Bangkok

Hi JL!
for massage, if tos shop types..usually not a prob. Unless u are interested to visit tos spa then its adviceable to make a booking esp. during wkends

hey Cherly,
Chatuchak and Pratunam still the cheapest :P Both prices are almost the same, just that Chatuchak got 'many' varieties & much more interesting to shop! while Pratunam focus more on ready wears esp. kids wear, jersey, accesories etc. U can find wholesalers ard Pratunam.

Suan Lum hor, price slightly higher than the above 2 places..u can checkout their souvenir T-Shirt (hard rock t-shirt design much beta than other places) & accesories. Act the main attraction for Suan Lum is their big open air area for makan & drink, v. relax w/ an entertainment stage.

I just come back from BKK. Weather is sunshine & hot hot everyday. Lots of shopping until my legs going to break soon. However, my most unforgetable & enjoyable moment is the Banyan Tree Spa.... luv it.

Well, something to mention abt my lodging - Asia Hotel. Location is good because it is so near to the skytrain, but...there is no window in my room (level 4 only)! Haiz...lesson learn, cheap things doesn't mean gd.

u mean there is no window in rooms of Asia Hotel...
should be okay rite as we normally on the air con.

Dun worry, only level 4 of the Asia Hotel don't have the windows. Hmm... no wonder I am able to get such a cheap rate from the travel agent.

Ya, bird flu is back. I only knew it after I came back from BKK & I dun noe how many chickens I ate so far.. haha

i am so excited.. leaving tonite to bangkok

hopefully, bird flu wont affect our trip.. the other time i went in Jan also kena bird flu season. so suay!

Hi Sugarbabe,

From what I know, there's no flu vacinnation for bird flu so far. Even if you are getting the injection, it only protect you from some common flu lor.

If you are worried, maybe try not to eat too much chicken but again, that will limit your choice of makan.

hi girls..

me going to bkk on biz next thursday too!

Just want to say the chicken flu thing is nothing to be alarm abt. I mean in the first place thailand didnt even clear itself from WHO as bird flu free. Just that it wasnt reported in the media and not much hype so the media cease to report on the chicken flu thing. However it had although not roll into an epidemic.. it had been there all the time. So nothing to fret abt.

Especially so when the area you girls are going is not the rural part where you be in contact with chicken droppings. Pretty safe..

No worries.. and enjoy ..

Hi sugarbabe,

I also book my trip to bkk at comet travel but its behind the chinatown point..no dun same agent anot cos they have two branches..Me also 4D3N at baiyoke sky hotel and goin by thai airway..So conincident

I will b flyin there end of july....Hope by that time theres no more bird flu...

If possible give some feedback when u all have come back..
Thank You

hi cat!
gd to know its sunny during ur trip *S* which had make yr shopping more fruitful.
heard u tried the BTS, can ask whether isit crowded? and wat is the frequency of the train?

Yeah Asia hotel certain lvl are w/o window one..'no view room' but normally its ok since we come bk to slp only hehe.

hi gerls,
Hmm wat cat said is true lor, no vaccine for Bird Flu..only agst the common ones. Beside cutting down on chicken meat,u can take more Vit C to keep ur immune system stronger. Hope it will be fine by yr end, cos i wana go BKK again :P

Hi Andreal,

Yeah, hot hot everyday. I was sweating like nobody business especially at Chutuchak..heehee

BTS is exactly like our MRT & the distance between 2 stations are quite short. The avg waiting time is very fast, approx 5 -10 mins. You may consider getting a ticket for one day unlimited trip by paying 100 bht.

hi cat!
thks for the info, oh din know the BTS so efficient..hehe
but isit crowded? cos i wana try taking bts but only scare of all these factors.
eh hot weather gd ley, beta than mine...rainy dayz.

Nd help...

which hotel is better

Delima Pavilion or Eastin Hotel...
Are they near to the BTS or the shopping area?
Tks.

hi me shell, mine oso frm there, agent is Brenda.. oo so dun nid to waste money to get vaccine lah since it's already there.. juz dun eat chicken lo.. heehee.... me gg mid Aug!!

inc,

I stayed in both D'ma and Eastin before. Personally find Eastin Hotel better. Newer and the receiptionists and bell boys very helpful and friendly. Both hotels are beside each other but not very near BTS. Can walk to World Trade Centre abt 15 mins. If you have four person, can take cab to MBK or Chatuchak from the hotel cos it adds up to the same amount as taking BTS and have to walk. Must do mani and pedi there if you all like it. So cheap. 100 Baht for manicure - painting plus nail art.

hey min!
so Eastin is better than D'MA lar, i only stayed at D'MA and there's a time we passed by Eastin noticed the lobby loks more grand and staffs like much helpful...can check wif u hws the room amenities and the bkfast? the mani and pedi is at? cos i find the massage ard Eastin/D'MA bery shiok and cheap.

If u hv more info abt Eastin can pls let mi know *smile* cos we might consider Eastin for the nxt trip if its beta..so far i hv not heard any comment abt Bangkok Palace.

tks for ur reply.. sorrie could i check another hotel .. how about baiyoke suite (not sky)...know it is not as nice or new as sky but wanna to save $$ on accommodation...

know asia is convenient but heard abt some seeing things in dat hotel..

i also going to BKK in Aug during the national day period and staying at D'ma..so glad that the hotel is okie...wanted to stay at novotel but after thinking a bit...rather save the $$ for more SHOPPING!!!

abt changing thai baht, i think the best rates are at Golden mile, there is this money changer call "Evergreen"...u can try the one in Bugis (inside seiyu), pretty girls get a better rate.. hahahahah

hi min

the mani pedi is in eastin or d'ma? i love doing mani.. : )

hi everyone..
i'm gng to BKK end of jul..n i will be staying in eastin..

min,
does the rm in eastin has any hair dryer har? and where to do the mani n pedi?

I also tot of gg to bbk sometime in mid Aug/early Nov to celebrate hubby bd/anniversary.. But Nov period more expensive..

Most likely will be gg on our own.. buy ticket from zuji/valueair/etc and book hotel via internet.

The air tickets to bbk for Jul & Aug very cheap onli $138 by Garuda ... can visit www.zuji.com.sg to check the offer/promotion... For booking of hotels, maybe can try www.asiahotels.com... I think the prices quite reasonable...

can anyone tell me if i want to go shopping for imitation bags in BKK. which place has the best quality for imitation COACH, GUCCI bags?

anyone been to this spa called "the King and I"?read in some forums, that this gd? anyone knows?

Eastin quite good.Their staff very friendly and helpful. They even tot us how to take train to the plc we want to go, stop at which station, draw map for us, write in thai languages the address of places that we want to go in a piece of paper so that we can keep and show to the taxi driver if we want to take a cab. I find D'ma rooms a bit old compare to Eastin. I went to the massage opposite Eastin, cheap and good. We initially wanted to try Bangkok Palace but rooms are full. Agent told us the breakfast there is good. A lot of tourists wasnt to go back to Bangkok Palace for its breakfast.

There are a lot of shops doing mani and pedi in Siam square/centre. You could choose.

Anyone can help??
I want to make some calls back to s'pore frm there..If I buy card frm here or using IDD wll b quite ex..
Have anyone here buy any international calling card frm BKK B4??

hi me shell, i bought singtel pre-paid card to call frm kl to SIN when i went to kl in April. so might use back the card when i go to BKK lo. but nt too sure the rate though.

Hi Amerline,
Wah loks like alot of ppl going BKK during National Day.hehe yeah lor Novotel gd, but agreed u can save $$ for shopping for another hotel. Huh the one in Seiyu..aa will take note of it too, beta dun ask my hubby change :P

Hi min,
i went to a massage call Sawaidee dee, for their oil massage ard Bht500/2hr? nt sure if dats the one u went cos noticed there quite a few along the street there hor *S* BTW can ask u Eastin's room got bathtub rite? kekeke i bery excited abt hving a bathtub. Ohh so meaning Bangkok Palace act oso nt bad huh?

Hey forgetmenot,
can update us on Eastin when u bk? *winkz* Enjoy ur trip!

Sugarbabe,
haha can c u v. hardworking finding all the info, its really worth it. Eh..forgotten, u oso going at National Day rite? Ops.

Hi inc,
Anorma located opp. WTC, my sis stayed there b4.
The svc, bkfast and room is good, cos the rate is higher than D'MA/Baiyoke Suite etc. Many S'porean like to stay in this hotel.

As for Indra Regent, i only know once u come out its the Pratunam shopping area.

hi zzzpy,
personally find that Patpong imitation (LV/Gucci etc) most varieties and in term of workmanship still the best. But in term of price, u really need to bargain cos in Patpong, prices are highest among the shopping ctr/bazaar. There are some shops selling imitation in Pratunam,MBK but i've yet to know abt the quality

hi serrich,
do u know if there will be any flight/package promotion during the nov/dec period? we intend to go dat period, if chances of promotion is low, then i will consider doing booking of the flight/hotel earlier..

Might do the same as u, book fr zuji.

Andreal,
will update u gals on eastin..
actually now abit headache..cos dunno where to shop 1st..hehehe..
btw,do u know of any shops tt tailor-made cheap n good ladies suit? actually hor,are they able to made the suit within a couple of days? Thanks.

Im planning to go bkk also during end aug, currently they having promo fo 4D3N but im still not sure which hotel to book. Have you all heard about Narai Hotel (near national stadium), the agency told me that its a new hotel having promo also.

I have stayed in eastin b4.. pretty good and 'clean' hotel. hhee.. at first i felt like booking Asia hotel because of the location but after seeing all the negative reviews.. sounds abit scary.. :P

hi sugarbabe,

me and frens intending to go on 20/8-23/8 but on budget so wanna get the air ticket from zuji.com at 138 onli but gotta use visa card lei... then 1 card can onli but max 2 ticks...

are u gg on ur own or via some tour agencies?

hi forgetmenot!
act there are a few tailors ard Eastin. One of em called 'Joy Collection' is highly recommended by the members in one thread, if u go down on 1st day,u might get it within 2-3 days.
ops i dun hv the unit no..u can ask the shop owners there, they will know. There's another one called Narry, website is http://www.narry.com. Price is higher,situated ard Sukhumvit.
keke yeah lor, guess too many things to see and buy.

hey elaine,
so nice to cya here. Narai is nearer to Patpong..BTS-Chong Nonsi. Whereas Asia and Twin Tower are near National Stadium. Abt Narai's accomodation, i dun know but can tell its definitely not near the shopping area like MBK, WTC, Pratunam, fr the map..its more to Chao Phraya River side leh. If u intend to use the bts to travel ard, then nt so bad.

I got a map, u can get a clearer view of it.
http://briefcase.yahoo.com/tropicalspas

Adoi..Sugarbabe
sorry mixed up :P

hi forgetmenot,
eee..i not sure abt the price :P

Yup! mi and hubby loking forward to go bk BKK, hopefully ard Dec hehe..wana try Eastin Hotel tis time.

hi Andreal,
okie..will u give u feedback on eastin hotel when i'm back..heard tt their breakfast is not bad..
actually now i'm abit worried cos the bird flu has spread to BKK liao leh..

after benefitting so much on the info here, its my turn to contribute abit on the land of thousand smiles..

shopping need no more mention, think its quite comprehensive..

money exchange: discovered that the SIAM CITY BANK outlet in WTC 1st floor offer the best rate compare to the BKK airport and Spore's Golden Mile. Just came back on Monday (12/07/04), the exchange rate was S$1 = B$23.65, when Singapore side was ard B$23.4 / .5.

If you are going to change ur $$ there, pls remember its SIAM CITY BANK, cos there is another bank outlet called the SIAM COmmercial Bank with similar logo, and brand outlook but lower rate.

Been there 2x this yr, so far the rate there is really good...can also draw money using ur credit card and passport at the bank outlet.

ASIA HOTEL: Do not stay on the 7th floor. My thai friend relate to me a sighting on the 7th floor by his customer, who happen to stay in the same room as us one week before. There was repeated knocking in the middle of the night, but no one was around after the door was open. So after one more knocking, the fellow went to peep at the pinhole, only to see a legless lady floating across the corridor.

It was really scary for us, when my thai friend related to us the sighting. We could not change the room cos the Hotel was full due to the Intl AIDS Conference. Anyway, was lucky that we did not encounter anything during the stay, probably because we are too tired after shopping the whole day.

Other than the 7th floor and some windowless room, the hotel is pretty alright, lots of people, clean, link to BTS (MRT) and walking distance to MBK, SIAM Centre, etc. Moreover there is a very nice Wanton Mee outside the convenience store near the hotel. If you stay there, can try the mee. Selling only after dark. one bowl abt B$30. We ate there for supper almost everynight.

Chinatown: The street that is full of life, it is busy, noisy, messy, dirty but full of zest. Imagine it being those old old Chinatown, add in the messy bkk city traffic by 5x, many people walking around, barebody, sweaty workers doing their delivery, etc. plus the loud oldies blasting out some where, together with the heat, multipy by 5x, thats BKK Chinatown.

Best to go there for dinner, cos it will be less hot and messy... go for the seafood, and some local street hawker fare like the zhu zha tang (mixed pork soup).

As for shopping, can really forget it, cos it really not worth the effort to endure the noise, dirt just to buy something for a few baht less. Even their pork floss ("dog shit") is expensive compare to MBK or Chatuchat Mkt. We bought 1 pkt ard B$80 -B$100 depending on the size and taste, but at MBK and Chatuchant, we were offered 1 pkt for B$70 or 3 pkt for $B200. So much cheaper and need not endure the mess of Chinatown.

Maybe can buy some audio CDs / VCDs along the street after dinner, cos they are original and cheap ($4??). However mainly oldies. Anyway the same CD probably cos around $5 or $6 in shopping mall like MBK.

Thats my contribution for now... " )

hi Girls..

Just returned from BKK yesterday.... stayed at Aronma hotel.. Hmmm... is an okay hotel nothing grand period.

Just word of caution... becareful of pick pocket and ppl who say they wanna bring you to lucky temple that is open once a month...

Spend an amazing day at Chatuchak.. and realize that the lamps and stuff if you wanna buy it .. is uber worth it there.. and they cost 1/5 of the price in Singapore. So go with little baggages and pack plenty on the return leg.. Oh.. and pots and pans... if you wanna good ones.. please buy their Seagull or Zebra brands.. less than half of what they cost in Singapore. My mum was so thrilled I bought the pots for her... bought some for my new place too.. =) cannot resist. And dont bother going to market to buy the pots.. places like Big C or those supermarket sells them and you saved on haggling the prices..

cutlery are mind blowing cheap! So buy from there and check them in...

At night I went to Suan lum night bazaar... they have most of the home decorating stuff there..

Remember to insist on the taxi driver to on the meter!

It was suppose to be a work trip.. but made full use of it!

Ultra tired and after the massage everything is good again!

Enjoy the trips girls!

sugarbabe..

Big C is like our carrefour... so you dont have to go and locate Big C.. just go to their regular sorta upscale 'supermarket' sure to have it. Anyhow the pots shouldnt cost more than 600 bht depending on the size..

Is just the price at chatuchak is 1000bht... which is like so much exp! anyway I am sure you can bargain but I reckon just buy from supermarket can ald.. save effort in haggling for prices and stuff. My mum told me the pots/pans like zebra and stuff in Sg is like 40-45 sin dollars so you do the maths..

Have fun.

ladies, your report on BKK really got me interested to go...

what's the price of home stuff that you all got there ah?
as in on average, price of a lamp?
Anyone bought bedsheets there? heard from someone that even bedsheets is cheap there...

sugarbabe: u bet it was scarely. Imagine being told to us late at night at the lobby coffee house. Took a while before we decided to go up.

Big C is located next to ARNOMA Hotel, Opposite the WTC / Isetan. Agreed with Ling that sometime is not worth the effort to go to the market and haggle, just for a few baht less.

I have a Bangkok 4D/3N Free & Easy package for 2 to let go.

Hotel: D'MA Hotel
Date: 06/08 - 09/08/2004
Flight: SQ 62-departure time 1040, return flight SQ 65-departure time 1320

This package is inclusive of airport transfers, half day optional tour (includes lunch) and daily breakfast. Total package price (for 2) is $844 (Inclusive of taxes $57 per person). I am willing to let go at around $750 - $800 and will cover the amendment charges of $50.

The reason for letting go this package is because we have another travel commitment during this same period of time.

So if you are interested, please drop me a mail at [email protected] or [email protected]