Bangkok

acneery_gal

Hi Piggy

The hotel lobby is newly renovated but not the rooms. Location is considered good as its jus behind Baiyoke Sky. Room is not sound proof at all and you can hear ppl banging doors and talking. Well as its budget hotel so cant expect too much lor.

piggy12

Hi Acneery Gal,

Thanks. wanted to book Baiyoke Suite but hear the room is pretty old n dirty.

So only the lobby is renovated? i thought the entire hotel.... hmm.. but compare to budget hotel like Samran which is better?

acneery_gal

Hi Piggy,

I have not stayed in Samran before so cant compare the two. I don't think that the rooms are newly renovated,furnitures are mouldy, carpet old and dirty but the bedsheet are clean la. There are hair dryer, toiletries items and electric kettle which I think is the plus point for budget hotel as I think some do not have these items. Breakfast wise I personally feel that its not very nice. One more thing is that there are two rows of rooms on each floor and happen that I stayed on the side that could hear railway train sound every now and then, many inconsiderate ppl banging doors and shouting so not really comfortable during my stay for this point (maybe I unlucky also la). Other than that, if your expectation not too much for budget hotel then should be fine. During my stay, I also noticed that 90% of guests are Singaporeans.

piggy12

Hi Acneery Gal,

Thanks. hmm.. as all the standard room are taken up i have to take the superior room hopefully it better:p

joyous097

I am leaving bkk on 5 June....anyone leaving on the same day?

Can anyway can pls give me a final round down a must go place....plantium, chatucap??

I am going with a 9 and 3 years old kids...thanks

shyantiffy

hey joyous... if ur kids are those who are not okie with heat.. mayb u wanna skip chatuchak cos the heat can get pretty bad even adults cannot stand... u should make a trip to suanlom night market.. they have alot of things too.. & since its at nite.. shopping is more cooling there...

noxy

piggy12, suanlom is still open, and it seems bigger now. just came back last tuesday (20 May 2008)

the open air drinking place still there, the live band still there (according to my bf)

platinum fashion mall super good to shop! love it there. chatuchak so so, but the heat....oh my god, disgusting

piggy12

Hi Noxy, is suanlom a good place to shop? what can be found over there?

ya i will definitely drop by platinum to take a look

noxy

Hi piggy, from wad i saw, there were like 4 blocks of small shops, out of which, 3 blocks sell like pasar malam things,then got another block that sells very nice and unique things.

In my opinion, the unique things block worth going, but not cheap.

If u wanna get interesting things for the house, the unique things block have it too

I find the place huge, one night cannot complete

but the things in the other 3 blocks are repetitive

starfruit12

Can I oso know for the floating mkt, where is it near?how much to take the boat ride?how to get there?

and oso for the Tuk Tuk, how much to negotiate for?hmm

tortoise

So long nobody posted in the BKK thread already...

Anybody going in January??... I've booked mine for January....

Anbody knows whether Pratunam market is open on Monday?

Appreciate ur advise??

tortoise

I will be staying in Arnorma Hotel again despite the emails being circulated. Think shld be quite ok, somemore location quite good.

Anybody can advise where can I find good food to eat nearby??

It's my hubby's birthday as well... thinking of eating at Baiyoke Sky buffet.... anybody knows how much? (btw, not a hotel guest of baiyoke sky though)

miralyn

I went to BKK in 06, plan gg again friens @ end Nov 08. Previously took Tiger & this round seem still Tiger offer lowest for Budget Airline but it is not inclusive of 700THB airport tax right? Jetstar is inclusive but seem slightly more expensive.

Self booking on flight+ Hotel is confirm cheaper then agency F & E package?

Anyone stayed at First World before? Any feedback to share on location & svc? Read terrible reviews on bed bugs, newer tower seem lesser issues. Cos Friens already booked, duno if really 1 stay der for convenience to meet & communicate.

Duno if should buy IDD cards der, pls share how does it works? My HP line doesn't need to be auto-roaming as using BKK local cards right?
What about price & talking time range?

blanqq

any went to bangkok and back recently???

Heard that no recom to go now.. but i booked my flight long before July and flying off on this 11 sept. so how?? GO or not?

ahda

i have also booked my flight in late Oct. News reported Bkk situation quite bad now, anyone just came back from Bangkok and can advise how is everything there?

Anyone book their air tickets by airasia? I thought of postponing my trip to Dec, quite concern if the situation there won’t become better by late Oct. If cancel the flight, any refund?
If postpone, any penalty? Im have been trying to call the air Asia customer service hotline the whole morning, it seem no one is working leh
??

ngfifi

Hi tortoise

If u r nt a in-hse guest of Baiyoke Sky, i wld nt advise u to go there for their Int'l buffet cos it cost ard S$100/pax

The last time round i went there after hearing gd feedbk but din kw the pricing. In the end turn bk cos its reali nt worth the price thou heard that the food selection n the view might be worthwhile for sum

But u can try the fruit buffet which is very much lesser. Tink cost less than S$30/pax

:>

miralyn

Hi tortise,

I went BKK in Feb 07 by Tiger, seems to rem have to pay Airport Tax. Nt sure if now Tiger fare is inclusive. Just check Tiger got 9.99 offer.

Plan to go during dec, considering Baiyoke Boutique & Samran, both rates for deluxe is about the same. Any other hotel below $100 to recommend?

loveice

Hi there, anyone juz came back from bangkok ? I planned to go in sep de.. tickets booked long ago le.. dunno what to do now.. help..

jackiejillie

Hi AhDa

I'm in the same shoes as you. Booked for Air Asia for end Sept to Bangkok. I tried calling their hotline for whole afternoon last week. Got through finally then got cut off. Also emailed them. Nothing was really mentioned in their website on refund.

samanlyt

just saw the an online article that there is a flood in Bangkok. Wondering if it's safe to travel there? My gal friend is heading there next week.

blanqq

i came back from BKK two weeks ago during the riots. So far, i saw nothing and enjoyed my trip. BKK is still peaceful

ahda

hey strawberry..

Lots of ppl say as long as you avoid the government area should be safe, is that true? They said the shopping area is not being affected at all. Is CTC ok? I’m concern about the route to CTC also, whether they will eb any protestors hunging on the roads
I only have two more weeks to decide if i want to con’t my trip, seem like situation not any better.

mummykk

don't laugh at me, my last bkk trip was more than 15yrs ago...hahaha...

this time round, will be bringing my 2 kids (3 & 6yrs old) along and need some tips from all the frequent bkk travellers here..

1) how to go about booking a Chao Phraya River cruise tour? or can we go on our own?

2) any interesting sites or attractions for kids other than the siam paragon ocean world? like elepants performance, etc..

3) also, where to shop for kiddy stuff? like clothing, stationary & accessories?

thanks all in advance for sharing.

joxue

Marilyn,

You can buy IDD cards from 7-11 outlets there. Its relatively cheaper to make calls using the IDD cards than auto roam from hps. It costs about 300 bahts. It can last you for quite some time.

kk,

I think in chinatown, they do sell kids' stuffs. Soft toys, stationary, accessories ( hello kitty, strawberry shortcake ) etc. MBK has it too. As for clothes, I am not too sure.

AhDa,

My mil just came back from Bkk last week. She said everything was fine and peaceful. Just that the weather was quite bad. Very warm and at times heavy rain. She fell sick there.

I am going to bkk in mid of dec. Any places to recommend? So far, I always revisit partunam market, mbk, khao san, chatuchak, chinatown and platinum mall. Was wondering if there are any other places to visit?

Anyone knows where I can get baby clothes?

joxue

kk,

I found a brochure from my mil's last trip. You can bring your kids to Dream world, Siam Park City, Safari World etc.

I had been to Safari World before. It was pretty entertaining except its very warm. You can get to see wild animals romaing about freely. There are also animal shows and other entertainent. It will take almost a day. I booked the tour at one of the tour agencies there. The travel time was about an hour or so.

blue_ape

hi sipsom,
where did you go? did you manage to buy alot of stuffs in BKK? are the shopping malls alright?
i am crazy over shopping. haha!

koonthai

blue_ape (blue_ape)

i go alot places...
well,not really much staff as i always went to bkk...before this trip,i just went there less than a mth ago....
the shopping mall is normal lol,not much ppl...

ngfifi

Does any1 here happen to have the map for Chatuchak?

Tried to obtain a copy the other time round when i was in BKK but cldnt find any and nearly lost my way inside

If you do have a copy, wld appreciate if you could kindly borrow me for my coming trip in apr