Bangkok

hi icy,

i chked the bts map for chit lom station and found a restaurant named "home kitchen" at lang suan rd 2. is dis the one dat u are referring at? is it known as mum kitchen as well? i getting kindof confused liao... heehee...

Yanling: ooi ..tat means not much shoppers around ah... i saw the webbie ..the mall looks very new ooh~ saw alot of bikinis there as well

Ribena : thanks for the info.. but u mentioned tat the cab is to take frm Departure Hall? tot its arrival hall?

jus PM u ... u got mail

zenn: wow.. $13 per bottle. if its self made then can consider..

sailormoonwt: yeah quite new shopping, not much shoppers. You arrived in Arrival Hall but go to Departure Hall and take cab so that you can find cabs by metered and save 50B paying to the counter girl for writing your hotel name and hailing a cab for ya.. Enjoy your trip tomorrow and happy buying more bear bear.. hee..

Christine: Suan Lum cab not as many as MBK area, but still got a few running here and there.

hi yanling,

thanks so much for the info! hey, btw, i notice dat the Thailand Fans website have alot of free discount ecoupons. do u have any idea if these can really be used at the shops? if so, i wana print all of them out man! heeheehee...

hi sailormoonwt,
yr trip's finally here. u shld be leaving for the airport soon rite? have a GREAT trip and remember to take pics of the bear bear for me to see arh!

thanks Yanling .. for all the advice & tips u given..realli helps tis sotong alot..i will enj myslf hard & hope to buy bear bear too as well Ü

Christine: i m leaving for airport ard 6...flight is at 7.30pm.. yeah..i will go scout for my "Take-Me-home" bear bear frm BKK

zenn,
Thank You, i will check it out. Tomorrow, hb's thai colleagues here will bring us around, perhaps there will be some new place to check out.

Hi Yanling,
Thanks for the info. :D

Sailor Moon,
Take ur time, anyway siam discovery centre is just beside the Siam paragon.

Mine cost like 280baht to my studio apt from airport.

Christine,
charging from the location, It should be home kitchen then. Sorry for the confusion, i thought it was home kitchen then hb said it was Mum kitchen..

Yesterday, I went Ad Makers Pub & Restaurant to drink. Not bad atmosphere with live band, but food not so fantastic lah. :p

miralyn,
woah, in hse offer! That is very cheap.

HI ladies! I've only been to Healthland... It's sooooo nice. Very professional and classy. Great atmosphere. Prices are lower than places like the King & I, etc. Check out their website! For a one-and-a-half hour aromatherapy body massage, you'd pay only approx. S$30ish. And all rooms are private with attached shower! Ah..... We're heading back to Bangkok in a week! So looking forward to my visit to Healthland!

I been to Let's relax - nice place. Btw there is a small outlet in siam station control.

Btw I realised there are 2 tolls to and from airport. My taxi fare is around $220 include the 60 baht toll.

Yanling, ya its self made. Will check wif my frien when I meet her.

i have been to let's relax as well. my bf and i took a couple spa(scrub and massage) when i was there last year. price is about half of singapore. service is good but u got to make booking in advance. quite a lot of expats (japanese and ang mohs) frequent it too.

Where is chang massage?

Any good restaurants to recommend around siam area?

Do we have to pay $500baht at departure hall? It is not included in our airport tax?

I have been to Sunflower (opened by Singaporean called Jimmy) for thai massage (2 hr - 300B) as per the recommendation from other 'surfers' during my last week trip. Not bad. Can try.

Purple rain, also from this forum, it was recommended that Papaya resturant beside Macway (near Novetel) is good. Tried the recommended dishes: mango salad (not my and bf type), fried chicken wing (nice), fried flour noodle (nice), fried fish (nice), ice lemon tea (refreshing)

The departure tax is not included in the airport tax. Upon checking in for departure, proceed to a row of about 4 yellow (if my memory does not fail me) machines to pay the departure tax. Take the 'receipt' and show to the immigration officer to punch a hole on the 'receipt'.

Ribena : Where is sunflower?

Do bangkok hotels allow late check out as my flight back is 3.45pm (bangkok time. Do not wish to check out at the hotel's check out time & dunno where to go with all the luggage, dun tink is safe too.

Hi purple rain,

Chang massage is near Novotel hotel (Siam station - opp Siam Paragon)

Depending the occupancy of the hotel, some will allow late check up till 1 or 2pm. Usually we will check out and leave the luggage at the hotel. Its been safe to do so.

Ladies

Which is the nearest healthland spa branch to Novotel Siam Square hotel and is it within walking distance? I like to try it out.....

Sunflower Thai Massage is located at 29/11-12 Soi 22, Sukhumit Road.
Alight BTS @ Phrom Phong Station.

Facing the Emporium, turn right and walk towards Asok station. Pass Emporium and a park on your left. A quick left turn and turn right and walk around 100m and you will see Sunflower.

PS: The above direction description was from another user. I took my service aparmtent tuk tuk there, so did not get a chance to verify the above description is accurate.

HI noscon!!
It's been a while since we've exchanged info. Nice to see you again!

I LOVE Healthland! The one I go to every time I visit Bngkok is along North Sathorn Rd. It isn't within walking distance from Siam Sq. There is actually a BTS station not to far away from Healthland, but can't recall the station name. Anyway, there's always the taxi! Be sure to call ahead for an appointment!

Purple Rain: Paying 500THB is after you have checked in your luggage and before proceeding to enter into the custom. Its just like paying entrance fees via ticket. I got it from a counter sales. FYI: Food @ BKK airport are international pricing.

Anyone knows healthland spa requires how many days advance booking? Going by cab far from Pratunam? I haven't try out these services, would like more info.

zenn: Thanks..

Yanling : understand you took Airasia for your BKK trip recently, did ur luaggage exceed limit of 15kg?

Anyone heard of MK steamboat in BKK?

Purple Rain:Nope. But they are very strict about luggage deposited to plane. The guy in front of us exceeded and was told to make payment at other counter then come back with the receipt. Hand carry shouldn't be that strict i guess. Cos they didn't weigh hand carry.

I'm afraid that mine will exceed, then in the end, seems that all those bargains have been added into the luggage... haiz. But hand carry refer to?

Purple Rain: Hand carry refers to those things that you are going to Carry on board with you. If you think you will exceed, then hand carry some if possible esp those fragile and crisp food.
Come back remember to tell me whether did your plane got fly 45 degrees tilted left/right anot? Don't be surprise abt that. I was shocked when i saw that plane fly 45 degrees. haha... Probably to Bangkok it might but back to Singapore it won't for sure. I am going there 2nd time by AirAsia. I hope it won't happen again.

hi yanling,

do u remember what was the exchange rate for your trip?

any comments on whats the exchange rate you got?

LS

thanks. Great to see you here! Im gg bangkok in 2 weeks time so wanna gather some info. Btw what package did u take n was it good?

what else do you recommend I do over there or visit which places? I havent been there for > 10years....

how's yr wedding?

purple rain,

MK steamboat is almost everywhere in Bkk. they are good. be sure to try their ping pong fishball and roast duck. perfect!

minssy: Previously i exchanged for 24.35THB. Now the rate dropped back to 23++ only. Probably only holiday season then the currency will regain back to 24++.

hi yanling & nelle,

thanks.. hhhmmm, like abit lugi hor..

hi nelle,

if its based on yanling's rate, u could get THB24350 and thats a diff of THB600. but i think the rate is like this now hor?

noscon,

My wedding was absolutely wonderful! Loved every moment of it.

I like the Body Polish (1hr) and the Aromatheraphy Body Massage (1-and-a-half hr). Certain treatments are not available at the Sathorn outlet. Do check the website. I'm not a fan of the traditional Thai massage. So,I always stick with aromatheraphy body massage. Have never once been disappointed.

Sight-seeing: Since its been more than 10yrs since your last visit, perhaps you might want to consider checking out the Chao Praya River. The only thing I don't like about the tours there is that the guides often make stops at this factory and that factory. Can be quite annoying. but, I guess they're just trying to make a living.

Christine,
I went healthland yesterday and pay 450 baht for thai massage, painful for me and I am having muscle ache, but the environment is nice. :D

Healthland is between Chong Nonsi and Surasak BTS

icebaby,
i just exchange in bkk, 23.65 in UOB Bank.

hi icy,

thanks! feel like checking out healthland spa...

hi icybaby,
my hubby changed at 24.0 at chinatown last week, but i think the rate is slightly lower now. hopefully the rate will be better tomorrow.

thanks LS for the info... and glad that you love n enjoyed your wedding ..

Ladies
Can I asked how u guys got yourself from the airport to your hotel? Is it good enough to take a cab to your hotel or is hotel transfers better?
How much roughly is the cab fare from airport to Novotel siam square?

Christine,
I had been shopping till quite late yesterday. Seemed like the central shopping centres are still okie, just like normal days. Rally are on, but no violent riots yet, more on the west side, nearer to the river, and more often it is more heated up at night. The opposition said they wanna achieve their aim using peaceful means. So hopefully everything is okie. I will update if i suddenly see huge riots outside my area. heehee.

hi icy,

thanks! we are so lucky to have u providing all these valuable info to us! thanks indeed! i'll be flying off on thurs morning, no mood to work now! so excited! heeheehee...

hi zenn,
hmm, it seems like the rate in bkk oso not bad arh? not sure if i shld change in bkk then as the rates in SIN like not verie gd this week?

hi nelle,

isit! where are u staying at and which airline u taking? me taking the budget airline jetstar, 9.20am flight. hw many days are u going?

whahahaha...christine, same same!! I am staying at the Grand Hyatt as my partner is attending to some biz there so he's going tomorrow. As for me, hehehe, only there to shop and spend his money while he is hard at work!!

Hey, we can even meet at the airport!

christine, I am taking the morning flight back on Sunday so it's not alot of time actually. There's so much things to see and buy there. Been there before so I know where I want to go. So I will be on my own pretty much except evenings and Sat.

hi nelle,

where will u be going then? heehee... see u up the plane!

hi icy,
not sure if it is safe to go chinatown area now? isit near the palace ground? btw, which area are u staying at?

noscon,

It's of course more convenient to be met at the airport by a company that will bring you straight to your hotel and take you back to the airport on the day you depart. But, sometimes these companies have to transport many tourists to different hotels and you may end up having to wait for all these people to clear immigration, etc. which may take a long time. In addition, traffic in Bangkok is almost always BAD and so going from hotel to hotel may also take up a lot of time (especially if the hotel you are staying at is last on their list of hotels for drop-off).

Taxis are plentiful in Bangkok. However, some drivers are cut-throat and demand a flat fee. Avoid them like the plague! Take only taxis offering meter-rate. Always insist that you be charged a meter-rate, otherwise do not even go into the taxi. There have been many horror stories where taxi drivers take gullible tourists to shops where they pressure you into buying overpriced items. Very unpleasant. So, better safe than sorry!

hey thanks once again for the tips L.S.!!

ask you eh..... do we have to pay tax over at the bangkok side on our way back to spore? Have you tried to check out of the hotel at a later time after 12pm? Or do you know the extra charges for that? I wants to do that since my flight is at 7+pm n my parents are travelling with me. I want them to be more comfy during the trip....