Bangkok

samanlyt

Sorie to interrupt ah...Gone through some previous posts in here. Would like to seek some advise. Am going to BKK in December 07 to Jan 08 for honeymoon. Am now trying to look for accommodation (budget SGD 50 - 70). Tried Baiyoke Sky, but wish to try somewhere different. Any suggestions/advice?

bel_yeo

Booked the air tickets too! Waiting for my trip in Dec! Heehee...

Can I check how early we need to be in the airport for Airasia?

worry

I am considering staying in Baiyoke Sky Hotel. Does anyone knows how much does the cab fare cost from there to eg. Big C or Suan Lum night market?

icebaby0

I heard Baiyoke Boutique isn't that good...i think. have to go read up.

I can only tell you that to go Suan Lum night market isn't that expensive. But getting back to the hotel can be. Cos alot of taxi there might not go by meter. They might ask 200 baht at least.

Bel,

All airlines the same. pls check in early.

samanlyt

hi minssy

Thank you for your reply. Not reali budget honeymoon la. :p My budget around $50 - $80 per night. Ya check out asiarooms aldy. Rates was about $122 - $136 for Baiyoke Sky. Was told that its nearly full house for period between Dec - Jan

ngfifi

I juz came back frm BKK yday nite. Will share some of my knowledge that ive gain when im there this afternoon

:>

bien

Hi Jen Ng,

can you share some experience u have over at Bangkok. Like where u have shop and where is the nice place to shop for cheap goods and nice food to eat?

I am going on early dec this year but there is an election in dec this year also.. sigh.. just hope nothing went wrong during Dec..

ngfifi

Hi S

Frm Baiyoke Sky to Big C, u can actually walk there. Its abt 15 min walk.

On the way to Big C, u will pass by Platinum Fashion Mall (wholesale centre), opp Big C is Centrwal World Plaza (formerly WTC) and further dwn the way is Siam Square, Siam Plaza n MBK. In fact, Baiyoke Sky is already in central area where all the shopping paradise are

Hi lemonade88

Baiyoke Boutique is nt reali new, its juz that they juz renovated. The reviews are the hotel rm are small n tend to ve cockroaches crawling ard. Thats the reasons y i changed my hotel frm Baiyoke Boutique to Centrepoint Petchburi

rjwedding

if budget is acceptable, i will recommend Arnoma Hotel, opp WTC. I always stay at that hotel when i go bangkok. thou it's not near any BTS, but i find it quite accessible to most of the shopping areas like MBK, prautunam, etc..

I'm thinking of going over in Dec too, but also heard of the election n scared there will be riot or anything like that.. dunno can go anot..

s__h

if there is a free 4D3N voucher stay in bangkok that comes with a F & B card that cost $298 nett, and there are 12 buffet vouchers to be used in singapore hotel,

anyone keen to buy ? find it worthwhile to buy?

The buffet vouchers entitled the card holder to eat for free only. Rest of guest pay as per normal.

No need to top up any amount to use that 4D3N stay in bangkok

exact name of hotel not known yet...will update here when i get them.

worry

HI Jen, You stayed at Baiyoke Sky? How is the room? Thanks for sharing the info. I'm more concern on the cab fare to go to chinatown. Last yr dec, i've went to BKK and stayed in Arnoma. Location is very good but this time i want to try other hotel. so wanted to try baiyoke.

ngfifi

Hi S

I did nt stay at Baiyoke Sky but my hotel is very near to BS n can see frm my rm oso

The cab fare frm BS to Chinatown is very cheap. Less than Sg $8

ngfifi

Here are my updates during my stay in BKK btw 19/10 - 22/10:

I stay at Centrepoint Patchburi (Platinum area). Its location is near to wholesale ctr (such as Platinum Fashion Mall, Indra Square etc)

Breakfast at Centrepoint was kinda of boring coz the dishes are the same throughout my stay. Hwever, the compliment goes to the rm where it comes with a small kitchen (with fridge, oven, cooking stove etc). It oso comes with a small living room area overlooking the pool. The only minus point for the rm is that the water pressure is very low

Ve read that Baiyoke Sky serves very nice international buffet. Hwever, it wld nt be cheap if u r nt the hotel guest there as it cost abt 950 baht/pax (approx SGD $42) but the fruit buffet is only 150 baht (approx SGD $6.5) only

If u wanna try the Thai message, u can find shop located everywhere ard Platinum area. The price is abt 200 baht for 1 hr Thai message w/o oil

Shopping wise, i wld advise that u go to Platinum Fashion Mall as they charges wholesale price if u buy 3 pcs n above. Its even cheaper than MBK

Taxi is oso very cheap. Frm Platinum to JJ or Chinatown, it only cost less than SDG $5 per way. Jam is nt as bad but the road can be quite dusty though

:>

worry

Thanks for the update Jen.
the baiyoke buffet dinner, on the website it states 590 baht/pax. Was thinking of going to try since a lot of ppl say is nice. if 950baht then is very exp.

bien

thanks for the update. Where is Big C?

Btw, how is the gals clothes now in Platinium Fashion mall? is the clothes still fashionable as compare to spore. reason asking this is bcos my sis want to go there and buy alot of clothes to bring them to spore and sell.. Thus i told my sis u just need to go to Platinium Fashion mall which is a wholesales centre to settle most of her clothes she want to buy.. am i rite to say that.. anyone got any other place to buy nice clothes to bring to spore and sell beside Platinuium fashion mall.. please do let me know.. I think Chattuchak can try.. but i see that Platinium fashion mall seem to have more clothes to buy as compare to Chatchuchak.

i am thinking is it worthwhile going down to chinatown just to eat sharkfin there.. wonder is it really cheaper to eat sharkfin at chinatown or just eat at MBK will do as i know MBK got one store selling sharkfin also.

Beside this, Jen did u go to Suan Lum (night market) as i heard from here that is abt to close..

Jen, thanks so much for providing me all the details..

Btw, anyone who want to eat the buffet at bayioskye.. is not cheap.. i go there and not staying at their hotel i am charge at spore 40 to 42 dollar per pax.. i find is v exp as i mean eating this amt in thailang.

With this amount i think i can go and eat a quite nice buffet in spore already.

and btw, did anyone know when the election going to held there.. as wat i know is around 3rd week of dec 2007.

ngfifi

Hi S

Suam Lam is still ard. Did nt heard that it will be closing

Hi Bonjour

Nope, i did nt went Suam Lam as my trip is all pack with shopping in the major shopping ctr

Haha...

Big C is juz opp Central World Plaza. Frm wat i see n shop, Big C looks very much like IMM which the supermarket occupies most of the building

As for bringing in clothing to sell in Sg, we were told that a lot of pple buy them frm Platinum Fashion Mall

Btw, Chinatown shark fin is nt cheap lor. Mum had 1 at Chinatown n it cost approx SGD$30/bowl. The bird nest is the opp, it only cost SGD$8 or so

bien

Thanks so much for the info.. Ic is not the shark fin that is cheap is the bird nest that is cheap.

ok.. i think i just bring my sis to Platinium fashion mall to settle her clothes.

Jen.. thanks so much.. appreciate ur help.

samanlyt

Hi minssy

I called one travel agency (holiday tours), they quoted me $110 per nite for Baiyoke junior suite. Duno if I shd take it. They say if I dun hurry then no more liao.
I scared if i dun grab ah..i go over there without accommodation then have to slp on the road liao :p

I wanted to try budget hotel if not for another 2 'light bulbs' with us. :p tats my auntie n uncle.

hi vanilla,

haahah! wah super lightbulb! :p

$110 per nite is not exactly the best rate but if you dowan to source around and wait for confirmation, then get it to save some effort ba... morever, u mentioned that the period that you are going is kinda full rite?

btw, baiyoke is not near BTS.. u know u gotta take cab/walk more than those who hotels that are near the BTS rite?

samanlyt

Hi minssy

Thanks I jus checked with the agency. Got free upgrade to Junior suite for honey-mooners. Got free fruit, honeymoon cake etc. I got my booking from www.jetabout.com.sg Me n hubby wanted to try hotels like Grand Diamond, Indra etc..but ex. Budget hotel those two 'light bulbs' of mine dun wan lei. They wan better ones. Tats the prob when I have elder relatives tagging along.

Hi bel

I heard and saw gd reviews on Samran b4. Saw the thread on Samran.
Quite near shopping areas sumore.

Btw, anyone knows where i can get BKK map? So i can note down all the shopping areas.

hi vanilla,

i see.... ok lah.. good in a way.. but still, that place is good cos its in pratunam but still not near BTS.. hope the elders dun mind...

as for map, u gotta surf the net unless someone can send u a copy.. no worries lah.. all within the 3 BTS stations.. even if you have time to go the whole area, 5 or 6 days may not be sufficient...

samanlyt

Hi minssy

I misplaced the map. Duno still can find or not. I remember all the BTS and those shopping areas are all in the map. Asked my colleague, he say must buy from BKK airport.

Hi icebaby

Thanks for the link. Tats a very huge map! Duno where to start from. :p

Been reading this thread these two days...still trying to finish. Perhaps can advise/share wif me or what are the best buys in BKK? I love Chatuchat the best.
Been there 1 yr plus ago, all we went was to the temples, MBK & Chatuchat? Any nice recommendations?

samanlyt

Hi minssy

Oh u mean BKK airport ah? Sorie la..me blur. Cos i duno where my hubby got the map the other time. Any advise on where to go for shopping besides Chatuchat? Onli noe MBK, chatuchat lei... my two 'light bulbs' wanna go shop, eat, shop, eat...

hi vanilla,

yah bkk airport when u all reach.. its from those counters at the arrival hall (after you all take your luggage and pass thru immigration).

shopping ah? i am more on the shopping centres so i recommend the below which are all within the 3 BTS (National Stadium, Siam, Chitlom)

1) Siam Paragon
2) Central Plaza (which includes Central, Isetan and Central plaza shops)
3) Platinum Mall
4) Siam Square (opp siam paragon)
5) Siam discovery centre and siam centre nothing much but nice to see (more high end stuff)
6) gaysorn (high end stuff)
7) central chitlom (departmental store)

Others:
1) Chinatown (take cab)
- by day (super ultra cheap stuff and many many many tons of little shops)
- by night (lovely makan stuff)

2) Victory Monument BTS (heard got 1 shopping there. never got the chance to go cos i am mostly 'stranded' in siam area.. too nice to move to elsewhere...

they can walk whole day anot? wait slow u all down then you all sure boring one..

piggy12

HI Gals, I want to go BKK on 30 nov but the airticket is v ex now even for budget airline (they cost abt the same as normal airline)any1 got any idea where else can I get cheap ticket?

hi piggy,

hello.. now is what date already? of cos more ex lah

try zuji, or jetabout, or travel agencies like sunny holidays (Bugis)..

keke

im thinking of going to bangkok in dec for 3D2N F&E, would be a first time there... anyone booked F&E package from agency for dec? can share with me the price, airline and hotel for my research reference? thanks!!!

piggy12

Hi Minssy,

Yes I know I am late so trying to see if there is any other alternative which I overlook. I have tried all those u mentioned no diff.

hi piggy,

its the rule: the nearer it is, the more expensive the tickets will be..
unless u manage to get thru corporate rate or something.. else airticket is pretty much quite standard...

have u tried all other budget airlines such as tiger airways?

piggy12

Hi Minssy,

yyup i tried all budget airlines already but it cost even more than the normal airline. Yes I do understand the nearer u book the more ex but could not confirm my date earlier thus drag till now. tts y i say trying to c if there are other option which i left out anyway thanks for your advice

samanlyt

Hi minssy

Thanks for ur great help! Reali need those shopping suggestions. Duno how am I gonna survive 8 days there w/o shopping!!! Heard about Platinum Mall (walking distance from Baiyoke?), Big C, and the wholesale market at Pratunam from this forum. Maybe if i study the maps, then I have a clearer picture.
Not sure abt my two relatives lei, i not scared they cannot walk, but more on afraid of ending up like: 'blind leading the blind'. Me aldy not familiar wif the place, still wanna bring them around. *fainted* Somemore, we are spending 8 days there...wif two 'elderly'. :p

samanlyt

Hi keke

Just to share, I booked my tickets last mth with Air Asia for $1.00 to BKK. But to fly back to SG, the tickets cost us ard $29.99 (exclude airport tax). Total tickets price, include airport tax is ard $350. Just settled my Baiyoke Sky accommodation from Jetabout.

hi vanilla,

welcome... actually no worries... cos everyshopping u see along the road, u can go in one.. haahah. maybe except pratunam centre.. that one nothing much..

and yes big c, how can i forget? but i only go there for the department store.. its like our giant.. cheap cheap! :p

platinum mall is on the right side of your hotel.. yah its very near... u will see better when there is a map....

the wholesale market at pratunam is just at your doorstep.. there is indra regent building that you will find wholesale clothes also.. but personally comparing these 2, platinum mall is nicer cos the stuff there is 'younger'.. pratunam wholesale stuff is a mixture...

no worries lah.. surely can find your way one.. bangkok very easy to walk...

samanlyt

Hi minssy

Hehe. U r so helpful! Seems like u r quite familar wif BKK ya? Then can ask u lotsa questions liao.

Heard Big C quite a distance from pratunam ya? Mayb take a cab there. Must get ready my big 'china bag' then go 'qiong' liao. Hehe. I got frds who recommend Suan Lam too... Actuali i thought of buying some furnishings like retro clocks etc..from BKK for my new home. Anywhere in particular got sell such decor stuff?

samanlyt

Hi CC2

Me going BKK on the 29 Dec - 6 Jan. Will be staying at Baiyoke from 29 Dec till 3 Jan. Then move on to another hotel.

Hi stjt,

Apparently jetabout got some promos going on now, so i've check asiarooms, the rates of jetabout more cheaper.

cc2

Hi VaNiLLa,

I'm going earlier than u. Going on 7 Nov and coming back on 13 Nov. You have got Junior Suite upgrade rite? So u and the 2 "light bulbs" all staying in 1 room? Junior Suite can sleep 4 pax?

Big C is within walking distance from Baiyoke Sky, about 10 mins. There's a nice Jap fast food on the food court level. One set oni cost ard 99 baht!

Hi stjt,

Jetabout.com is cheaper if you staying for more than 4 days as they will give u 1 nite free. I'm staying for 6 nites and average one night is about $82 per double room without bfast, free junior suite upgrade.