Bangkok

magix

sorry! mislead u!!! i meant the whole meal wif seafood is more than $100+... but then its for 4 pax... we juz felt it wasnt worth the money lah.

when we came back and told our frens, they said we kena "ke tok"!

coolgirl76

oic...magix ...hee hee... I thut u pay $100 for sharkfin....

agree indeed quite expensive..... that time we eat seafood we spend abt $100 for 8 pax..... we went pattaya.

did you go watch their ah gua show? very funny

ling0

Hi Magix

If u r staying near d MRT station, u can take MRT to Suan-Lum Night Bazaar...alight at Lumphini station.

ade02

Heard abt this Big C, anyone knows where is it and how to get there? and also where is Central?

And where to get lingerie?

magix

cooldevil, yes, watched their ah gua show... quite nice! and tiger show as well. but tiger show no standard and so gross! wasted the $$$. that time i rem we paid abt $25/pax/show! very exp!
so stupid... coz it was 1st time there, got conned in almost everything!!!

Ling, not sure if baiyoke sky near MRT anot... but will prob take a cab there. thks anyway!
we only got 2 nites there, gotta make full use of time!

Micky, if i am not wrong, very easy to get lingerie there! in their dept stores!

ohstrawberry

Hi, Micky

Big C is just opp Central Chitlom.
You can refer to the itinery i post on 7 Jan,
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/4/239866.html?1105257785 for more info on Central Chitlom, cause i'll be staying near there.
I love shopping at Central, Siam Centre and Emporium for my lingerie.

Passerby,
I'll definately post my experiences when i'm back. This is my 1st honeymoon with my husband, thus we intend to shop, eat and relax during this 6D5N. Most probably will go Body Tune and King & I for massages, cruise down Chao Phraya River to go Grand palace and Wat Por and also Chinatown for the delicacy..... Hee.... Looking so forward liao, 10 more days to count down............

racherlle

hi magicwand!!

from where did u book ur 3D2N stay in Baiyoke Sky at 110+++???? coz tat's a very gd rate.. so far the cheapest i've found is SGD77 per nite..

magix

rachelle, coz my hb booked won a pair of tix to BKK from aviation services, thus when i went to collect from them, i oso booked thru them. i think they r some sort like the main agency or sthg... i juz checked. mine is $116 excld taxes.

wah biang, juz had a false alarm! we searched high & low and cldnt find my hb's passport. i was so sad that we might not b able to go 4 the trip 2mrw and luckily managed to find it after searching for almost an hr! wah, we really broke out in cold sweat man!

alrite, chat wif u again when i am back next wk!
hv a G..R..E..A..T wkend!

saerocks

Ohstrawberry, u got the right choice of hotel ... the other time i also booked Bangkok City Inn. Its very near Big C and Central. Also u dun have to walk too far to get to the skytrain. But just to inform u that the hotel facilities are not as good as Bangkok Palace (e.g. swimming pool, great deals of food for breakfast), but its definitely worth the stay as compared to the distance u got to walk out from Bangkok Palace if u DIY ur whole trip.

coolgirl76

Hi micky
U can go WTC Isetan to get yr lingerie :p very cheap! :p

Hi magix
We also paid $25 for ah gua and tiger show..... I guess this is the price lor cos all my friends went there all pay this price..... agree tiger show abit gross...but I damn pity cos ladies lor.....go to do so many "tricks" just to earn for living! sigh.... I cant stand those china tourists!!!! seen ah gua show twice 1 in Bkk and the other at pattaya....:p

Hi wen
Bkk city inn is our fav hotel...kekekekeke everytime mi and friends would stay there when we go Bkk .... stay once at "Rakchada" (dun know how to spell) near Robinson..... This area has one nice pub....got show and nice music :p

ohstrawberry

Hi, wen-wen

Glad to hear that. Actually i also hear from most of the ppl at other forum saying Bangkok City Inn is good and cheap, thus i made the choice. Now i'm even more "fan xing" leh. Thanks....

tomatoes

If you are looking for lingerie and those big department stores dun have much stock, you all can go Robinson at Sukhumvit area when you visit King & I spa. Sometimes, if you are lucky enuff, they might have storewide discount.

peace

This forum is very informative for my coming bkk trip......i will reach bkk at ard 9pm this wed for my 5D4N trip.My hotel is eastin...anyone care to share where to go after i reach my hotel? i dun wnt to waste my 1st night there....

milo66

so angry now!! jus received an email from tigerairway saying change in flight time. my originally flight hm was at 8.30 pm bkk time now change to 2.50 pm. how am i going to have time for shopping ta chatuchak. anyone in similar situation?

milo66

so angry now!! jus received an email from tigerairway saying change in flight time. my originally flight hm was at 8.30 pm bkk time now change to 2.50 pm. how am i going to have time for shopping ta chatuchak. anyone in similar situation?

passbyonly

Hi Cooldevil,
Where did u book ur accomadation? it's so cheap. and it's inclusive of breakfast, airport round trip transfer and half day city tour. whereas i paid S$69 just for 2n stay...

Just a quick check. it's the Bangkok Palace Hotel within walking distance from Bangkok City Inn hotel? pai seh to ask as this is my 1st trip stay at Bangkok City Inn. however i stayed at Bangkok Palace before.

Ohstrawberry,
Congrats... u must be looking forward for your honeymoon. not forget to enjoy. must buy ,eat and relax ya..haha

racherlle

hi milo!

huh? hw come can like tat?
gosh... budget airlines can change their flight times anytime ah? eeeks

let's pray hard that mine doesn't..
hmmmm

saerocks

passby, Bangkok Palace is quite far from Bangkok City Inn ... got to take a cab out, otherwise by the time u walk from this hotel to the other, you will have one bucket of sweat liao ..lol ..

Although Bangkok Palace is located nearer to Pratumum market, it is not convenient if you want to walk to the mrt station as you will have to walk a long stretch of road.

meijia

Hi milo,

My colleague affected too. However my dept is in April also, i did not received any email yet.

My colleague's original dept time is 3.45pm and is postponed to 5.50pm. My dept time is the same as her but my date is earlier.

So be affected but no email.

I very worried now.

milo66

ya totally pissed off now. they jus anyhow change my flight schedule and doesnt provide me with any alternative. i die die gotta accept wat they allocate to me.

really spoil my mood. now thinking of extending 1 more night there but not sure if they allow me to change the flight FOC or still gotta imposed the 30 change fee.

meijia

Hi milo,

What is your dept date.

If they change my time to 5.50pm, I definitely want to change to morning flight. Not sure if I need to pay additional charge.

So did you reply to the email??

nez

Jus wanna know if anyone got gd recommendation on the hotels in BKK...abt 3 stars and convenient 4 shopping & food? Stayed in Bangkok Palace the 1st time there, thought of trying another hotel

coolgirl76

Hi skywolf
You better check with your hotel receptionist or do you have a half day tour? you can check with tour guide abt the ah gua show charging and can make arrangement for pick up :p
Remember each show is 500baht nia... dun kana conned :p

Hi passby
per pax $69 included transfer and round trip??? I called a few agencies and safe2travel is the cheapest so I booked fr them...... I dun even have to go down to collect my vouchers, the agent courier it to me :p which agent did you book it fr?

Hi Cooldevil,

Mine's a free and easy... erm, i paiseh to ask the recep at hotel there on where is the ah gua show leh... clipart{kao_blush} Noted the price liao. It's the same as airport tax from bkk airport. clipart{kao_smile}

Milo66,

Maybe you could like email them to check? After all, it's their company's decision to shift the timings, tell them abt prior arrangments were already made and you couldn't cut back on them? Ext one more day is sure easier than cutting down....

Hi Nez,

I booked mine @ Bkk City Inn. I heard not bad from this forum, and FH wanted to save on hotel since we'll be out most of the day...

milo66

carrie: my dept date is on sat 9 apr. tot of spending the morn at chatuchak before going to the airport at 6+ for my 8.30 flight and now change to 2.50 pm.

i email them to enquire whether do i need to pay the changing of dates fees but till now no reply for them. already sent them a 2nd email to let them know that i need to confirm the hotel asap.

meijia

Hi milo,

I also received no reply from them. It is not possible I am not affectd by the change cause I book the same flight as my colleague only different day. I send them inquiry through the web and email.

magix

hey pple, i am back from my wkend trip!

its gd and the weather's cooling in BKK! can u all believe it? i actually felt i was walking in aircon, albeit mild one. the air was cooling and windy and i had to wear a jacket! anyone there over the last wkend that shared the same sentiments as me?

Suan Lum Night Bazaar is a muz go!!!! i love that place. not as crowded as Chatuchak and the stuff there oso quite gd.

cooldevil, u paid the same rate as me when u watched the ah gua and tiger show? yah, pitied the ladies doing such acts 4 a living, and in front of so many pple! i am sure she is only paid a meagre amt. sigh....

skywolf, the std rate is 500 baht, i think... try to bargain some more... seriously if u ask me, can skip the tiger show, so gross and nothing much to see other than sexual acts! the ah gua show is better!

coolgirl76

hi skywolf
Normally F&E trip will come with a half day city tour lei..... if not you go airport see got maps or brochure recommending their places of interest.... :p sorry I cant remember the road name.

Hi magix
Glad that u enjoyed yr trip!
ya lor pity those ladies..... do you know they often get infection....was told by my tour guide who is also Thai chinese. Really pity them.

magix

cooldevil, yup enjoyed it very much, though it was my 3rd time back.
had wanted to keep to the amount i had changed but as usual, busted my budget again!
hahahaha...

oh they kena infection easily? poor thing, i din noe... but i believe, given a choice, who wans to do such degrading acts like that? bet they hv no feeling when the man is performing. and i always wonder how can the man perform when so many pple is watching???

coolgirl76

hi magix
They immune liao loh.....That time when I watched at Pattaya, our guide told us one of the performancer is couple ..... even my guide also pity them..... I cant believe my eyes...how can they keep goldfish, razor blade and etc?????

Agree agree, I always enjoyed my Bkk trip ... but hor mi always got mild food poisoning cos I always eat junk food fr the road stalls ...

sakurasan

magix_wand, share the same sentiments with you on the weather in BKK over the weekend. Really surprised that it was cool, esp on Sat when I was kinda cold walking on the streets.
Extremely pleasant - and I was all prepared to sweat it out over there.

magix

cooldevil,

a couple performer???? wow! amazing!

yah, the part that they can keep razor inside juz amazed me!

hey i got weak tummy as well, but this time hor, i was ok. though i ate hot, spicy, and cold drinks all together. expected my tummy to "give way" and give me a hard time. i brought alot of diarrhoea pills along... but surprise! i survived!
lucky lucky! where do u usually eat? i tried the ones in Suan Lum Night Bazaar and a small restaurant in Siam area... juz dun hv the guts to try those roadside stalls, too much of a gamble 4 my weak stomach. dun think i can take it. and the smell always puts me off!

sakurasan! u were there as well last wkend? arrived on sat? same as me!

yah sooo surprised it was so cooling there, and yes, exactly, we were prepared to sweat it all out! in the end, we skipped taking cabs and walked from our hotel to Central World Plaza & MBK!

which hotel did u stay?

Hey Magix...

Woah, you make me wanna fly over right now leh...

Cooldevil,

I didnt book mine thru an agency... all frm hm pc. hehehe... Thus dun hav the foc 1/2 day trip lor...

O yeah, have to rem to bring lotsa poh chai pills. FH's stomoach belongs to weak category...

sakurasan

magix_wand, I arrived on Fri nite and left on Mon afternoon. I stayed at Novotel and we walked from Siam Discovery Centre to Siam Centre to Central World to Geysorn on Sat. We had to take cab back to hotel coz lugging too many things!! :D Did Central Chit Lom and Emporium and then MBK on Sun..then too shack to move! Feet all numb. We went to Suan Lum on Sat nite too..ooh, I think I like Suam Lum better than Chatuchak coz it's much cooler to walk around at nite than during the day. Ate tomyam soup for lunch and dinner my entire trip; suffering from the ill-effects after coming back. Think tummy can't take it anymore *ouch*

milo66

tobebride: the 1st time i was there, i reach the airport at abt 1.00 am in the morn. was worried abt safety so we took a chartered cab at 600 baht. we realised that bkk is quite a safe country so is alright. my 3 female friends went on their own and took a cab from the airport.

racherlle

hi skywolf!

saw that u booked Bangkok City Inn.. hw much did u pay each nite????? and where did u book from? i saw from asiarooms it cost only SGD34 per nite so cheap!!!

oh ya saw that there are quite a number of u choosing that hotel.. i was tinking of saving the hotel money since we are not always in the room.. juz to check hw is the room condition like?
the bedsheets clean????? toilet condition ok?

coolgirl76

Hi Magix
see where we go lor..... normally will eat from roadside stall lor...... did you try to eat their roti Prata (like our popiah) wrapped with banana??? wow lau damn nice manz...... then those fried food along the roadside..... yummy..... I love spicy food! wow lau I droopling!

normally, dinner then we go restaurant, seafood centre or chinatown to makan.....

hmm...really cant wait to fly there...kekekekeke
I think this time we will skip the ah gua show.....

sputnik

Hi Sakurasan,

I'm curious to know what you bought from the shopping area around MBK, Siam Discovery Centre, Central World etc. Cos I spent a whole day walking from MBK and covered all the shopping centers bet there and Gaysorn, but did not buy much. I thik I only bought a few items from Patra, Naraya and some tidbits.

Most of my shopping was done at Chatuchak, spent the whole of Sat and Sun there. Really enjoyed shopping there. Also went to Patpong, but it was quite boring. Also bought some stuff at the nite market and shopping centers around Victory Monument station.

meijia

Do your have any recommended website I can book local tours. I think the hotel package will be more expensive.

sakurasan

sputnik I visited many shopping centres but didn't buy any clothes or shoes or bags. My husband was totally amazed.
But tailored working shirts and pants in a shop located my hotel *workmanship totally crappy*

Actually, what I was interested to buy during this BKK trip was nice, classy plates and bowls that you are served in restaurants and nice cushion covers, table runners etc! So every shopping mall that I visited, I headed straight for the household items section (*super auntie*). At Siam Discovery Centre, I bot stuff from this shop called Mae Fah Leung and spent loads of time in Habitat. At Central World Plaza, I was in Zen. Dragged back many squarish plates made from clay..*husband complained non-stop* So cheap! The same plates in Robinson was like $14 each..and I paid only $4 in BKK. I like Patra too! And Royal Porcelain...*sigh*

We liked Geysorn mainly coz we hvn't been there..it's nice, quiet and very spacious. Got lots of nice shops selling pretty household items. I hate MBK coz it's so crowded ~ but went anyway to buy stuff for a fren. I think it's a fire hazard; the way the building is designed. I loved Suam Lum for the atmosphere..but didn't buy anything except nightdresses ~ cheap! Didn't visit Chatuchak this time round..but must do Pratuman next time.

Wish I could lug back more plates and bowls.

Hi Racherlle,

I booked mine from another website called precision reservations. But I juz got an email frm them stating hotel is full at that rate (mine was $28). So i need to check out other hotels...

Sigh...

I'm gg on 6-9 May too. How abt yrs?

Now kinda frantic liao... *_*

Any other not so expensive hotels to recommend, anyone?

Hmm... anyone stayed @ First Hotel b4? Any feedback? Quite cheap leh... $31 for the older rms, $39 for the new wing... along Petchburi Road...