Bangkok

icebaby0

S & H,

Flew before once. Flight was smooth except when coming back..flight was delay.

This Nov, I will be flying airasia again.

s__h

thanks ice babay.

So take off at changi T1 and land in bangkok international airport

so transport out from bangkok airport not a issue ?

icebaby0

mrswang,

i dun normally do massage when i am in BKK although I heard alot of good reviews of massage.

So far only tried 1 time leg massage near the BTS with my parents.

I going 3rd nov - 6th nov...u?

icebaby0

mrswang,

Standard places:
MBK
Suan Luan
Siam Paragon (for food)
Central
Pratuman area (or Platanium Fashion Mall)
Chinatown - sampang market (if you like those cute cute stuff)
CCK Market

Avoid: Patong (I heard there isn't much there)

icebaby0

CCK market is the popular market is the market that most people talk about in this forum. When you have the map, it's shown very clearly.

You might wish to try looking at the interactive map on www.sawadee.com to have an idea where it is. It's beside a BTS and very convenient. There is also alot of food stalls there...

happinessbliss

Dear Icebaby,

Yes the suan lum nite bazaar is till around but I did not see the ferris wheel though....hmmm...
For Patpong, I actually quite enjoy shopping and bargaining price there,hehe...but would have enjoyed more if there is no pimps around...eeww...I bought most stuff from MBK and Patpong... It was a pity I was there on weekdays,therefore Chacucchak is not open..

icebaby0

Happiness&Bliss,

I never like Patpong cos it's overpriced (the stuff). I like Suan Lum because of the open space and also because the food there not bad leh.
Now I also dun bother to go CCK market, I would just go Pratunam and shop the wholesale. Normally can get alot of stuff from there and inexpensive. Every yr I go and stock up on clothes and office wear (less than $10/each)...and esp T-Shirts (which cost about $2/each).

However, this trip in Nov must see if got energy anot cos I bring my older son and going with my cousin-in-law and her kids. Hubby not going. Plus I preggy..hahaha. So dunno whether can manage to go Pratunam even. But I like Platanium Fashion Mall's food court...the food there taste better than MBK. But my 1st love is always MK...which my son also like!

bien

Hi Icebaby,

Where can i get tshirt at 2 dollar and ladies blouse and clothes at cheap price. I know Platanium fashion mall i can get it.. cos is just open not long and is a 5 storey building with selling mostly gals stuff at wholesales price rite?

beisde Plantatium Fashion mall and chatchuchak.. where can i get cheap clothes.. as my sis want to bring some clothes to singapore to sell.. i wish i can help her.

And anyone know where can i get eat good food? and at chinatown, anyone can recomend me good sharkfin at cheap price. tHanks

Please do let me know. Thanks.

icebaby0

bonjour,

the $2 T-shirts are along the Pratunam area...just have to walk around and check. I dun know actual place but twice (in 2 seperate trip), I stumbled to the place where alot of different kinds of T-shirts are sold. But hor..it's free size.

Platanium Fashion mall is along Pratunam...u just need to cross the road and walk along/around those places. There is alot more wholesale shops. Platanium is air-conditioned and price is slightly higher but it's a comfortable shopping experience.

Chinatown there are I think a few shops you can go. I forgot wat are the shop names...Nam Sing and something else. I didn't go there in Mar...cos I brought 2 kids + Parents along. It's abit hard. However, in MBK, they have some outlets...i think also have sharkfins.

Good food isn't hard to find. It's just what do u mean by "good food"...cos everyone's taste buds is different. For me, I just love the food courts in Platinum Fashion Mall + MBK and also MK resturant for the diversified food. =)

bien

Hi Icebaby,

Thanks so much for your information.

Really appreaciated alot

mrswang

icebaby,

thanks for your info. =)

This time i must cover lots of places, last year went din cover much. I nv even go the night bazzar,suam luan,JJ market,chinatown,central,siam paragon... cos 8 of us go are all gals. so very restrict.

Btw u know where can get hello kitty stuff and office wear?

Just heard from my friend that our hotel have confirmed le. so happy. and looking foward ya.

icebaby0

MrsWang,

What's impt is to enjoy. Not necessary to cover all places...cos you have a big group. What's impt is where you want to go and what u intend to buy. Cos different pple got different taste. For me I love normal t-shirts,simple working pants and skirts...so I not so picky.

Hello kitty stuff..last yr I went, I saw at Sampang Market there.

Oh...not sure if u know. Samran Place doesn't have buffet breakfast. Every morning u are given a menu of 6 items (I hope it's still 6 items) to choose from. The Western meal (consist of 2 eggs, 1 sausage, 1 piece of ham, 2 slice of toasted bread, 1 small cup of orange/lime juice & coffee/tea) is normally sufficient for me...and my kids. =P Bf is also till 10.30am (I think. Anyway, if hungry...got alot of places can find food.

Also if you intend to take cab most of the time to MBK and etc. My advise is to "cross" the overhead bridge (a short distance) to the 7 elevan there to get a cab...rather than the cab doing a U-turn. (i.e. when u leave samran hotel, turn left...if turn right, will be walking to BTS)

icebaby0

Oh..also on the left when u walk out of Samran Place..if u walk further after the overhead bridge, there is an A&W there. Normally empty. Not bad...if u miss A&W rootbear float and curly fries. =P

Opposite there is a coffee cafe (I dun drink coffee so didn't try).

For me, cos I normally bring my kids, we will always return back to hotel to ZZZZZZZzzz in the afternoon. Hubby and I are quick shoppers. LOL

ngfifi

Can any1 advise me what is the BTS station name leading to major shopping area such as MBK, Pratunam, Chatuchak n Suam Lam Night Bazaar etc?

Leaving on 19/10. Thx

icebaby0

there is an interactive map that you can look at. The BTS I think can be seen there.

www.sawadee.com (click on bangkok - interactive map)

Suan Lam is using metro...not BTS. Advise that it's easier to take a cab there. But cab back can be expensive.

icebaby0

Map is here: http://www.map-thailand.com/bangkok.htm (direct link)

MBK (BTS: National Stadium)
CCK Market (BTS: Mo Chit)
Suan Lam (Metro: Lumpini)
Pratunam (eh...no actual near BTS. It's near to Grand Diamond Hotel..click on the map for location of grand diamond...platinum fashion mall is right beside it. Pratunam is just opposite that place)

ngfifi

Icebaby

Thx

Btw, i oso need to kw whether it is safe for me to boil my own drinking water in the hotel but is it better than i buy mineral water n boil

reasons being is my hubby, me n my mum have the habit of drinking coffee

icebaby0

Come to think of it. I can't remember if there is a kettle for boiling.

We normal just take the mineral water provided by the hotel cos we are water drinkers (n hubby is a coke drinker)...so we normally dun bother to boil water (if there is a kettle).

If they do not have a kettle, I think u can ask for it. I know they do not have a hair dryer but u can request. Remember to make sure ur bags are those with password locks...cos they do not have a safe in the room (same as Eastin hotel). I normally just stuff my passport and stuff in my luaggage and lock up. ) >_<

ngfifi

Hi Icebaby

Once again, thx for sharing. Hope my hotel does have kettle coz staying at Svc apartment instead

Cant wait for 19/10 to arrive. Have planned my program pack pack le

:>

happinessbliss

Dear Icebaby,

Mmm... i also like Pratunam... i went and was able to buy alot of clothings there too. For patpong, i bargain alot there, so i was able to buy stuff there too. Suan Lum is abit ex now thou..

For drinks, my hubby and I are totaly opp as u and hubby...hahah ... we go supermarket and stock up on mineral water (for hubby) and coke (for me)... hehehe...Arnoma hotel whr we stay provide 2 bottles of mineral water everyday, but its nvr enuf for hubby....

mrswang

icebaby,

thanks for giving me so much info. ur info will be a great help to me. =)

I miss A&amp;W will go try when i'm there. since sin cant find le. heez

btw what the different between metro &amp; BTS?

does the hotel provide hair dryer? and where is sampang market.

mrswang

Oh how the traffice over there? which day will usually cause traffice jam? weekdays or weekend?

anyone of u went to their place of interest?

icebaby0

mrswang,

I dun know which particular day how bad the traffic but you will b able to see it. Normally if u are leaving for airport, I try to leave 3hrs+ in advance...just in case. The current airport is said to be around 30 mins away.

Hotel dun have hair dryer..but i think u can ask for it.

Metro is like underground. BTS above. They are not connected.

Sampang market is at chinatown (no BTS or Metro). Take cab

chloie

Hi people, i really need your help. I dont know which hotel to book. We are on tight budget but just need to get away from S'pore cos we are too stressed up. My friends recommended me Twin Tower but it's little too ex for us. Any good recommendations? Please...

nelle

chloie

I am going with my sis during the 20-25 Dec period. Stay at diamond city hotel this time. About SGD45 per nite. Near to MBK/Siam square area. Book through wired-destinations.com

icebaby0

mrswang,

Actually I had been to BKK 3 times only. This Nov will be my 4th.

1st time I went was 5 yrs ago. 2nd time was last Mar. 3rd time was this yr Mar.

I normally read up on the places that I am going. Because my hubby won't ever bother. So I have to plan where to go, what to do...so we dun get bored.

chloie

Ooh! I will go check the price later on! Thanks. I was saw 'For You Residence'. Anyone tried it before?

What about airline? Airasia is cheap right but any comments?

nelle

Have always travel by jetstar (SGD200 to SGD280), depending on season) but this time round going by Cathay. About SGD330 per pax.

chloie

Im down on luck. Samran place is full. Im going on 6nov to 10nov. They recommended me First Hotel [i think] but I dont dare to try.

icebaby0

Residence Ratjavee (something like that right)...read afew reviews...not fantastic. Alot of things are old there.

Airline for me, I normally take budget airlines. So far all my tickets never above $111/pax (include tax).

icebaby0

last yr I took airasia...got FOC airtickets..i think around $80+/pax (include tax).

This Mar, I took tigerairways...$1+ one way..paid $95+/pax (include tax)

Then this coming one, airasia ...FOC tickets...paid tax...total $111/pax

I normally buy them when FOC or $1/way. =) Cos if I can't go, my pocket dun feel so painful.

bel_yeo

Icebaby, do u think I should wait for foc or $1/way tickets for Dec? Will there be promotion?

As you know, I booked Samran place but have not book the air tickets.

nelle

Kind of risky to wait for promotions in Dec being a holiday period and having two public holidays this year.

chloie, I am travelling by Cathay. It has only one flight in &amp; out of BKK. Usually I stay at Arnoma hotel as it is very near to the BTS.

icebaby0

bel,

I dun think will have $1 tickets so soon cos airasia is malaysian company. They know when is school holiday season.

**I can't predict.

MrsWang,

From the 2 times i went..1st time i went at 5pm...end up NOTHING. Apparently it close early. 2nd time I went in the morning. I read somewhere like they close around 4pm (the shops). I rather go morning also..

chloie

sorry ladies, i got another dumb question to ask. Changi Airport got Airasia flight to Bangkok rite? Which terminal huh? How's the ride on airasia plane? My friends gave me bad review. But I'm not so sure of it... Pls advice. Thanks!

bel_yeo

Haiz... the airasia tickets has increase fm $61 to $80! I better book soon. Boo-hoo-hoo!

Thanks for the advise, icebaby &amp; nelle!