Bangkok

zenn

Thanks sailor!

5% discount applies to Siam paragon and central oni or all shopping centre? Also do we show when making payment?

melodie

zenn, the counter will only open 2 hrs b4 departure... best to reach 2.5 hrs b4 departure and hang ard the counter... the queue can get super long

bloomiey

zenn: Where you saw that 3hrs check in? My last BKK trip was thru airasia. We check in for luggage 1.5hrs before departure and spend the rest of the time surfing net and shopping til gate closing then we rushed in which was abt 10mins before flight departure. Anyway just reach there ard 1.5 to 2hrs before flight departure lol.. Don't worry too much abt tat. I think budget plane will wait for all passengers to arrive before departing as long as you have luggage and name checked in. I was late partly because i lost my way inside. Boarding was at Row D instead of the usual Row C and i thought after Row C-50+ would be Row D, but it wasn't that way. It was at the far far end of the terminal. Access Row D from Row C1 nearby. Don't go right to the last Row C and found out Row D was not there. Terrible.
Yours should be the same if i not wrong. I guess most budget plane are on Row D, esp AirAsia

You pay peanuts, you get monkeys...

zenn

Thanks Mel & Yanling!

I called n they told me 3hrs b4 but I remember usually 2hrs r good enough. Anyway will b there around 2hrs b4 departure

I was reading thro the old postings n realised most of you recommended to take cab to white orchid hotel and walk to Nan Sing and Sampeng. Anyone can advise how far is the hotel to both places?

zenn

Thanks Mel & Yanling!

I called n they told me 3hrs b4 but I remember usually 2hrs r good enough. Anyway will b there around 2hrs b4 departure

I was reading thro the old postings n realised most of you recommended to take cab to white orchid hotel and walk to Nan Sing and Sampeng. Anyone can advise how far is the hotel to both places?

bloomiey

zenn: Oh yeah talking about white orchid hotel. I don't know where it is. I just asked the taxi driver to go Chinatown and they drop me there and i walked along the street. Most taxi driver don't know what is Chinatown, my friend tried telling them, their face looked blur. About 4 out of 5 don't know, so its better to tell them Yao-wa-Rat. They 100% know.

By the way, the shop, Watson, sell things cheaper than in Sg. Bought a facial cleanser costing $19.90 here, but selling about $12 there.

sailor_p

Hi Zenn

The discount cards are available at all major shopping centres - just head for the information counter and ask for the tourist discount cards.

Minssy, ermm.. I thought $151 is a little ex but the facilities are great and I love the location. It's 3min walk to Siam Paragon and 10 min walk to MBK (though siam square). $151 does not come with breakfast - which means I got to hunt for breakfast everymorning. but tax is included in the amount.

Christine - I got the contact of The King and I Spa from previous postings... I only know that you have to exit at Asok BTS station and you need to do 10 minute walk - let me go back and try to fish out the details..

sailor_p

Hi Zenn

The discount cards are available at all major shopping centres - just head for the information counter and ask for the tourist discount cards.

Minssy, ermm.. I thought $151 is a little ex but the facilities are great and I love the location. It's 3min walk to Siam Paragon and 10 min walk to MBK (though siam square). $151 does not come with breakfast - which means I got to hunt for breakfast everymorning. but tax is included in the amount.

Christine - I got the contact of The King and I Spa from previous postings... I only know that you have to exit at Asok BTS station and you need to do 10 minute walk - let me go back and try to fish out the details..

sailor_p

zenn.. hee hee.. i didn't try to walk to erawan shrine cos i was trying to maximise my time to finish walking siam paragon!!!!

aquarius_888

Hi zenn

I remember you wanted the address of the tailor...here it is:

James Fashion
344/2-6 Sukhothai Road, Suanchitlada, Dusit Bangkok.
Tel: 662 668-6990-3

max06

What good to shop in Siam Paragon? Any interesting or must go SHOPS there??

BTW anyone know WHERE to buy/get the look alike imitation bags??? like LV / GUCCI / PRADA

passbyonly

maxxx,
Pratunam Market.

sailor_p,
did you bring along your passport during shopping??
was wonder the safety box inside the hotel room are save or not.

sailor_p

passby, i didn't bring my passport - just flash my nric and they still give me the discount card. i left my passpart in the hotel room.

purple_rain

Hi All.

I'm going to Bangkok on 29 Mar - 1 Apr, will be staying at Baiyoke Sky. As it's my 1st time to bangkok so I have so many questions, hope that I can get help here.

1) Any comments on Baiyoke Sky?
2) What are the places is a "must go"
3) Any recommendations for mani/pedi/spa/massage
4) Heard of several places such as Suan Lum, Patong, MBK, chatuchak. Which will be the best place for shopping?
5) What are the points to note when travelling in Bangkok?

Thanks a million

Purple Rain

sweet_apple

Any good service apartments in BKK to recommend?
I will be travelling in a group of 6, prefer to stick together in an apartment.Please advise.

sailormoonwt

hey...i m as blur as purple rain as well ... can someone pls advise us on those qn?

one more qn..some pple here recommend to go chatuchak as 1st shopping stn as most of the tings there r relatively cheap... wat time does chatuchak mkrt open?

*ps..anywhere i can find spicy & sour tom yam soup? :p

bloomiey

sailormoonwt: Going to chatuchak 1st or last all depends on your schedule and your preference as Chatuchak only opens on weekends. If you going first then you would have spend quite alot of your expenses on it. They open as early as 8am. Going there early morning would be much cooler than noon heat and less crowd.

purple_rain

I have confirmed my air tickets & accomdations for 4D3N

Airasia - $313 for 2 pax including tax.
Baiyoke Sky Hotel - $276

Dunno if is a good deal.

Thanks & Regards
Purple Rain

sailormoonwt

Yanling: thks for the tip... mm..was wondering if we gonna go Chatuchak first or other mrkt (say Suan Lum/Pratunam or Siam Paragon) we r going on fri and comin back mon...plan tis ovr the wkend so tat we can visit Chatuchak...

do u noe anywhere got really good local thai food and dessert? *slurp*

Purple rain: wow! u staying at Baiyoke Sky hotel... *envy leh* my colleague went with his wife & had romantic bkfast everyday at 77th flr (i tink) over-seeing the whole of BKK City wor~~ i tink its a good deal bah...considering only $93 per nite *wink*

one more qn to u folks here ... eh ...do BKK sells nice teddy bears? where can i get them?

bloomiey

sailmoonwt: yeah Baiyoke Sky breakfast is really good. Long stretch. Go for it if your hotel doesn't offer you 1. Unless you are branded conscious then you can go Siam Paragon and shop otherwise i doubt much people will buy stuff there, viewing the underwater world there quite worth it as the distance is long. The view at night at the 83 or 84 revolving floor is great, open-air and windy.

NON-Original teddy bears can be bought cheaply at Sampeng Lane, can bargain too but not much. Closes at 6pm BKK time.

Purple Rain: Sell almost everything that you can list out..(second hand) shoes, pets, clothing, sandals, food, accessories. I would suggest that you go eat early breakfast and get there as early as 8am so you can shop for at least 3more hours. Don't miss it.

sailormoonwt

Yanling: i m not staying at Baiyoke Sky Hotel..stayed at service apartment.. fren recommend one .. quite a decent one..not too run down type..
hehe.. wat u mean by non-original teddy bears? *wink* do they sell forever frens teddy bears there?

purple_rain

Some questions b4 I forget

Suan Lum far from Pratunam? How much will the cab fare be (approx)?
Any other night market near Pratunam?
Any good tailors, massage, mani, pedi at Pratunam?
Is it a must to pay 50B to e counter girl b4 hire a taxi?

dunno how to plan my itinerary, cos I will be missing the weekend market. Haiz… But Yanling is very helpful & kind to provide me with the detailed itinerary.

bloomiey

sailormoonwt: means most of the good aren't original. i don't think there are forever friends bear. Mostly doraemon, ultraman, hello kitty, dogs, etc.
What i meant was if your apartment doesn't provide free breakfast, you could take a cab down to Baiyoke Sky for the breakfast. You will love it... All style of breakfast ranging from roti prata, bee hoon, fried rice, eggs, cereals, fruits, curry, coffee/tea, drinks...

Purple Rain: Taking cab is not far to most places from Baiyoke Sky. Ard THB60 to THB80 at most to Suan Lum. Unless you going to Dreamworld which is far away. I don't go for massage and mani/pedi mostly but you can try mani/pedi at opposite MBK, across the overhead bridge to Siam Square. About same price as Singapore, slightly cheaper abit only.
50B is only paid when you ask go to departure hall and ask the person to write your hotel name in Thai language. As i written in the itinerary, take cab from ARRIVAL HALL and strongly insist on metered. No meter, don't take. Almost all the drivers know Baiyoke Sky so there isn't a need for you to write in Thai. Out of 10 cabs, probably only 1 cab doesn't know. Anyway Baiyoke Sky is also Baiyoke Sky Tower 2.

sailormoonwt

hey Yanling : the itinerary tat u mention is frm where? u compiled them during yr trip mah? can share with me?

oh....they dun hv forever frens bear ah...okie... hehe...tell u huh...i love bear bear and has a collection of around 80 beArs..still collecting..one of which is to collect one bear frm watever country i go for holis

zenn

Hi yanling,

Like to re-confirm should we take from Departure or Arrival hall? Thought previously mentioned should take at Departure hall to get by meter?

The hall we reach is Arrival rite?

summersnow

hi sailormoonwt,

my sis did buy me one forever fren bear fr bkk before, but i have no idea where she got it fr. erh, i dun think the bear is the original forever fren bear too, cos my sis said it was "so cheap". it came sealed in a plastic bag too.

oso, my colleague bot me a small teddy bear make of cloth fr chatuchak mkt. quite cute and original lor, u might want to take a look at chatuchak and sampeng mkt to see if u can find any bears u like. of cos, dun expect the sasha type of bears...

purple_rain

Is there a website that I can have maps, information of Bangkok? Especially the places I will be going (Pratunam, Chatuchak, Chinatown, Suan Lum)

sailormoonwt

Purple rain: check tis webbie out...i will be replying on tis as well for my trip nxt week...http://www.bangkok-city.com/skytrain.htm
hey...do u hv any compilation of nice yummy food? esp Tom Yam & Thai Dessert? :p

Christine: hey... thks for sharing tat... i will keep a look out for nice bear bear at Chatuchak mkrt then .. me buy bear bear dun need to be all sasha type one.. jus got tat "take-me-home" look can liao *wink*
r u a teddy bear lover oso? seems like yr fren/sis buy u bear bear ooh~~

harrods

i just came back from BK. Had a great time shopping...not enough man!

sailormoonwt- can try Siam Sq, I did my medi and pedi there for less than $35 and I did nailart somemore. really good service also.

summersnow

hi sailormoonwt,

yahlor, who asks those bear bear to have those "take me home" look everytime hor? simply irressitable leh. heeheehee... i have alot of teddy bears at home too. infact, i used to make minature teddy bears myself last time, but no time to make now cos busy with work.

harrods

Hi Sailormoon, there is a dessert shop selling very yummy dessert at Patpong...take a train to Sala Daeng station. It's just opp the station exit next to a foor massage parlour.

U must try their sticky rice with mango...simply sedap!

bloomiey

zenn: Sorry mistake again. I always got typo error as i am busy working and at the same time chatting in forum. Yes the hall you guy reaching is definitely ARRIVAL HALL. Go to DEPARTURE HALL take cab (100% Correct this time)

sailormoonwt: Email me [email protected] if you want the itinerary and those whom i forgot to reply. I have attached some small maps for easy reference to some places. Haha.. you so CUTE!!! Now i remember, these type of "branded bears" probably you can get from MBK, remember to bargain. Sampeng Lane is more to cartoons stuff. I collect bears and soft toys too, but not alot.

Go HK Ladies Market buy, cheap cheap... hee and alot of cute ones. I bought two of it on my last trip, don't have so many hands to carry so many...

sailormoonwt

hey harrods ... thks for the tip...was their skill good? comparable to holloywood secrets?
wow! yr sticky rice with mango is making my eyes *big big* & mouth drooling liao :p noe wat? i LOVE dessert one...so i must go BKK & whack those yummy dessert.. anyting tat has coconut milk.. i will go try! do u noe anywhere hv yummy local thai delights? esp tom yam soup? wan those hot,spicy & sour type :p~~

Christine: hey!!! so u r oso a mother bear...hehehehe..how many bears do u hv at home? i hv around 80 bears now...still collecting... wow~~ u make minature teddy bears? *really* do u still hv them at home? got take any photos mah?
i hope i can get some nice lovely bears @ BKK.. oredi standy by china plastic blue bag liao *LOL*

sailormoonwt

Yanling : email u liao *thanks for sharing with me* Ü

wow!!! u mean HongKong Ladies Mkrt got alot of bear bear ah.. okie! shall go there one day! so the bears u bgt at Hongkong is wat type of bear? wah piang...if for me ah...i dun tink i will only buy 2 manz... i can go *crazY* over bear bear de ooh~

summersnow

hi sailormoonwt,

yup, i still have some of them at my parents' pl (i have not bring them over to my new house yet), some of them i gave away to my frens liao. i will try to take a few pics over the wkend.

heehee... i was so happy when i finished making my 1st teddy bear, until i realised all the wool inside started coming out cos the stiches weren't tight and close enuf. heeheehee...

purple_rain

Thanks! Sailormoon

Heard that Pratunam Mkt has lotsa clothings (something those in Far East Plaza) as they buy from Pratunam too...

I must go & see, cos I love Far East Plaza clothes & shoes... Hee...

For me, I cant wait to have breakfast at baiyoke cos accordingly to yanling, the breakfast is very sumptuous.

lostdevil

Anyone been to Hat Yai for honeymoon or holidays? How u all find there? Any good recommendation places over there that is a must to go?

zenn

Hi yanling,
Haha thx! Going this sun - so excited now :p

Hi harrod,
I love sticky rice with mango!!! But not planning to go Patong meh. Any other place has it?

Also, any place serve nice crab wif tang hoon?? Yummy