Bangkok

jul

I just came back from Bangkok 2 weeks ago. Thai Airways has 7 flights daily. There are 2 night flights. Scandinavian Airlines also goes there. We took the latter.

Pathumwan Princess is not in the same building as MBK lah. Actually, I think it's not even as convenient as Asia Hotel, because Asia Hotel is directly linked to the train station.

ling

twinkle,

Hmmm leaving on Wed and coming back on Sun.
Only on Bangkok would that be too long for only bangkok 5D4N?

Or I think leaving Thur and back on Sun. Ya only bangkok lor.4D3N. Cant think of a place to go liao lei.
Wat do u think??

Im asking for opinion becos my hus leave all the planning to me
he anything one. and i got no exprience in this pls help

ling

So which hotel shall we choose then ?? Thinking of 4* hotel if 3* convience dun mind taking as well

twinkle

Ling,

Do you intend to take up any day tours? Like visiting the river market... the temples... etc...
If yes, then normal for those will at least take 1/2 - 1 day...

If for 5D4N, you'll be left with 4D...
You can start with shopping around at MBK (which might already take you about 2/3-1 day (depending on hw long you stay at each stall or hw long you take to choose...) then you walk across to the next building... Siam Sq... there's 1 parts... 1 part... more for branded stuffs... the other part... can get body shop... world of sports... tower records... (things slightly more ex there)...
If you are fast, you can finish these in 1 day...
You can end at Hard Rock, that is not far from opposite Siam Sq...
If you have extra time, you can cross the MBK bridge to go to another shopping area... (far-east like)

So then you'll roughly be left with 3D
You can visit the Pratunum wholesale market, next to Amari Watergates... not far from WTC...
Being a wholesale market... most shops closes around 4+p.m. 2/3 of the day gone...
If you're not too tired, you can drop by to PatPong... the night pasar malam... but dun go there too early cos they start late... say after 7p.m. You can have dinner at Silom, not far from PatPong... think there's few restaurants... Jap... Thai... there's also a shopping center called 'Central' there... something like Isetan kind... can get yr undergarments there...
Then walk to PatPong to end your day...

That leaves you with 2D
Of cos, not to forget the Chatuchak and Or Tor Kor - spice market...
Like wat was mentioned in Cheng Ren Za Zhi, you can drop by the spice market earlier... then walk across the bridge to get to Chatuchak market.
Think you'll need a full day there... since there's so many stalls there...

For the last 1D...
In fact, if you reach there late on Wed... say evening or late afternoon and leaving in the afternoon on Sun... there goes one day...

For Wed, you'll hv to arrange those evening or night activities after you reached there on Wed...
For Sun... the morning, you can still drop by those nearby places for last min shopping...
Cos normally, the tour agency will come to yr hotel to pick u up at least 2 hrs earlier... cos BK's traffic is quite bad... Often have traffic jamm...

Oops... talk so much... hope I dun make you headache...

twinkle

Ling,

As for hotel... jul mentioned the Asia Hotel. My colleague who's going over to BK next week will be staying there...
I get feedbk from her c hw's it for u?

But that hotel 3* one I think...

sc

Check out the latest NUYOU mag. There's an article on shopping in BKK. Really interesting. Must read.

ling

twinkle very much appreciated that u actually provide me wif so much info.
Good planning.

Yes I would wan to go to the river market sound interesting... but hv to book fm spore hor?

I also wanted very much to buy undergarment, which place is the cheapest and lots of varity? Other than Central that u mention wherelse?? Anything there special for guys to buy? LIke bags,..etc.Thinking of buying birdnest / sharkfin also, cheap or not huh at Chinatown rite? Chatuchak surely go one..
. And thai silk heard is the best hor where can get huh?

How abt massage in hotel?

Hmm maybe on wed evening will go to Central then follow by Patpong.

Oh ya... u mention the MBK bridge to cross over to another shopping how to recognise the bridge?

One more thing i heard that the traffic very bad, very difficult to cross the road, is it true?

I think bangkok other than shopping and temple nothing much already hor? Dun know got any interesting place to go hor.. like those dun see in spore one...

twinkle

Ling,

U're welcome...
Sharing with you all these makes me excited olso... as if I'm planning holidays for my own olso...

The river market ah... I went there during my business trip last time... sort of last min decision, so it was booked by my hotel receptionist one leh... if dun remember wrongly, its abt 1000baht for the river tour plus a dinner on a boat... alarcate thai buffet... with seafood... thats abt SG$40... consider quite worth it lor... cos food is not bad... plus the experience lor... at least its something different from s'pore... other than all shopping shopping lor...
worth trying...
well, you can check out with yr tour agency, see if they provide a day tour for this... else, u can ask yr hotel (in BK) to book for you like me...

Undergarments huh... alot of place have leh... the undergarments there all relatively much cheaper than norm... but all places, they sell the same price... (at least of wat I know for Wacoal and Triumph) Cos all tagged by wacoal and triumph lor... so... no special place with special price... last trip when I was in Hatyai... i bought a wacoal bra at SG$15.00... few wacoal panties (mini) at SG$5.00 each...
I didnt try to bargain b4 for this cos... i normally buy these from the departmental stores... Few places you can try is WTC, Isetan, Central, Zen, MBK (undergarment shops), there's also another shop in Pratunum (far-east-like shopping place), specialise in all sorts of undergarments... But prices should be the same lar...

Guys huh... can buy those Oakey bags... shoes... (but not real ones lar)... if wan real ones, Addidas is worth buying... cos alot cheaper than in S'pore... I'll always pick up a few Adidas apparels there... cos the price is good... (maybe becos its manufactured there... no shipping cost, thats why cheaper)... U can get these at World of Sports in MBK, Siam Sq... there's also an Addidas boutique in WTC... Others for guys... maybe can get very-real looking jersey... almost like the real one... at < SG$20... Can get it at a jersey shop in Partunum... Others are like those very-real looking branded Ts and Shirts... (if he dun mind lar)...
Birdnest and sharks fin huh? No too sure abt this leh... Cos din buy any last time... If you wan, better be careful, so as not to kanna con with the fake ones... Wat i know is cheap to eat... neber ta bao before... Sorrie...

Thai silk... very nice... muz bargain if buying from those pasar malam stores lor...

Thai massage... most of the time I ask the tour guide to get for me... come to hotel rooms one... so that u noe u will get those 'decent' ones lor... Else can get the hotel recept to get for you... But muz ask the price 1st lar... Cos if u go find yrself... might kanna chop olso... unless u already know which are the ones that are 'ok' lor...

Ya... wed... think by the time u reached BK already evening liaoz... so.. can go get dinner... then pop by patpong to shop shop... there's also alot of those ornament and souveniers shops along the streets there... but i think at Chatuchat can get better price and more varieties lor...

Oh... that MBK bridge... no worries... it very big and obvious... at 2nd level... juz outside Watsons... wont miss it lor... its linked between 2 buildings...

Ya... the traffic... sometimes bery messy one... even with traffic lights also muz be careful, cos they dun really bother abt the traffic rules lor... juz follow the crowd when crossing lor... worse come to worse... see no cars then run across...

Eh... for me hor... most of the time, I onli visit those few places... dun go outskirts... think there muz be more places to go lor... juz that maybe abit far and need the tour guide lor...
Maybe u can check with yr tour agency, see if they got any interesting day tours...

Else... like wat's mentioned in Cheng Ren Za Zhi... go to those places for a visit lor... but juz scared u not enuff time...

annmelody

jul,

actually Pathumwan Princess is in the very same building as MBK. The lift leading to the hotel is near Tokyu on the first floor.

It's a 4-5 star hotel and well ...it's very convenient but Asia Hotel is much cheaper but juz as convenient as it's juz next to sky train.

If intend to stay 3 days or more, you might considering getting the BTS 3 days card for 280baht each. It's well worth it especially when you are going to Patpong every night and inbetween your shopping in Chatuchap mkt, you want to go back and place your shopping and proceed back.

actually pathumwan princess and MBK are not in the same building (but right next to each other)..they are however linked. can access MBK from pathumwan princess from ground floor and 2nd floor of hotel. the link is not near Tokyu but the opp. end of tokyu.

and MBK is linked to the BTS...as well as near to Siam Square/Discovery Centre (further down will be world trade centre). hence, pathumwan princess is actually quite strategically located.

jes

for those who purchase furniture stuff in Chutuchak mkt, do you shipped the furniture back to singapore? how much to ship back? won't that add cost to the furniture and more expensive??

ling

ok twinkle,

I will go thru my planning, BTW, do you think for tourist like us to visit Bangkok do we need to buy a travel guide?

twinkle

Err... are you Ling or ling?
Sorrie... cos in this thread there are 2 'ling'(s)...
Think if you want can get lor...
But in the airport, you can get as many travel guides as you want lor...

ling

Hi twinkle,

Its me Ling, airport have huh.. ok.

I have go thru 5 star travel agency, their package quite reasonable..... thinking of getting from them. I guess in bangkok other than shopping nothing much already hor.. ?

djtrd

hmm....seems like alot of people likes bangkok hor...found this thread last week bt was on half day leave then cant join in the fun...

So have u confirm when is yr trip huh???me went during May so thats y went to both Phuket n Bangkok...a bit regret nvr stay in phuket for 1 more nite cos my package is 2 nite in phuket n 4 nites in Bangkok.bt bcos i went mountain climbing in Krabi so by the time travel to phuket ard 7 plus(pm) not enuf time to comb in phuket town area for the 2 days...beri fun must go there...nw monsoon season har??cos me taking 4 day 3 nite cruise to phuket leh!!hw huh???
Ling, i stayed Asia Hotel when went over to Bangkok..quite good n bfast has nice variety...n good thing is it links to the MRT n convienient to go to shopping centres...apart from those shopping that Twinkle mention, if u intend to keep stock for bras, u must definitely go to this shopping building CENTRAL(beside Sogo)...only 1 building by itself...u go to the customer service counter to exchange for tourist card then got 5 percent off..can take train there.. will help u find out which station k...after that patpong lor, if u happen to hit the weekend they specially close the street n have open air concert n more so called pasar malam along the street....

Yeah Twinkle i found my kaki liao...got so many people LOVES BANGKOK...actually this time round quite reluctant to go cos went last year aredi bt FH loves shopping(fortunately) there then some more his bird day n he can get some more car spare parts from there so bo bian...

twinkle

Yup... can get from airport at BK...

Ya... unless u follow those day tours the you'll get something different... nevertheless, i'm sure u'll enjoy yr trip shopping there...

Hi DJtrd,

Ya... kaki...
I like going to BK to get the cheap things... but not every year lar... cos will be so sianz...

But most of the time, I still need to go there for biz trips lor... so... bo bianz olso...

ling

Hi Djtrd,

I intend to go during 1st week of oct. actually wanted to go phuket but it is a monsoon seasons so change to bangkok. Not familiar to bangkok 1st time there
goin on 5d4n also dun know where to start shopping? Dun know which airline shld i take cos different airline diff. timing and not sure abt the traffic there lor... CRUISE ah very very fun during jul i went 3D2N cruise to KL in Virgo cruise very fun and romantic wanted to go again but hus say very exp.

Asia Hotel is a 3* hotel not many facilities there hor like spa, jaqzzi,massage.... i thinkin of staying at pathuwan princess how good or not ??? U were saying abt MRT so hw to take which stop shld i alight ?? And the MRT link to which shopping ??? Cos i dun know how to take
If i wanted to go to "Central" to get my bras how to tell the driver or which MRT stop to alight huh? Ya i will stay during weekend to go to chaktukchap market. heehee

ling

Could anybody introduce me some good hotel at good and convenience location. 3* or 4* doesn't matter. Cos still dun know which hotel is the best ????

girl80

Just came across this thread and just wanna share with you gals on my lastest trip to Bangkok. It is really so much fun and I may be going again towards end of the year as it is their Sales Season.

Pathuwan Princess is worth staying but rather expensive as it is a 5 star hotel. I would sincerely recommend Asia Hotel as it is more convenient and much much cheaper.

For you gals out there interested in buying bras, you may want to visit the Isetan at World Trade Center as it is less crowded there, and more sizes and colours available compared to MBK. I bought about 1 dozen of bras and about 2 dozen of undergaments during my last trip which is on May. Really very very cheap compare to Singapore. Shoes over there is also very cheap. You can get very nice and designer look shoes there for just SGD $8. Some of them is even much cheaper and you won't find them here at all.

If anyone is really interested in Louis Vuitton or other branded stuff, you can try this shop at MBK, It is located at Level 2, Room No.2B46. The imitation branded stuff over there is totally like the real one. But you really have to bargain your way, at least 40%-50%. Another worth buying stuff. I bought the LV luggage for less than $100.

For clothin, I would recommend Partunum &amp; Chatuchuk. I bought a few pairs of jeans at $2 &amp; $8 each. You must really bargain your way there as well. Over there really alot of things to buy. For those who like Mashimaro/Hello Kitty, you can try Chatuchuk. You can find many cute cute stuff over there. Eg : Tissue Box etc.... Alot of Shops in Singapore actually get the stuff from there and bring back to Singapore to sell. I bought 1 Mashimaro tissue box there for abt $2, but saw at pasar malam selling at $12.90! See the difference....

Actually there still got alot of good things but i don think I will go on as I think I abit of "Lo Soh" already.

ling

Hi girl80,

Would like to know how good is Asia Hotel? Is it clean, nice looking bedroom,services???

Shopping area I tot cannot bargain cos is fixed price! Can tell me which shopping can bargain and which one cannot? Thier imitation compare to KL which one better? Cos heard from feedback tat Thai imitation dun look real.

Hmm u din mention abt the dining there? How their food? Where to eat best ? And their place of interest lei???

Heehee sorri too much to ask ???

linda

Asia Hotel is fine. Clean enuff for me. And best of all, the mrt is just situated near the hotel which you reach thru a bridge connected to the hotel. Or you can choose to walk to MBK.

Normally shopping centre no bargaining lah. Places like Chatuchap and roadside stalls can bargain. I like to go to Bobei (I forgot there a hotel there...the tall tall ones) for wholesale items. They have a flea market there too. Think it is called the Pratunam Market. Can bargain here.

Food wise - Loved their street side food.
If not their restaurants in shopping malls are cheap too. try their Jap food. Cheap.

Working shoes, bags, clothes often always go for 199baht which is abt $8 SGD. Looks expensive hahahahahah...but actually very cheap.

I hope to go again soon :p

girl80

For me I am not so particular about hotel. Asia Hotel is acceptable, not too bad. Anyway, I will only be sleeping there for a few hours every nite and its only for a few days and not years rite..hee hee....

You can bargain for the imitation branded stuff over at MBK and must really bargain. As for other shopping centre, I am not so sure as this particular shop is being recommend by alot of my frds. Dun give way to them till you find the price reasonable. I find that the imitation goods in Thailand is much more real compare to KL. Those at KL dun look so real and quality as well as finishes not so good. Ask for the Grade A stuff. Its a good buy.

As for food, must try the shark fins as well as bird nest at chinatown. Really very delicious and cheap...My hubby and I even buy some back to hotel and eat...hahahaha...
If you love Jap food, then must try Oishi which is located at Siam Square. Very cheap and nice. You can also try the Coca Restaurant there, it is cheaper than you eat in Singapore and very nice as well. Other places that I have tried and felt that it is worth you trying would be : MK Suki Restaurant(Similar to Coca Restaurant &amp; very famous in Bangkok), Sushi &amp; Fuji Restaurant, etc...You can find most of the restaurant over at Level 6th &amp; 7th of MBK, World Trade Centre, Siam Square as well as Siam Discovery. Alot of good food and very very cheap.

By the way, when are you going?

Hope that the above informations is of use to you. Feel free to ask me anything, I am most willing to share with you

ling

Hi girl80,

My frend told me that their MRT is not wise to take as it is exp. And the street is difficult to recongise as well might lost the way, is it true? cos i will goin free N easy and 1st time there. Totally not familiar there !! Will be goin on oct.
Is it better to go on tour, but the disadvantage is tour might not bring to the shopping that i wan.

Do you know where is Central Shopping located at ?

jul

Asia Hotel is now 4 star, not 3 star. Anyway, it's an old building so don't expect it to have fancy facilities like the 5-star hotels. But it's definitely not dirty! And I agree with girl80 that you'll only be sleeping in the hotel for a few hours a day so heck, just go for it. I was staying on the same floor as the swimming pool and it was quiet and nice.

djtrd

paiseh ytday on MC...the virgo cruise nice anot har???me very excited abt it lehhhh...

I stayed in Asia Hotel bcos its real convienient,rooms are clean n bigger than my 1st trip which i stayed in Bangkok palace.no time for me to use the facilities(my intention to go there was full shopping trip) i can give u full details of the mrt station bt give me some time cos all the maps are all kept with FH house then he more familiar n good memory than me will find out for u or we can all mit up with Twinkle then both of us will bomb u with all the deatils...kekekeke...
ehhh...can plan yr trip for u so u wont miz out anything there.MRt is not ex lah 15-45 baht cos only few stops away to other shopping centres.u wana caught in the jam meh take taxi very mah fan...

as for which airline to take...i suggest u take thai airways cos no pt to spend so much $$$ on SQ cos only 2hrs flt...save yr $$ for shopping lahhh...unless nw got promotion..ytday found out frm fren that Newly Tours in Chinatown offering $378 for 5 days 4 nites(duno which hotel n airline) giving xtra 1 day 1 nite free...mayb u can check it out...ot i can try n ask my fren her agency no. in Pearl centre then u check wif her..
wat u still need to know??

so lor soh hor....

ling

Hi DJtrd,

Virgo cruise really very very nice I still miss it soooo much same for my hus. But he say too exp to go. Mine was 3d2n to KL. Very romantic, hmm the food (international buffet) not very nice, can try the chineese food cos onky these 2 place we can eat FOC, others got to pay.

For Thail I think i will take TG arrived in the afternoon(3pm reach hotel) on the Day 1. I will be goin 5D4N.So wat is the no. to call for Newly Tours?
1. Where is Central Shopping Centre tat girl80 mention?
2. I will be taking MRT need the station info.
3. Places of interest to go. Do i book from Hotel/thai agency.

Thanks if possible give me some idea where shld i go during my trip.

djtrd

newly tours - 6536 4711
enjoy holiday - 6533 1112

oh no me very excited to go for the cruise lehh...going nxt sun will stopover 2 plcs, malaysia (duno which state) n phuket...

by the way, sad to say that i din go to any plcs of interest cos i aredi mention my intention was full shopping trip...kekeke...me shopping freak one...when u book free n easy from the agency, normally includes half day city tour..if u wan to go other plcs,u can get the man who pick u up frm BKK airport to bring u ard then u give him some tips lor...

as for the train infO, actually u can get the map n info from the airport...if u need i let u know by nxt week k!!!this is wat i can remember nw..

1) Siam discovery centre/siam Sq - Siam station
2a) WTC(where isetan/Zen is)
b) Central &amp; SOgo - update u (all same station)
3) MBK - NAtional stadium
4) Emporium - update u
5) Chatuchak - On Nut
6) patpong - update u

ASia Hotel - Ratchaburi station

ling

Thanks DJtrd,

BYW , I tot for Sunday dept is to Phuket and Langkawi? Sunday will check in at 8pm. already eaten us one day liao ... then coming back in the afternoon! But in the cruise really too short for me no time for the show becos they keep changing the time table. so we went gamble

Well u will definetly njoy urself....

djtrd

thanks for yr info...yup the cruise that me taking is 4 days 3 nites...so is to Langkawi lah n phuket huh..will sure definitely enjoy myself...

ling

Hi Twinkle,

I have book my package, goin to Bangkok and Pattaya.

Anybody can give me some idea which hotel can i stay in Pattaya??? The package comes in 3* hotel like sunbeam, grand sole hotel... any recommendation for the hotel. And have anyone been to PAttaya, how is it over there fun? Where to shop?

romona

I'm going to Bangkok this Dec 02.

Anyone know where can I get cheap SIA ticket from any travel agent? w/o accomdation.

luckybird

I stayed at Asia during my bangkok trip 2 weeks ago. The hotel is good enough to me, and breakfast also not bad. It may not look so nice from the outside but it surprise me with the spacious room, very clean and tidy(compared to the low price). More important, the hotel is linked to BTS station and walking distance to MBK, very convenient location!

ling

Hi Luckybird,

Im goin in a package and the accomodation is in Asia Hotel. But worry that their hotel water is not clean enough to bath !
I also heard that we have to drink bottle water. Is it true ?

Actually wanted to change hotel to Pathuwan Princess but very troublesome... hai no choice think got to stick with Asia Hotel.

So will the room look dark and old? BTW, Asia hotel is consider how many star hotel? How is the security there?

jellybeans

Also stayed in Asia hotel when I was there 3 weeks ago. We stayed there for 2 nights. Booked the rooms thru' the agent in S'pore for $60 a night which includes transfers both ways to the airport. Becos' the BKK sector was a stopover from Paris, we reached the hotel pretty early like 8.15am. Altho' check-in time is 12pm, they managed to clean up the room and let us check in at 9.30am. We were pretty impressed. Also, we were given the room with a King size bed(I think depends on availability). Like what luckybird said, hotel is clean and best of all, it's very convenient to the shopping centres nearby. My FH always stays there when he goes for golf trips with his friends. He says that Asia hotel is very popular with Singaporeans. We even bumped into 2 of his friends while staying there. Talk about it being popular!

luckybird

I think water in all hotels should be the same, as long as they're in BKK. There is a seperate tap for drinking water at Asia hotel, and it's okie for me. Also you can buy drinking water everywhere in BKK, and price is very low.

Of course Pathuwan Princess is better, as it's a 4-star(or 5, not sure), and Asia only 3 star. It depends on what you want and how much you want to spend.

ling

Hi Jellybeans &amp; Luckybird,

Thanks for your info. Hearing so much of the good side I think i will stick to Asia Hotel.

So have u all been to Pattaya? Cos i would like to find out abt the hotel as well. The hotel tat my agency giving is Sunbeam / Grand sole hotel. Any comment on these 2 hotel or do you have any recommendation ?

djtrd

I found my bangkok MRT map when i clear my room last weekend....i can zap a copy of the booklet for u....u got a fax no.???so i can send it to u 2moro..../clipart{biggrin}

twinkle

Glad to know you've confirmed your trip...

So excited for you... cos 1st timers sure enjoy all the 'cheap' shopping and food...

Ya... Asia hotel... my friend said quite good lor... at least not too terribly old... (like the old baiyoke at pratunum i stayed in during my 1st trip

Going to Pattaya also huh? Last time I have a group of friends went over to Pattaya over sat and sun when they were in BK, think they stayed in the Amari hotel over there... They say its fine for them lor... cos practically most of the them they all out...
See if there's other gals here went to Pattaya b4... can help you gather more info about the hotel... meantime, i ask around my friends about the hotel there again...

So... going to BK and Pattaya... how long you're staying? when you're going over? going to Pattaya from BK by bus huh?

Sorrie... if u find me kepoh...

ling

Hi twinkle,

Ya goin to bkk + Ptt, cos dun wan to stay at only one place boring mah... just found out that my sis-in-law also went to bkk+Ptt and staying at Asia Hotel n say tat very convenience. But for Ptt the hotel she staying is Sunbeam she say very dirty...
she had never been to such dirty hotel before the tour guide even say this is the best hotel in Ptt. My package also tied up wif Sunbeam hotel
dun know allow to change or not?

Im goin on Oct, the package is 5D but i ext one more nite in Bkk. I think shld be taking coach there. I found that the package is reasonable total i spent abt S$900++

Anybody can recomment which hotel in Ptt is clean and convenience.. other than Hard Rock.

crayon2512

Mind if I join in the conversation? I am thinking of going to BKK and one resort places..
e.g phuket, pattaya or koh samui. Seems like most agencies provide BKK and pattaya, or BKK and Phuket only.. :0
I saw bangkok airways having promo now..SIN-KOH SAMUI- BKK cost S$400 each. u gals may want to check it out. (But Remember must buy ticket back froM BKK to SIN)

U spend $900+ for one pax for 6D 5N in BKK and Pattaya? Which agency u book?

ling

Hi crayon2512,

Welcome.
No u mistaken, total 2pax is 900+ ya 6d5n Bkk+Ptt. I book 5* quite reasonable price lor i find.

Any idea which hotel better in Ptt?

pearl

Hi Ling &amp; Crayon2512,

Dunno whether u had confirmed yr trip yet, cos u were mentioning abt Hua Hin, perhaps i can just give u some insight on this resort cos I been there in June for my short honeymoon trip.

We chose Hua Hin becos it's nearer to BKK, onli 4 hrs train ride &amp; also we wanted to go to a resort to relax 1st before heading to BKK for shopping &amp; eating. We were initially reluctant to chose Hua Hin cos hardly anyone goes there, therefore no feedback. But we do not wan to waste any $ on flight to Koh Samui &amp; Phuket, hence we just go ahead..btw, this entire trip was DIY cos we managed to redeem 2 Krisflyer tickets, hence we onli pay for accomdation.

I would say it's a very nice &amp; quiet place as it is not as commercialise as Koh Samui &amp; Phuket..pple there are also very simple &amp; approachable. We stayed at Marriot Hua Hin &amp; paid onli $115 per nite for a 5-star quality resort. The hotel is very spacious &amp; the service are very good..1st class..esp the spread on the American Breakfast. U koe they even packed 2 breakfast boxes for us as we need to leave early morni to board the 6.45am train to BKK. We also tried their spa package there, though it's not cheap lah..ard S$160 per person for a 2 hrs whole body scrub &amp; massage,h/w their atmosphere was beautiful &amp; both me &amp; hubby was given our own hut that is not enclosed..&amp; we took shower in the open garden..the feeling was simply heavenly..so romatic. We dun mind spending this $ cos we had a realli tiring wedding preparations &amp; were finally able to rest properly when we left for our honeymoon..so overall it was worth it!

It's realli cheap to go Hua Hin cos u spend onli $$12 per person on the 1 way air-con train &amp; we took the S$7 non-air con train back cos there isn't any air-con train in the morni. Overall, the transport cost is $20 per person &amp; the 2 nites stay cost ard $230. My friend went to stay at Marriot in Phuket &amp; paid nearly twice our amt, $240 per nite, just beos Phuket is more commercialise &amp; thus u had to pay higher. At least i got to taste Marriot standard for such a cheaper price.

I would strongly recommend Hua Hin for a 2 days breakaway before u guys head for shopping in BKK! The beach although not dat fantastic, but it's so quiet from the crowds dat u all can enjoy yr little moments together, even with friends

ling

Anybody knows wat time MBK, WTC, Siam sq, open till wat time ???

Chinatown wat is the suitable time to go?
As i know that Patpong can only go at nite start from 7pm onwards. And Chaptuchak is in the morning.

Pls let me know so i can plan my itinerary

twinkle

Ling,

Forgot to mention, 10a.m. and 10p.m. is in BK's time.
The time difference is 1hr. BK is 1hr earlier... 10a.m. in BK = 11p.m. in S'pore...

ling

ok tks twinkle,

I book my ticket liao thru 5 star. during their travel fair, quite reasonable rate i can say. I go BKK+PTT total 6Day at 1068 for 2 pax. staying in Hard Rock which i requested and have to pay more lor.

By the time i touch down in BKK hmm i dun know how they count is 1935/2055. so this 2055 is sin time or Bkk time ?

I was thinkin of goin Patpong at that nite cos this is the only place can shop till late rite or is there any place i can go other than pat pong?? Cos the next morning i will be heading to PTT already...

twinkle

Oh... 1068 quite cheap for 2 lor... Somemore going to PTT...

Huh? How they calculate??? I thought it like for BK time just - 1hr of S'pore time??
Anyway, I guess what they meant is 1935(BK time) 2055(S'pore time) when you reach BK lor...

That late huh? Think you can either go straight to Pat Pong, can 1st have dinner at Silom... (its like a shopping center... got jap food... got thai food... also with Central inside.) Then you just walk down to Pat Pong which is not far down from Silom... Can shop for few hours (depending on what interest you...) then hail a cab back to hotel... But remember hor... in Pat Pong, must really BARGAIN... cos they tend to set the price alot higher than normal places... Try slash at least 1/2 the price... else you'll 'heart-pain' when you see the similar things elsewhere later in BK at cheaper price...

Else, you can 1st have dinner at MBK... since you're staying very near MBK... then spend the rest of the night shopping at MBK, Siam Center and Siam Sq... Otherwise, can have dinner at the Hard Rock cafe, opposite Siam Sq... The serving at Hard Rock is quite big... if you are light eater... order 1 set 1st... see can finish other not...

twinkle

Btw, last time I went Hard Rock, I remember can order free flow coke... (at slighty higher than normal price, but worth the $) and they let you have the Hard Rock Cup for souviner... But dunno the promo now still have or not lor... The price relatively reasonable for the size lor... 1 ppl < SG$7.00 if I din forget...