Bangkok

Hi Jasminetea & JL, gee.. thanks for your help. I am thinkging of going to BK in the first week of July, so got any nice hotel to recommend for easy access to these shopping areas?

Hi Andreal, me same as u, on tight budget, so go for D'Ma. I also read fr previous threads that there's lotsa nice food just outside the street where D'Ma is, and the famous tailor (a chinese Teochew) is also round the corner to the hotel. Well, m quite impressed at the outlook and furnishing of the hotel. tot its value for money for a 4 star hotel. and its not v far fr the shopp'g district. I think its only 5 min walk from Pratunam/Baiyoke sky and abt 20 min walking dist fr WTC. And yes, also heard Arnoma is v convenient but its beyond my budget. save the extra money for shopping.

Hi Wendy, ya, was lucky to get the airfare and hotel deal. Air Asia only offer few seats each day at the promotional rate. i paid $71.50 for 2-way tickets incl taxes. for hotel, only abt $260 for 4 nights wi breakfast and 1 buffet dnr.

hi Jasminetea,

myself and my fiance is planning to go bangkok next month.

we are deciding between valueair, sq or thai airway. Is value air really good?

Is asia hotel good? you mentioned it is close to mrt.We have no idea which hotel would be good and easy access to all the shopping.

how much to budget? we intend to spend 4 days there, enough to shop? Did u manage to buy alot of things? this is my first time there! is it your first trip?

need some advise here, thanks!

aftn gerls

Sugarbabe...i've emailed u.

D'MA consider near the shopping areas among the budget hotels *winkz* And like wat Kingking said, its near a tailor (Joy Collection-recommended by one member in SB), nearby got food stalls/ 7-11..walking distance to pratunam market.

As for Chatuchak, Patpong market..they r quite away fr the hotels ard the shopping area.

Tink tis map will give u a beta idea?
http://www.dmahotel.com/map.html

kingking,
ops same here, so dat can spend more on shopping & makan. Haha yeah lor the hotels which are more ideal are off my budget liao.
I prefer to hv shops/food etc open ard my hotel at nite..more convenient. Hey but i still bery curious to know hws our hotel's breakfast? and BKK weather..hmmm :P

Hi Joey,

I find that the service of Valuair is really good. I like their informal, casual style. Hmmmm.. really I got nothing bad to say abt Valuair.

Asia Hotel is not new, kind of "run down". If you are particular about the rooms, then this hotel might not be your choice. For me, I'm prefectly okay. The bed is comfortable, room quite spacious. Services at reception are not bad. So I got no complaints. Plus it is cheap!

Yes! It is "linked" BTS (Bangkok MRT). All you need is to walk thru' the underpass. It is one stop to all the main shopping centres.

I'm on business trip so my budget is low. S$200 for my transport, makan and buy some stuff. You would need much more if you wish to buy a lot of things and if you wish to spa as recommended here.
4 days should be quite enough. I have been to Bangkok twice.

hi Jasminetea!!

thanks for your reply

so you are doing business? got to travel there often? Must be expert

For me, we are going there as pre-honeymoon. Spa, i would like to try out too.

How's the food there? anything nice to recommend?

this trip is just the 2 of us, do u think is safe? Are u travelling with your colleagues? I am worried about safety too. Heard some scary things about bangkok.

I think i will spend on shopping and eating! heard abt the weekend market, nice?

Thanks Jasminetea!

does asia hotels have bathtubs then??

hi ribena, i'll budgeting bout $400-500 for my 4D3N trip, cos wanna shop alot.

hi cookies,

their website din state whether they ve bathtubs though.. heehee actualli think nt all htls ve for their deluxe rm. =)

me maybe bringing abt S$1,000 for 4D3N juz in case.. =p

Me just back from bangkok on tue.. I stayed at Novotel Siam Sq. It a gd hotel, slightly expensive, but the location is very gd. I stayed in Asia b4 too, but after comparing, Asia is convenient for it BTS only. But Novotel is very centrally located, near to BTS(no as near as Asia), near to MBK, and also alot of shops along the road. And it a 4 star hotel. We even get a free Thai Massage worth 1000baht.

As for shooping, i would suggest to skip World Trade and Big C, nothing much there...

Hi Joey,

My company only start sending us to Bangkok recently. Not sure if I'll be going back again soon.

I'm no expert lah 'cos I don't hv the chance/time to go around the tourist attraction. Never even go to the Floating Market before.

Food and shopping is great in Bangkok! I usually eat at Food Court heee 'cos it is so cheap and nice. We love the Phai and Fried Noodles. So far, I prefer the food court at MBK
I had tried the Japanese Resturant called Fuji. It is so yummy and very cheap!

Basically, Bangkok is quite okay to me in sense of safety. Just be more careful. As you can see from this forum, there are a lot of Thai Gem Scram. Be careful of those extra friendly strangers who came forward to offer help. I even avoided those taxi drivers and tuk tuk drivers who came up to us.

My friends and I depend on oursleves for directions and only asked help from "reliable" people like BTS staff, shopping centre security guards.

Weekend market, Chatuchak is full of things to buy at cheap price! But must bargain a bit here and there. It can be stuffy and cramp 'cos it is very crowded over there. But I feel that it is worth shopping there. We spent 7 hours there. heeeee...

Hope you will have a nice trip to Bangkok

Cheers~~

Hi Colt77,

How much did you pay for your stay at Novotel Siam? I knew that it is defintely better than Asia Hotel.

Would like to try it for my next trip. How did you book for the hotel?

Cheers~~

Just like to share this info. I have just booked my bangKoK trip thru Focal travel. Now, they are having a promotion like 2, 4 or 6 nites stay by Thai Airway for only $279! The varies of the nites depends on which hotels U choose. I took up the Asia hotel, so I will have 4 nites stay.

Hi cat

That is very cheap. I just came back from BKK. Paid $400 plus to be there for 3 nights.

BTW, where is Focal Travel? At pple's pk?

Hi MeLodie,

I dun noe whether this is really cheap but that's the best price I can get. This offer does not cover airport tax & you must add $50 if you do not travel within June. But I think 4 nites stay for this price is very gd for me...keke

So total I pay is $279 + $50 + $39 (sg's airport tax) = $368.

They have 2 shops at pple's pk, one at B1 & another at level 2. Wanna go to BKK again?

Hi Jasminetea,

my company do not send us to any countries.....we are local firm.

what your company do? i am just a admin assitant therefore do not get to travel like you.

It's seems to me that you have a great time in bangkok
did u go with your boyfriend before? i am excited because it is going to be a short getaway for 2 of us, he is busy with work for the past few mths, need a break.

i heard of the Floating Market so think we will go there. And other major shopping centres!

okay okay, so food is yummy and cheap, will take note of the Fuji, since myself and bf likes japanese food alot. i think we will grow fat after this trip......heeeeee..

will also visit weekend market, you spent 7 hours!?? that's a lot! what did u get? any good bargains? clothings?

thanks for sharing

HI Joey,

My company into retailing. There are good and bad points for going on business trip. It is not as good as travelling on your own for leisure!

When will you be going to Bangkok? I bought bags, clothes, soft toys from Chatuchak market.
It is so big there, 7 hours is not enough to cover the whole market. Anyway, it is hot, so you won't be able to stay there for too long either. Rem to bring a map of Chatuchak along. It will help you a lot.

My husband went along with me on one of the trips.

Floating market is a must if you have time. U can book with the hotel I think.

If you need more info, feel free to PM me.
Just click on my nick.

Cheers~~

i ve called yp focal travel, for august pkg, for my case, staying at Baiyoke Sky is $368 inclusive of airport tax of $39 for 4D3N but flying by Thai Airway (departure is in morning n return at nite). quite gd deal hor?? another quot. i get is $378 for 3D2N staying in same htl..

Thai airways promotion is a super good deal for this June holi. i am really praying hard that they can extend this to Jul onwards

Ya, they gave us 2 thai massage vocher 4 me n hubby. But dunno whether they having it for every guest or only during promotion. So we hv the massage in our room, n then we just gave them tips loh. The massage cost abt $1000 baht.

My package is with the SQ, it a 3D2N for $428, then we actually extended for another night, and also cos we only 2 pax, so more exp, total pkg price including tax is abt $514.

I find the breakfast ok only.

Colt
thanks for yr info. i stayed in Novotel twice but noone offered us massage
maybe we gotta ask the reception

btw, does anyone knows of any good thai massage to recommend?
I remembered going to a Massage place near Toyota showrm but cannot rmbr name liao

Aftn Gerls!

hi Colt77 & Melodie,
hey can check w/ u hws the weather over at BKK? Im going nxt thurs
Hv been hearing fr weather forecase that its thunderstorm?..so worry.

Ribena,
the last trip i spent ard $500 (1st time), perhaps my coming one will be below that. But i personally feel its gd to budget lower abit (bring some SG $$ to change if u nt enuf), cos most of the time it might exceed..unless ure prepare to spend any amt there *S*

Cat,
oh when are u going to BKK? u booked thru Focal huh..my one is oso abt the same promotion as urs fr another tour hee, dats the best quote i found oso.

Hi JL & Sugarbabe!
is it true dat Thai Airway extending their promo? heard dat they had been extending for some mths already due to the overwelming response, an agent told mi most likely they might extend again..if its true, dats a gd news!!

Like to share with u all the below link, a website by a well-known travel writer Nancy Chandler on her latest update of 'additional and changes' in BKK.

http://www.nancychandler.net/product_update.asp?pId=11

Her updates inside inclded - Another new Chatuchak at Rama III, closure of Anna's Cafe at Saladaeng & many more.

Hi gerls,
anyone here hv any comment on river cruise along Chao Phraya River which come w/ opt lunch/dinner?? Im looking into one if its gd *smile*

River Cruise : http://bangkok.thailandtoday.com/nightlife/index.html

Hi Andreal

The weather there was cloudy almost everyday. Was raining heavily when i was at jatujak mkt.

But the rain come and go very fast. No worries.

Hi Andreal,

Just came back from Bangkok. I went on the river cruise dinner. Seriously it wasn't that fantastic and it was raining. The food is so so. Maybe daytime cruise is better 'cos at night everything dark except for the temples, bridges and hotels along the river.

Do buy the Nancy Chandler's map while you're there. It's very informative and interesting.

Hi peonypup,

I'm going to bangkok in July, may I know where can i get the 'Nancy Chandler's map'? Btw, is chatuchak market open on weekday cos my trip is on weekdays only! Cheers!

hey peonypup!
glad to hearya feedbks

ok then i beta opt the rivercruise out, since most likely will rain.

Same here, where to get Nancy Chandler's map? its not together wif her book rite? any idea hw much? hehe

Actually I looked around for the map when all the while it was selling in a shop at my hotel! Blur rite. I stayed at Grand President. I don't think you will go there. But if you really can't find it, go to Nana station and walk to Sukhumvit Road Soi 11, about 5 mins walk to Grand President. I saw a few people with the map and asked them, they said they got it at bookshops but didn't say which one. The map comes with the book and it should cost around 160 baht.

I heard that some shops in Chatuchak is open on Fri. But if you miss it, you can go to Suan Lum Night bazaar which opens daily from 3pm-12am. It's a little more expensive than Chatuchak but you can shop in comfort.

Hi sugarbabe,

I spent almost my whole weekend in Chatuchak, but so sad still not enough time to complete the whole market. Other than that, only went to MBK, World Trade Centre, Big C and Suan Lum Night Bazaar.

I read that you're going to stay at Baiyoke Sky. It's next to Pratunam Market right? I wanted to go but never made it there. If you do shop there, let me know if it's worth shopping there.

hi, oh u spent ur wkend there still cant finish ah!? wow, the area muz be v big!! heehee

ya, will be staying in Baiyoke Sky, but will onli be gg in August n juz for info. airport tax has increase from $39 to $57!!

hi peony..thks so much abt the map, will keep a lookout for it.

im flying tomolo morn liao!!YEAH!!! owright will update u gerls after i come bk Sg, meantime take care and hv a great wkend *smile*

hi gerls!
i just bk fr BKK yest...wah damn shiok! :P
Weather there not so gd, even wif umbrella, still can get drenched on our 2nd day(off & on showers on other days). so tos going bkk soon pls remember to bring umbrella.
OK 1st of all, D'MA hotel is a gd location if u really dun mind abt its accomdation (tos who had picked D'MA wana know can email mi, i'll tell u). its walking dist. to Pratunam. Got many open seafood restaurant,street stalls,cafes,tailors..and many interesting shops ard the lanes there.Esp. makan at 1 open restaurant called 'Thongchai seafood' is delicious and cheap!!*highly recommended* 2 times go there got elephant walked passed even...hiakz! Massage called 'Sabadee' near my hotel was fantastic, oil massage for 2 hrs is baht600 ard S$26, 1st time we took 1hr..then asked for 2hr on another day (lotsa japs,sg,m'sian frequent this).

For shopping, we went MBK,Siam Sq,Suan Lum,Pratunam,Chatuchak & Yaowarat(Sampeng lane).
- Pratunam & Chatuchak are our best place for cheap buy, infact we went bk Chatuchak on both wkends,hubby still find nt enuff..hehe.
- Suan Lum make a cool place for drink & relax, got open air entertainment stage. Tho prices there are slightly higher, but easy to shop cos place are much cleaner.MBK & Siam Sq (esp. Siam Sq like a little Japan) quite big, worth going! Haha y huh? cos beside the fanciful shops,u can see many students there w/ their sch uniform like tos Japs ones. *For tos into spa products like mande lulu,mande susu (famous indonesian spa products), u can get em at 'Boots' in Siam Sq*

- If u are looking for shark fin in Yaowarat, Nam Sing & Hai Wai Tian are 2 famous restaurant for dat. Both are located near each other,u can check out their menu b4 u decide which to go.

Sampeng is act in Yaowarat, but need to walk a dist, got many shops selling clothes,accesories, etc..things are cheap too.

There simply too many things abt BKK, i'll try to scan the namecards of the mentioned restaurants & massage tomolo...any1 interested can check out in my webpage later *wink*.

Roughly had spent ard $400-500+ for my 5D4N trip. Looking 4ward to go bk BKK soon, we'll still choose bk the same hotel again.

okie lar gtg, cya gerls!

Andreal.

where can i find good talior to tailor made ladies suits in bangkok? I heard there's 1 at MBK but i dunno which shop.. and how much does it cost for the whole suit?

Hi Andreal,

I am really excited to wait for more infomation from your trip! Next week, will be going to BKK, so your tips come in hands.

hi andreal,

wow cing u so excited even after u come back!! heehee... really looking forward for my trip in August man!! can't wait for august to come faster!!! BTW, wat's ur website URL?