Bangkok

foreverhappy

thanks icebaby.

Gald to hear that the place is clean and is safety. Will go book it but it seems the rate now is around $36 or $41 depends on the website we book from.

bloomiey

lyesha: Pathumwan Princess is one of the best hotel in Bangkok, if don't mind paying high price for this hotel, follow by Novotel Siam. Arnoma is also good as you don't need to travel on BTS much. Its beside shopping centres and walking distance to most places. Probably just take a cab to Pratunam market unless you dont mind walking 15 to 20mins.

Eastin and Baiyoke Sky are both average hotels. Just take note Baiyoke Sky hotel have FREE extension up to 6pm subject to availability (Mostly its avail) which you can't find it in most hotels. Pathumwan Princess charges for that extension.
Book online. There are so few trusted online agent.
http://wwww.asiarooms.com
http://www.asia-travel.com
http://www.sawadee.com

babykhoo: healthland spa..

babykhoo

hi apple,

i jus booked pathumwan princess today. cost $169 per nite for deluxe room. I'm going in june. the superior rooms are already fully booked so no choice got to take deluxe room. i booked thru www.asiarooms.com. the price seems cheaper than the other websites tat i checked

hi yanling,

thanks for info. heard good comments abt healthland spa. bt is it v far from pathumwan princess? i actually tentatively booked marble house (behind novotel). has anyone tried marble house spa before?

jesi

Just came back from BKK. Stayed in Samran place (7th flr), the room is very basic, quite spacious, no kettle, no hairdryer, no face towels,toilet is small but clean. Located along the main road.Took a cab opp of the hotel to Platinum mall opp Pratnum Complex(37b). 45b to siam sq.

bloomiey

apple: I don't think there is any extra charges other then the final payment in THB which will be converted to SingDollars. But since Thai Baht currency is rising, you will be losing out to those who booked and are charged earlier. I don't think the rates are that attrative than previous. Calculate the conversion before you booked. USDollars or SingDollar would be much better i guess. Anyway since you have booked, that would be the final price you would be charged.
About half an hour ride by taxi from airport to hotel. Don't trust these agent airport transfer as some paid but never got their transferred moreover taking cab there is much cheaper than hotel providing transfer as the charges aren't cheap. Airport to hotel by taxi only cost at most Sing$11 = THB250. It won't exceed that amount. If you can bargain for meter, it cost only Sing$7 or less. So you definitely save quite a sum booking yourself. In Bangkok travel is cheap, therefore you can just book and do everything yourself, unlike Japan.

babykhoo: yeah marble house is good too. Healthland spa requires advance booking. Not very far but have to take cab there i guess. I haven't been there before. They have a website. You can google search for it..

foreverhappy

hi Yan ling i have not book the hotel yet but i did try to look at the convert currency it states $35 so not sure whether this price or even ex later.

Hi Jesi is there bathtub?? can tell me how much u book cos need to see izzit raise in price thanks.

little_a

hi all, I read from the archives that there is a agency over at Bangkok who can help to book accomodation. Any one tried tat? How long does it takes for the agent to reply?

icebaby0

apple,

The price S$35 (asiarooms) is pretty standard. Since last Nov till now, that price never change.

However, if u do a conversion of the pricing from S$ to Thai$. In Nov when I book, it was 832 baht, while in Jan it was somewhere ard 814 baht. Now...i haven't checked yet.

Hope this helps. Actually it doesn't make much a difference lor. S$35 is very cheap liao.

foreverhappy

Hi Jesi , Ice & Yanling thanks for your help i book samran for 900 bath a day.. I think this is the cheapest i can find... They dun quote me in SGD. So I think even if the rate is 23: 1 SGD the room rate will be the at most $40. Hopefully SGD has stronger currency then i can get it at a cheaper price.

foreverhappy

did not book thru asia room cos its $41 each night.
Asia travel quote me 9oo bath then if convert its abt $38 so book it loh.. cos i worried no place to stay in BKK haha. If i book ealry jio how le...

bloomiey

err.. the corridor and hotel rooms looks in the year 1980s. Plain and simple. Well-lighted lol.

You pay peanuts you get monkeys... No Comments. :p

foreverhappy

Yan ling i think its ok lah......
if u usually going out all day then u leave the empty then bo hua keke....

I am thinking of buying card game for couple for my friend. Anyone where can buy?

little_a

hi yanling,
i have confirmed my package
booked pathumwan princess.. only left with deluxe room.. hence no choice have to take it. making payment and collecting my tickets tml
looking forward to the trip now.

babykhoo

hi lyesha,

i booked pathumwan too. oso had to stay in deluxe room. only if book directly with pathumwan then got superior room. but calculate still more expensive to book superior room direct than book deluxe with asiarooms.com. u book through local agent? how much is ur package?

little_a

babykhoo,
my package i find it quite ex but think no choice .. the decision to go was so last minute.. most of the hotels are quite fully booked...

my package is S$596 + S$87 = S$683 per pax.
SQ974 18MAY SINBKK 1935 / 2100
SQ973 21MAY BKKSIN 1830 / 2155

Package Include
Return airfare by SQ
Return transfer by Seat in Coach
3 nites stay in the hotel deluxe room
Daily Breakfast

Anyway, I'm still waiting for the agency in Bangkok to help me book the accomodation locally. If they manage to get the room, i will cancel the accomodation with the agency in SG.

little_a

heehee.. so happy. The agent in Bangkok managed to help me book superior room on 18-21 May 06.
cost per pax now is $584 (flight + accommodation + breakfast + transfer)

bloomiey

lyesha: Waah your package all 5* class ah.. hee. SQ and Pathumwan Princess. No wonder so ex.. But u go in the night time.. 1 day wasted.

little_a

yanling, no choice cos i want night flight. first time to bkk hence didnt know how to go abt making the bookings.. But my return flight is in the evening hence not so bad.

dottyback

lyesha but y in the 1st place u wan nite flight leh? since its juz a 2hr flight n u bo hua leh...

i took nite flight coz the times 4 tiger sux :p but oso came back nite so i din mind

bloomiey

lyesha: Then u have to deposit your luggage and stuff at counter cos Pathumwan Princess don't offer extension of checkout.
I think after you reach BKK, u can go Chinatown eat bird nest or supper at night and walk walk.

apple: When did you book your airasia ticket? why so cheap??? I always book at a price of $140 to $160 per pax.

serene: yeah its not worth to travel at night esp for 5* hotel. Might as well go next day???

foreverhappy

Hi Lyesha

can just change the flight timming meh i tot additional charge mayb this apply to buget air line only keke

Hi Yanling

I book the ticket last dec when they are giving free ticket $124 if for tax and don't know wat. Can't rem le..

dottyback

Yanling, ah nor...regardless whether its a 5* or the best airline..ppl will opt 4 the earliest flight timing 2 go n latest 2 cum back keke

lyesha smart change of decision hehe heng still got availability

babykhoo

hi lyesha,

thanks for sharing info. i think book with agent in s'pore always more exp. if book ala cart (air ticket n accom seperate on our own book) always cheaper. u so lucky cn get the superior room. me going in june. let me know how ur trip when u come back. when u go bkk will u be visiting any spas there?
very excited abt trip too. its been a more than 1 years since i go holidays...........got abit of withdrawal liao.

little_a

hi babykhoo,
managed to get the superior room thru the agent in bangkok. otherwise, i dun think I am able to get the room. The price they quoted me is ard that quoted by Asiarooms.
I'm leaving for bkk on 18 May... I shld be trying out the spa.. but dun noe which one to go. any recommendation?

bloomiey

By the way, from some website, i saw that the hottest period in Bangkok is during Apr and May. The temperature reaches as high as 35 degrees probably 36. But in June the temperature drops and Rain season starting in July or August i think. Any idea abt this?

lyesha: yeah going BKK in morning is better..