the books will b borrowed out by the time i go... haha...

avid_reader

I though so too. But my colleague said that the librarian told her (on Wednesday) there are A LOT of books which are not put onto the shelves yet as they are still sorting them. Still got chance to grab a brand new book to read I hope!

Bear, I guess it depends on what kind of HM you want lor. If you want a romantic beach vacation, then Maldives or Mauritius wld be good choices. Melbourne and Sydney wld be nice too, but they don't seem to spell romance as much as an idyllic island retreat :p

Avid

Think I'll just wait for VM2 to show on TV. I also read that it's not as good as season 1, but being VM, it is still much better than plenty of shows out there. Want to watch this show called Prison Break too...been hearing really good things abt this show.

Yah, The Office won the Emmy for Best Comedy recently. American and British humour are quite different though. I do know that some of the fans of the Brit version don't really care for the US version, and vice versa :p Guess it depends on your tastes!

avid_reader

Alhana I probably won't buy VM2 also. But it's going to take a long time to wait for it to be shown on tv you think?

I just got back from the book sale at expo! Hehehee.. went with colleagues during lunch.. a pretty long lunch break for me.

Bought 13 books for $32.. 11 books for $2 each and two $5 books. Buying books is tiring.. I'm so tired now. Hope I'm not buying on impulse :p

Wow, you say go means go one huh Avid! So fast go for the book sale already :p That sounds like a great deal...$32 for 13 books.

Yah, think Prison Break will be esp popular with the guys. They say the storyline is something like The Fugitive. And for the gals, there's always Wentworth Miller (the lead actor)..he's cute!

avid_reader

Alhana, yeah cos colleagues wanted to go for John Little Warehouse sale. They have to drag me out of the book sale cos I kept telling them "give me 10 more mins!"

Great deal for the $2 books. They were sold at $10 for 3 books when the sale started yesterday. These are the books I bought:

1) The Green Mile by Stephen King $2 (for me. My hubby thinks The Green Mile is really scary)
2) The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain $2 (for my hubby.. he said he will read)
3) Persuasion by Jane Austen $2 (for me cos I've not read it yet)
4) Mansfield Park by Jane Austen $2 (same reason as above)
5) The Time Machine and The Invisible Man by H.G.Wells $2 (?? could be impulse buy.. but for $2 it's ok! Will make attempt to read!)
6) Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight (An African Childhood) $2 (for me/hubby. Abt a British girl growing up in Africa.. seems interesting)
7) Basket Case by Carl Hiaasen $2 (for my hubby!)
8) Seven Sunny Days by Chris Manby $2 (for me to bring on my beach holidays)
9) The Pleasure of my Company by Steve Martin (yeah that Father of the Bride actor.. read his 1st book Shop Girl before.. quite alright. Boring when it was made into a movie though. for me/hubby) $2
10) Blessings by Anna Quindlen $5 (for me)
11) Black & Blue by Anna Quindlen $2 (for me)
12) Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier $2 (cos Jude Law and Nicole Kidman look so good on the cover! Jude Law for me, Nicole Kidman for hubby!)
13) July by Karen Roberts $5 (think this is an impulse buy!)

hahahaa.. ladies enjoy your weekend!

man_tou_bear

Hello, busy day for me...

Avid, i meant budget for my dept lah.. i m not in finance.. i m totally opp!!! i have been running around like a headless chicken cos i find that all the stupid rules and procedures are all man made and it is making my life a living hell!! i m a biologist lah.

FWAAH!! u bought so many books at such a cheap price!! i read a few of them liao.. ask u gals ah, do u collect books? there are some books which i will buy from the 2nd bk store but will return cos i dun wanna keep them.. other than my fantasy books, i dun keep any others...

Alhana, we most prob settle for Melbourne lor.. 5N there will be more than enough for me.. But i dunno wat to do there man!!!

Have u packed ur maternity bag? quick go and do it now.. don't procrastinate liao lah...

Avid

Let me know if Persuasian and Mansfield Park are good. So far I've only read Pride & Prejudice and Sense & Sensibility.

Bear

As long as you guys hv a good time with each other, any place can be great for a HM
Hv you been to Melbourne before? I've nvr been to Australia. Hubby has been to Australia a few times, so he doesn't fancy going there again :p

Sigh..ok ok..will start on my maternity bag this weekend. Hehehe. Hafta look for a clean bag to put all the stuff coz hafta bring baby clothes. Can't hv her stuff in our old smelly gym/swimming bags :p Think I hafta stock up on trashy mags to read in the hospital...

avid_reader

Good morning all!

Bear, sorry I don't know how I get the impression that you are in finance. :p So the HM destination is likely to be Melbourne. I love Melbourne.. that's where I met my hubby :p Actually it CAN be romantic lah.. go to St.Kilda's beach and sit at the sidewalk cafe watching the world goes by.........

Alhana I've also only read Pride & Prejudice and Sense & Sensibility. Will let you know. I actually went back to the booksale and bought another 17 books!

Hey ladies, if I start an online bookstore or book swap kind of website, will you ladies be my first customers? :p

I do collect books.. but mostly only those books I like.. like from my fav urban fantasy writer Charles de Lint. Some other books are collecting dust and I should really throw them out soon!

I started reading that Steve Martin's book. Not too bad.. seems kinda weird though cos when I read it, it's the voice of Steven Martin narrating the story.

man_tou_bear

Gd morning gals!

Alhana, have u packed ur bag yet? heehee... yes yes stock up trashy mags.. i feel like some naggy old woman!! heehee...

I think i will be gg to Mel lor.. i just been to Mel early this yr on a business trip, but it was the city itself. wanna go to Great Ocean Rd and Philip Island to see the penguin parade. but then staying a wk in Mel would be damn boring.. try to see if there are other things to do....

man_tou_bear

Avid,

no worries... right now i m multi-tasking.. seldom do my bio work anymore.. heehee... ya i wanna go to St Kilda.. heard the cupcakes are yummy there.. see how lor... waiting for one more confirmation today.. if it goes well then i will just take it.. have been waiting for 3 wks liao!!

Swap books? sounds like an interesting business.. read an article on it over the wkend... something abt e-book exchange... i don't have many books cos i m def not a collector. I like to read them and then give it back... cos no space to store so many things.. i have the whole Raymond E Feist series, the Dragonlance and Harry Potter.. there are some odds and ends books on crimes.. heehee...

Steve Martin wrote a book? abt wat? heehee.. i can imagine his voice in my head if i ever read it..

man_tou_bear

I keep missing ur posts Avid!!!

Victory Market opens in the morning right? Only on Wed it opens at nite... i went there the last time... very ex leh.. one pair of earrings was AUD$20!!

avid_reader

Not sure how updated is this:
http://webcenter.travelocity-dest.netscape.com/DestGuides/0,1840,|1127|3|1|230304|attraction_id|29730,00.html

Queen Victoria Markets
The Queen Vic is a Melbourne institution covering several blocks. There are hundreds of indoor and outdoor stalls, where you can find virtually anything from live rabbits to bargain-basement clothes. The markets can get cramped, and there's a lot of junk to sort through, but you'll get a real taste of Melbourne and its ethnic mix here. Look out for the interesting delicatessen section, and cheap eateries. Allow at least an hour.
Two organized 2-hour tours of the market take in its food and heritage. The Foodies Dream Tour departs every Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday at 10am and costs A$18 for adults and A$15 for children under 15, including sampling. The Heritage Market Tour departs on the same days but at 10:30am and includes morning tea. It costs A$12 for adults, and "would most likely bore children to death," according to the guide. Call 03/9320 5822 for reservations.

Between Peel, Victoria, Elizabeth, and Therry Sts. on the northern edge of the city center Phone: 03/9269 5822 . Open: Tues-Thurs 6am-2pm, Fri 6am-6pm, Sat 6am-3pm, Sun 9am-4pm. Tram: any tram traveling north along William St. or Elizabeth St.

Bear, the last time I went to Melbourne must have been at least 6-7 years ago. I remembered spending alot of time at the teddy bear stalls! All the teddy bears were like starring at me with their pathetic eyes and in the end I think I bought 3. Bought back many Vincent van Gogh paintings (replicas of cos) as well.

man_tou_bear

Avid, thanks!!

I rem gg to Victoria Market.. is that the same as Queen Victoria Market? It is west of the city centre... when i went there, there wasn't many things to see leh.. i heard the morning markets sell lotsa fruits and stuff..

Wat teddy bear stalls?! there are teddy bears stalls? I LOVE BEARS!!! heehee... i think i will go there and get some! heehee.. thanks a lot Avid!!

levynn

good morning ladies.

wow, avid... seems like a good "harvest" for u fr the book sale! heh. i actually thot of going back yesterday... but thot of the john little sale n the food fair... n it's a sunday, must b super duper packed. well, was it??

anyway, i'm for the idea of exchanging books. i actually did that wif my fren, who used to b my neighbour next block. i think it's a great way to get a taste of new authors to see if u like their books or not.

for the online bookstore, do u mean for 2nd hand books? or both 1st n 2nd hand??

avid_reader

Levynn and Bear, I meant for 2nd hand books. I saw (didn't read though..) that article about swapping books.. something about accumulating points to swap books right? I'm actually thinking of something on a smaller scale.. for a smaller group of people to start with. Nothing too complicated..

Oh about the bear stalls.. each bear comes with wooden tags with their names on it.. really very cute!

Alhana, Prison Break will be shown on Ch5 at 10pm on Thursdays!

Wah avid..if I ever wanna go to Melbourne, will def ask you to help plan my itinerary :p How did you happen to meet ure hubby there?

Yeah! Prison Break is showing on CH5, just when I was talking abt it :p So zun!

Ure bookstore/swap idea is cool. If u carry books that I'd like to read, will def support you!

Bear..

Err..haven't packed my bag yet...ahhahaha. Told you I'm a terrible procrastinator :p But I hv the list, and I've bought all the things that are supposed to go into the hospital bag..so now I just need to find a bag :p Just went for my appt this morning. Placenta still high and in good condition..and still quite a good bit of amniotic fluid in my uterus..so doc thinks she def won't be coming out this week. I keep telling the kid to come out only after the 22nd (preferably from the 25th onwards), coz that's when my maternity leave starts..and it's also the eighth lunar month then. Spking of 8th mth, anyone eating mooncakes yet...I've got craving man..waiting for the Taka mooncake fair to start this week.

On a totally unrelated note, Black Canyon Coffee just opened an outlet near my house. So happy! I always eat there when in BKK coz I love their tom yum fusilli. Just had that this afternoon for lunch. Mmmmmm.....now I wish I can go back to BKK...good place to shop for baby stuff but am def too far along for any air travel now.

man_tou_bear

Gd morning gals..

Okok.. the latest chap to my HM saga, i have switched to a 8D trip to Mel and Sydney.. Hb told me to just bite the bullet and do it.. a bit out of our budget but then if i dun go now then when?? heehee...

Alhana, when u didn't post the whole of yesterday aftn i tot u given birth!! heehee.. Wah i nag and nag still procrastinating ah??!! i tell u wat, why dun u go out during lunch today and buy a NEW bag?!! save u all the trouble... Gd to hear that baby is doing well... heehee.. mooncake cravings?? heehee... i saw some places selling them liao.. think was outside Tangs.. not too sure..

Ya Hb told me abt Black Canyon too! he was saying it sounded familiar before i reminded him we had lunch there in BKK... u are making me hungry too!!

Hi Bear

Hehe..you keep flip flopping abt ure HM...make up your mind!! True lah...can afford to splurge abit on HM....don't worry too much abt going over the budget :p

Yah, some places hv started selling mooncakes already, but I like going for the Taka fair coz they hv many vendors selling their wares there...can do a lot of taste tests! But I'm very traditional when it comes to mooncakes..I only like the white lotus ones, and pref w/o yolk. Those w melon seeds are nice. Nvr fancied the new fangled mooncakes w 'weird' flavors.

Yah, HB say I damn cute...so happy just coz Black Canyon opened a branch at my place. Now dun need to walk all the way to Parkway to savour thai or western cafe food

avid_reader

Good morning all!

Alhana, yes you very "zun"! Now tell me, when will your little princess be coming out (since you are so zun)?

According to me, I first met my hubby at Melbourne International Airport.. went there for a 2-week holiday and he was the best friend of another male friend (who was there to see his gf) whom I went to the holiday with. We stayed at his apartment and so he had to give up his room for me for 2 whole weeks.

According to my hubby, he first met me at boat quay on the nite before he went to melbourne for his studies. I was with my group of friends and he was with his best friend (the one I went to Melbourne with). But I have no recollection at all..

I guess everything's got to do with timing.. if I've already known him before he went to melbourne, we probably wouldn't be together.

man_tou_bear

Alhana, ya lor i keep on flip flopping.. cos i guess its not my first choice destination. I wanan go to Spain and Italy.. But Mel and Sydney is gd enough liao.. i wanna see animals!! heehee..

So which shop's mooncakes do u like to eat? heehee.. buy for u! heehee.... i like those snow skin moon cakes cos not as dry as the other types. only like the lotus paste one.. no funky favours pls!! heehee...

Avid, ur story can make into movie man.. so romantic.. so sparks flew when u were in mel?? he has been eyeing u for quite awhile liao right?

avid_reader

Bear, it was a little complicated then. I was in love with that male friend whom I went to mel with (call him X) but X only treated me as a very good friend. X was going to melbourne to break up with his gf actually (though I was not the cause!). And before my hubby picked us up at the airport, he actually just sent off his gf then who was visiting him. While I was in melbourne, my hubby's housemate (call him Y) was the one who was outrightly interested in me.. bringing me around and buying me huge bouquet of flowers etc. My hubby gave me that bochup attitude cos he was busy with his thesis and he had a gf then. I couldn't be bothered also cos I was secretly in love with X (though all 3 of them knew..). While I stayed at his apartment, I even helped my hubby to fold hundreds of tiny paper cranes for his gf :p

But eventually, my hubby kept the paper cranes.. he didn't send to his gf. Everything started only when he was back in sg and after he had broken up with his gf (I'm not the cause!). I went with my hubby to Mel with his parents (my now ILs) for 2 weeks holiday shortly to attend his graduation ceremony. All in all we only dated for 9 months before he proposed.. and then comes the ROM, then wedding.

X is happily married too. The irony part is he joined a company soon after the trip through my recommendation and got to know his wife (my colleague) there. So I guess in a way, X and I have each other to thank for! We thanked each other at our weddings! Though my hubby always joked that it must be the magic of those tiny paper cranes which I painstakingly helped him fold for his gf. :p

man_tou_bear

Avid.. so confusing! but hor have to say it was pretty riveting!! heehee.. so funny the way u kept saying 'I m not the cause!' heehee...

wah 9 mths courtship translated into 5yrs plus marriage! u know, some ppl are skeptical on those ppl who marries with short courtships.. but hor i know of one couple that dated 10 yrs, got married and divorced within a yr..

Avid

Ure story is really cool! Such stories always make me believe in fate, and how things have a strange way of working out in the end
Maybe we should all share our hook-up stories :p

Hmm..when will my princess be here? I'm hoping ard 26-27 Sep..dun ask me why..haha. If really arrive that day you gals can go and buy 4D :p

Bear,

Spain & Italy wld be lovely, but oh so expensive. I think Mel & Syd wld be nice...like I said, it's the company that counts the most

Hmm..I like Tung Lok's mooncakes...and yes, I prefer snow skin ones as well! But it's hard to find nice snow skin ones..I want the skin to be soft and thin..some end up hard or too thick....and taste powdery. Hehe..guess you're traditional too..no funky flavors too! Any recommendations for nice snow skin white lotus ones?

levynn

wow, avid... your story sounds so dramatic... but kind of sweet too.
i personally believe that things happen for a reason.

alhana... share hook-up stories?? guess mine would b the most boring one... haha...

man_tou_bear

Alhana,

Hook up stories?? mine will be very embarassing!! heehee.. Levynn, why u say urs is boring? i m sure u are glad, despite the boring circumstances, that u met ur hb... heehee..

Mooncake ah? hrmm i dunno... i m not that a purist.. watever mooncake i will eat lor.. as long as it is not the Crown Prince Hotel yam moncakes!! i dun like yam!!

avid_reader

Levynn, yeah well said.. I also believe that everything happened for a reason.

Bear, Alhana is right.. it's always the company that counts. When I was in Melbourne during that 1st trip.. my hubby's housemate brought me to so many romantic places, buying me bouquets and bouquets of flowers and gifts but I didn't feel a thing. Ok I was almost freezing to death at philip island waiting for the penguins to appear. But when I was back in Mel with my hubby, every place we went to has this romantic air hovering about! Even Crown Casino! :p

Come on ladies.. your turn to share how you met your hubby!

Morning ladies,

Bear..embarressing makes for good story telling mah...kekeke. Levynn...how boring can it get?

Ok..I'll share mine. Hubby and I met during our uni days. We met playing an online fantasy game that alot of local tertiary students were playing at the time. In fact, i was his 'wife' in the game, but we were just frens as he already had a gf then. After graduation, we lost touch for almost 1/2 a year as we both had stopped playing the game (sian already). At the end of the year, I went off to the US for a 3 week vacation. Upon my return, decided to just log in for the fun of it..at that time it was already 2-3am in the morning. Think I was having jet lag so couldn't sleep. As luck/fate wld hv it, he was in the game as well...he told me he didn't know what compelled him to login there and then after being MIA for so long. PLus when I logged on, he was juuuuust abt to log off as it was so late. We were like 'hey! nice to see u again'. Started chatting for a bit...realised he was single...then we made plans to meet up and catch up over those lost months. Before the year was out, we were a couple. Think it only took us a month to hook up :p That's after being friends for 2 years, although we only 'talked' to each other online most of the time. Hubby said he's so happy he chose to login that nite, and to stay up so late as well. If we had not met that nite, I think chances of us meeting up again wld've been very slim. So there you hv it...fate lah! Kekeke.

man_tou_bear

Gd morning...

well Alhana, my story is something like urs.. heehee.. urs made me smile!! fate/luck has a way right???

I only logged into IRC twice in my whole life and on my 2nd and last visit to the NUS chat channel, this guy with the nick 'Mop' initiated a chat. I tot he was a grunge fella! passed him my ICQ contact and it started then. He had a major crush on his course mate and i realised i m taking some of the modules he took previously. At that time i also had my eyes on this hunky dory guy in my course and he (my hb) gave me tips on how to impress him. over time we progressed to the phone lor.. and then we finally met. cos of my hobbies, he thought that i was a butch and had no interest to meet me until one nite. Apparently when he saw me, he said he was stunned to find out i looked like a proper gal. heehee... we started dating and the rest, as they say, was history.

I think for me, the critical thing was that both of us connected very very well before seeing each other physically. i think if i met him first, i doubt i would wanna pursue a frenship with him.. Till today we can have 2 hrs conversations on the phone without getting bored.. heh..

so paiseh right? can't get a guy on the street and must get one via the internet.. WHAHAHAHA...

avid_reader

Good morning all it's midweek already!

Alhana and Bear, wow thanks for sharing your stories. Both your stories can be made into movies! How very interesting! (Think - When Harry Met Sally, and You've Got Mail, French Kiss, Joe vs the Volcano, Only You etc etc) :p

Yeah it's kismet/fate isn't it? It's all about being at the right place at the right time... Oh I kinda chatted with my hubby over the ICQ quite a lot when he got back from his studies.. then came the dates etc.

Bear, what hobbies do you have that gave the impression that you are a butch?

Hi Bear

Think it's quite common now to meet online
Hehe..yah, I also want to know what you do that made ure hubby think that you were a butch!

Same here..hubby and I can talk kok for ages now w/o getting bored. When we were friends, I wld play his aunt agony...he wld be telling me all the sob stories abt some girl he liked. Funny how things work out huh.

Avid

Hehe...make into a movie? Hmm..wonder who I can get to play me..keke. Actually, considering how I met my man, I'm surprised I've never ever used ICQ :p I did try out some chat rooms for fun before..together w hubby. walao...the hum sup people in there are SCARY. Makes me worried for my kids next time, after reading all those horror stories of girls who get chatted up by wolves online.

man_tou_bear

Hiyo gals!

Erm, well at that time, i spent quite a bit of time in the studios jammin', also did skateboarding and watched soccer!! my hb is very traditional.. he is the type that thinks a gal should be fair fair, wanna faint type.. those gals that stay at home once the first baby arrives, know how to cook and wash.. listen to her hb all the time, very docile etc etc. think cos his mum is something like that. so he got a shock to realise we gals got spine! plus i told him i was from a convent hence he immediately lumped the 2 things together and i became a butch in his mind lor.. heehee.. must rem my hb came from those chinese schs.. so everything very traditional one...

I think i would cringe if someone would ever wanna play me!! heehee... nv thought of it.. Alhana i did the same expt as u!! once, while at my hb's place, we logged on to IRC, with the name Honeypie and we got 10 guys initiating to chat immediately!! most of them were asking sexual qns!! So we changed the name to Lady18, and we got the same response!! *cringe* the world is full of chee kor peks! But my hb had a fun time leading them on, flirting with them. he couldn't believe how despo these guys were.

levynn

wah... all your stories r so interesting. heh. mine is typical boy meets girl story. we were in the same course at poly but different lecture groups. it so happens that my lecture group leader (i'm his assistant) is my hubby's sec sch fren. so it goes fr there... we were introduced, n then started to go out as a group. we didn't feel anything for each other at 1st coz at that time, i was confused as to how i felt towards this other guy.

but gradually we realised that we had a lot in common n i felt really comfortable talking to him. so, we started going home together n he would walk me home. but at that time, it was like a totally confusing period for us, coz we were very unsure of our exact relationship. r we friends only, or more than that?

then it happened one fine day that my fren in JC was having a play. i had to make my way down fr hougang to harbourfront (world trade centre at that time) to meet her. he volunteered to accompany me on the long bus trip. halfway, i told him that i was very tired, after a day's lesson n still have to make the trip to watch the play. then i juz dropped my head on his shoulder. haha. i still didn't know wat came over me that day...

n then, it was all history. we were together for abt 9 yrs b4 getting married last dec... heh...

avid_reader

Bear, you can skateboard? Wah impressive! Err.. but are you the kind that knows how to cook and wash? My guess is not... hehehee..
So there you have it, the power of love! Even though you don't conform to the 'traditional' type of women. But you are the fair fair type right (I remember seeing your ROM photos)? I'm glad my hubby likes me tanned! I mean.. I'm like VERY tanned since I got back from my trip.

Alhana, you played agony aunt to your hubby when you two were friends? Yeah it's really amazing how things turned out in the end. For me it's the other way round... my hubby has to play agony aunt during the time when I was "getting over" his best friend whom I liked :p

Gone were the days of ICQ-ing now that we are marired. Haha these days we talk on gmail when we are at work. My hubby just discussed with me on our next holiday in Dec

avid_reader

Levynn, you call that boring??!!! Haha it sounded so romantic.. the way you described it -- him walking you home and you dozing off on his shoulder. 9 years is a long time.. this is really what I call 爱情长跑!

man_tou_bear

Levynn, i like those traditional boy-meet-gal stories.. never fails to make me smile.. heehee... i dun think its boring.. the most exciting part is the period when u dunno wat is ur exact relationship.. a bit scared, yet happy to see him right? I miss those times!! my col, who just started on a new r/s says she is still wearing the goofy grin!!

Avid, erm i know how to cook and wash. In fact my hb complains abt my fastidious methods. I use my hands to wash my home and like u i stay in an EM.. so u know how long i take to wash the floor. heehee.. i scrub the loos at least once a wk cos i can't tahan if there is a tinge of yellow... cooking wise, i try to cook on wkends now, but last few wks too busy running errands.. just simple dishes lor...

Me fair??? no lah i m very tan... i m the type that tans fast and return to the yellow colour aft 6 mths.. i spend some of my working hrs under the sun too... anyway i only know how to do the simple skateboarding tricks like Ollie.. then i gave up liao. heehee..

avid_reader

Bear, sorry.. I just assume you don't cook. hehehe.. I can cook but edible or not it's another thing. My hubby is usually the one cooking (cos his cooking is so much better!) and I'm the one washing up. Yeah it certainly takes a long time to clean up the house! Do you use all 3 toilets? We do and so have to wash all 3 every weekend. It's really tedious! But we send all our clothes for ironing so that we don't have to spend the whole weekend doing housework. What do you do with your balcony? Currently I'm trying to turn the balcony into a nicer 'garden'. I have potter plants that scream for repotting also. So this weekend we've a project.. we call it Project Balcony :p

Levynn,

Yah man, it's not boring at all! I think it's very sweet
Did the head drop happen intentionally? Kekekek. It reminds me of the time hubby and I hooked up. We were seeing each other very frequently after our first meet up upon my return from the states. However, we never admitted to each other that we felt anything more than friendship. We just went for movies together..and some days he wld come by my place with rented LDs (god, remember LDs?????) and junk food. It was like 2 pals hanging out. Then on new yr's eve, we went to Sentosa for dinner and to catch the fireworks..and when the clock struck midnite, he put his arms ard me and hugged me twds me...and I didn't push him away! So funny..we nvr said things like "will u be my bf/gf", or "i really like you" and we got together anyway. Later I asked him what prompted him to be so bold...he told me he was taking a gamble and hoped that I wldn't slap him..haha. Actually my hubby's quite shy with girls he liked, so I was glad he had the guts to make the first move...coz I so wouldn't :p

Bear, not bad at all..skateboarding, jamming (wat do you play) and soccer. I wldn't call it butch activities..more tomboyish maybe. Actually a lot of girls enjoy such things now, altho some do it to meet guys :p