Bookclub - what are you reading?

Wah book thread become tv thread.. heehee... i dun watch tv so dunno wat u talking abt... heehee... anyway i did catch S'pore Idol last nite... that's abt it. hee...

Levynn, Jeffrey Deaver has a new book? is it abt Lincoln Rhyme?! i m a big Lincoln Rhyme fan!

I haven't been reading much too. The last book I read was "Don't Sweat The Small Stuff" -- non-fiction.

Recommended a book to NLB.. and NLB has replied that they will buy the book. So I'm waiting for it now! It's a hardcover book.. so hardly worth buying.

Bear, haha I started this thread hoping to talk abt books. Sorry I know I've been talking abt TV ALOT! There's no need to start a tv thread right?

Hehe..yah, let's NOT start a TV thread...coz there are too many shows out there :P Good thing we all seem to like the same type of shows.

Avid,

I like Locke too. Liked the actor since he starred on Alias. And Locke's ability to walk again was intriguing..for awhile. I feel the same way abt the show..not into the new characters they've added in (that Anna Lucia looks so irritating..feel like punching her).

Hee..I just watched that convertible ep. George tot that the actor Jon Voight (Angelina Jolie's dad in real life) was the previous owner. Actually, it's a John Voight..who is of coz, not famous. George IS very superficial..in fact, all of them are lah. They fuss over the most stupid things!

Levynn,

Yeah, my hubby can't stand Santino either, esp the way he talks. He always thinks that just doing something different will automatically mean that it's good. Next wk is a reunion ep I think..boring.

Same here..haven't been reading lately, so really don't know what books to talk about. Bear..maybe u shld start watching more TV. You can actually tahan watching an ep of Singapore Idol? I cannot leh. That Paul Twohill guy really gives me the creeps. And most of our contestants are like tailored made for the teenage market. It's more fun to watch Rock Star:Supernova on Star World, but you have to enjoy rock music lah (my fave!)

oh I did started a Singapore Idol 2 thread. Not much movement on the thread leh. Didn't follow the first Singapore Idol much.. but my hubby & I've been watching SI2! My hubby & I support Jonathan. I also like Nurul.

Alhana, Locke's leg got crushed by the heavy door in last nite's episode.. hmm.. probably he won't be able to walk anymore.

Hello gals!

Yes this has become a TV thread! *dread* heehee.. kidding lah..

Alhana the reason why i caught S'pore Idol Results show is becos my family is siao on it! so when i wander past the tv area i also watch a bit.. heehee... i dun purposedly go and sit in front of the tv set... hard to start watching tv.. i get restless aft awhile...

Levynn! YES!!! another Lincolm Rhyme book! love that man though he is just a figment of Deaver's imagination.. tell me how the book is ok? hope it isn't as ridiculous as the 12th Card.

Avid, ya Jonathan is cute.. heehee.. those lips! so kissable!

Good morning ladies!

I've bought that hardcover book which I had recommended to NLB.. cos all books are off 20% at Borders. Only started the first few pages but I'm so excited cos I've waited a long time for the book! It's "Widdershins" by Charles de Lint - my all time fav urban fantasy author. hhmmmm.. can't wait to go back home to read the book.

Bear, yeah I think Jonathan's cute too :P

Re-watched Cinema Paradiso on DVD over the weekends too..... must go get the soundtrack.

Wishing all a good work week ahead! Oh I need another cup of coffee...

Had an uneventful weekend. Only highlight was a fabulous Mexican dinner with my family at Margarita's. They had this awesome decadent chocolate cake that's actually sugarless and flourless (the sweetness is inherent in the Mexican chocolate used), and it comes with this wonderful sugar free coconut ice cream. The appetizers (portobello mushrooms grilled w olive oil and a wonderful cream sauce & a cold shrimp dish) were yummy, as were the mains (big huge lamb shanks cooked in chocolate sauce..sounds weird but it actually tasted pretty awesome, grilled chicken and deep fried cod fish). Came up to almost $40 per pax :P But worth it lah...the food was so good, as was the service. Getting hungry just thinking abt it :P

da jia haooo

wah alhana i juz got back from lunch but those food u described somehow tantalise my wei jue again lol

wheres Margarita's??? lol

Hi Serene

Yah, my mom loved the dessert sooo much! She and my dad are mildly diabetic, so having a sugarfree chocolate cake was like music to her ears. My mommy loves chocolate, as do most women..kekeke.

Margarita's is at East Coast Rd..near the junction with Telok Kurau. Think there's also an outlet in the west..Clementi area or something.

I guess few women can resist the lure of chocolates
I hv a weakness for chocolate fudge cakes...that was what we had for our wedding cake! It was sooooooooooo good. May consider giving that out during the baby's one mth celebration!

Hv you tried Royce chocolates Serene?

alhana of coz! kekekeke b it Royce or Godiva...as long as its premium chocs i all like! esp dark 1s ahahaha i've even taken a liking 2 the so called organic chocs..i 1st bot it at raffles city..cant rem the name but i tried it twice..taste as gd!

good morning all!!

alhana... u watched Miss Universe 2006?? ok, warning 1st... SPOILER...

that Santino was 1 of the judge in the pagent! so i guess that could only mean 1 thing....... arrrghhh!!!!!

Chocolates! Yummy! but i m not a big fan.. eat it may be once a mth or so.. heehee.. have u tried Max Brenner melt-in-ur-mouth souffle? its soooooooo delicious.. inside is filled to the brim with hot choc sauce... its not cheap either, abt $18 for the souffle i think.. yummy...

Serene i nv ate Godiva choc before.. i think i dun bear to spend that amt of money on cocoa nuts.. heehee... i have probs buying a tub of ben and Jerry ice cream cos i think its too ex too. haizz stingy old me...

Alhana, my wedding cake will have one layer of dense brownie.. yummy! heehee.. can i have a piece of ur baby full moon's cake too??? heehee...

Levynn i found another author u might like to read.. I can't rem his name but the title of the book is Rosary Girls. Abt this serial killer that murders young catholic gals in the hope that their deaths will resurrect his stillborn baby.. expect lotsa crucification etc.. let me get back to u on the author's name.

Good morning all!

Alhana, now I get what you mean! I watched LasVegas last nite.. it's really hilarious how they killed off the "mothwoman"! We thought it's a dream or something but she's really gone!

Avid, hehe..told ya it's funny how they killed her off. I actually dozed off twds the end and was woken up by my hubby laffing so loudly. Woke up just in time to see her flapping off the rooftop..kekeke. Did anyone watch Grey's Anatomy last nite? Exciting ep!

Bear, no, nvr tried Max Brenner. Seldom go down to Esplanade. I've tried the souffle at Bakers' Inn..quite nice. Their hot chocolate cake oso nice...has hot Valrhona choc oozing out of it. $18 is abit much leh. The choc cake I had at Margarita's was a more affordable $10 :P And sugarfree and flourless...an Atkin's follower's dream..haha. Who's making your wedding cake? I need to find a good choc cake maker who will do 1 mth cakes. My wedding cake was from the American Club..doubt that they wld do mass orders of small choc fudge cakes
Hv u tried LAna's? I always hear people gushing abt her cakes, but to me..it's only so-so. Not fudgy enough for me.

Levynn, yah, saw Santino. I liked Miss Japan..she looked like Namie Amuro...very cheeky looking, yet sexy and pretty. The winner was abit too skinny for my liking. Ms Thailand was very pretty too...shades of Maggie Q.

Serene, I prefer Royce to Godiva. Their melt-in-your-mouth chocs with liquor is soooo yummy! And I just adore their choc covered almonds. Very addictive. Best of all, they're not as expensive as Godiva.

Hey Alhana,

One day u really gotta try Max Brenner.. so yummy.. their souffles are imported u know? sometimes they have no stock or something... Baker's Innz? ya i tried their choco cake.. very nice.. can order from them? Have u tried NYDC's Booboo cake? Also very yummy... heehee... Pine Garden is making my wedding cake.. they have this double layer dense choc cake.. not too bad but its made of dark choc while i prefer milk choc... Where's Lana? i also dunno leh...

My sis mentioned something abt some choc cake from somewhere... i double check and get back to u.. There is also a choc cake shop in Bedok North called Choc-a-bloc. At Blk 86 Bedok North St 4, #01-179, or take a look at www.chocabloc.biz

oh my... this has turned into a book + TV + chocolate thread!! keke...

i like plain milk chocolate, n those wif orangy flavour...

da jia zaoooooooooooooooooo

oh ya! theres 1 more..Awfully Chocolate!!! yummyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy n i juz discovered 1 cake shop near my work place yest...went 2 grab a cake 4 my colleague n juz anyhow walk in the arab street area n found tis cute bakery all in white...call B for Bakery or sumting...n they got a few types of choc cakes...yummy 2!

levynn

Hehe..I think this is becoz some of us have run of out books to talk abt. Am not in a reading mood currently...so best talk abt something else..haha.

Bear...is the Bedok one good? Think my mom wanted to try their cake once, but hafta pre-order. Lana's is in Bt Timah. Alot of people rave abt their cakes, even tho the service staff are apparently very rude. My boss once ordered a cake and wanted to cancel coz she had a last min mtg to attend and cldn't rush down in time to collect..kena scolding like no body's business! Don't think their cake is worth that kind of aggravation man. Where's Pine Garden located? Yumm..dense choc cake. Yah, hv tried NYDC's booboo cake. Not bad.

Har..if souffle no stock then dowan to go liow. I know souffles also take quite long to make..ard 1/2hr? Still, $18 v steep leh..can buy 1 whole cake..keke.

Serene,

For awfully chocolate, I only like the banana choc one..don't really fancy the plain choc fudge coz I find the sponge abit weird tasting :P

Avid,

B&J's choc ice cream is nicer I think..more bitter. I also like Swensen's Sticky Chewy choc. I'm a bitter chocolate lover.

Hee i m hungry just reading ur posts.. grabbed the Oreo Wafer Sticks to stop drooling first.

Serene, ya i know where's awfully choc.. somewhere facing Lower Peirce catchment in a private estate.. was there last wk... heehee... next time i go there i will try it...

Alhana, i think the cakes are ok.. not really fantastic... the one with a cruchy layer is nice.. Pine garden is in AMK Ave 10. http://www.pgcake.com/ their citrus zest and lychee martini is superb.. heehee... Wah Lana so attitude prob one ah?? hrmm better avoid it...

Avid, i m still trying to psych myself to buy my first Ben & jerry ice cream.. heehee.. i dun quite like ice cream.. prefer sobet.. u know the one at Tangs' basement? YUMMY!! i love the green apple, the hazelnut, the bon bon rocher, the strawberry, rasberry etc etc... heehee...

Levynn, wat are truffles? i just eat the chocs down.. dun even know their names! u know wat's best? snuggling in bed with a big box of chocs AND a tub of ice cream.. that's what i can sinful.. heehee...

Argghh!! i wanna eat ice cream NOW!! hey u guys tried the cheapo supermart brands? there is one called Rocky Rd Ice cream.. with marshmellow, nuts and the thickest choc ice cream.. heehee...

Bear, why don't you go get a pint of B&J's Fossil Fuel? Then you can have BOTH ice cream AND small chocolates pieces at the same time. No need carry so much things to bed! I've tried it.. it's good!

Ben & Jerry's Fossil Fuel
Sweet Cream Ice Cream with Chocolate Cookie Pieces, Fudge Dinosaurs and a Fudge Swirl

Ok I gotta cool down myself here.. this thread is at the risk of becoming a B&J thread if I continue talking abt all the flavours they have.

Bear, one last recommendation -- B&J's Marsha Marsha Marshmallow
Chocolate Ice Cream with Fudge Chunks & Toasted Marshmallow & Graham Cracker Swirls

Now I've got cravings for cakes, chocolates & ice cream all at the same time! :P

Wah Avid!! so many types? are they one ice cream or do they have super long names???

Ya i think i will try the stuff u recommended but my heart pain at the cost leh... heehee.. snuggling in bed with a gd book of cos makes things better... heehee...

i m hungry...

OMG, now I'm really craving for chocolate cake/ice cream!!!!! Anyone tried Fullerton's chocolate buffet before? It looks tempting but I dunno if that's too much of an overkill :P

Avid, looks like you're really a big B&J fan! Actually I've been craving for an ice cream sundae for the longest time. Either that, or to have the bananarama waffle at Cafe Cartel. So far, I've not given in to my cravings. Hubby's quite proud of me..said that I've been good for most of this pregnancy..nvr pig out like he envisioned I wld..keke. Think I will indulge right before she's born...wait later will be hard pressed to find time to go out and enjoy myself.

Hey, if you guys want to make good choc brownies, the Betty Crocker mix is surprisingly good. Very moist and fudgy! And so simple to do! We used that to make wedding favors for our church guests..everyone asked us for the recipe..we didn't hv the heart to say that it came courtesy of Betty Crocker!

Bear, Chunky Monkey, Fossil Fuel and Marsha Marsha Marshmallow are 3 different types of B&J's ice cream. I've put in the description of what the ice cream contains.. so the names are not that long lah. There are like so many different flavours but not all are available in S'pore. http://www.benjerry.com/

I think petrol kiosks sell B&J at promotional price of $9 something now? Probably trying to compete with Haagen Daz. My hubby will surprise me with NEW flavors of B&J every now & then. His fav is Chubby Hubby which I don't really like cos it feels like eating peanut butter.

Alhana, have not tried Fullerton's chocolate buffet though my friend said it's really good. I like just a bit of chocolate.. like for dessert or something. Would rather spend the money on high tea or other buffet.. give me sashimi buffet anytime! The chocolate buffet is like too much of a good thing.. I wouldn't know where to start!

Speaking of a good book.. I love the new book I'm reading - Widdershins - urban fantasy sort of book. Not sure if it's too intense for reading before I sleep.. cos last nite I SHOUTED in my sleep! I know I was shouting "SHUT UP" in my dream but my hubby said I was shouting something else which he couldn't make out. hmmm...

Wah Avid, i din know Ben & Jerry got webby! thanks a lot.. heehee. which petrol kiosks got promo on B&J? heehee i will go grab a tub aft work. heehee...

Alhana, i heard that for the choc buffet, u become full very soon.. i mean eating too many chocs will just make u sick, not to mention pimple explosion... heehee... a hungry PREGGIE woman is an irritable woman? true or not? heehee...

So did u gals go and buy some chocs during lunch? how abt ice cream or choc cakes?

Bear, can buy Ben & Jerry's from all Esso petrol kioks.
Let me know what flavour you are buying! I've not tried all YET - only tried Chubby Hubby, Chunky Monkey and Fossil Fuel. Fattening lah.. how to eat so much ice cream?

Avid & Bear

Yah, I feel that going for a chocolate buffet wld be an overkill, hence have not tried it. Desserts should be taken in moderation, not in excess! I don't want to end up having a phobia of chocolate (altho that may not be a bad thing :P) YES, a hungry preggie woman is a highly irritable woman. Either that or a sad whiny woman. I was very hungry last nite..was watching Grey's Anatomy and wishing I had a ham and cheese sandwich to munch on. Kept whining to my hubby abt it. Hubby told me to go and sleep so that I'll forget my hunger...keke.

I love peanut butter leh, so Chubby Hubby sounds intriguing. But not sure if I wld wanna eat peanut butter ice cream..sounds abit too much.

Avid, your hubby got a shock or not?? Your book must be really intense!

Didn't buy any chocs, but my colleague just shared with me some of her dark chocolate tim tam biscuits..yum.

Alhana, of course my hubby got a rude shock! That happened at 4am+ and he said he couldn't sleep after that while I happily just went back to sleep. He said it was strange cos he saw that I was sleeping "diagonally" and my whole body was very straight when he was woken up by my yelp. :P The book's not exactly THAT intense and I've only just started reading. Haha think it's just one of those strange dreams...

Your poor hubby! Could you remember what the dream was about? I've had some baby-related dreams in the past few months. One of the first (and most vivid) was about me giving birth, and then my in-laws 'stole' the baby away from me and left! And I didn't even get to see the baby, or find out the sex yet. I remember screaming to my hubby....it is a boy or a girl????????? Weird. Some of my dreams are so vivid...I actually cried in one of my dreams before..and I woke up with tears running down my face. My hubby has experienced this before as well..very sad man. In such instances, it was so good to wake up and realise it was all just a dream.

Do some of you still dream of being back in school? I can't believe I still get dreams about taking exams! ANd I wld panic in the dream coz I have not been studying for that particular subject (which is usually mandarin or math..which I suck at)

Alhana I couldn't recall what the dream was about though I remember I was supposed to shout out "shut up!". It came out as something else.. haha my hubby was telling me last nite how frightening it was to be woken up by my loud screeching. Your dream sounded scary.. I mean to have your baby being taken away. Must be all that anxiety that builds up since you are going to have your first baby.

I too have cried in my dream before.. not a good feeling. Oh I do have dreams about taking exams every now & then! What a relieve when I woke up to find out it's all a dream! I believe there are interpretions of all these dreams.. maybe we are too stressed?

Hello gals,

Talking abt dreams now? Wah Alhana u suffering from mummy-to-be tension? wat a horrible dream abt the baby... u know some ppl say dreams are reflections of our feelings. So does it mean u dun like ur inlaws? heehee.. i do dream abt sch but nv abt exams. its always the carefree life running around the huge compound of my pri sch. haizzz...

Avid, so far i haven't been caught slp talking yet, but i have heard my MIL talking in her slp.. a bit freaky.. heehee.. i dun think i m the sort that will slp talk cos i m a very light slper. any changes and i would be wide awake. I did have 'shouting' dreams before.. once i dozed off and woke up when a loud shout calling my name in my hb's voice reasonated in my head! nobody shouted though.. all the same i gave my hb a call to find out if he was ok. eeeeee...

2 nites ago i had a vivid dream of driving on the wrong side of the road! i swerved and slammed into a tree and suffered multiple facial injuries!

da jia zaooooooooooooooooo

aiyooo toking abt dreams...the laz 1 i had was quite a sad 1 tho i din rem very clearly wad happened in the dream..it was sumting 2 do wif my ex bf n i only rem it was sumting sad so i woke up feeling bad n decided i muz contact him 2 chk if he's ok

it wasnt ez coz we lost contact n i had 2 go thru a few frens 2 reach him n when he finally called...he really had undergone some shit in the recent year..he got divorced n his mum is brain cancer stricken n lying in hospital waiting 4 the day...hai..

Bear

I told my hubby abt my dream (the baby stealing one) and he said it must be due to anxiety..maybe I'm subconsciously worried that my in-laws wld interfere too much in the raising of the kid. But as of now, I'm not worried abt that leh...as it is, we're not close to his side of the family (even my hubby is not close to his parents/siblings), plus we live with my parents. So chances for them to interfere wld be quite minimal. Funny hor. You lucky! Nvr dream abt exams...I still do..sometimes! Think I hv talked in my sleep before..and like u...I can be a light sleeper..so if I talk, I'd wake myself up :P Then I'd find myself mumbling something but dunno what. I once woke my hubby and started mumbling something to him (think continuation of the dream)..then I fell right back to sleep, leaving him utterly bewildered :P

Eeks..ure driving dream is scary!!

Avid, yeah, I think dreams reflect stress, anxiety, our subconscience etc. I always find it weird to dream abt things/places/people I've nvr met/been to before. And they can be repetitive too...weird. If I really see such a place next time, wld be totally creeped out.

Serene, ure dream is like some psychic connection with ure ex. Were you guys very close last time?

Bear, once my hubby was sleep talking and I could hear that he was in a meeting cos he was saying something about submitting reports! He couldn't believe it when I told him he was talking in his sleep though he said he woke up really tired and felt as if he has been at work all nite! :P

The most vivid dream I had was when I was in K1. I was taking a nap in the afternoon I can STILL REMEMBER that I dreamt of this really beautiful 'garden'... it's sooooooooooooooo sooooooooooooo beautiful and even as a kid I was so intrigued and in awe of the beautiful surroundings.. lush greens & colour flowers etc and I cried in the dream. The scary part came when I woke up..... I couldn't open my eyes cos both my eyes were completely covered with eye shit and I screamed for my mum. She had to use a warm towel to wipe off the eye shit off my eyes before I could open them. How do you explain that? Someone told me that I must have seen "heaven" and my eyes were sealed on my way back so that I couldn't see the way back? Strange hor?

alhana we were very close indeed but it was a pity we lost contact after we both got married but somehow we always manage 2 connect back where we stopped, it is never awkward n tho we haven met in some years, we were still on tokin terms like long time back n so he poured out his probs 2 me n i felt so sad 4 him hai..

my hubby also once talked in his dream. as i'm a super light sleeper, i would even wake up when he tossed ard. there was one night when i heard him calling me, i thot wat happened coz it's the middle of the night. then when i answered, he actually said, "y u dun wan to come n sit here n share wif me?" then i even go "huh?" but when he got no reply, i knew he was talking in his sleep. so funny... i told him abt it the next day n he said he could not rem wat the dream was abt...

some dreams r really very intense. i would also wake up really crying sometimes. then some dreams r like, somebody giving me a present n when i wake up, my hand is reaching out to get it... keke...

u guys got such intense dreams! i have more nitemares than nice dreams though, as far as i can rem... There was this nitemare and in it my dad and i were chased by some vampires... we hid in some rundown hut and all of a sudden my dad became a vampire too!!

Alhana i think i m too tired to start mumbling in my slp.. heehee.. try to relax.. ur baby is fine! heehee...

Avid, the ending part of ur dream was a bit freaky.. now 7th mth some more and i am all alone in the office.. a bit freaky...

Serene, the next time u dream of 4 digits, please tell us.. we go and buy 4D!

Waghhh... interesting.. tokking abt dreams..

levynn.. u ah.. always thinking of presents si bor? whahaah..

avid,
wahh.. urs is abit too serious liao leh..kinda scary ah.. the eye cannot open due to the eye shit..

tell u all something funny.. just days before the 7th mth ah.. i had a very funny dream.. I dream that the auntie at my kopitiam here kill someone & she went into hiding.. then me & the rest of the pple went to search for her to find the murderer.. then while searching, we all like see alot of those wandering spirits..

then finally we stop at a hut, when we go in ah.. there is an old lady inside.. maciam those medium lady lor.. when she saw me ah.. she immediately drag me to her & started cutting all my nails until very short leh.. then i wake up liao..

puzzled... i kinda ask my mom abt long nails & ghost thingy.. then she mentioned something like ghost like to hide under long nails perhaps??

I cut off short short all my nails after that & then realized that it was on the eve of 7th mth when i cut it.. hmmm...............

Hey skylar

That sounds creepy too. I don't usually get nightmares (thank goodness). Last one I had was a haunted hse dream..think it was becoz I was watching Supernatural or Ghost Whisperer.

SOmetimes I hv fun dreams, like going to Disneyland etc. But I always wake up just as I get on a ride..so disappointing! I also get dreams where I get to shoot guns and stuff (like something out of Alias)...that's even more fun..keke.

Sigh..talking abt dreams...feel so sleepy this morning! Didn't sleep so well last nite coz of the damn heat.

Bear, my mom went to order the choc fudge cake from Choc a Bloc. We're collecting it this Sat...let u know if we like it

Alhana,

ya lor, kekekee.. I hardly have dreams or nightmares too but i wish not too also man.. kekee..

usually those nice dreams cannot remember clearly one.. whahaha.. but can remember those bad ones better..