Bangkok

Icy : thanks for sharing the map Ü

hey! the coca restaurant at WTC close down ah? aiyah...tot of going there leh... mmm... i nvr heard of home kitchen ... tat's local thai food izzit?

another qn to ask .. u hv any nice thai spas to recommend? i tot of going to healthlandspa & King & I .. heArd its good!

My 1st time to BKK, staying near Siam square @ v new hotel Ibis Siam Square. Any1 stayed b4?

Its my co. in-house offer, SQ flight w hotel: 3D2N. Doesnt come w travel insurance, how shld i purchase 1?

Planning go alot shopping/spa/pedicure, site visiting. duno if 3 days time enuf...Any recommendations/itinerary to share pls?

Just touch down spore awhile ago. Trip was ok but tiring...

Sailor,
Was there last few days but dun see any riot leh. The Fuji rest is the same floor as the cinema, kfc, etc. Yes yes must try!

FYI, suam lum still operate as norm. As for Central World, thro external is under reno but biz still operates as norm too.

Purple rain,
Don't worry abt the transport. Taxi fare is less dan 100 baht - in fact less dan 80 baht.

Just touch down spore awhile ago. Trip was ok but tiring...

Sailor,
Was there last few days but dun see any riot leh. The Fuji rest is the same floor as the cinema, kfc, etc. Yes yes must try!

FYI, suam lum still operate as norm. As for Central World, thro external is under reno but biz still operates as norm too.

Purple rain,
Don't worry abt the transport. Taxi fare is less dan 100 baht - in fact less dan 80 baht.

Ohaiyo Zenn Ü

so i bet u hv enj yr trip alot...busy shopping & pigging out .. *wink*
mmm...if suam lum still open as norm..then i will slot tat in my BKK itinerary

check with u...did u go for any spa/massage? any recommendation? i tot of going healthland spa & the Kings & I as recommended by forum pple here...

I just wonder how much did you all pay for the bkk trip as my parent will be coming down to visit me. I wonder it is easier to get a package from Tour agent or it is cheaper to buy tix and book accomodation online.

sailormoonwt,
Should be mum kitchen, it is local thai food. Price is quite reasonable and nice. I also looking ard for good spas, to far the recommended one is also health land, but health land is more into Thai Massage. I also looking at spas.

Zenn,
I went central world 2 days ago, perhaps it is night time, i saw most of the restaurants and shops are closed and only Isetan and Zen are opened.

Where is the Fuji rest that you are taking abt? Siam Paragon?

hi icy,

can i kw where is this mum kitchen restaurant? also, is the name known as "mum kitchen" or is it juz an english translation? cos i looking for a gd thai restaurant to go to, esp for tom yam soup!

i think the fuji rest we are referring to is at MBK...

Hey gals... i need help.. the famous Fuji Jap Restaurant tat we hv been toking abt is at MBK , 7th Flr or is the one at Siam Center, 2nd floor?

*blurz*

Hi sailor, icy and christine,
Actually didnt buy much. Spent $$ on food, massage n hb tailor shirt. Bought some household stuff n t-shirt.

Yes I am referring to the one at MBK.

As for massage I went to Chang Foot and another one next to Arnoma hotel. Didnt go for spa...

Hi sailor, icy and christine,
Actually didnt buy much. Spent $$ on food, massage n hb tailor shirt. Bought some household stuff n t-shirt.

Yes I am referring to the one at MBK.

As for massage I went to Chang Foot and another one next to Arnoma hotel. Didnt go for spa...

Christine & Sailor,
They have a English Signage called MUM Kitchen, it is over at Lang Suan where u can also find nice French Food, called Pan Pan. Lang Suan is nearer to Chit LOM BTS, but Mum Kitchen is further off the main road, they are at the big bangalow now, 2 building away from their previous building becos it is under reno.

I saw long queue at Siam paragon for Fuji rest.

For chinatown, it is better to vist on weekdays as some shops close on weekends. If you are interested in going to Golden Placem remember to wear covered shoes and pants/shirt which cover till your knee.

oh i see ... thanks icy for clearing my doubts *wink*

the weather is so hot in spore now..jus came back frm lunch...tink i'm going to melt @ thailand man faint~~

Ladies !! which one is a better place to shop?Siam Paragon vs Siam Square?

me dun hv time to shop for both shopping malls leh.. wanna check with u ladies which is more preferred....

sailormoonwt: FYI: Siam Square is not a shopping mall. Its more something like 2 or 3 storey of shop spaces along the street. More for food,restaurants, mani,pedi and accessories. Its opposite MBK.

Siam Paragon big shopping centre with branded stuff and very BIG Underwater world @ B1.

So depends on what you really want to do. Buying branded stuff? Viewing underwater world? Then go Siam Paragon
or Yummy and cheap Food hunting and cheap clothing/movies then go Siam Sq together with MBK

Just return from BKK last Sun, spent 4 days there.

Did lots of shoppings but again it's never enough.............haha!!!

Brought lots of stuff at:

MBK, SIAM PARAGON, SIAM SQUARE, SIAM DISCOVERY
SIAM CENTER, CENTRAL, SUAN LUM

Didn't had time so didn't shop in World Trade Centre

Understand why some of the services in BKK are much cheaper now

Guess we have to accept their secondary workmanship as well.

Just like my friends and I did Pedicure (usually $300 baht there)

I did French so paid $500 baht

Frankly the standard is not up to our expectation like those in S'pore.

Anyway it is still much cheaper to give them a try. But don't do comparison.

As for the Bras, again why there are cheaper because they are Made in Bangkok - e.g.. Wacoal brand

Just to share.

It seems their shopping centres cannot be missed at all. Where to buy cheap branded lingerine, sport apparel (addidas, nike), Far East lookalike shoes & clothings? Really at a loss, do not know which shopping centre to go...

If we shop until not enough $$ hee…., they have atms at their major shopping centres? What are the banks available? Just like singapore banks?

hi miko : where did u have yr pedi/medicure done? any recommendation? me wanna go BKK & do leh..

Yanling, zenn: thanks for helping tis sotong queen... really blurz liao...
too many shopping malls to go in such a short period of time... so which one would u gals recommend to go ?

siam square / siam discovery centre / siam paragon?

Hi sailor and purple rain,

I did my pedi at Chang Massage @ airport while waiting to check in. You can try Chang massage @ Siam - medi & pedi for 250 baht but like wat miko mentioned, you cannot ve very high expection.

For lingerine, you can try Central, Central World or Siam Paragon. There are big seection on 2nd floor of Siam Paragon. For sports, can try Siam paragon 3rd floor.

Actually for me I didnt buy alot cos dun really like the clothes at pratnum and brand clothing @ shopping centre are more x as compared to spore.

If you guys getting t-shirt for guys, try The Platinum Fashion Mall @ Pratnum. If you getting 3 or more, its around 70 baht for S zie, 80 baht for M size and 90 baht for L size.

hey zenn , i jus went to the Platinum fashion Mall website...the stuff sells there r more girlie stuff yeah? saw lotsa of cute gift shops at the website as well ... tot of going there during my last day in the afternoon for 2 hrs before i wrap up to go back Spore..

Platinum Mall sells more of ladies fashion but looks like a dead shopping centre.

sailormoonwt: i think you go MBK and Siam Paragon. They are about 1 BTS Station apart.

Purple Rain: Bring more cash there and change instead. Yes there are ATM machine but bank charges S$2 - $5 per transaction. I saw UOB Bank at Pratunam there.

Hi Icy,

I'm worried abt the BKK street riots le.. just wonder how serious are they?? cos im going to bangkok this saturday le...

any places shld avoid anot??? heard the palace areas shd be avoid lo.

by the way, anyone going to bangkok this sat (4/03/06)???

Hi sailor,

I did my pedicure at MBK (level 1). It's a hair salon as well (L'Oreal brand)

Cause we want to have Hair Treatment, wash & blow at the same time (Paid $800 baht)

I didn't notice name of the shop, but they are a few of such 2 in 1 kind of salon there.

You sure can find................

Hi Zenn,

You are right, clothes at BKK shopping centre are more x as compared to spore.

But when U go overseas, U will be kind of let go !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just like me i brought a blouse in Siam Paragon for $2800 baht = S$120 (very heart pain when return to Sin)

Such design should be much cheaper in CK TANGS............

Guess gg for trip are like that, always got no control & lots of impulse buy!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi sailor,
Since you have 2 hrs nothing to do, no harm dropping by...

Hi passby,
So far I didnt see any riot in bkk. Should b safe...

Hi miko,
Agreed wif you but we are all to tired to really shop hee. But we had great time eating and massage everyday :p

Heard from my friends that e pickpockets are really notorious... she has encountered once that she carried a pouch, when she wanted to try some clothings at one of the markets, so she took off th pouch & hold it, a boy was standing beside her, looking at her. She god wary & quickly passed it to her husband. Then the boy walked away.

1st time going BKK w my hb for 3D2N. Looking 4ward to my trip.

read alot threads, so feeling lost & kiasu,don 1 miss any of the gd stuff der

Can any1 pls share their itinerary esp with info like location, price standards, recommendations etc?

Any idea exchange how much baht for 2 pax, planning shopping/spa/sight-seeing

Hi miralyn,

Here is my itinerary :

Day 1,
- tailor shirts @ big C
- chatuchuk
- MBK
- Massage @ chang massage

Day 2
- erawan shrine
- chinatown (sampeng lane, sharkfin & birdnest)
- pratnam
- suam lum
- massage

Day 3 :
- siam area

2 of us spent around S$650 (tailor shirts/pants $110, massage $92, praying $40, birdnest & sharkfine $34, airport tax $42, the rest are makan & shopping)

Hi Zenn and all,

Wow ...urs is a careful spending, Mine, alone i spent S$770+
Airfare and Hotel S$308

Food & Transport S$ 150

(lunch - foodcourt / dinner - Restaurant) (taxi or tutu or Skytain)

Massage / Hair salon / pedicure S$ 70

Temple S$ 50

Shoppings in MBK / Siam Sq / Suam lum / Central S$ 360

Shoppings in Siam Paragon S$ 120

Airport tax on return S$ 21

Hi miko,

Not really leh but didnt find much things which I like. Perhaps becos been there almost every yr. Still enjoy ur food and massage most hehe

Hi miko,

Not really leh but didnt find much things which I like. Perhaps becos been there almost every yr. Still enjoy ur food and massage most hehe

can roughly let me know how much is your package? airtix + accomodation. I want to arrange a trip for my parent to visit me. Thanks.

Purple rain,
I can see quite a few of UOB AMT around... but then i think it is better to exchange more when you are in sg.

sailor,
siam discovery centre & siam paragon can finished within few hrs, i think u should have enough time

passby,
There are always news updated abt the election and the tension is tight. So far the rally are always at the royal grounds, more crowded during night times. You can check the latest news here www.ihtthaiday.com I think it should be okie around the central shopping area. Maybe bigger things will happen nearer to the election date in early april.

Zenn,
where did u get the birdnest and sharkfins? as in u makan here or bring back sg?

KatC: Enjoy your trip. Happy Shopping & Massage!!!

icy: I paid $142 per pax AirAsia Ticket incl tax. Accomodation @ Baiyoke Sky Junior Suite $125/Night/Room. Junior Suite can book 2 person but squeeze in about 4 people cos in the room there is already 1 single size bed + 1 King size Bed.

zenn: Any feedback from your friend the bird nest at nam sing cheap anot, i mean those uncooked ones that your friend bought?

hey ladies.. i'm back... been in a mtg the WHOLE day..hvnt had a chance to read the forum.. *WOW* so many comments *wink*

Yanling : hey...wat do u mean by dead shopping centre? i went to the website..looks like chic trendy stuffs there .. me insert into my itinerary plan to shop ard 2hrs..

Icy! i chosen Siam Paragon in the end ...after much consideration... dun tink i hv time to cover all the Siam Sq/Siam Discovery Centre ..

Zenn: thanks for yr tips... will try my best to comb all shopping malls for my trip .. haha~ cant wait man! so excited abt it

btw ladies..me going to THong Lor area (J Avenue/H1/playground) chic & trendy shopping area ..gonna share with u ladies my experience when i m back ( ^. ^ )

hey KatC : u going tis wkend & flying tmrw? me too! me flying tmrw evening...take SQ flight.. u leh?

Wa.. back from my bkk trip on 28 Feb.

Stayed in Ascott Somerset Lake Point Bangkok (clean, nice and comfortable service apartment with great breakfast and tuk tuk shuttle service to nearby drop off points).

Spent our 6 days shopping around till my legs surrendered.

We have bought an international calling card, but guess we only utilise less 20%. Anyone interested to take over, pls pm me. Thanks.

Hi Zenn,

Thks for sharing.

Im going 24-26Mar on co, in-hse offer : S$248 for 2pax ttl. Its SQ flight + accomdation @ Ibis Siam Square,http://www.thailandfans.com/live20060215.html.(excl taxes S$89 & 500TB & travel insur)

Anyway idea how near its to mrt /shoppin? Heard tt its @ siam square, v convenient:

ibis Siam Bangkok
97 Rajaprarop Rd.,
Rakkasan, Bangkok

Planning of gg chatuchuk/MBK/Chinatown/pratnam
/suam lum. Still checking on location to plan itinerary.

Guess missing out alot on gd food as halal food is my oni choice

Hi Zenn,

Thks for sharing.

Im going 24-26Mar on co, in-hse offer : S$248 for 2pax ttl. Its SQ flight + accomdation @ Ibis Siam Square,http://www.thailandfans.com/live20060215.html.(excl taxes S$89 & 500TB & travel insur)

Anyway idea how near its to mrt /shoppin? Heard tt its @ siam square, v convenient:

ibis Siam Bangkok
97 Rajaprarop Rd.,
Rakkasan, Bangkok

Planning of gg chatuchuk/MBK/Chinatown/pratnam
/suam lum. Still checking on location to plan itinerary.

Guess missing out alot on gd food as halal food is my oni choice

hey Ribena! i m going BKK tmrw nite & ovr the wkend... guess wat! i will be staying at the same place as u leh!

jus wanna check how much will be the approx cab fare frm BKK Airport to the hotel? i did emailed the hotel to ask but no reply frm them...

wat rm type u stayed? how was the place? heard its not too bad Ü

zenn: Cooked ones ah. They self cooked? or those manufactured kind? I think i would prefer dried ones. Anyway how much your friend paid?

sailormoonwt: dead shopping centre means hardly got any shoppers inside, the toilet super clean and scented.

Miralyn: never trust the time travelled by the website. From siam paragon to Pratunam took me almost 30mins slow walk there. Anyway for SQ flight, its almost $300 for round trip incl tax. Its near to Victory Monument which there aren't any shopping centre nearby, You should be able to see Baiyoke Sky, walking distance to Pratunam would take about 20mins i guess but Its never a walking distance from your hotel to MBK. It will take you about 45mins to walk there under hot sun. Either take a BTS or cab down.

Sailormoonwt, the cab fare from airport (departure hall - 3rd level) to Somerset was 197B.

We stayed @ Studio Apartment - very comfy.

If you like me to go into details, pls pm me your contact so that I can tell you more. I will be happy to share with you.

can i chk if it is easy to take cabs from suan lum area cos i thinking of going to sirocco at state tower (silom area) aft shopping at suan lum?