Bangkok

samanlyt

Hi CC2

*envy* Tats 2 more weeks away! Yup got the Junior suite upgrade. NO WAY! Hahahaa..Share one room? Cannot la.. I booked 2 junior suites. But the agent say my relative's suite may not have the 'honeymoon-ers welcome package' (cake & champagne).

So if i asked the locals for direction, jus tell them i wan go Big C, they will understand ya? Oh wats the Jap food restaurant name? I saw other threads recommending buffet. *Yummy* Cant wait to grow fat! LOL

Come back must fill me up wif ur BKK trip k? Cos me now doing 'research' la... :p

cc2

Hi VaNiLLa,

Haha.. I thought u have 4 persons in 1 junior suite! U going for honeymoon? I booked 2 junior suites too but 1 suite is triple room.

If you come out from the hotel entrance, just walk straight all the way till u see Platinum fashion Mall which is on the opposite of the road.I think beside Platinum Mall there's a bridge(smelly), just walk further up and cross the road then u can see big C, not that difficult to find. U will see lots of food stall outside big C ard 3-4pm all the way till night.

I can't remember the name of the jap fast food but it's just opp the food court.

U going for the Baiyoke Sky buffet, in house guest gets 50% off!.

Sure, will fill u up when I'm back.

hi vanilla,

okie lah. been there a few times...

yah take cab also can.. all within walking distance one..

china bag can buy from there.. cheap cheap...

suan lum is quite ok.. neater and much cooler than Chatuchak..but more ex.. must bargain.. some stuff are not found in CTC.. depends... but some of the stores closed down liaozz so its less nice.. but still big enough for you to spend an evening there.. do take a cab there.. should be less than 80baht.... retro clocks will be from suam lum...

jap food: must try Fuji.. cheap and nice.. available in most shopping centre...

samanlyt

Aiyoh CC2 & minssy

Thanks soooo much for ur great tips! I reali regret never do my 'homework' properly during my 1st visit there. Just pack my bags and go. Stupid me! Din managed to get anything, except for few stuff in chatuchat and local munchies from chinatown. Tats y promised myself mus go there n check out every single corners of pratunam. LOL

Oh and also, we are at BKK this time for my bro's wedding, so hubby tht of making suits there. Any recommendations? Heard its quite affordable.

samanlyt

Hi minssy

Oh i love jap food..sashimi!!!

Saw frm other threads, forumers recommended Jap food at Siam square. Think called Oishi. Reali tempted to go get lotsa furnishings, clothes, shoes, slippers etc...soooooo many!!! Hmmm, how come suan lum close so many shops? My frd was there sometime ago (last yr maybe) bought lotsa stuff back frm there.

PS: Sorry always trouble u wif my endless questions, me reali ku ku when comes to travelling in BKK, cos the 1st time there, blur n kena cheated

Hi CC2,

I went massage at Baiyoke the other time. 50% discount! Duno still have or not. Heehe, hope got time try spa too.

cc2

VaNiLLa,

For spa, I prefer healthland. Wanted to try the Baiyoke buffet last trip but was fully booked

Oishi is in siam sq? not siam discovery?

icebaby0

Vanilla,

Dun worry too much lah. It's very easy to get around BKK. Worse come to worse take CAB..but just make sure die die go by meter.

Suan Lum closing (I think I remember reading) the land was rented out to people. But the govt want it back or seomthing like that. But I miss the ferries wheel...kinda nice...my kids like it.

Oh, you book AirAsia. I more kiasu..I book I think in May for this coming trip (next sat). Got it for $111/pax (include tax). That was before the taxes of airasia rised to $158 per round trip.

hi vanilla,

its never too late.. just read different webbies and u will have a better idea....

their boots is like our guardian.. also aloottt of things there! very cool!

suits wise, i am not sure.. just dun go to macways at siam square. over-rated. sorry, can't help in this area.

not familiar with oishi.. i go there and will whack fuji... really cool! nice sashimi too...

not all shops in suam lum are closed.. only a small portion.. but still got lots of stuff for you to see and buy one lah

oh sure.. those that i know of cos i can assist to reply

cc2

icebaby,

I booked mine tickets in may too and got it for $111 per pax. I'm going 4 days after u! hehe..

samanlyt

CC2

Healthland? Oh..I read abt it somewhere too...Hows isit? Near where?

Not sure abt the siam thingy. But am sure got Siam something one..Think I mus go trace back my browsing history, then make a note down liao.

Hi icebaby

Ya was told by Baiyoke staff the other time, mus take cab. Nv nv take tuk tuk, but never listen. Then kena 'chop' lor.. Haaaha me hor, first time taking budget airline. My frd recommend me go suan lam & the ferris wheel too. Tht can go take ferris wheel...

Hi minssy

Boots? Where to find this shop? Sounds interesting! Ok i will note down Fuji. MBK should have hor? I simply LOVE sashimi! *drool*
Hahhhaaa wait buy too much hor...dun allow me board the plane, cos luggage max load onli 15KG LOL!

icebaby0

vanilla,

ferries wheel is gone already...no more there.

Dun put so much expectations on Bangkok cos I have heard some pple dun like bangkok and the shopping (different people got different taste).

bloomiey

hokkaido.lavender: go to Sampeng Lane buy hello kitty stuff. Went there bought some doraemon and hello kitty stuff back. Cheap.. but not-original.

samanlyt

Hi icebaby

Ok la, so far had fun shopping a BKK the 1st time round. So i think this time, am gonna qiong for shopping & food too! LOL

Hi minssy

Wau a lot of things eh!!! Am checking out the boots website now! Hehe. Hahahaha tats wat my huby said too. Just bring minimal clothings can liao. :p

hi vanilla,

yah alot... nice food pretty much everywhere...

also, note that bangkok's liquid security is very strict... try to check in all liquids if possible...

chloie

Wow, there is so much sharing of information. I cant wait for my turn to go there!!! So looking forward to it. 1 more week. There are places with shopping, traditional massage & food. What about hair cut and hair colouring? My relatives who have been there went for hair cut n colouring but all gave me different information. Any recommendation from you ladies? I even think of getting a tattoo there but scare of the diseases. LOL.

nelle

BKK having elections on 23 Dec so for safety reasons I am cancelling my trip during that period of time...sigh....

bien

Hi Nelle,

I also heard that 23 Dec got Election there.. i wonder my trip on 6th Dec shall be safe rite?

Cos is still abt 2 weeks like tat from my trip to their Election day.

Any advise?

samanlyt

Hi minssy

Ya would check in all liquids. Can bring un-opened mineral water up to the plane ya? Me taking budget wor, so my colleague told mi to bring my own mineral water, dun buy frm them.

Oh abt boots, wat r the 'must buys'? Heard its their facial products ya?

Hi CC2,

Thanks for the link. Heard lotsa raves abt health spa in other forums too! So popular ah?

Elections?? Aiyoh I'm leaving after the election eh..

hi vanilla,

mineral waster is not allowed too..... unless u r a baby :p

boots ah? basically anything!
they have alot of brands so u can surf the net to find out what u may want first....

bloomiey

I am back with some nice hotels to recommend.
1 of them is Baiyoke Boutique Hotel. Its a nice, well decorated hotel. Although rooms interior are abit dark due to dark painted walls. But overall, its still a very budget hotel ranging $60+ to $70+ with buffet breakfast. Hourly, there are 10 seaters shuttle van to MBK and Siam Paragon.

If you are looking for non-budget hotel, other than Pathumwan Princess, Novotel Siam Square, Siam @ Siam, you can also consider Holiday Inn Hotel & Resort. It is only a mere 1 minute walk to BTS ChitLom Station. Breakfast is usually not provided, unless you are willing to pay a higher price for it.

bloomiey

hokkaido.lavender: Refer to my above post. Baiyoke Boutique hotel might suit your budget. Furniture are quite new therefore no worries.

As for Sampeng lane, just tell the cab you wanna go there. If they still don't know, tell them its near Yaowarat. Then they definitely know. It all depends on where they drop you off. Some may drop you in front of the small lane. Some may drop you along the main road and you have to walk in. Do take note of the direction you walking, cos i went in a few times and walk all over, sometimes lost my way inside. Then have to walk a distance to get to main road just to take a cab back. Bought alot of hair bands, soft toys from there. Also have the solar toy which Action City sell. Very cheap only. about S$6.

icebaby0

Girls,

Twice I went to BKK during their "riots" period where the papers and news kept saying got soldiers here and there..blah blah.

Twice I found the place safe and sound. Riots are taken place NEAR the palace..and it's on the outside areas n not at MBK, etc. Also in BKK to have riots, they will need licence too.

I guess I had always believe that, if you are meant to get injured or die or whatever...no matter where u are, it will still happen. Ultimately it's ur own choice.

If not, you can always go to a BKK forum (e.g. trip advisors or virtual tourist) and ask those WHO stays there what normally happens during elections.

lemonade88

can anyone advise how much it cost to take a cab from the airport to baiyoke sky? is toll fee chargeable by per trip or per person?

hi icebaby,

well said

hi lemondade,

toll is 65 in total per car (20 & 45)... if you are going by meter and u pay the toll on your own, have the ready small change with you...

cab fare to town is normally about THB 200 - THB 250 or so (on average, depending on whether u go by highway or normal roads...

s__h

The buffet card i mentioned also comes with :

got a 4D3N accomodation at :

1) Phuket hotel
2) Bangkok hotel
3) Copthorne Hotel at penang

OR 3D2N at :

1) Mahkota hotel, malacca
2) Kuala Lumpur Hotel, KL

s__h

the card cost $298 nett so if using $298 to get 4D3N at bangkok hotel or phuket hotel ...that work out to be S$75 per day

cc2

Those who are going BKK soon, can change Thai baht at Golden Mile, this money changer bside the UOB atm machine. I just changed yesterday at 23.22.

chloie

Hi there, I went to change Thai baht yesterday. I went to the money changer beside the UOB atm machine. The rate was 23.15. I wanted to change 1K but he does not have sufficient Thai baht. End up changing at the bigger money changer [got aircon n two ladies inside, thk is unit 15B]. The rate was 23.18. Don't know isit weekend that's why the exchange rate was slightly lower.

cc2

Maybe weekend more pple change for thai baht so money changer run out of currency. I was offered 23.20 but I was changing 1.5k so asked for better rates.

s__h

to cont my thread posted on 30 Oct, here are the hotels details :

ELEGANCE SUITE: www.elegance.th.com

THE PLAZA HOTEL: www.hotelthailand.com/bangkok/theplazahotel/index.html

THE SIAMBEVERLY HOTEL: http://www.siambeverly.com/Home.asp

DIAMONDCITY HOTEL: http://www.diamondcityhotel.com/index.html

PJ WATERGATE, BANGKOK : http://www.pjwatergate.co.th/home.html

@ Chinatown area

NEW EMPIRE HOTEL: www.newempirehotel.com

GRAND VILLE HOTEL: www.grandevillehotel.com

is it worth to get the free 4D3N accomodation voucher and can redeem at the hotels above for S$298?

That is excluding the 12 buffet vouchers

icebaby0

MrsWang,

Just came back few hours ago.

yes, i stayed at Samran Place again (my 3rd time). Still as good to me.

Didn't go much places cos my Cousin-in-law has abit different taste and her size differs from mine. So she can't buy those Free Size items. But overall still enjoyable.

mrswang

icebaby,

yes yes! most important must enjoy. =) so e breakfast still serve 6 set?

u knw where is complex city at bkk? heard alot of stuff to buy over there.