Bangkok

hi twinkle,

Where is silom, how do i go from Asia Hotel ? BTW wat time is Chaptukchap open in the morning?

I dun think 1st nite i can go those shopping centre you mention cos by the time i reach there they close liao ...

I can't tell exactly where Silom is... but its the name of that place... Can just hop into a cab and tell the driver you want to get to Silom... Else, you can check with the hotel receiptionist whether there's any MTR station at Silom...
Think for the Chaptukchap market should be opened quite early... Think by 10a.m.(BK time) or earlier in the morning should have all opened liaoz... Can double check the night before you wanna go there the next day...
Nevermind, i'm sure there's plenty of time for you to shop.

Ling,
Asia hotel is good (consider its price) except that at night, u might be disturb by the toilet flushing and tap water-pipe noise from other rooms.

I think hotel no need to be 5* since most of the time u won't be inside the hotel.

Ok tks for you info twinkle, BTW, when everytime u go BKK did you get any medicine from your doc, eg wat type of medication u bring along.

Ling,
Silom is within walking distance from PatPong.
As for bargaining, try to slash more than 50%, preferably 70%, if u dare...

From the few places u named, I think Chatuchak is the furthest away from Asia Hotel. The rest quite near. Just hop into a cab to get to the place u want (confirm the driver uses meter pricing)

Normally, I bring along the following lor:
1) Medicated oil
2) Panadol
3) Diarrahoe medicine (normally I bring Chinese kind - 'Bao Ji Wan', Padoga powder)
4) Flight medicine (if you need)
Actually many of those mentioned above can be purchased in BK also... Watson's... Chinese pharmacy... There's also a large pharmacy at MBK, opposite Watsons...

i'm going to BKK in Sept...is it very hot or rainy at this time?

also may i double confirm whether chatuchak is open on sat as well? cuz I am leaving on a Sunday

what is there to eat? whether can i find good and reasonable thai food? *stress*

Hi ilyena,

Generally, BK is quite dry lor... but at times will still rain... although not that regularly... juz bring an umbrella in case lor...

According to the City Beat, it also opens on Sat. Maybe you can double check with the hotel recept when you reach there...

As for food... I think there were many contributions in the above messages... maybe you can refer to them... see anything suits you...

twinkle thanks!

but what i saw was just recommedations at Silom...do you have a list of it? hehehe i too much right...sorry

hope u can help me thanks a lot!!

Hi ilyena,

Try looking into those old archives... I remember many ppl mentioned about nice food in BK... if can't find, let me know... I help you list them out k...

heyo rongchi!!!

it's moi...me thinking of going to BKK with my hubby in sept something like a mini honeymoon...but i dunno what to eat leh...

twinkle ok i'll sift thru the old archive thanks!

Hi Pearl, thanks for your heart-pouring sharing!! Heard abt Hua Hin before and am interested, esp since you went in June. could u kindly provide feedback on the climate conditions and the available activities there, maybe snorkelling? Sea clear? beach beautiful?? thanks again...

It's my great pleasure, nee
Finally got someone interested..at least it's still worth it for me to share!

Well, if u r hoping to see clear sea & snorkelling..i'm afraid dat Hua Hin beach might not be up to standard. The standard is close to Bintan beach. The place itself as what i mentioned earlier is quiet & peaceful..is an ideal destination if u r getting a break 1st before u head for BKK as it's cheaper than going to Koh Samui & PTT since it's onli cost is $20 per person by train. U wld be surprise dat there are many ang maos who realli appreciate Hua Hin compared to Phuket, which they found too congested & commercialise..lack of serenity..There are many famous resorts there which serve the same standard & i feel dat this place is not dat popular cos it's lack of publicity..I would visit there again for my next trip if i hv enough days..cos it's quiet & yet cheap to stay.

Pls feel free to ask me any queries u might hv & i wld be glad to assist u

I have a bangkok map with me and it show that Suan-Lum Night Bazaar has anyone been to this place before? How shld i tell the diver abt this location cos on the map there no building name it only show "Suan-Lum" night bazaar !!!

Is it better to go by taxi or by their train. Which is safer ?

hi Ling
i went to pattaya before.
the place is ok lah.
the beach is not very clean , u have to take a boat ride to another island.the beach there is nicer and cleaner.
shopping is not so gd compared to bangkok
i can't recall which hotel i stayed in.
it was abt 3 yrs ago.
we went to a transevite show which u can give it a miss.

but i did enjoyed the sea sports tremendously!!!!
cos it was in Thai Baht and super cheap.

must try the parachute-sea sailing!!!
it was one of the best thing i ever tried.
really felt like flying.
it cost me around $10.
very cheap hor?

Must go to Chinatown for Roadside Seafood. Tell the taxi driver to go Yaowarak, alight at White Orchid Hotel. The food is cheap and good. The oysters are big and fresh. hee hee....You might also want to have Bird nest in one of the restaurants there.

Anyone here been to Hua Hin from Bangkok? Heard it is a nice place with great seafood! How far is it from Bangkok and what is the safest and easier way to get there? Coach? How long is the travelling time and the cost of it?

And also what else can we do there? Need we stay over night or a day trip would do? Anyone who has been there, please share!

Hi rainforest,

I have been to hua hin. You can charter a van/car which will pick you up from bangkok airport. It's about couple of hours ride, depending on the traffic. You can look for this travel agent, Peter(www.travelerroad.com) which arranges for the transport and accomodation. He is very nice chap.

Nothing much to do there, got lots of seafood at cheap prices. We stayed that for 2 nites, i think.. you can visit the palau-U waterfall and nite mkts.. the place is very laid back, quite relaxing..

Hope that helps!

A tip for those going to bangkok for shopping, Patpong nite market is selling their goods at a high price..they mark up at least twice...Better to buy at MBK...

Calling Pearl & Bijou

I'm interested in going Bangkok and Hua Hin. Can you give me more details like how much, which hotel and how to arrange to go from Bangkok to Hua Hin. I'm planning my mini honeymoon and would love to go Bangkok but we have been there twice. So if I can add Hua Hin without burning my pocket, then it will be perfect. Besides shopping and eating in Bangkok, we can also rest and relax in Hua Hin.

Pearl- you mention going there by train. Did you arrange it yourself or thru agent? how much?

Anyone can advise when is the best time to go Bangkok ? Is Dec a good period ? Any sale period ? maybe thinking of going in Feb (after Chinese NY)

understand that there is a new night market in Bangkok...anyone knows what the name of the place is? Heard that it's not sleazy like Patpong..

Hi Mint

I love to go Khao San Road where there are many backpackers inn and the local youth likes to hang out at night. There's many pubs there and lots of street hawkers. I love the street hawker food and in fact that is one of the pull factor why i enjoy bangkok so much as compared to KL.

Another place you can go at night is to Yowarat, the chinatown in Thailand. Many good food there too.

Can't help you much on shopping though...

I'm going to Bangkok next month, a week after my wedding for a mini honeymoon. I'm taking a bus to Hua Hin first for 2 nights stay and then back in bangkok on weekend for shopping.

Hi dap,

Congrats on your wedding... I'm actually going to Koh Samui but will be spending one nite in BKK so have limited time to shop... maybe next time...

When my husband & I went to bangkok, we visited the Grand Palace. It was REALLY Grand!!!! very few singaporean tourists actually went there, but i read abt it and wanted to see its grandeur.

We followed instructions from the hotel concierge. Fastest way was by skytrain then river taxi. Took the skytrain to 'Sathon' stop at the pier. Took the river taxi (6 Baht 1 way) to the Grand Palace - ask the taxi ticket seller which stop. the Grand Palace is a 5 min walk from the pier. There are other tourist river taxis that charge up to 300 Baht going the same way!

The journey along the river was interesting. It passed the other famous Wat Arun temple & other sites.

Grand Palace entrance fee was 200 Baht. When we entered the compound... it was really awesome. the amount of GOLD was stunning and blinding. there was a miniature 'Angkor Wat' given by the Cambodian government, several large buildings in it. Really worth a visit. Give yourself 4 hrs for a nice visit.

anyone know what the rate for Jan 03 in Bangkok staying at Pathauwan Princess? Is it the peak period? Is Jan or Feb during the public hloiday peak period. Any surcharge?

Hi BK

I have check out the price for SQ EZ Holiday (Min 4 to travel) and it is about 530 plus minus for 4 days 3 nights.

If you go by TG I think price will be more ex.

Think the price for Bangkok package is getting higher every year.

I'm back from my holiday and I found out that the new night mkt is called "suan-lom night bazaar". I think it's just behind WTC... the shops there are more organised and neater than at patpong and the prices are waaaayyyy cheaper than patpong.... the shops close at midnite tho. they start at around 4pm...

I'm going on 22 Jan 03. I've booked my Swiss Air ticket online from www.swiss.com which is only $200 (without tax). the cheapest so far. You can go online to check the rates for hotel stay.

firstly thanks for all the info! without all the recommendations i'm sure my BKK trip would have been much lousier..

like to recommend a few places i went to..
- Sampeng Lane at Chinatown.. it's a narrow and long street selling many barang2 at wholesale prices.. hair accessories, toys, ornaments etc etc
- Pratunam market.. wholesale clothing market
- Baiyoke Sky Hotel.. tallest building in BKK, just beside Pratunam. can goto the observation deck to catch aerial view of BKK (there's also a open-air deck)
- Zen (inside WTC).. cheaper and more exciting departmental store compared to Isetan, Central etc

hope this's useful if you're planning a trip to BKK

Has anyone made man suit in Bangkok before? If so, is the workmanship and material good? How much did you spend on a suit without pants? Also, pls provide the tailor shop name and address. Thanks!

my hub and i had made suits in BKK before. one of the better ones, he feels, is the one at bangkok palace hotel. i can't remember the name but it's the only one there if i'm not wrong. one complete suit + extra pants is around S$150-$200 (but also depending on material)

We are leaving for Bangkok this fri eve, anyone just came back from there? Any good food places in Chinatown to share? Spa Places? THANKS in advance!

Realise that the stalls at Chatuchak are expensive. They don't tend to give a lot of discount for tourist. they will give at most only 20%. So i did not buy many things from there ?? another thing is that the stall holder will speak to you in thai first and when they realise that you are not locals they will tend to mark the price very high and when you try to bargain they will say no... only only give you very little discount. Anyone here have any good tips to make a good bargain ?? Cos i am going there again ??

i be goin to bangkok next week and be stayin at Patuwan Princess.

besides shopping at MBK, Chatuchak, prapong.. whr else can i go? advices pls thanks!

and also any good food to recommend? heard that bird nest at Chinatown is cheap.. but do you know name of shop?

you can take the bump boat at chao praoya river over to wat arun.

visit the grand palace ( a must! it's awesome) and also watpo.try the thai massage, ask them to be gentler. it's heavenly and cheap.

JL,

the bird nest is cheap there. u must try the sharks fin soup, cheap n nice!!
i went to one shop where the staffs all wear uniforms..can't remember wat colour but it is situated at a junction of the road..shld be able to recognise them. but u hv to go after 6pm to taste it cos they only open frm 6pm to ard 1am..
b4 6pm, there are shops selling handicrafts, etc..not much there so only go after 6pm to eat will be better..
for shopping wise, since u stay so near MBK, u can go there for shopping.

Hi JL,

you can also go and see their Ah Gua show. there's one at Asia Hotel. Quite an experience. Those "women" are really beautiful... the tickets are not cheap though... around S$30 to $40 for one hour show..

yes, there's one near Baiyoke Sky Hotel. but not much stuff to buy. i think Chatuchak is the best and most popular one.

however, at night, there are pple selling clothes and stuff along the overhead bridge linking the mrt to MBK or Siam area. there is this building that links to MBK also selling a lot of stuff. a bit like our Far East Plaza. can't recall the name though.

top floor of MBK also got mini pasar malam.

i think u shld visit pat too num (dunno the right spelling) and Siam square... can walk until ur legs break... heee...

yup, the ah kua show is nice but dun go to the tiger show... a waste of $$$ and so meaningless... and so exp... rather spend on the ah kua show than the tiget one...

ya, there are so many shops in MBK and pratunam area... cannot finish shopping within one day...

agree with starz, the tiger show is a waste of money... didn't go and watch but after hearing what the show is about... i dun think i wan to watch...