Bangkok

icebaby0

smurfy,

Do not have safe box or hair dryer in the room.

I dun use hair dryer...so no issue. But my fren did request from it from recept before and got 1.

As for safe box, we normally use our luaggage itself and put in pin + lock our luaggage. =P

icebaby0

smurfy,

The last time I went to BKK was in Nov'07. I didn't go CTC market.

Seldom go there. Prefer to go straight to Pratunum Market to find wholesale clothes!

smurfy

Looking forward to my trip this wed

acneery_gal

Anyone had lobang for cheap cab services from airport to hotel in Bangkok? I am taking budget airline to Bangkok thus had to take own transport to hotel. I tried last year taking a taxi provided at the airport which is 550 baht. Any other lobang that you gals out there had tried before pls share. Thanks in advance.

sirwin

Hi smurfy,

any things U wan to share during your recent trip to bkk? I gg up on the 10th next mth, last visit was in year 2004, hopefully not too many changes except for airport, new shopping ctr, tax changes, etc. as compared over the past 4 years when I was there.

Hi Acneery, I tot we can still go out of the airport to a designated taxi stand like the old airport, write down the hotel/destination?? anyone can share the new cab booking there now? thanks.

icebaby0

acneery gal,

Yah. how come ur cab fare so ex?
You should take the cab that's outside the airport where u pay additional 50 baht for service. I went last yr and paid only 400.

sailor_p

I am heading BKK at the end of April. As this is the first time I am arriving at the new airport, can anyone advise exactly where should I go (upon at the arrival hall) to get taxi?

acneery_gal

I am not sure also.... mine is directly outside the airport. There was a table and people approaching us asking if we need taxi to hotel. We told him our hotel & was told 550 baht and written on paper. You mean should walk all the way out of the airport and take a cab out of nowhere ah? I saw many people taking their cab service so tot that it should be quite standard rate.

So where should I go to get the cheaper cab service?

yuki84

Yeah.... just came back from bkk.
U gals can go to the departure hall which is one level up and take the cab. They are not allowed to park there so u must chop chop go up and ride. Make sure they go in meter and there will be a surcharge which is 75baht for my case. From wat i understand, the 75baht is for the troll feed
Hope this helps =)

yuki84

I stayed at samran place, a hotel near Asia. I paid about 280 including surcharge. By meter and i gave them the remaining as tips coz the driver quite nice, will help u carry the luggage.

acneery_gal

That's really cheap! Looks like I ganna chop a lot... Thanks for sharing. So I will go departure hall instead of arrival hall exit and grab a taxi there. Thank you.

pinkhippo2002

at arrival hall, go to gate C

there is a table outside. They will issue you a small piece of papar with taxi number

You must ask the driver to turn on meter. From airport to my hotel at Siam Square 320 Bht including toll

From hotel to airport on return 380 Bht including toll because slightly heavier traffic

acneery_gal

Hi pinkhippo,

Hey mine encounter that time seems like yours. Also at arrival hall but cant rem which exit and a table outside. But I told them my hotel and they quote me 550 bht. So its not standard rate can negotiate to ask for meter instead isit?

So conclusion is that at either departure or arrival hall is the same but must ask for meter?

ngfifi

Does any1 here kws if there is a specialty shop located inside Siam Square, selling only Doraemon toys/stuff

If you do kw, is it ok to share with me the location of the shop as Siam Square is quite big to search

Thx

estben

Hi Jen
If you are looking at Doraemon stuff let me suggest to you this entire shop which sells Doraemon..everything is Doraemon! Infact Siam Square does have 2 shop selling all kinds of stuff like Hello Kitty, Melody, Pooh etc.. not much of Doraemon tho..
I do not know the exact road of this Doraemon BUT its at Pratunam its not directly in Pratunam market area, i found this shop when i was walking back to Baiyoke Sky Hotel, let me check with my sis the receipt of the restaurant that we ate cos we ate at the rest. next to this Doramemon shop..alternative you can find it at Plantium Fashion Mall 5th storey! They sell all kinds of D stuff ranging from car accessory to toilet accessory etc..

ngfifi

Hi lilmatchgal

Thx. We did went to Pratunam fashion Mall but find tat shop oso selling nt much of Doraemon stuff thou there r car accessories etc.

In fact, i came to know abt this shop at Siam Square in sum1 else blog n i tt i can get my aunt whom is gg to BKK next wk to get sumtink for me

Maybe u can share wif me the shop which is near to Baiyoke Sky so tat when i make a trip to BKK again, i can drop by to take a look

estben

Hi Jen
am sorry that the receipt of this restaurant does not have address printed..it only have the amount of the food that we ate..those simple type sigh..
not Pratunam Fashion Mall its Plaintium Fashion Mall keke..Oh when was the last time u went? i went last month there seems to be more of D items added..what is it that you are looking for? I am going to Hongkong next week maybe i can be of any help...what's the blog addy that u mentioned maybe i go take a look..

estben

Hey jen
I think i saw that blog..its about a solo traveller to Bangkok rite..the shop is in the middle of Siam Sq rite? But last month i was there, there was no Doraemon shop liao..only left with 2-3 shop selling a mixture of character le..cos i comb the entire Siam Sq but found nothing much of character stuff cos me going to for hk haha..

As for that shop i found hor, unless i direct you how to go else er..how to find the street name.. K u must be at the main entrance of Baiyoke sky, than u walk straight turn right when u see second lane, than go all the way straight, u see this small shopping centre inside nothing uptrend just those normal clothes u see in chinatown opp this shopping there is a coffee shop..if u see that coffee shop opp this 2 storey shopping than correct liao, cos this entire Doraemon shop i told u is just 2 shops away from this shopping! err u get me?

ngfifi

Hi lilmatchgal

Its ok. Ops... I often mix up Pratinum n Platinum. Haha!!!

I tink ur direction is quite clear but im a rd blind which i doubt i will be able to find that shop

Yap, tats the blog

I went last Oct. I actually trying to see if i can buy sumtink unique for my hubby coz he is a crazy fans of Doraemon n happen tat my aunt is gg BKK so i tt maybe i can get her to see for me

Its ok. Dun wan to trouble u to search for me since u r gg there for holis

:>

ngfifi

Hi piggy12

Had wanted to stay at Baiyoke Suite during my last trip to BKK last oct

But ltr changed my hotel coz read of terrible comment on that hotel. Such as cockroaches n lizard crawling over ur head in the middle of the nite. Rm very smelly n dirty. Shower tap water very muddy etc

Well, i guess there r still sum positive guests whom had stayed there b4 but i rather spend more than to regret

krit thai is better.. once you come out of the hotel, its the stairs for you to go to BTS & MBK.. location is excellent!! room is decent.. service is good

piggy12

hi minssy n obaesom,

thanks for your advice.. i might drop samran place cos i heard the room is small n quite far to MBK etc..

hi jule,

oh its very decent for a 950Baht room! its very basic.. they have a hair dryer! but you gotta bring your own toiletries as they only provide bath towels..

stnov

hey there...we juz came back from BKK last week & stayed at samran place too...cheap & clean but dun have too high expectation...we were too ripped by the silly cab driver even thou he on his meter so luck plays a part...

platinum mall is definitely worth going but do note that as they are wholesalers...their opening hours are from 10-7pm onli....wholesale price given for 3 pcs & above so not much bargaining allowed but stuff are much cheaper than MBK...we enjoy PM more than MBK tis trip...=)

joyous097

Hi aLL

I will be going to bkk in june, staying at amari gateway hotel, near chatuchap...anyone can advice me what is good there to buy and eat...thanks alot

dreamz81

I am going to bangkok n next week, will be staying at Grand Millennium Sukhumvit. Anyone can recommend any place for nice food and good shopping. Would be good if can provide the train/metro stations nearest to that place as it is the 1st time I am going.

acneery_gal

Hi pinkhippo and Yuki,

I am just back from bangkok. Thanks for your advice and I got the cab at Gate C at public taxi stand outside and paid 350 baht to hotel and from hotel to airport is 280 baht which is much cheaper than my previous trip lor..... I stayed at Baiyoke Boutique Hotel this time.

estben

am back with lots of Hello Kitty..

this time round i stayed at Centre Point..the hotel is very convenient and its quite new and big..Executive Service Apartment Hotel will security link to your room and it comes with a living and kitchen area..

jule

lilmatchgal, Im back too! only bought some HK stuff for the house, else think my HTB will faint. I stayed at Krit Thai Mansion as recommended, the location is very good!

golden_bride

hi ... will anyone of u guys be gg to NARAYA to purchase any items? cos my toiletries bag is torn, need to purchase a few more back.. cn anyone help me to purchase? tks...