Bangkok

Have you girls heard of Phahurat Market?

Will be interested to know about it cos heard some girls say lots of things are being sold there.

soupie

hi JL, maybe u can take a look at this website.. www.thailandfans.com especially for the food recommendations.. but some are really ex like those restaurants in 5star hotels but they do recommend some cheap and good food too.

i went to http://www.thailandfans.com/eat20031128.html for sharksfin and birdnest.. really worth it and nice too.. especially the birdnest.. we were too full after the sharksfin.. it came in a big claypot (just like the one shown in the pic) and had to tabao the birdnest back to hotel.. the birdnest is very good too! for the sharksfin is abt S$12 and birdnest abt S$6.

have to eat the fuji jap food and MK or coca steamboat too.. cheap and good.

soupie

i think i would prefer the pratunam market.. chatuchak is too big and confusing..got lots of nice bags and tshirts at pratunam... spent abt 1 hr on our last day there before leaving for the airport and ended up with 3 bags and 6 tshirts.. there's this shop on 2nd or 3rd level inside the shopping centre that sells very cool looking tshirts like those quiksilver type.. bought 6 at one go.. hehehe.

okeanosmao

if u wan to buy jeans or any jeans skirt, pratunam market is the place to go..lots of selections..

me too..we order 2 rounds of sharks fin and bird nest and still tabao bird nest back oso..
so nice n cheap!

soupie

JL, i realise that after i wrote the above postings i was missing the place! i wish i can go back there to enjoy it all again.. especially the part of shopping without thinking hehe. i stayed at asia hotel.. we took a cab there.

oh yes, as for lingerie.. u may wanna try isetan... think there's one at the emporium or central shopping centre(either one i forgot), cos there are many more variety there. my fren bought like 2 or 3 yrs worth of bras and underwear back to sg. i also bought like 7 or 8 pcs of bras back.

okeanosmao

i walked to pratunam cos i stayed at d'ma pavillion hotel.

oh toking abt bras, wacoal bras are cheap there too!
i bought 4 bras, ard 8 panties..all frm wacoal..heehee..

okeanosmao

oh another thing, if u wan to go v far places take train..
if not, short distance like within world trade area best to take cab.

greenie

soupie is right, the chatukchat mkt was too big 4 our liking... cant evern rem which area we had visited... and it was so hot & humid inside... like sauna! my hb cant even tahan... we spent less than an hr there & gave up totally. my hb said he rather pay more 2 buy at shopping ctr!

siam sqaure & pak tuk nam got alot of things to shop already.... can shop till u drop!

its true their lingerie's cheap but i can say its not lasting lah... the cloth inside tore after in less than a yr... but 4 tt kind of $$$, i dun mind payg & buyg lots back to wear till u happy!

soupie & maomao... dun u all wished we can fly there rightaway>?

soupie

starz, yesh! hehehehe..but think my hubby dare not go with me and my frens anymore haha..yeah for chatukchat.. it's like if u like something better buy if not u won't be able to find the shop ever again :p i dun find it nice to shop there.. didn't manage to buy anything much there.

the upper floors of MBK also have those small small stalls/shops that sell jeans but beware of those pushy sales.. especially one chinese auntie... dunno if she's still there.. very pushy keep asking me to buy her denim skirts.. but there's another shop more to the inner part owned by a young thai lady.. her jeans are really trendy and reasonably priced but still do remember to bargain lah :p

okeanosmao

yup..wish i can go there again..chatuchak din manage to go cos my hubby oredi fed up with all the walking n shopping..hee...
so he said he dun wan accompany go nxt time liao..
MBK din buy anything there..buy some bags at pratunam centre only..and mostly is eat lor..
too many things liao, duno wat to buy.

greenie

hi soupie & maomao...

luckily my hb is alrite to go again wif me... coz he goes to the temples... he was pretty alrite when i went 4 lingerie shopping, he juz went to a cyvercafe & surfed net... in shopping ctr, i think its pretty safe. and he reminded me 'rem to buy to ur heart's delight 4 all the lingerie u wan coz when u come back, u shall not buy in SIN anymore!' hehehehe... funnie rite? so while i spent at least 2 hrs there, he happily surfed net lor...

i feel tt chaktuchak is more like an eye-opener 4 me.. they sell anything under the sun!!!! gosh... i was so amazed when they had live animals 4 sale there...

mao, ur hb so impatient ah? heehhee... i actually went there 2 or 3 times, each time wif my hb... he gladly carried my shopping bags & i was the one tt ended up complaining i was tired. in SIN, my hb hates to go shopping... we hardly go town areas unless neccessary...

coz this time we r gog TW, owise, we wld hv flown over to BKK over CNY liao!

soupie, i noe in siam square & pat too nam area, they got alot of small nice nice shops wif lotsa of funky wear... but coz their clothes usually 4 pple in petitie frames, i cldnt buy most of it! so sad... and coz they dun hv fitting rooms, i usually juz appx gauge & bought liao... thus ended up i cldnt fit in some of them...

Ladies ladies,

just in case you dun know yet, i think SQ is having a promo to BKK at $199 only...
Check out today's papers.

eternity

hi ladies, chanced upon this thread and i saw someone posted about lingerie shopping at Isetan. just for your info, in case there are some out there who doesn't know already, the Singaopore Isetan Card can also be used there...

yapbp

Hi gals;

In case you gals shopped alone, pls be extra careful while shopping at Siam Square.
My Thai friend (lady) was being drugged while she's having dinner at McDonald...then kana 'ripped' off over 200k baht (from credit cards) The drugs will make her talk and talk and lost consciousness..think like those used in discos... )
Till now, the bastard not yet been caught.
So pls be extra careful hor..

mindy

soupie
your webbie is all in chinese. alamak.. i cant read most of characters liao.. return them back to my chinese teacher oredi.. haha

mindy

ladies
paiseh to trouble you all.. whr is Pratunam? accessible by train?

and whr is Coca restuarant.. thought of steamboat, makes me drool!

soupie

JL, paiseh forgot to tell u that the website is in chinese hehehe and somemore it's written by a hongkonger so the chinese used some are directly translation from cantonese.. hehehe..

MK and coca have a few outlets all over bangkok.. think there's one at MBK and siam...

the nearest train station to pratuman at the station starts with P one... quite long one... i forgot wat it is altho i stayed at asia hotel where it was directly connection to the mrt.

Hi Niv,

When I was in BKK for a biz trip, colleagues and I went to this restaurant called Baan Klang Nam for seafood. It was pretty reasonable..portions were generous..and most importantly, the food was good! Prawns were all huge, and v fresh. I still prefer crabs in SG, but they have very good fish dishes and the crabmeat fried rice is so fragrant and delish that we ordered 2 huge plates. It wasn't very very cheap, but I tot it was quite reasonable as compared to SG prices. We ordered q alot (there were 6 of us, 4 of which were guys who cld eat alot n we were starving when we got there) n the bill came up to ard 3.5K to 4K baht.

The restaurant is an old Thai house on stilts by the Chao Praya River. Its a bit tricky getting there tho. When we tried going a second time, the cabby said it was too far and tried to hustle us into going to another restaurant (I bet they get commission) We ended up eating in Siam Square :p

Think the address is 3792/160 Rama 3 Rd, Soi 14.

do you girls know when is jim thomson's sale ah?
i know they have one either in mid year or year end. hear say only. dunno details.
anyone been or heard b4?

chamonique

Hi alhana,

Thanks for that. A friend has also recommended me to go to Jim Thompson but I think their price is too expensive.

Does anyone has other recommendation?

esp

Any recommendations for good birdnest from Chinatown ?
Where can i get the "dog Shit" from Chinatown ? Is there a better brand than "Lin Zhen Xiang" Where can i find any maps of Chinatown ?
Is chutachuk open on weekdays too ?
will i be able to find my dog's clothes there ? where can i find nice and cheap accessories and bikinis in BKK? Any comments and advise are welcome.

kidz

no prob... BBK happens to be one of my fav place..
u can get accessories anywhere... shopping centres, Chatuchuk....any pasar malam stalls.

Bikinis i prefer to buy from bigger shopping malls (like sogo @ world trade, MBK - tokyu) - can try and better quality than small unknown stalls. Plus much cheaper than Spore.

Thai massage - Marble house near Novetel siam is not bad - not sleazy. Another place "the king & I' is also very good- v classy but cheap. Abt 20 bucks for two hours. Located near this theme restaurant "Cabbage & Condoms" (which is also recommended) 10 Sukhumvit Soi 12 Bangkok.

i v long winded when i start talking abt BKK....

kidz

winnie,

the cabbage n condoms restaurant is not that kind of restaurants for dirty old man one...
it actually donate part of its earnings to HIV kids or something... (hence the name...to prevent AIDS). do visit that restaurant - interesting theme restaurant. i think not very near WTC... cant remember

okeanosmao, bag wholesalers u may find at the patunum mkt (near baiyoke sky hotel)

kidz

not sure if winnie n dolphin came back from BKK already :0

another nite mkt i like is the suan lum mkt , big airy...teh stalls not fully rented out (so there were empty stalls when i went last dec) but u'll discover a lot of good finds in there is u explore...like nice bags, clothes..shoes...n soft toys.... futuristic furniture etc..

rchtym

I was told BKK Chatuchak market now open 7 days a week. Is it true? I am going end of the month. Need to find out whether the market open on weekdays also

padme

Hi Erowen,

Anna's Cafe is at Saladaeng Rd. Fabulous food at very reasonable price! It's a must go!

If anyone of you is staying at the area near Royal Orchid Sheraton, try this little restaurant name Harmonique. The atmosphere isdifferent - like lunching in a tropical paradise fill with ferns and greenery.