Bangkok

purple_rain

Heard many bad comments on Airasia makes me quite demoralising. Isit true that Airasia is the worst budget airline in terms of service, journey, timing issues? I just hope that everything is smooth in taking off, not much delay then I will be contended liao…

It seems that Bangkok is quite advanced in transportation, but I tink I'm quite a lazy person to travel by their "MRT" so will be flagging for taxi everywhere I go, I suppose their cab rides are not expensive if I insist to go by meter. Eg. From Baiyoke to Chinatown or Chatuchak or Suan Lum wont cost me more than TB100 ba ( I suppose only) hee…

Apart from getting maps online, can I get any in Singapore, cos I'm not taking up any package with tour agency so dun tink can get from them, how abt from embassy? Oops! Seems abit too over liao… haha...

sailormoonwt

christine: hey...u must show me yr nicely done bear bear ooh~~ nvm if they look old...me wanna take a look .. cos i noe sewing bear is nvr an easy job ... when u hv photos ready , u can PM me \clipart {kao_wink}

purple rain: no prblm! hope tis helps!

how many days u gonna go? hv u plan yr trip? when u going? me going nxt fri ... hvnt plan yet..still doing research...
i scared not enough time to visit those shopping malls wor... there r some funky nice shopping malls which they mentioned here in forum (previous threads)...

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/4/349197.html?1140049140
read the comments under macky

me gonna check them out oso Ü

sabjac

Hi Sabrina,

I have been Hat Yai before.... basically their shopping there definitely lost to bangkok but of coz compare to singapore, it is still cheaper....
u can tailor made your pants there..
must eat their swensens as it is very cheap!!!
other then that, all quite standard shopping...

purple_rain

sailormoon : I'm going on 29 Mar - 1 Apr, 4D3N
I only start planning after I confirmed my trip just 2 days ago. I'm also doing research, of cos there are places which I will not miss.

bloomiey

Wen-Wen: You can try AirAsia which flies to Bangkok cheaply ard $147 to $200 range if you miss the promotion.

sailormoonwt: Blue bag no need lah.. hee... Pratunam and Sampeng got sell those big plastic bag like yours but got disney cartoons on it!!! Very nice n stylo...About S$10 or less i think. Ladies Market in HK not as big as Bangkok street but still sell cheap and nice, nearby still got lotsa shops selling clothes and shoes cheap. Yes they have both cartoon soft toys and bolsters as well as bears at Ladie Market. 1 cartoon soft toy cost me abt $12. bolster doraemon only $5. Go HK only after 1 July (Mid-Yr Sales)

I am also planning my next trip down to BKK in May this yr. Probably go sightseeing some places like Grand Palace and floating market.

sailormoonwt

Yanling: hehe~~ oh, ovr there got sell ah... ok..then i go there & buy then :p

purple rain: dun wori..there r so many useful info in here...wont miss out any fun one.. *wink*
i read too much until i see *stars* liao faint~~

eve21

Hi all... I'm planning to go BKK during Mar school holiday. Anyone out there noe what's the opening hrs of the night market???

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Nothing much as usual, 15kg luggage, 1 hand carry not exceeding 7kg. Don't expect plane to arrive BKK on time. No seat allocation, so get in early if possible.

EvE: Which night market are you referring to? Usually around 6pm BKK time, most shops would be opened.

purple_poppy

Hi sailor_p,

Read from your previous posting that you stayed @ Novetel Siam Sq, do
you mind sharing with me the pics? I am still deciding whether to
stay in Novetel, Pathumwan Princess or Holiday Inn Bangkok..... as i
am quite fussy towards the hotel room decor....
Saw from previous posting that they refurnish their rooms, so wanna take
a look as they didn't update their website...

U staying at their superior or deluxe room?

As for PP, anyone have their room pics to share as well?

summersnow

hi purple_poppy,

i'm staying at PP next week (deluxe rm)... when are u going, btw? i oso choosing btw PP and novetel siam, but my agent said PP nicer. haha, i won kw till i c the room for myself... though my cousins oso recommended PP since it is juz next door to MBK...

purple_rain

I'm interested in going to Pratunam, Chinatown, Chatuchak, Suan Lum, Patpong & some major shopping malls (Siam Square, MBK)in Bangkok so would like to have information where are these places located in which area?

Eg: MBK in Siam Sqaure, Pratunam Market in Pratunam.

purple_poppy

hi christine,

most likely i will be going during 1st week of April..... actually i have stayed @ PP before but i know that they jus renovated their rooms so kind of curious..... heehee
& the price for both PP & Holiday Inn is ard the same , jus that PP comes with BF....
As for Novotel, its the cheapest among the 3, but so far hve not seen their renovated room pics as they didn't update their website, so can't decide which hotel to stay.... :p

sky25

I like to know if there are any good tailors ard Indra Regent. N what's d price of tailor suit n pants?

Thank You

summersnow

hi purple_poppy,

okie, will take some pics of the room and try to upload it when i am bk since u plan to go only in the 1st week of april. hey, can u recommend any gd thai restaurants to go to near PP?

hi sailormoonwt,
wah, u intending to buy those blue bags? u muz be planning to have a shopping spree! heehee... or maybe a bag with nice teddy bears? i haven't got the chance to take a pic of my bears yet. will pm u once done.

sailormoonwt

Christine : hehe~~ yup! me intend to shop like a queen while my bf pay like a king!! *LOL* no lah..its my 1st time to BKK & getting really excited abt it! 5 more days to BKK

mm..but i m worried abt the BKK street riots now wor~~ wonder how serious it is...

no hurry, Christine...u pm me when u hv the time loh Ü

Purple_poppy : the Jap res @ MBK izzit Fuji Restaurant? at 5/6th flr one ah? heard frm forum pple & my gfs tat the food there is realli cheap & oishi` ne` *wink*

eve21

Thank Yanling
Ya... I heard from my friends that night market starts 6pm BKK time. What's their closing hrs den?? My Itinerary quite tight, duno whether can i go the night market like around 10pm. night market like patpong & suan luam...

summersnow

hi sailormoon,

hey, when are u going? wah, u muz be getting excited! hope dat u'll find alot of teddy bears u like. muz let me kw k? then i can go and grab them too!

hi purple rain,
sailormoon is referring to those big plastic bags from china, or used to be fr china. but nw they are verie nice, some even with cartoon characters like mickey mouse, winnie the pooh etc! heehee...

bloomiey

EvE: For Suan Lum All shop Closes at 12midnite BKK time except massage and food. Other night markets i not sure. Forgo Patpong if you don't have time.

sailormoonwt

Christine: i m going tis fri 03 March - 06 March Ü
i hope to be able to find my Thailand bear bear back & if i do..i will take a photo & share with u!

sailormoonwt

sure purple rain Ü

for those who has jus came back...has anyone went to Suan Lum Night Bazaar? i read somewhere in the net tat the mkrt is scheduled to close down by March 2006 .. r all the shops there closed? if so, i will hv to plan elsewhere liao...

summersnow

hi sailormoonwt,

woo... are u sure? if this is true, oh no! i planned to go suan lum cos alot of pple say alot of unique home decor stuff to buy! praying hard dat it's due to close in end of mar if yr news' true... heehee...

lilieswhite

hi hi, can i join in?

anyone can recommend nice, cheap & decent massage/spa for ladies as well as tailor @ BKK? I'm planning my 3rd trip in BKK this June, planning to stay at Novotel Siam sq or PP.

I've been to BKK twice, stayed at Baiyoke Sky & Novotel Siam Sq. Personally preferred Novotel Siam Sq, more convenient to go anywhere cos near the "mrt" station cos of traffic jams, some taxis unwilling to take us to Baiyoke Sky.

lilieswhite

Btw purple rain, I took air asia on my 2nd trip. It was ok, not tht bad jus that its free seating, you've to find your own seats. Besides that, no complaints. Anyway its only 2hours flight.

casgy

In the midst of planning a trip to bangkok in April.

Can everyone roughly share what are the good bargains for their bkk trip by stating the items, price in baht, place of getting it? e.g. 1) T-shirt, 100 baht, pratunam market.

I'm sure all the forumer will be benefited and will not have to pay more for the same items. This is just a suggestion. Thanks.

bloomiey

sailormoonwt: did you make a mistake. I saw previous thread that Chatuchak was the 1 that would be closing due to the fact that it was a temporary settlement area for these people therefore cheap space rental for sales of their stuff.

icy

Hi hi all,
joining this thread since I moved over to bkk with my hb for an overseas posting. Havent went to Chatuchak, only realised that Central World (world trade) on renovation and most of the shops are closed except Isetan & Zen r open.

sailormoon,
No street rally at Bangkok, seemed like things are back to normal after sunday, but we need to see what happened on the election.

purple_rain

OMG! i will be staying in Baiyoke Sky, i choose Baiyoke cos of the high level, wide spread of buffet & near to Pratunam market. Hope that transport will not cause a major problem.

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Where you book your hotel from? Did they give you an option or did you request for high floors of the low level zone? I wouldn't recommend you to get the high floors of low level zone cos the corridor lights are dimmer than those at Level 30+. Kinda errie when you come back late night especially when its not near to lift.

icy: Thanks for the info. Any idea when are the reno for WTC and Siam Paragon fully completed?

bloomiey

apple: Baiyoke Sky and Baiyoke Suite are side by side at Pratunam but Baiyoke Suite which is Tower 1, is a old building, rather you get Baiyoke Sky then Suite, otherwise consider other hotels would be a better choice than Baiyoke Suite.
For your second question, Not really that difficult to get around as cab and tuk tuk are everywhere especially morning, travelling around in cab is cheap too.

Jams usually occur in the morning and after 3pm to about 6pm. But for me, nothing really that serious when i went there, just abit crowded with vehicles.

icy

purple_rain & Apple,
just walked walked a bit, bkk is okie.. everything is accessible by taxi (and cheaper if u ahve at least 2 pax) except peak hrs jams.

Anyway u can get free tourist map at the airport.

Yanling,
I am not sure, it wasnt stated for WTC. Siam Paragon is already opened with just some shops having reno and just by the side of Siam BTS. VERY BIG! Siam Paragon is already open a bit like taka, more ex and branded stuff. There are sale now till tomorrow.

Our nearest BTS is at Phloen Chit, when hb finished work at 6.30pm, we prefer to use BTS becos of the Jam.

purple_rain

Yanling : I booked from asiarooms, Oops! i requested high floor wor... so wat will be e ideal floor to stay in for low zone?

would like to try their BTS if possible, dunno if is silly to take cab from baiyoke sky to nearest BTS station... haha... I tink end up take cab for the whole journey better...

icy

Purple rain,
haha. yah take cab better. Mmm just read newspaper, there are still a bit of rally at Sanam Luang, well i guess just dun travel neat 2 April should be okie. :D

sailormoonwt

Yanling : eh...the one i read was SUan Lum Mkrt leh .. icy .. can help me to verify tis?

icy: hey..check with u wat r the other recommended mkrt tat we should visit ?

foreverhappy

Hi Icy

I intend to source for wedding stuff can recommend the area to do my shopping.. I will be going in july.. Heard that there will be sale in july in BKK.

icy

sailormoonwt,
Purple rain had listed some, Pratunam market is further north of WTC, not exactly neat any BTS but near to Baiyoke Sky, Chatuchak Weakend Market at Mo Chit BTS, Suan Lum is nearer lumphini BTS.

I heard suan lum mkt will be closed in early march but i not sure whether it is accurate or not. I can get hb to ask his colleagues. I only been here for like 1 week+, been tour here 2 years back.. but i find that i am getting outdated with info here, it is developing fast. heehee.

oh ya, found this thread which says suan lum will stay longer.. http://www.fodors.com/forums/pgMessages.jsp?fid=27&start=0&tid=34736968

some other updated news from other threads:
http://www.fodors.com/forums/pgMessages.jsp?fid=27&start=0&tid=34729074

apple,
can go Chatuchak Weakend Market, i got my wedding AP box there. and lots of wedding favour like candles, scent pouches, chopsticks etc. But you need to know how to bargain.

bloomiey

Purple rain: ideal floor would be lvl 30+ i guess. i stayed at lvl 49. HIGHEST of low zone.. zzz.. dark corridor.now i am querying the hotel regarding internet access cos the room have modem. LAN surfing is free, but not sure internet surfing charges.

sailormoonwt

hey icy, thanks for helping me to find the thread Ü i jus learnt frm my gf's colleague who is station at BKK ... she mentioned that suan lum mkrt still operating as normal cos her house is very near there... so i guess i will make it a trip down *smile*

hey...do u hv any recommendation whereby i can feast on the thai local delights ??

Yanling : hehe~~ i read somewhere ...forget the thread liao...but check with my gf's colleague .. the mkrt still in operation :p

icy

sailermoon,
I used to like coca restaurant at WTC, but unfortunately it is closed now. Recently I tried Home Kitchen at Lang Suan Road, it is very nice. I am slowly trying during weekends, hb refuse to let me loiter too far away.

I got Nancy Chandler Map here, http://www.nancychandler.net/suanlum.asp

purple rain,
Patpong is near the Sala Daeng BTS, not at sukhumit, it is consider over at Silom & Patong area. Suan-lum and patong are consider near by 2 BTS station away. Perhaps this BTS website will help - http://www.bts.co.th/en/map.asp